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Introduction 
Much of the 2010 legislative session centered 

around the financial downturn of the state. The Governor 
and leaders in the House of Representatives and Senate 
crafted a budget agreement with cuts to agencies 
designed to take the state through the next fiscal year 
while passing government modernization legislation to 
create more efficiency in state agencies. Legislators  
scrutinized tax credits, passed legislation to ease 
mandates on public schools, and streamlined state health 
insurance services to save money. Though the state’s 
financial situation dominated much of the session, 
legislators also passed several education reform 
measures and legislation to improve the state’s 
alternative energy industry. 

The following is an overview of the major 
legislation passed in the Second Session of the Fifty-
Second Legislature. House Committee Staff will prepare 
a complete review later this year of all legislation passed 
this session. 
  

Agriculture and Rural 
Development 

Legislators revised veterinary laws with the 
enactment of HB 3202 which amends the Oklahoma 
Veterinary Practice Act by explicitly stating that it does 
not prohibit animal husbandry, teeth floating, or farriery. 
The State Board of Veterinary Medical Examiners is 
charged with annually certifying any practitioner of teeth 
floating.  
 

Economic Development and 
Financial Services 

 
Workers’ Compensation 

In an effort to cut the cost of workers’ compensation 
coverage for businesses, legislators sent a package of 
four workers’ compensation bills to the Governor.  For 
clarification in cases, *HB 2650 adds definitions to the 
Workers’ Compensation Act; amends compensation 
schedules for permanent partial disability (PPD) injuries, 
caps payments at $323 a week; exempts injuries 
occurring outside the course of employment from 
coverage under the act; and specifies that when 
employers make a good faith effort to provide a light-
duty position for the claimant’s same rate of pay, and the 
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claimant refuses the work, the claimant is not entitled to 
temporary total disability. 

*SB 1973 requires certain proceedings of the 
Workers’ Compensation Court (OWCC) to be recorded; 
authorizes the Supreme Court to modify, reverse, or set 
aside an order or award if the OWCC acts outside its 
powers or the law; requires the claimant to be present 
during mediation; and increases fees for the OWCC’s 
operations that have not been increased in over a decade. 

The composition of the OWCC is amended in 
*HB 2652, reducing the court to eight judges, requiring 
five to be permanently assigned to Oklahoma City and 
three in Tulsa; expands the judges terms to eight years; 
requires Senate approval of the Governor’s judicial 
appointments; requires OWCC judges to have five years 
prior experience; and prohibits the closing of the Tulsa 
OWCC without approval from the Legislature. 

*HB 1611 requires workers’ compensation insur-
ance claims adjusters to be licensed and to complete six 
hours of continuing education related to the Workers’ 
Compensation Act as part of their required 24 hours of 
continuing education. 

*HB 2658 authorizes state agencies to insure against 
liability for workers’ compensation with CompSource 
Oklahoma (CSO) or opt for coverage from a private 
entity.  The measure also extends the deadline for CSO 
to be converted into a private insurance company until 
December 31, 2011, and extends the termination date of 
the Task Force on the Privatization of CompSource 
Oklahoma until December 31, 2012.  The measure also 
requires the Task Force to examine leaving CSO in its 
current status and to publish supplemental findings by 
December 1, 2010.  

HB 2911 prohibits the creation of a new business to 
avoid paying a workers’ compensation judgment. 

 
Insurance 

The Governor vetoed HJR 1054. HJR 1054 would 
have prohibited any law or regulation requiring any 
Oklahoma resident to have individual insurance 
coverage and also prohibits any law or regulation from 
holding any Oklahoman liable for any penalty, fee, or 
fine for not having health insurance.  The measure would 
have authorized an individual or an employer to pay 
directly for health care services and prohibited either 
from being required to pay any penalty or fine for direct 
pay.  Health care providers would also have been 
authorized to accept direct payment for services and 
would not be required to pay any penalty or fine for 

accepting direct payment from an individual or an 
employer. 

While the federal government was debating a 
national health care plan, the state was working on ways 
to cut costs in the state’s health insurance plans.  
*SB 2052 is a result of the recommendations of the State 
Employee Health Insurance Review Working Group’s 
efforts over the last year.  SB 2052 creates the Oklahoma 
Health and Wellness Board and abolishes the State and 
Education Employees Group Insurance Board 
(OSEEGIB) and the Oklahoma Employees Benefits 
Council (EBC).  The measure requires a winner-take-all 
bidding process for a statewide HMO, through the 
competitive bid process. 

Other cost saving measures include benchmarking 
the state employee benefit allowance at the current 
amount and indexing future allowances at the cost of the 
basic PPO plan, relying on the greater of the two 
amounts for future annual allowances.  New state and 
education employees are required to use any excess 
benefit allowance for a health savings account (HSA), 
flexible spending account (FSA), SoonerSave or Section 
125 plan.  For state employees, any excess benefit 
allowance from any future increase is required to be used 
for a HSA, FSA, or SoonerSave account. 

The new Oklahoma Health and Wellness Board is 
required to create and oversee two divisions for 
procuring, administering, and managing state health 
benefit plans – the HealthChoice Insurance Division and 
the Employee Benefits Division.  The Board is required 
to consolidate the personnel and facilities of the Board 
and the Board’s Divisions, identify inefficient or 
duplicative services, and eliminate such services or 
assets.  The Board is required to report such actions to 
the Joint Liaison Committee on Oklahoma Health and 
Wellness while showing a 15 percent annual cost 
savings. 

