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Introduction 
 The 2006 session of the Oklahoma Legislature 
was highlighted by a number of bills that reinforced 
traditional values, took aggressive steps toward 
combating crime, and sought new ideas to keep 
Oklahoma competitive and healthy in the future. 

SB 1742 contains a series of pro-life measures 
including parental consent for a minor seeking an 
abortion, while HB 3056 provides a fine of up to $500 
and up to one year in jail for any person convicted of 
selling low-point beer to a minor. 

In the area of crime, SB 1037 was enacted after 
young Caitlin Wooten was killed by a person who had 
been released from jail on a kidnapping charge.  The bill 
expands the circumstances under which bail can be 
denied. HB 2840 was the result of another shocking and 
highly publicized murder, that of two-year-old Kelsey 
Smith-Briggs. With the passage of this bill, the 
Legislature took action to strengthen the adjudication 
and cu

eking practical, 
ffective solutions to improving and reforming the 

a pattern or practice, it may increase 
e award to no more than three times the actual 

d Rural 

stody determination process following an 
investigation of alleged child abuse.   

Finally, in keeping an eye toward the future, the 
Oklahoma Legislature took the lead in se
e
state’s Medicaid system with HB 2842.  
 
Aerospace and Technology 

The surge in Internet use in Oklahoma has 
unfortunately also seen a corresponding surge in various 
online scams.  To combat fraud and identity theft, 
HB 2473 establishes the Anti-Phishing Act.  Phishing is 
when a person or entity sends a prospective victim an 
email – often posing as a legitimate online business, 
especially a bank – to collect personal data with the 
intent to defraud that victim.  Those violating the Anti-
Phishing Act are subject to fines in an amount equal to 
the greater of the actual damages suffered or $100,000.  
If a court finds that violations of this Act are frequent 
enough to establish 
th
damages sustained. 
 

Agriculture an
Development 

In the area of agriculture and rural development, 
the Legislature passed HB 2895, which creates the 
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Motor Carrier Harvest Permit Act. This bill gives 
jurisdiction for wheat harvesting permits to the 
Corporation Commission and also mandates that 
portable

prevent suffering” among those 
actions 

e 
oard of Agriculture the monitoring of the health, 

orest resources. 

 the percentage of those annually assessed funds 
from 20

se economic effects upon other 
nancial, real estate, or insurance service providers in 

conomic 

T

each 
nursing

ishing a Small Business 
egulatory Review Committee within the Oklahoma 

 which is the subject of a 
purchas

ugh a 
unique 

 holder to 
onduct a wine event, which may be either a live auction 

a silent auction. 

t their duties to notify and 
inform 

 or stationary scales for weighing vehicles may 
not be located within two miles of any grain elevator.  

The Legislature also took on the issue of animal 
cruelty, passing HB 1672.  This bill requires 
veterinarians to report suspected cases of animal abuse 
within 24 hours of any treatment or examination and 
exempts them from any civil liability as it relates to that 
report.  It also enables peace officers and animal control 
officers to remove an abused animal from custody. 
Finally, this bill adds language which includes 
“veterinary care to 

which may result in a felony should they be 
denied to an animal.  

Finally, SB 1481 adds to the duties of the Stat
B
inventory, and condition of the state’s f
 

Banking and Finance 
HB 2483 creates the Oklahoma Financial 

Transaction Reporting Act which requires any money 
services business in Oklahoma to file a registration 
application and secure a license to engage in the business 
of money services.  Suppliers are required to provide to 
the Commissioner a list of each person to whom the 
necessary equipment to send or receive money has been 
provided. The State Banking Board makes an annual 
assessment of state-chartered banks, on each $1,000 of 
bank assets, which is then deposited into the General 
Revenue Fund of the State Treasury.  This measure 
reduces

 percent of total assets to 10 percent of total 
assets. 

HB 2147 creates the Task Force for the Study of 
State Banking Services.  This Task Force has been 
created to specifically determine the extent to which 
proposed changes in the powers of banks under the 
jurisdiction of the State Banking Commissioner would 
or would not have adver
fi
the State of Oklahoma.   
 

Business and E
Development 

he bills passed by the Legislature relating to 
economic development were varied in their subject 
matter. HB 1619 creates the Oklahoma Quality 
Investment Act, which allows the State of Oklahoma to 
provide incentives to support retention of manufacturing 
establishments in the state.  On the employee side, 
HB 2358 takes the side of working mothers by providing 

guidelines for workplace policies governing breast-
feeding. As outlined in HB 2358, a lactation room is 
now available in the Capitol for nursing moms. The 
room provides a private and clean location where 

 mom can express milk or breastfeed her baby. 
The room is located in Room 538 on the fifth floor. 

HB 2880 amends the Small Business Regulatory 
Flexibility Act by establ
R
Department of Commerce.  
 
Commerce, Industry, and Labor 

SB 876 creates the Commercial Real Estate 
Broker Lien Act, which gives real estate brokers a lien 
upon commercial real estate or any interest in that 
commercial real estate

e, lease, or other conveyance to a buyer in the 
commercial real estate. 

HB 2635 adds “prepaid service arrangement” to 
the Gift Certificate and Gift Card Disclosure Act, which 
creates a method to purchase specific services in 
advance and enables the use of the service thro

access number or authorization code provided 
manually or electronically to the service provider. 