Finally, the Board is required to develop a mandated 
wellness program, including financial incentives, 
encouraging participation of dependents, and contracting 
with a vendor for a pilot project for a web-based doctor-
patient accountability incentive program. 

The State Employee Health Insurance Review 
Working Group will continue to oversee the 
implementation of the recommendations over the next 
year. 
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Industry 
After cabin rental owners were cited by the Real 

Estate Commission for practicing without a real estate 
license, the Legislature enacted HB 2305 which makes it 
unnecessary for any person managing a transient lodging 
facility to have a real estate license.  A transient facility 
is defined as a furnished room or set of rooms rented on 
a daily basis for not more than 30 days and is not the 
renter’s principal residence. 

Expanding duties of landlords, HB 3021 requires 
landlords to notify prospective tenants if a rental unit or 
any part of the premises was used in the production of 
methamphetamine.  The measure includes an exception 
to this requirement if the landlord has assessed the level 
of contamination and it is determined that the level of 
contamination does not exceed 1/10 of one microgram 
per 100 square centimeters of surface material within the 
dwelling unit. 

HB 2348 permits home brewers to produce low-
point beer for personal use if a personal use permit is 
first obtained from the Alcoholic Beverage Laws 
Enforcement Commission.  Production of low-point or 
other beer is limited to 200 gallons per year.  The 
measure allows beer, cider, or wine produced with a 
personal use license to be offered at exhibitions or 
competitions but not offered for sale. 

*HB 2772 creates the Oklahoma Appraisal 
Management Company Regulation Act.  In order to 
protect lenders, financial institutions, clients, consumers, 
and the public, the act creates a process for real estate 
appraisal management company (AMC) registration and 
regulation for those entities engaging in real estate 
appraisal management services in Oklahoma. 

The Legislature enacted SB 1712 which creates the 
Commercial Pet Breeders Act to be administered by the 
newly created Board of Commercial Pet Breeders under 
the authority of the State Board of Veterinary Medical 
Examiners.  The Board is charged with enforcing the act, 
including license procedures, training and qualifications 
for inspectors, standards of care of animals, and 
procedures for sale of animals.  Those procedures 
include that a health certificate from a licensed 
veterinarian must accompany each sale and prohibition 
of marketing in retail, public, or private parking lots.  
The measure creates the Commercial Pet Breeders 
Enforcement Fund, consisting of fees, fines, and 
penalties collected under the act to be used for 
enforcement of the act. 

The Board is required to maintain a website listing 
the commercial pet breeders licensed in Oklahoma and 
those commercial pet breeders whose licenses have been 
denied or revoked.  Commercial breeders are defined as 
any entity that has eleven or more female animals for 
breeding dogs or cats for sale.  The Board is required to 
annually inspect each facility of licensed breeders. 
 
Education 

Many of the education bills passed included reform 
measures designed to improve Oklahoma schools and 
increase the state’s chances for receiving a federal Race 
to the Top grant. 

*SB 2033 authorizes several reform initiatives 
including a statewide teacher evaluation system, 
performance pay initiatives based upon the evaluation 
system, and other pay initiatives for teachers in hard-to-
staff areas and low-performing schools.  It also provides 
a process for dismissing teachers not achieving certain 
ratings in the evaluation system and payment 
instructions through the trial de novo process. 

*SB 2330 creates the Empowered School Districts 
Act.  The act allows school sites, groups of schools, or 
school districts to submit to the State Board of Education 
empowerment plans that detail innovations designed to 
improve school performance and request that certain 
statutes and rules be waived to accomplish the plan. 

*HB 2753, also part of the Legislature’s efforts to 
reform the state’s education system, lifts the cap on the 
number of charter schools that can be established per 
year.  It also allows a school district which has a school 
site on the state’s school improvement list to sponsor a 
charter school.  It also gives technology centers and 
comprehensive regional institutions the right to sponsor 
charter schools if they are within a district that has a 
school site on the state’s school improvement list.  The 
measure also allows the Office of Juvenile Affairs to 
operate a charter school for students in the custody of the 
agency.  A similar bill *SB 1862 allows a federally 
recognized Indian tribe to sponsor a charter school for 
native language immersion. 

SB 509 allows school districts with more than 
30,000 average daily membership the option to release 
teachers from their permanent positions at schools 
identified for school improvement for four consecutive 
years and employ the teachers as substitutes for two 
years.  If after two years, the districts have not offered 
the teachers new permanent positions, the districts may 
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release the teachers entirely. It directs the districts to 
provide training to teachers and states that final 
decisions of the districts will not be subject to the 
Teacher Due Process Act. 

 HB 3026 creates the Commissioners of the Land 
Office Modernization Act.  The act establishes a $1,000 
fine for any employee of the office found guilty of a 
felony for tampering with records of the office and 
allows imprisonment for up to five years.  It gives the 
office the right to sell or exchange land when it is in the 
best interest of the trust, provides for a four year-term for 
the Secretary of the Land Office, and establishes 
education and experience requirements for the secretary. 
The act institutes modern check-writing and accounting 
practices designed to protect the Office. 

Another focus of the Legislature was the financial 
situation of school districts. *HB 3029 eases several 
mandates on school districts and the state for two fiscal 
years because of the financial downturn. School districts 
may spend textbook allocations, professional develop-
ment funds, and library media program funds for school 
operations.  The bill also suspends for two years the 
National Board certification payment of $5,000 for any 
teachers obtaining certification during those two years.  
The State Board of Education also will not assess a 
financial penalty on any district receiving a penalty in 
the accreditation process. 

Legislators passed two bills designed to improve 
transparency in school districts.  *SB 2034 puts school 
district audits under the authority of the State Auditor 
and Inspector. It also specifies that if the State Auditor 
and Inspector authorizes an audit of a school district for 
not complying with audit requirements in statute, the 
district will pay for the audit the State Auditor and 
Inspector authorizes.  It authorizes the State Auditor and 
Inspector to authorize four special audits a year of school 
districts with any size average daily membership. 
*SB 1633 creates the School District Transparency Act 
which requires the State Department of Education to 
maintain on its website a database of school district 
expenditures that the public may download and sort. 
There will be no charge for access.  The database will 
show things such as credit card statements, per pupil 
expenditures, and budgeted and audited expenditures for 
each fiscal year.  The Department will make the data 
available on its website within 120 days after school 
districts provide it. If a district maintains a website, the 
district will make the data available on the website. 
 

Elections 
To prevent voter and election fraud, SB 1921  

increases the maximum punishment for felony and 
misdemeanor violations of the election code, increasing 
felony punishments from a fine of $5,000 to $50,000 and 
from two years to five years imprisonment and 
increasing misdemeanor punishments from a fine of 
$1,000 to $10,000. Additionally, the measure adds the 
following actions as felony acts in the election code: 

• Knowingly voting with and submitting an 
absentee ballot issued to another person; 

• Unauthorized people knowingly removing from 
or bringing a ballot to a polling location; 

• Knowingly making false application for an 
absentee ballot; 

• Knowingly causing the cancellation of a 
qualified voter’s registration; 

• Knowingly causing the collection or submission 
of voter registration forms containing false 
information; and 

• Knowingly conspiring to commit election fraud. 
 

Energy and Utility Regulation 
The Legislature enacted numerous measures relating 

to the promotion and use of alternative energy sources.  
HB 3028 creates the Oklahoma Energy Security Act.  
The measure establishes a voluntary goal of increasing 
the installed capacity of electricity derived from 
renewable energy sources to 15 percent by the year 
2015.  Qualifying renewable energy sources include 
wind, solar, hydropower, geothermal, biomass, demand 
side management and energy efficiency, distributed 
generation, and other renewable sources as approved by 
the Oklahoma Corporation Commission.  Natural gas is 
also declared as the preferred choice of electric 
generation for new fossil fuel generating facilities.  In 
addition, the measure states that it is the intention of the 
State of Oklahoma to increase the state’s electricity 
transmission capacity as it relates to the development of 
wind-energy development.  The measure also states that 
it is the intention of the State of Oklahoma to increase 
public access to compressed natural gas (CNG) fueling 
stations by having at least one public CNG fueling 
station every 100 miles along the interstate highway 
system in the state by the year 2015.  The goal increases 
to one public CNG station every 50 miles by 2020.   
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In an attempt to address issues posed by Oklahoma’s 
burgeoning alternative energy industry, *HB 2973  
creates the Oklahoma Wind Energy Development Act by 
providing guidelines and procedures for the proper 
decommissioning of wind energy production facilities 
upon abandonment or at the end of their usefulness.  
Proper decommissioning, which is defined as the 
removal of wind turbines, towers, buildings, cabling, 
electrical components, foundations, and any other 
associated facilities, to a depth of 30 inches below grade, 
must be completed within 12 months of abandonment or 
cessation of operation.  The Oklahoma Corporation 
Commission is authorized to complete the 
decommissioning should the owner fail to do so within 
the aforementioned time period.  Also related to 
alternative energy, SB 1692 extends the termination date 
for the Oklahoma Clean Energy Independence 
Commission for another year.  The Commission is 
comprised of representatives from governmental 
agencies with energy-related responsibilities; private 
energy industries, including traditional and alternative 
technologies; and public and private state universities 
with an interest in energy technologies.  The entity is 
also authorized to issue reports, as the Secretary of 
Energy deems necessary, regarding goals and 
recommendations for achieving clean energy 
independence.  Since its creation last year, the 
Commission has been actively involved in the 
formulation and support of an array of clean energy 
policy proposals. 

The Legislature again showed strong support for the 
state’s oil and gas industry.  HB 2912 makes it unlawful 
for any person to intentionally or maliciously injure, 
deface, alter, destroy, or tamper with any safety 
equipment used in the drilling or production of an oil or 
gas well.  In addition, SB 1615 creates the Oil and Gas 
Owners’ Lien Act of 2010.  The measure provides that 
to secure the obligations of a first purchaser to pay the 
sales price, each interest owner is granted an oil and gas 
lien to the extent of the interest owner’s interest in oil 
and gas rights.  Under the measure, except for a 
permitted lien, an oil and gas lien is to take priority over 
any other lien, whether arising by contract, law, equity 
or otherwise, or any security interest.  Finally, *HB 2432   
relates to the payment of Gross Production Tax rebates 
for horizontally drilled and deep wells spudded to a 
depth exceeding 15,000 feet.  The measure requires that 
refund claims for the production periods within the fiscal 
years ending June 30, 2010, and June 30, 2011, be filed 

and received by the Tax Commission no later than 
December 31, 2011.  Refund claims for the production 
periods beginning on or after July 1, 2009, and ending 
on or before June 30, 2011, are to be paid in equal 
payments of a period of 36 months.  The Tax 
Commission is required to provide the operator or 
designated interest owner a schedule of rebates to be 
paid over the 36-month period beginning after July 1, 
2012, but prior to August 1, 2012. 
 