HB 3043 modifies acts authorized for charitable 
auction or charitable wine event license by adding that 
the charitable wine event license authorizes the
c
conducted by an auctioneer or 
 

Criminal Justice 
Several measures were enacted by the 

Legislature to protect the citizens of Oklahoma.  The 
Caitlin Wooten Act, SB 1037, was enacted after young 
Caitlin Wooten was killed by a person who had been 
released from jail on a kidnapping charge.  The bill 
expands the circumstances under which bail can be 
denied to include capital offenses, violent offenses, 
offenses where the maximum punishment may be life or 
life without parole, and felony offenses committed by a 
person who has two or more prior felony offenses.  The 
measure also allows the Attorney General to establish a 
notification system relating to crime victims, witnesses, 
and persons who have filed protective orders to assist 
public officials in carrying ou

crime victims and witnesses as the Attorney 
General establishes by rule.    

Legislation aimed at protecting the public from 
sex offenders was the focus of several measures this 
session.  SB 1800 allows a court or jury to sentence a 
person to death or life without parole upon conviction 
for gross sex offenses against a child under the age of 14 
years if the person has a prior conviction for one of these 
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crimes.  Sex offenders who are released from prison will 
be required to submit to polygraph testing every six 
months under the provisions of SB 1964.  The measure 
also allows a court to order up to three years of post 
imprisonment supervision of sex offenders and to 
require sex offenders to participate in treatment 
programs while in prison and under supervision.  A final 
measure, SB 1755, increases the punishment of several 
sexually-based crimes. The measure increases the 
minimum punishment for lewd molestation from not less 
than one year in prison to not less than three years in 
prison and increases the punishment for sexual battery 
from not more than five years in prison to not more than 
ten years in prison.  Punishments are also increased 
against registered sex offenders who violate the state’s 
“Zone of Safety” law by making convictions for 
violation a felony punishable by imprisonment for not 
more than one year for a first offense.  Any second or 
subsequent offense is punishable by up to three years in 
prison.  The minimum punishment for a second or 
subsequent violation of a protective order is increased 
from a misdemeanor to a felony and imprisonment from 
not less than ten days in jail to not less than one year or 
more than three years imprisonment.  The measure also 
increases the punishment from a misdemeanor to a 
felony punishable by up to a $3,000 fine and not less 
than one year imprisonment against sex offenders who 
are caught residing within 2,000 feet of a school.  
Second and subsequent offenses are punishable by a fine 
of up 

unt in excess of $750 is to be 
used to

 driver license.  A minor’s driver license may 
also be 

ne is remitted to 
the mu s of enforcing 
laws rel

lent video 
games t

 
tors will be subject to a misdemeanor punishable 

by up to

ution and civil action for the use of 
ce.  The measure becomes effective 

Novem

to $3,000 and not less than three years 
imprisonment. 

The Prevention of Youth Access to Alcohol Act 
is created by HB 3056.  The measure increases fines 
associated with alcohol-related criminal acts and uses the 
increased fines to fund programs designed to end alcohol 
abuse.  The bill provides a fine of up to $500 and up to 
one year in jail for any person convicted of selling low-
point beer to a minor.  A second offense within one year 
is punishable by a fine of not more than $2,500 and up to 
one year in jail.  A third offense within one year is a 
felony punishable by a fine of up to $5,000 and up to 
five years imprisonment.  One-half of any fine collected 
is to be deposited in the Prevention of Youth Access to 
Alcohol Revolving Fund.  The bill increases the fine 
amount from $750 to $1,250 for alcohol or drug-related 
traffic offenses.  Any amo

 defray the costs of enforcing laws related to 
juvenile alcohol access.   

HB 3056 also establishes greater penalties on 
businesses that sell beer to minors and on the minors that 
attempt to purchase beer from these businesses.  The bill 
allows for the suspension of the business permit to sell 
low-point beer for 30 days upon a first violation.  A 
second violation by the same employee within a 24-
month period results in a mandatory 30-day suspension 

of the permit to sell beer.  A third violation within a 24 
month period results in a mandatory 30-day suspension 
of the permit to sell beer.  If all three violations were by 
the same employee, the period of suspension is to be 180 
days.  A fourth violation within a 24-month period 
results in a mandatory revocation of the permit to sell 
beer.  In addition, to prevent family operated businesses 
from simply changing the name of the licensee, the 
measure prevents the licensing of family members of a 
person who has received a fourth violation.  Fines are 
increased from $100 to $300 for purchasing or 
attempting to purchase beer while under the age of 21.  
The court may also order up to 30 hours of community 
service for any minor convicted of purchasing or 
attempting to purchase beer.  A second offense is 
punishable by a fine of up to $600 and 60 hours of 
community service.  A third offense is punishable by a 
fine of up to $900 and 90 hours of community service.  
Another provision sure to garner the attention of minors 
is that the bill requires a mandatory revocation of the 
violator’s

revoked after conviction for being in an enclosed 
bar area. 