General Government 
The Legislature addressed several issues of 

importance to counties and municipalities this session.  
*HB 3054 creates the Municipal Fiscal Impact Act. The 
measure provides that no bill, resolution or amendment 
determined to have a direct adverse fiscal impact on 
municipalities in excess of $100,000 statewide may be 
reported out of the committee to which it is assigned, or 
in the case of a floor amendment, may be acted upon by 
the relevant legislative body, unless a fiscal impact 
statement of the bill is made.  Any measure having a 
direct adverse fiscal impact on municipalities in excess 
of $100,000 statewide for which an emergency clause 
has not received required approval cannot go into effect 
until July 1 of the following calendar year.  A direct 
adverse fiscal impact is defined as the cost in dollars to a 
municipality in this state of a statute which imposes a 
mandate for the new or additional application of 
municipal resources or reduces existing municipal 
resources without providing revenue which would fully 
fund the mandate.  Municipal resources may include, but 
are not limited to, law enforcement, fire protection, 
health and medical services, power and waste services, 
streets, bridges or highways, and recreational services. 

Encouraging cooperation between local governments 
was also a focus of the Legislature this session.  SB 1998 
authorizes a board of county commissioners to construct, 
improve, repair, or maintain any streets of a municipality 
having a population of less than 5,000 persons.  The 
entities may make an agreement whether or not the 
municipality has passed a sales tax with proceeds 
earmarked for those types of projects.  The same 
services may be rendered to a municipality having a 
population greater than 5,000 persons but less than 
15,000 persons if the municipality has passed a sales tax 
with the proceeds for those services within the 
municipality. A board of county commissioners may 
also maintain any streets of a municipality if the county 
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has a population in excess of 500,000 persons.  The 
agreements may also be entered into whether or not the 
municipality has passed a sales tax with proceeds 
earmarked for those services.  And SB 1997 creates the 
Marvin Williams and Robbie Chase Whitebird County 
Sheriff Assistance Act.  The measure authorizes a 
corporation organized to represent the elected sheriffs of 
this state to provide any available support services and 
assist in coordinating county law enforcement resources 
when any sheriff of this state requests such assistance. 

The Legislature also enacted a number of measures 
relating to general governance.  SB 1812 modifies 
existing notification requirements as they relate to the 
disposition of unclaimed property by authorizing a 
police department to notify the owner of unclaimed 
property worth in excess of $100 of pending disposal by 
first-class mail.  Under current law, such notifications 
are required to be sent via certified mail prior to 
disposal.  In addition, HB 2907 authorizes the issuance 
of temporary special parking placards to pregnant 
women.  To qualify, the recipient’s condition must be 
determined by a physician, physician assistant, or an 
advanced registered nurse practitioner as meeting one or 
more of the categories described as a physical disability 
under current law.  *HB 2567 also relates to disability 
placards.  The measure requires the recognition of any 
disability placards issued by the Department of 
Veterans’ Affairs, federal military bases, or other states 
as valid in Oklahoma.  The measure also imposes a $500 
fine for individuals who illegally use a disabled parking 
space. 

 

Government Modernization and 
Agency Oversight  

In the area of government modernization and agency 
oversight, legislators passed bills requiring transparency 
in agency operation. 

HB 2319 adds amendatory language which states 
that if a legislatively created task force or similar 
advisory body does not conduct at least one meeting or 
issue a final report within three years of the date in 
which the law that created it became effective, that task 
force will cease to have any authority and be considered 
terminated. This applies to all legislatively created task 
forces and advisory bodies regardless of when they were 
created. 

*HB 2698 creates the Oklahoma Government 
Website Information Act. This bill requires public 
bodies to make available on their website on or before 
January 1, 2011, any administrative rules the public 
body uses to operate, proposed administrative rules, 
statutes affecting the public body and the way it 
operates, and statutes the public may find useful when 
interacting with the public body. 

*HB 3161 prohibits children from being used in any 
lottery advertisement or promotion and requires any 
claim of benefit in the advertisement of the lottery to be 
substantiated by actual expenditures of revenue for 
specified purposes. 

*HB 3422 requires the Office of State Finance 
(OSF) to update the state’s Open Books website with 
Open Books 2.0 by January 1, 2011. Open Books 2.0 
will be a more expansive, searchable online database that 
lists individual expenditures, regardless of amount, 
separate from aggregated amounts. Within 18 months of 
Open Books 2.0 being online, OSF must create an online 
archive for each fiscal year beginning with FY-2011 and 
that archive must be accessible and searchable to online 
users. 

HB 3422 also adds a new law that requires the 
Oklahoma Tax Commission to prepare and maintain a 
list of all taxpayers who have claimed any tax credit 
authorized by any provisions of state law and related to a 
tax administered by the Tax Commission. This includes 
the identity of all taxpayers or organizations having any 
part in the chain of custody or claim to the credit at any 
time during the credit’s existence from the initial time 
the credit is earned, through the time that the credit is 
claimed on a tax return. It then requires the Office of 
State Finance to make this list available on the 
internet. The list must include the name of each taxpayer 
who claimed a credit, the amount of such credit, and the 
specific statutory provision under which the credit was 
claimed. The list must be updated on at least a monthly 
basis. 
 

Health and Human Services 
 The Legislature enacted a variety of measures 
related to health and human services including bills to 
bolster funding for the state’s Medicaid program, 
develop emergency medical services across the state, 
encourage restaurants with smoking rooms to go smoke-
free, and to authorize the establishment of family drug 
courts. 



 First Edition – May 28, 2010 
 

PLEASE NOTE:  THE MEASURES INCLUDED IN THIS DOCUMENT HAD 
RECEIVED LEGISLATIVE APPROVAL AS OF MAY 28. 

 

  
* Awaiting action by the Governor. 2010 Session Overview     7 

Health 
In an effort to shore up the state’s Medicaid program 

and head off severe cuts to hospitals and other health 
care providers due to the budget shortfall, the Legislature 
enacted *HB 2437 which creates the Health Carrier 
Access Payment Revolving Fund and establishes a 1 
percent access payment to be paid by health carriers on 
all claims until January 1, 2015. The access payments 
will be utilized by the Oklahoma Health Care Authority 
to make full use of any federal matching funds available 
to the state. 

Another measure, *HB 1888, is aimed at developing 
and preserving emergency medical services across the 
state. The measure requires, by April 1, 2011, each 
county with a population of 500,000 people or less 
submit an emergency medical services plan to the 
Oklahoma State Department of Health (OSDH.) The 
plan will be developed by the Emergency Response 
Systems Development Advisory Council of the OSDH 
and each county emergency services advisory board to 
address funding issues, ensure countywide emergency 
medical services coverage, and to address county 
boundaries to ensure 911 operators are able to provide a 
quick response. The bill also establishes a duty to act 
within a licensed area by ambulance service providers 
regardless of the patient’s ability to pay. 

The Legislature took steps to encourage restaurants 
in Oklahoma to go completely smoke free by passing 
HB 2774. The bill establishes the Clean Air in 
Restaurants Act and authorizes the OSDH to implement 
a rebate program to reimburse restaurant owners for 
expenses they incurred in constructing a smoking room 
prior to November 1, 2010, if the restaurant converts to a 
completely smoke-free environment no later than 
January 1, 2013. The amount of the rebate would be 
equal to 50 percent of the original cost of the smoking 
room minus depreciation costs. The measure also directs 
the OSDH to establish a program for the voluntary 
certification of communities and schools that promote 
wellness, encourage the adoption of healthy behaviors, 
and establish safe and supportive environments. 

In response to the passage of the federal Patient 
Protection and Affordable Care Act (PPACA), the 
Legislature passed SJR 59 which will send a proposed 
state constitutional amendment to a vote of the people.  
If approved, the amendment will prohibit a law or rule 
from compelling any person, employer, or health care 
provider to participate in any health care system and 
specifies that a person or employer may pay directly for 

lawful health care services and cannot be required to pay 
a penalty for doing so. In a related measure, SCR 64  
authorizes the President Pro Tempore of the Senate and 
the Speaker of the House of Representatives to employ 
legal counsel to file a lawsuit against the federal 
government to prevent the provisions of the PPACA 
from taking effect. 

SB 479 creates the Oklahoma Interventional Pain 
Management and Treatment Act and restricts the 
practice of interventional pain management to licensed 
physicians but specifies that a certified registered nurse 
anesthetist can administer certain epidural steroid 
injections or peripheral nerve blocks under the 
supervision of a licensed physician. 

 
Children and Families 

*HB 1964 is intended to provide assistance to 
grandparents who are caring for grandchildren by 
authorizing the court to grant a qualified relative custody 
of a child who has been abandoned in the care of the 
qualified relative. The bill also provides that the 
caregivers have the same rights to arrange for and 
consent to services that are necessary to provide for the 
care, treatment, education, and welfare of the child. 

Given the fact that substance abuse is a problem in 
many of the families that come to the attention of child 
welfare officials, HB 1741 authorizes district courts to 
establish a family drug court to treat families and 
children who the courts have ruled are deprived, in cases 
where the parent has a substance abuse disorder. The bill 
requires that a family drug court assessment be made of 
the deprived child and his or her family to determine the 
elements of the treatment plan that the parent or parents 
will be required to comply with if admitted to the 
program and directs that the judge require the family to 
demonstrate support for participation in the program. 

 
Children with Disabilities 

*HB 3393 provides another option to parents of 
children with special needs by establishing the Lindsey 
Nichole Henry Scholarships for Students with 
Disabilities Program. The purpose is to provide a 
scholarship to a private school of choice for students 
with disabilities who have had an individualized 
education program developed in accordance with the 
Individuals with Disabilities Education Act. The 
measure establishes criteria that must be met by the 
student and his or her parents and for private schools that 
wish to participate in the program and provides a 
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formula for the calculation of the amount of the 
scholarship. 
 
Pro-Life Measures 

The House passed several significant pro-life 
measures.  Four of these measures were vetoed by the 
Governor, with the House overriding three of those 
vetoes.    

The House voted to override the veto of HB 2656 
which makes it illegal to sue a doctor claiming wrongful 
birth because the doctor failed to convince the mother to 
abort a child, and the veto of HB 2780 which requires 
that doctors provide women information from an 
ultrasound prior to performing an abortion.  Finally, the 
House overrode the veto of HB 3284 which requires 
physicians who perform abortions to report certain 
information to the Department of Health and also directs 
the Department to put on its website reporting forms and 
state statutes and regulations related to abortion and to 
notify physicians of requirements to report abortion-
related information.  The measure directs the 
Department to publish annual abortion reports on its 
website. The Senate also overrode the veto on the bills.   