Finally, HB 3056 allows cities with a municipal 
court of record to establish fines of up to $1,250 and up 
to six months in jail for alcohol or drug-related traffic 
offenses.  A municipality may also establish a fee of up 
to $800 for each deferred sentence for an alcohol or drug 
related offense.  Fifty dollars of each fi

nicipality to help defray the cost
ated to juvenile alcohol access. 
In other criminal justice matters: 
SB 1807 establishes a procedure outlining the 

steps necessary to determine if a person is mentally 
retarded and ineligible for the death penalty in capital 
cases in which questions of mental retardation are raised. 
 HB 3004 prohibits the sale of vio

o minors and restricts the placement of sexually 
oriented business signage on state highways. 

HB 2813 prohibits a dog owner from allowing 
their dog to run at large after the dog has bitten someone.  
Viola

 one year in the county jail and up to a $5,000 
fine. 

HB 2615 creates the Stand Your Ground law by 
expanding Make My Day law protections to allow 
persons to protect themselves not only in their home, but 
also in any residence or occupied vehicle.  A person 
found justified in their use of defensive force is immune 
from criminal prosec
the defensive for

ber 1, 2006. 
Juvenile Justice 

Several bills were enacted this session to 
strengthen how the state treats juvenile offenders.  A 
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measure reorganizing how the Office of Juvenile Affairs 
contracts with service providers and modifications to the 
Youthfu

uvenile justice and 
delinqu

 make 
recomm

these juveniles 
who are

transferred to the 
Department of Corrections when incarceration or 

l Offender Act were of major importance. 
HB 2999 provides specific guidelines to be 

followed by the Office of Juvenile Affairs (OJA) and 
nonprofit youth services agencies when providing core 
community based services.  Core community based 
services are those services provided to youth by local 
youth services agencies through contracts with OJA.  
The bill establishes a system of peer review of youth 
services agencies to better inform OJA of the 
organization, programs, records, and financial condition 
of the agencies contracting with the Office.  Another 
provision of the measure reorganizes and creates new 
divisions within OJA to better monitor the relationships 
between OJA and youth services agencies.  The Division 
of Institutional Services is charged to be responsible for 
the institutions operated by or contracted for by the 
Office.  The Division of Community-based Youth 
Services is responsible for contracting with, monitoring, 
evaluating, and supporting community-based youth 
services agencies.  The Division of Juvenile Services is 
responsible for intake, probation, and parole services.  
The Division of Residential and Treatment Programs is 
created to be responsible for contracting for, monitoring, 
and evaluating residential and treatment programs other 
than institutions and community-based youth services 
agencies.  Other provisions of the bill grant youth 
services agencies the ability to negotiate the 
documentation required to show that the agency has 
fulfilled contracted obligations.  OJA is prohibited from 
funding any new or replacement youth services agency if 
the funding would lower the contract amount from the 
previous fiscal year for the existing youth services 
agency.  Finally, the measure requires OJA to give full 
consideration to any recommendations of the Oklahoma 
Association of Youth Services regarding community-
based facilities, programs, or services when planning 
and coordinating statewide j

ency prevention services. 
A series of four bills affecting juvenile justice 

were enacted as the result of the work of the Youthful 
Offender Task Force of 2005.  The Task Force was 
created to evaluate the effectiveness of the Youthful 
Offender Act and to study the best practices for similar 
types of adjudicated juveniles in other states and 
jurisdictions, study the ability and effects of transferring 
youth to the Department of Corrections, and

endations for changes to the Legislature. 
SB 1756 requires the judgment and sentence of a 

person who is or has been certified as a youthful 
offender to clearly identify the person as a youthful 
offender and detail the history of the application of the 
Youthful Offender Act as it relates to the person when 

the person is being bridged from the Office of Juvenile 
Affairs to the custody of the Department of Corrections.   
SB 1760 removes a provision that allows juveniles age 
15, 16 or 17 years of age and who are charged with 
murder in the first degree to be treated as youthful 
offenders.  The measure requires that 

 charged with murder in the first degree be held 
accountable as if the person is an adult.   

SB 1799 clarifies the process used by OJA and 
the courts when making determinations on the release 
from custody or transfer of a youthful offender to the 
adult corrections system.  The bill requires the court to 
schedule annual reviews for every youthful offender in 
the custody of OJA and allows incremental yearly 
extensions of OJA custody for these offenders until the 
offender reaches their twentieth birthday.  An offender 
may be retained in OJA custody until their twenty-first 
birthday if the Office has established a separate youthful 
offender facility.  The measure adds to list conditions 
that allow for the transfer of a youthful offender from 
OJA custody to the adult corrections system by 
including the failure of the offender to substantially 
complete the reasonable treatment objectives and if the 
offender commits battery or assault and battery on a state 
employee or contractor of a juvenile facility while in 
custody.  Finally, the bill provides legislative intent 
stating that eligible 17-year-olds should have the 
opportunity to be processed as youthful offenders and 
should have the ability to be 

additional supervision is required.   
Finally, SB 1765 makes numerous changes on 

how the courts are to proceed in youthful offender 
matters.  The bill provides that preliminary hearings 
must commence within 90 days of the filing of 
information to determine whether a crime was 
committed and whether there is probable cause to 
believe the accused person committed the crime.  If the 
preliminary hearing is not commenced within 90 days, 
the state is prohibited from seeking an adult sentence 
unless the 90-day requirement is waived by the 
defendant.  If the accused person flees the jurisdiction, 
purposely avoids apprehension for the charges, or fails 
to cooperate with providing information on locating the 
parent, guardian, or next friend of the accused, the right 
to have the preliminary hearing within 90 days is 
waived.  The bill requires the court to give more weight 
to some criteria the court must consider when making 
determinations as to whether a juvenile will be 
considered a juvenile, youthful offender, or adult for 
purposes of prosecution.  The court must give more 
weight if the offense was committed in an aggressive or 
violent manner, if the offense was against a person and 
personal injury resulted, and the court must consider the 
record and past history of the accused.  Things to be 
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given less weight are issues such as sophistication and 
maturity of the accused, the accused person’s capability 
of distinguishing right from wrong, emotional attitude, 
and pattern of living.  Less weight is also given to 
likelihood of rehabilitation and if the offense occurred 
while the person was escaping or in escape status from 
an institution.  The bill allows a district attorney to file a 
motion to impose an adult sentence on a person 
arraigned as a youthful offender if the district attorney 
believes that the person will not reasonably complete a 
plan of rehabilitation or the public will not be protected 
if the person were sentenced as a youthful offender.  
This motion must be filed within 30 days of the formal 
arraignment or 14 days prior to the start of the 
preliminary hearing.  The bill also contains the 
provisions from SB 1799 relating to the annual review of 
all youthful offenders and the ability to extend OJA 
jurisdiction until the offender attains the 21 years of age 
if OJA has a youthful offender facility.  Youthful 
offenders who are still in custody at 18 years of age are 
allowed to authorize and consent to the medical care 
sought on behalf of the youthful offender by OJA.  
Lastly, the measure requires any child under 18 years of 
age who is a legal resident of Oklahoma and who has 
been detained or arrested to be identified within 72 hours 
of the detention or arrest for educational needs and be 
given educational opportunities by the State Department 

f Education without delay while in a detention facility o
or jail. 
 

Education 
Common Education 

The 2006 session was marked by some concern 
over our children’s health.  SB 1467 requires schools to 
provide information about meningococcal meningitis to 
parents who have students in grades 6 through 12.  Also 
related to children’s health is SB 1459 which mandates 
that the State Department of Education in conjunction 
with the State Department of Health provide information 
and tech

ort child abuse.  
HB 20

al of the receiving school 

district,

now included in the pool of those teachers 
certified

HB 2756.  It specifies actions for which a 
care or not reemployed to be 
as f

ence in performance of duty; 
child; 

• 

pliance with school attendance requirements 
may
followin

child with the 

• 
• ogical, or 

• or 

• 
lcohol, or 

nical assistance for the health of students for the 
Healthy and Fit School Advisory Committees. 

The Legislature was not just concerned about 
children’s health but also that teachers would be able to 
recognize and know when and how to rep

97 requires professional training for the 
recognition and reporting of child abuse. 

Cognizant of those issues facing children who 
are deaf or hearing impaired, the Legislature passed 
HB 1646 which modifies student transfer application 
limitations and adds a clause for deaf students or those 
who are hearing impaired who wish to transfer to a 
school district with a specialized deaf education 
program. Applications may be filed at any time during 
the school year.  Upon approv

 the student may transfer to that district at any 
time during the school year.   

According to statute passed last year, only 
teachers trained in Literacy First or a scientifically 
research-based program could teach in the third grade 
summer reading academies of Literacy First or Reading 
First.  With the passage of HB 2712, teachers who are 
certified as reading specialists but have not taken the 
Literacy First or Reading First professional development 
program are 

 to teach the third grade summer reading 
academies. 

The need to provide teachers with a firm 
definition of the provisions in the Teacher Due Process 
Act lead to 

er teacher may be dismissed 
ollows: 
• Willful neglect of duty; 
• Repeated neglig
• Mental or physical abuse to a 
• Incompetence; 
• Instructional ineffectiveness; 
• Unsatisfactory teaching performance; 

Commission of an act of moral turpitude; or 
• Abandonment of contract. 

Problems with student truancy led the 
Legislature to fashion SB 1597 which raises the parental 
fines and allows for jail time for parents of students who 
are truant.  It also allows the court to order the parent, 
guardian, or other person having custody of the child to 
perform community service in lieu of the fine, all or part 
of which may be performed for a public school district. 
Additional conditions the court considers necessary to 
obtain com

 also be imposed including, but not limited to, the 
g: 

• Verifying attendance of the 
school; 

• Meeting with school officials; 
• Taking the child to school; 
• Taking the child to the bus stop; 

Attending school with the child; 
Undergoing medical, psychol
psychiatric evaluations and following the 
recommendations of the evaluator; 
Undergoing an evaluation for drug, alcohol, 
other substance abuse and following the 
recommendations of the evaluator; and 
Taking the child for medical, psychological, or 
psychiatric evaluation or for drug, a
other substance abuse evaluation and following 
the recommendations of the evaluator 
Along with providing our children with the very 

best teachers available, the Legislature increased 
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standards for substitute teachers in SB 1493.  This bill 
requires that beginning with the 2007-08 school year, 
any substitute teacher employed to teach special 
education for the same assignment for more than 15 
consecutive or 30 total school days during a school year 
who does not hold a valid certificate to teach special 
education must complete in-service training as 
prescribed by the State Board of Education.  The training 
is to be provided at no cost to the substitute teacher.  The 
school district may request a waiver of the restrictions 
on total time a substitute teacher may be employed or the 
restrictions on time in the same assignment from the 
State Board of Education for a substitute teacher who 
does not hold a valid certificate.  However, the school 
district must also submit evidence on the availability of 
certified b

 

ee will also 
stud

r to 
grad t
State B

• r, 

• 

th 

• 

nt and/or rigor equal to 

• 

y, 

• 

processing, databases, spread-

• 
career and 

• encies of fine arts, such 
one unit or set of 

 su stitute teachers and the qualifications of the 
substitute teacher.   