The Governor vetoed HB 3290 which would have 
prohibited insurance plans from including coverage for 
elective abortion. 
 

International Relations and 
Tourism 

The areas of international relations and tourism 
were, legislatively, fairly quiet. Two unrelated, but 
notable, bills were signed into law. HB 2717  authorizes 
any federally recognized Indian tribe, band, or nation 
that benefited from the creation of a state agency 
housing authority to assume management and control of 
the state agency housing authority and all its assets. 
SB 1351 allows the Oklahoma Film and Music Office to 
keep business plans, feasibility studies, proposals, 
business development information, and trade secrets 
confidential. The Office may not keep information 
confidential when the person submitting the information 
consents to disclosure. 
 

Judiciary 
In the area of judiciary, legislators passed measures 

related to a variety of topics including picketing at 

funerals, sex offender registration, and restricted areas 
for sex offenders, drug courts, and abortion. 

*HB 2572 amends the Oklahoma Funeral Picketing 
Act by expanding the definition of picketing to include 
demonstrations and by clarifying that any picketing must 
be done 500 feet outside of the property line of a church, 
cemetery, or mortuary. Current law does not specify 
property line. 

HB 2800 gives the executor or administrator of an 
estate the power, where otherwise authorized, to take 
control of, conduct, continue, or terminate any accounts 
of a deceased person on any social networking website 
such as Facebook, any microblogging or short message 
service website or any e-mail service websites. 

HB 2968 amends the Sex Offenders Registration 
Act by adding that a mappable address and zip code for 
the place the offender is residing must accompany the 
registration. 

*HB 2983 adds crimes related to financial 
transactions and wire transfers to the Oklahoma 
Antiterrorism Act.  The bill also changes the name of the 
Oklahoma Corrupt Organizations Prevention Act to the 
Oklahoma Racketeer-Influenced and Corrupt Organiza-
tions Act. 

HB 3158 allows a drug court judge to extend the 
period of supervision for drug court participants. 

SB 1879 adds language requiring a nursing home 
facility to make every effort to preserve the scene of a 
suspected rape or criminal act until local law 
enforcement arrives. 

SB 1902 creates a new law making it illegal for a 
person to provide or administer  RU-486 for the purpose 
of inducing an abortion unless the person is a qualified 
physician. 

SB 2064 enlarges the zone of safety created around 
schools, child care centers, playgrounds, and parks to 
prohibit the loitering of a sex offender from 300 feet to 
500 feet. 

 

Public Safety 
Numerous measures were enacted this session to 

improve public safety.  Drunk driving prevention and the 
creation of a methamphetamine registry were of great 
importance.  Measures dealing with distracted driving 
and cell phone use were also addressed. 

In an attempt to have an impact on reducing repeat 
DUI offenders, HB 3240 creates the Aaron Gillming Act 
which requires persons convicted of a municipal 
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ordinance relating to driving under the influence of 
alcohol or other intoxicating substance to participate in 
an alcohol and drug substance abuse evaluation and 
assessment program.  Currently, the first municipal 
conviction is not reported to the state, and, therefore, the 
offender is not required to participate in alcohol 
assessment and treatment. Offenders will be required to 
follow the recommendations of the evaluation and 
assessment and will not have their driving privileges 
reinstated by the Department of Public Safety until 
completion of the treatment recommendations. 

The Methamphetamine Offender Registry Act is 
created by *HB 3380.  The bill allows the Oklahoma 
Bureau of Narcotics and Dangerous Drugs Control to 
create a registry of persons who have been convicted of 
possession of methamphetamine or any of the precursors 
with intent to manufacture methamphetamine.  Any 
person subject to registration is prohibited from 
purchasing, possessing, or having control of any 
Schedule V compound containing any detectable 
quantity of pseudoephedrine.  Violation is a felony 
subject to not less than two nor more than ten years 
imprisonment and a fine of not more than $5,000.  The 
registry is to be made available to registrants who sell 
pseudoephedrine-related products, the courts and law 
enforcement agencies.  Persons subject to registration 
are to remain on the registry for ten years.   

Several measures were adopted impacting the use of 
cell phones or other hand-held devices and distracted 
driving.  *SB 1908 prohibits persons who have a learner 
permit or intermediate Class D license from using a 
hand-held device while driving.  The bill also restricts 
persons with a learner permit to driving only between 
the hours of 5 a.m. and 10 p.m.  Another measure, 
HB 2276, allows a law enforcement officer to issue a 
citation for distracted driving if the officer observes an 
operator of a vehicle driving in a manner that poses a 
danger to other persons on the roadway.  A related bill, 
HB 2957, prohibits public transit drivers from using a 
cellular phone or electronic communication device to 
write, send, or read a text-based communication while 
the vehicle is in motion. 

The Compulsory Insurance Law was strengthened 
this session with the passage of *HB 2331 which 
requires law enforcement to verify insurance coverage 
during a traffic stop or accident investigation.  If officers 
do not confirm coverage by online verification system or 
by security verification form provided by the operator, 
the officer must issue a citation for failure to comply 

with the Compulsory Insurance Law. Peace officers are 
required to seize the vehicle of any person who is 
operating a vehicle while under suspension for failure to 
carry insurance as required by the Compulsory Insurance 
Law.  A law enforcement officer may seize the vehicle 
of any person who is operating a vehicle without 
insurance if the operator does not produce a security 
verification form and the officer is unable to confirm 
compliance through the online verification system.  A 
vehicle may not be seized if the operator produces a 
valid security verification form.  Any vehicles displaying 
a valid temporary license plate are also exempt from 
being seized or towed.   