In SB 1792, the Legislature created the 
Achieving Classroom Excellence Steering Committee.   
The 2005 Achieving Classroom Excellence Task Force 
recommended a Steering Committee to help with the 
development of end-of-instruction testing.  The Steering 
Committee will continue until December 31, 2009. It 
will evaluate alternate tests, develop a list of career and 
technology education state and national tests that may 
serve as alternatives, and determine if each alternate test 
evaluated is standardized, independently graded, 
knowledge-based, and administered on a multi-state or 
international level.  The Steering Committ

y and recommend the minimum score or level of 
mastery needed to pass each alternate test.   

SB 1792 also adjusts the requirements to include 
that students entering the ninth grade in the 2006-07 
school year and subsequent years must complete the 
following core college preparatory/work ready 
curriculum units or sets of competencies in orde

ua e from a public high school accredited by the 
oard of Education with a standard diploma:   
Four units of English to include Gramma
Composition, Literature, or any English course 
approved for college admission requirements; 
Three units of mathematics, limited to Algebra I, 
Algebra II, Geometry, Trigonometry, Math 
Analysis, Calculus, Advanced Placement 
Statistics, or any mathematics course wi
content and/or rigor above Algebra I and 
approved for college admission requirements; 
Three units of laboratory science, limited to 
Biology, Chemistry, Physics, or any laboratory 
science course with conte
or above Biology and approved for college 
admission requirements; 
Three units of history and citizenship skills, 
including one unit of American History, one-half 

unit of Oklahoma History, one-half unit of 
United States Government and one unit from the 
subjects of History, Government, Geograph
Economics, Civics, or Non-Western culture and 
approved for college admission requirements; 
Two units of the same foreign or non-English 
language or two units of computer technology 
approved for college admission requirements, 
whether taught at a high school or a technology 
center school, including computer programming, 
hardware, and business computer applications, 
such as word 
sheets, and graphics, excluding keyboarding or 
typing courses; 
One additional unit selected from paragraphs 1 
through 5 of this subsection or 
technology education courses approved for 
college admission requirements; and 
One unit or set of compet
as music, art, or drama, or 
competencies of speech. 

Career and Technology Education 
The most significant legislation this session 

dealing with career technology education is HB 2139.  
This bill allows the Board of Career and Technology to 
accept and expend funds from any source in order to 
market, advertise, or promote programs and services 
available through the Career and Technology Education 

 to 500 new jobs could be created for 
every n

o protect against unauthorized or fraudulent 
disclosu

system. 
 

Energy 
HB 2810 expedites and streamlines the 

permitting process that prospective oil refineries must 
undergo before they can be built as part of the Rural 
Economic Development Initiative (REDI).  It is 
estimated that 200

ew refinery that opens in the state as a result of 
this legislation.   

HB 2903 provides for the protection of customer 
telephone records and data from unauthorized use by 
requiring telephone companies to establish reasonable 
procedures t

re which could result in substantial harm to any 
customer.   

HB 2877 authorizes governing bodies to provide 
for the operation of Enhanced 9-1-1 emergency service 
which includes the provision of 9-1-1 calls from 
interconnected Voice over Internet Protocol (VoIP) 
service users and imposes a 9-1-1 emergency service fee 
in the area to be served by the system.  Upon submission 
of the appropriate petitions signed by not less that 5 
percent of the total votes cast in the most recent general 
election, the proposition will be submitted to the voters 
of the county, municipality, or area to be served in a 
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referendum election.  Any fee imposed by the governing 
body must be stated separately and added to the user’s 

illing and must be used to pay for the operation of the 

nt and Natural 

 
manure 

animal feeding operation 
to comp

ize Best Management Practices as determined 
y the Oklahoma Department of Agriculture, Food, and 

ght, and Administrative 

ills passed by the 
Legislat

s that provide utility services to 
the pub

eal property and to 

ferred 

b
9-1-1 VoIP emergency service. 
 

Environme
Resources 

Three bills deal with Concentrated Animal 
Feeding Operations (CAFO).  HB 2603 creates the 
Oklahoma Concentrated Animal Feeding Operations 
(CAFO) Rural Economic Development Initiative Act 
requiring reporting to the Oklahoma Department of 
Agriculture, Food, and Forestry the release from a swine 
animal feeding operation of processed wastewater or

that does not reach the waters of the state, if it is 
greater than 100 gallons or leaves a licensee’s property. 

HB 2646 requires any person applying for a 
license for a new or expanding 

ly with the notice and hearing requirements of 
the State Board of Agriculture. 

Finally, HB 3015 requires all licensed managed 
feeding operations and all animal feeding operations 
which are permitted pursuant to the Oklahoma CAFO 
Act to util
b
Forestry. 
 

Government Reform, Agency 
Oversi
Rules 

A number of important b
ure relate to government reform, agency 

oversight, and administrative rules. 
HB 2357 requires governmental agencies to 

expediently notify persons of a breach of computer 
systems which results in unauthorized release of 
personal information unless the delay is caused by law 
enforcement purposes.  Similarly, HB 2396 provides the 
consumer with more protection from identity theft by 
modifying the Oklahoma Open Records Act.  This new 
law allows public bodie

lic to keep social security numbers of individual 
customers confidential. 

HB 1284 modifies the Open Meeting Act to 
allow for teleconferencing and videoconferencing in 
certain circumstances.  With the passage of HB 2554, 
the Department of Central Services is granted the ability 
to establish and implement a comprehensive statewide 
facilities management software program in order to 
effectively identify state-owned r

efficiently and fiscally manage its long-range de
maintenance funding requirements 

 

Health and Human Services 
Medicaid 

After months of study undertaken by members 
of the House Medicaid Reform Task Force to identify 
areas of possible improvement and reform in the state’s 
Medicaid program, HB 2842 was enacted.  The purpose 
of the Oklahoma Medicaid Reform Act of 2006 is to 
create a more efficient and effective service delivery 
system 
outcom e 
pro o

•  

• 

• haring methods and/or 

•  

es for long-term care; 

• or a waiver to 

• 
 of children eligible 

• tance 
e employers with up to 50 

that will enhance the quality of care and health 
es of persons in the Medicaid program.  Som

visi ns of the measure include: 
Allowing commercial insurers the ability to
offer benefit packages to Medicaid recipients; 
Developing an opt out option to allow recipients 
to purchase health insurance from an employer; 
Implementing cost-s
benefits within federal guidelines for persons 
between 133 percent and 185 percent of the 
federal poverty level; 
Requiring the development of an incentive
reimbursement rate plan for nursing facilities 
based on certain quality care indicators and the 
development of alternativ

• Implementing a physician-staffed health line 
pilot program in an effort to reduce unnecessary 
emergency room visits; 
Directing the OHCA to apply f
extend Medicaid benefits to persons up to the 
age of 23 for full-time college students who 
meet existing eligibility criteria; 
Expanding eligibility for the premium assistance 
program to include parents
for Medicaid, contingent upon the existing 
program not consuming more than 75 percent of 
the dedicated funding; and 
Expanding eligibility for the premium assis
program to includ
employees contingent upon the expansion being 
accomplished with current funding levels. 

Child Abuse and Neglect 
The shocking and highly publicized murder of 

two-year-old Kelsey Smith-Briggs last year resulted in 
the Legislature taking action to strengthen the 
adjudication and custody determination process 
following an investigation of alleged child abuse.  
HB 2840 requires the court to use uniform orders in all 
deprived proceedings and record the recommendations 
of the parties and participants made at a hearing related 
to custody or placement of a child and allows DHS, 
through the district attorney, to appeal a decision of the 
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court when the department objects to the removal of a 
child from state custody.  The measure also authorizes 
the Oklahoma Commission on Children and Youth’s 
Office of Juvenile System Oversight to provide to the 
court information gathered in an investigation regarding 
plac
custody
Other p

ground check; 

• 
e death or near death of 

• strict court judges and the director 

• 

nsive review and study of Title 10 of 
 Oklahoma Statutes and make recommenda-

ement of a child or release of a child from state 
 and recommendation for placement of the child.  
rovisions of the measure include: 

• Requiring court appointed special advocates to 
complete required training and undergo a 
criminal history back

• Requiring DHS to establish a performance-based 
incentive compensation program for child 
welfare specialists; 
Expanding the scope of the records disclosure 
requirement following th
a child to include recommendations made by 
DHS and other parties with regard to the custody 
or placement of a child; 
Authorizing di
of DHS to request an investigation by the OSBI 
in cases where criminally injurious conduct has 
occurred; and 
Establishing the Oklahoma Children and 
Juvenile Law Reform Committee to undertake a 
comprehe
the
tions with regard to updating and recodifying the 
statutes. 

Abortion 
SB 1742 provides that a woman who is pregnant 

with a child who is 20 weeks of age or older and seeking 
an abortion, which is not a medical emergency, be 
provided an opportunity to read materials regarding pain 
and the unborn child and be informed if an anesthetic 
wou
abortion
include

• 

to compile and make readily 

• epartment to 
plement a program to facilitate funding 
governmental entities that provide 

ld alleviate pain to the unborn child during the 
 procedure.  Other provisions of the measure 

:  
• Requiring written informed consent of one 

parent  prior to an abortion being performed on 
an unemancipated minor; 
Providing that, prior to an abortion, a woman be 
informed that ultrasound imaging and heart tone 
monitoring of the unborn child are available and 
requiring the State Board of Medical Licensure 
and Supervision 
available a list of agencies that offer ultrasound 
imaging or heart tone monitoring at no cost to 
the woman; and  
Requiring the State Health D
im
non
alternatives to abortion services. 

•  

Tattooing 
Supporters of legalized tattooing were successful 

this session in pushing for the passage of SB 806.  The 
measure requires tattoo operators and artists be licensed 
by the State Department of Health and prohibits the 
Department from granting a license to a body piercing or 
tattoo operator whose business is within 1,000 feet of a 
church, school, or playground.  The bill also prohibits 
any person under 18 years of age from receiving a tattoo 
and requires written parental consent and the presence of 
 parent during a body piercing procedure for any person 

18.  With the passage of SB 806 

d or fictitious 
security

to the 
ommission.  The measure allows a compacting state to 

uniform standard adopted by the 

 or graduation, whichever occurs first.  
Before 

upon which the crime is made known to anyone other 

a
under the age of 
tattooing is now legal in all 50 states.  
 