Gun legislation was a topic that received much 
attention during the legislative session.  The Governor 
vetoed two measures, HB 2994 and SB 1685, that would 
have created the Firearms Freedom Act, declaring 
Oklahoma’s rights under the 2nd,  9th, and 10th 
Amendments to the U.S. Constitution to be free from 
regulation of firearms, firearms accessories, and 
ammunition by the federal government when the 
firearms, firearms accessories, and ammunition are 
manufactured in Oklahoma and the product remains in 
Oklahoma.  The measures required the firearms 
manufactured in Oklahoma to be clearly stamped “Made 
in Oklahoma.”  The Governor also vetoed HB 3354, that 
would have allowed persons licensed under the Self 
Defense Act to carry concealed weapons to carry their 
weapons open and unconcealed. 
 

Revenue and Taxation 
 As part of the FY-2011 budget agreement, 
*SB 1267  establishes a two-year moratorium on an 
array of specified tax credits. The moratorium will be in 
effect from July 1, 2010, through June 30, 2012. 
 Another part of the FY-2011 budget agreement, 
*SB 1590, pertains to qualified small business capital 
companies and qualified rural small business capital 
companies, allows tax credits issued for such entities 
from January 1, 1998, until June 1, 2010, to continue if 
the qualified capital company has invested in one or 
more Oklahoma business ventures. The measure 
prohibits such credits from being issued after June 1, 
2010. 
 To address an issue with a court ruling regarding 
collection of taxes on intangible personal property, 
*SJR 61 imposes a moratorium on the franchise tax and 
adds a tax in lieu of ad valorem taxes on intangible 
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personal property of all businesses in Oklahoma, except 
for public service corporations, air carriers, and 
railroads. The measure creates the Oklahoma Business 
Activity Tax Code, which will expire on December 31, 
2012, unless made permanent by a future Legislature. 
The purpose of the act is to create a revenue-neutral 
mechanism to provide a fair and simplified taxation of 
businesses and individuals in Oklahoma while 
maintaining revenue levels for the state.  The new taxes 
will be collected as franchise taxes are collected now, 
and will be deposited in the General Revenue Fund.  The 
tax on each business in Oklahoma will be an annual tax 
of $25 and a tax equal to 1 percent of the net revenue 
received from business activity allocated to Oklahoma. 
 The measure also requires that taxes due from 
businesses or others subject to the franchise tax be equal 
to the amount paid for tax year 2010. This tax will be in 
lieu of any and all other taxes imposed by the state, 
counties, cities, or other political subdivisions on 
intangible personal property. The measure also creates 
the Task Force on Comprehensive Tax Reform to 
recommend amendments to the Business Activity Tax 
Code, to review taxes imposed on businesses and 
individuals in Oklahoma, and to develop 
recommendations and proposed legislation to provide 
simplification and fairness in Oklahoma’s tax structure. 
The task force will be composed of 21 members, 
including legislators, relevant agency directors, and 
public citizens representing major Oklahoma industries. 
The task force is required to submit a final report to the 
Governor, President Pro Tempore, and Speaker by 
January 1, 2012, with findings and recommendations to 
amend and revise the Oklahoma Business Activity Tax 
Code. 
 SJR 51 proposes a constitutional amendment to be 
sent to the vote of the people, increasing the amount of 
money to be deposited in the Constitutional Reserve 
Fund, also known as the Rainy Day Fund, to be 15 
percent of the amount estimated for the annual state 
budget.  Currently the cap is at 10 percent. The proposed 
amendment also clarifies language that the Governor has 
the discretion to issue deficiency certificates for any 
department or state agency.  

*HB 3024 [measure passed the House and is 
pending in the Senate] provides an end date of July 1, 
2010, for existing electric vehicle tax credits.  In 
addition, the measure also creates an array of new, one-
time income tax credits for the manufacturers of electric 
vehicles.  These credits range from $500 per vehicle for 

low-speed electric vehicles to $2,000 per vehicle for 
fully capable electric vehicles.  The manufacturer credits 
may be carried forward against subsequent income tax 
liability for a period of up to 5 years and may only be 
claimed for qualified vehicles as defined by the measure. 

*HB 2359 requires retailers and venders making 
sales of tangible personal property from a place of 
business outside the state to provide notification on its 
retail website or catalog and invoices provided to its 
customers that use tax is imposed and must be paid by 
the purchaser, unless otherwise exempt, on the storage 
and use of the property in the state.  To encourage 
voluntary registration, collection and remittance of owed 
use taxes, the measure authorizes the Oklahoma Tax 
Commission (OTC) to establish a Retailer Compliance 
Initiative for out-of-state retailers and an outreach 
program to internet retailers.  The OTC is also 
authorized to create Consumer Compliance Initiative to 
get taxpayers to voluntarily disclose and make payments 
due without fear of penalty for those who file delinquent 
tax returns and pay due taxes during the initiative. 

*HB 3166 modifies the Uniform Tax Procedure 
Code by requiring the Oklahoma Tax Commission, upon 
receiving a claim from a state agency or municipal or 
district court, to deduct the claim amount and collection 
expenses from the tax refund due to the debtor and 
transfer the amount to the municipal court, the district 
court, or agency.   The measure also provides a new 
sales tax exemption for sales of gold, silver, platinum, 
palladium or other bullion items such as bars and coins, 
and legal tender of any nation.  The exemption, however, 
does not apply to fabricated metals that have been 
processed or manufactured for artistic use or as jewelry. 

 

Transportation 
Funding issues dominated the transportation arena 

this session.  Measures were enacted to increase the 
availability of funding to continue the Department of 
Transportation’s eight-year construction plan and to 
proceed with the Rebuilding Oklahoma Access and 
Driver Safety Fund (ROADS) projects.   

The ROADS Fund was created to address critical 
state highway construction, major repair, and 
maintenance needs.  *SB 1466 increases incremental 
funding to the Rebuilding Oklahoma Access and Driver 
Safety Fund (ROADS) to $35.7 million annually until a 
cap of $400 million is reached.  The measure also 
transfers $100,756,780 from the State Transportation 
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Fund to the Special Cash Fund.  The original funding 
cap was $170 million, with an annual incremental 
funding level based on a 3 percent threshold in General 
Revenue Fund growth.  Incremental annual allocations 
of $35.7 million from FY-2012 - FY-2016, plus a final 
deposit of $6.5 million in FY-2017 will bring the 
ROADS Fund to the $400 million cap. 

Another measure, *HB 2971, transfers the interest 
derived from investments by the State Treasurer from 
monies credited to the Emergency and Transportation 
Revolving Fund to the Statewide Circuit Engineering 
District Revolving Fund. The Emergency Transportation 
Revolving Fund provides funding that allows counties to 
address emergency projects that are reimbursable by 
federal or state funds. The Circuit Engineering District 
Revolving Fund provides funding to eight Circuit 
Engineering Districts that enable the counties to come 
together as a cooperative and achieve efficiencies and 
economies of scale for transportation-related projects 
that may not be available to an individual county. The 
measure also exempts the interest received on 
investments of funds in the Emergency and 
Transportation Revolving Fund from remittance to the 
General Revenue Fund. 

*HB 2919 and *SB 1960 create the Aircraft Pilot 
and Passenger Protection Act to allow the Oklahoma 
Aeronautics Commission to regulate the height of 
structures near public use airports.  Both measures 
require a person to obtain a permit from the Oklahoma 
Aeronautics Commission prior to the construction, 
installation, or alteration of any structure near a public 
use airport.  The Aeronautics Commission is allowed to 
assess up to $200 per permit application. 

HB 3220 authorizes the Oklahoma Turnpike 
Authority to establish a new turnpike in Tulsa beginning 
at Interstate 44 near its intersection with 49th West 
Avenue, past State Highway 64/412, turning 
northeasterly, crossing 41st West Avenue, and 
continuing eastward to the L.L. Tisdale Expressway. 

HB 2609 relates to outdoor advertising. The measure 
clarifies the intent of the regulation of outdoor 
advertising signs within 660 feet from the edge of the 
right-of-way on interstate and federal-aid primary 
highways located within urban areas by adding the 
phrases “with the intent to be read” and “on the same 
side of such facilities.” 
 
 

Veterans and Military Affairs 
 Legislators passed two bills that help in honoring 
heroes killed in combat. HB 2571 allows unclaimed, 
cremated remains of military personnel to be transferred 
to charitable organizations for the purpose of providing 
dignified and honorable funerals. SB 2037 makes sure 
that the Department of Central Services provides an 
Oklahoma flag to any member of the United States 
Armed Forces who was a resident of the state at the time 
of death and was either killed in the line of duty or died 
of wounds inflicted.   
 To help the state deal with emergencies, legislators 
passed SB 2260. This bill grants any state employee in 
the executive branch who is a member of the United 
States Air Force Auxiliary Civil Air Patrol leave with 
pay during disasters designated at level III and above for 
up to 15 working days in any 12-month period. 
  

Wildlife 
 Several measures introduced this session focused on 
simplifying and reducing the types of hunting and 
fishing licenses. These bills were collected in an 
omnibus package through *HB 2963. This bill extends 
nonresident hunting licenses from five to six days, 
allows active-duty military personnel to purchase 
resident licenses, creates hunting licenses that coincide 
with tag seasons, consolidates and expands senior 
lifetime license privileges, makes a regular fishing 
license valid for trout fishing, and allows minors to pay 
for lifetime licenses in installments. 
 Legislators also examined how to deal with 
individuals who violate wildlife-related provisions of the 
Oklahoma Statutes. HB 1889 includes Oklahoma in the 
Interstate Wildlife Violator Compact, which allows 
participating states to suspend wildlife license privileges 
of any person whose license privileges have been 
suspended by a participating state. HB 2861 allows 
those who have had their hunting and fishing licenses 
revoked to apply for a new license after paying fines and 
a restitution fee. 
 

 
 
Title photo courtesy of the Legislative Services Bureau 

Photography Division 
 

   
 



First Edition – May 28, 2009 
 

PLEASE NOTE:  THE MEASURES INCLUDED IN THIS DOCUMENT HAD RECEIVED 
LEGISLATIVE APPROVAL AS OF MAY 28 

 

 
12     2010 Session Overview  * Awaiting action by the Governor. 

 
 