Insurance 
Uninsured motorists exact a financial toll on the 

citizens of Oklahoma.  In an effort to further address this 
growing problem, HB 3115 directs the Department of 
Public Safety (DPS) to implement statewide, no later 
than July 1, 2008, an online verification system for 
motor vehicle insurance or bond which will provide for 
direct inquiry and response between DPS and insurance 
carriers and direct access to insurers’ records by 
authorized personnel, such as law enforcement officers. 
The measure also provides that it is a misdemeanor to 
purchase, display, or possess an altere

 verification form and provides that it is a felony 
for anyone, other than an insurance carrier, to create, 
issue, or sell security verification forms.  

A measure to facilitate the adoption of uniform 
standards across state lines for various insurance 
products, HB 2685 authorizes the state to join the 
Interstate Insurance Product Regulation Compact and 
become a member of the Interstate Insurance Product 
Regulation Commission and designates the Insurance 
Commissioner as the state’s representative 
C
opt out of a 
Commission and to withdraw from the compact. 
 
Judiciary 

As is often the case, the bills that passed out of 
the Judiciary Committee were varied in topic.  

HB 1908 entitles child support to any child who 
is regularly enrolled in and attending high school up to 
the age of 20

the passage and signature of this bill, entitlement 
to child support ceased at age 18 regardless of high 
school status. 

On the topic of crimes, HB 2480 extends the 
statute of limitations for solicitation for murder to seven 
years from discovery. Discovery is defined as the date 
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than a person involved in the solicitation.  HB 2099 
raises the maximum fine that an individual can be 
prosecu

d homeowner for the conditions under 
hich a homeowner may file a lawsuit against the 

ted for in a municipal court without triggering a 
jury trial from no more than $200 to no more than $500.    

SB 1749 creates the Notice of Opportunity to 
Repair Act, which provides guidelines to both the 
contractor an
w
contractor.   
 

Public Safety 
Oklahoma Wildfires 

Oklahoma wildfires and support to volunteer 
firefighters were of major importance to the Legislature 
this session.  When the legislative session began, the 
state had been under an executive order banning outdoor 
fires since November.  In all, the state was under a fire 
ban order for 184 days.  To assist overtaxed volunteer 
fire departments, the Legislature enacted HB 2252 
which appropriates $3.6 million to the Oklahoma 
Department of Agriculture, Food, and Forestry to be 
used to address needs associated with the costs to the 
Department and the Incidental Command Posts 
established during the fires.  An additional $1.5 million 
was used to reimburse rural fire departments for 
expenses incurred to suppress drought-related fires.  A 
second measure, SB 1190, appropriates an additional 
$4.5 million for Operational Fire Grants to aid rural fire 
departments; $2 million to be used to repair or replace 
rural firefighting equipment, with priority toward rural 
fire departments who have suffered equipment losses 
due to the drought suppression related fires; and another 
$2.5 million to address expenses incurred by the 

e, Food, and Forestry and rural 
fire dep
Department of Agricultur

artments during the drought conditions. 
Honoring Our Soldiers 

The Legislature enacted two measures designed 
to protect our soldiers.  HB 2643 makes it illegal for any 
person or business to use the name or picture of any 
service member in any advertisement without having 
first obtained the consent of the person or the consent of 
the surviving spouse if the person is deceased.  
Punishment for violation is a misdemeanor subject to a 
$1,000 fine and up to a year in the county jail.  The 
second measure, SB 1020, is known as the Oklahoma 
Funeral Picketing Act and prevents picketing within 500 
feet of an armed service member’s funeral.  Any person 
convicted of violating this act is guilty of a misdemeanor 
subject to a fine of $500 and up to 30 days in the county 
jail.  A companion bill to this legislation, SB 1951, 

tends the ban on funeral protests to include any place 
uneral service is held. 

ment systems. 

 effect for 
ginning after December 31, 2006. 

ex
where a portion of a f
 

Retirement 
Following the Georgia model, SB 1894 provides 

that a retirement bill with an actuarial impact on the 
Teachers’ Retirement System, the Oklahoma Public 
Employees Retirement System, the Uniform Retirement 
System for Justices and Judges or any new retirement 
system must be introduced during an odd-numbered year 
of a legislative session and passed in an even-numbered 
year.  A retirement bill that has been found to have an 
actuarial impact may not be reported out of committee 
with an increase in the unfunded liability.   This bill 
would prevent changes to a retirement system plan that 

e not sufficiently funded, and thus ultimately enhance ar
the actuarial soundness of the three retire
 
Revenue and Taxation 
 With the passage of SB 1577, the Legislature 
took the steps necessary to close loopholes and curb 
abuses of the Small Business Capital Formation 
Incentive Act and the Rural Venture Capital Formation 
Incentive Act. These Acts provide tax credits of up to 20 
percent of investments made in small businesses and up 
to 30 percent of investments made in rural businesses.  If 
left unchecked, the tax credit loophole could have cost 
the state hundreds of millions of dollars.  The law 
requires that an investor’s own funds and not borrowed 
funds actually be invested in a company to receive a tax 
credit under the programs. 

HB 2690 authorizes the establishment of 
regional economic development authorities located 
within the boundaries of cities, towns, or counties.  
These regional development authorities have the same 
powers of current transportation authorities in the 
planning, financing, and constructing of regional 
economic development projects 

The Legislature passed two revenue and tax bills 
related to professional sports teams.  SB 1022 exempts 
from sales tax the cost of admission tickets to 
professional athletic events in which a team in the 
National Basketball Association and National Hockey 
League is a participant, while HB 2062 exempts from 
sales tax the admission tickets to a professional sporting 
event involving ice hockey, baseball, basketball, football 
or arena football, or soccer.  

In an effort to promote charitable giving, the 
Legislature passed HB 2373 which authorizes a donation 
checkoff box to be added to Oklahoma tax returns 
whereby taxpayers receiving refunds can donate to the 
Oklahoma Leukemia and Lymphoma Revolving Fund in 
support of finding a cure for leukemia, lymphoma, 

odgkin’s disease, and myeloma.  This takesH
tax years be
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Rules 
Old law required bicycles to travel on bike 

paths, where they exist.  This proved to be a problem for 
bicycle riding clubs.  Often a large number of bikes on a 
lengthy ride could not safely transition from the highway 
to a short bike path and back to the highway.  To 
alleviate this situation HB 2926 removes the 
requirement that bicycles travel on bike paths.  It also 
requires drivers to maintain a three-foot distance from 
bicycles traveling on a street or highway.  Finally, the 
bill repeals a requirement for a certain type of bicycle 
light which is no longer manufactured. 

This year, through SB 1678, the Mexican free-
tailed bat, Tadarida Brasiliensis, was designated the 
official flying mammal of the State of Oklahoma.  These 
bats spend a portion of each year in and around 
Oklahoma’s Alabaster Caverns.  

On a similar note, two state emblems were 
designated in SB 1613.  The wild turkey was named the 
state game bird.  The Acrocanthosaurus Atokensis was 
named the state dinosaur.   

The Legislature also passed HJR 1066, a 
constitutional amendment that would allow liquor stores 
to be open on election days.  This amendment will be 
submitted to a vote of the people.  Many states already 
allow liquor sales on election days, and Oklahoma 
llows restaua rants and bars to sell alcoholic beverages on 

a

 and Recreation 

 fund 
when a 

 State 
ond Advisor and the Council of Bond Oversight 

ds the leave of absence time 
from 20

 of certification by the State Department of 
Health. 

 Day to 
cognize the recipients of the Medal of Honor. 

 raise 
cervidae

r one year unless a specified period of time is 
granted

son which 
kes place from December 1 to January 31.   

 

those days. 
 

Tourism and Recreation 
HB 2792 defines those film and music projects 

eligible for a rebate payment.  It also requires the Film 
and Music Commission to establish a film production 
registration. 

The establishment of the Oklahoma Tourism 
Signage Advisory Task Force is found in HB 2878.  The 
11-member Task Force is for the purpose of screening 
and issuing recommendations to the Department of 
Transportation concerning directional signs for tourist 
and tr veler-related attractions and enterprises in this 
state. 

HB 1757 allows extended hours for seasonal 
mployees of the Department of Tourisme

from 1,000 to 1,600 hours.  
 

Transportation 
Several measures were enacted this session to 

increase the efficiency and effective use of funds on the 
state’s transportation infrastructure.  One measure, 
SB 1288, allocates $125 million to the Department of 
Transportation to use solely on repairing obsolete and 
damaged bridges.  A second measure, SB 1390, 
increases the reimbursable amount for force account 

county bridge projects from $100,000 to $200,000 and 
allows the transfer of monies from the County Bridge 
and Road Improvement Funds to a county highway

county must reconstruct a damaged bridge. 
Another cost saving measure, HB 2474, allows 

the Oklahoma Turnpike Authority to enter into 
transactions utilizing derivative and other financial 
products to hedge interest rate risks connected to the 
issuance of bonds issued by the Authority.  These 
transactions must be approved by the Oklahoma
B
 

Veterans and Military Affairs 
Leave of absence modification for state 

employees serving in the military can be found in 
SB 1088.  This bill exten

 days to 30 days. 
SB 1318 allows the Oklahoma Department of 

Veterans Affairs to provide nurse aide training in its 
capacity as an operator of nursing facilities and for 
purposes

Finally, The twenty-fifth of March of each year 
designation as “Medal of Honor Day” is found in 
SB 1505.  The bill asks all citizens of this state to devote 
some portion of Oklahoma’s Medal of Honor
re
 

Wildlife 
HB 2621 establishes the Oklahoma Farmed 

Cervidae (Deer) Act. Under this bill, the Department of 
Agriculture is authorized to enforce this Act, and the 
Department of Wildlife is authorized to inspect the 
premises.  This Act does not apply to those who

 for the purpose of commercial hunting.   
For purposes of clarification, new language in 

HB 3016 states that when a landowner or occupant gives 
consent to hunt on his or her land, that consent will only 
be valid fo

.  
SB 1296 authorizes the Wildlife Conservation 

Commission to declare an open season on mountain 
lions and bears in Oklahoma.  This bill allows for the 
hunting of river otter during the furbearer sea
ta


