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Introduction 
 The 2011 session of the Oklahoma Legislature was 
largely defined by the $500 million budget shortfall 
caused, in part, by the loss of federal stimulus funds.  
The Legislature developed a budget agreement of $6.5 
billion that focused on mitigating cuts to core services 
including education, health and human services, 
transportation, and public safety.  Cuts to agency 
budgets ranged from less than 1 percent to 9 percent. 
 
 Legislators addressed a number of policy issues that 
included reforming the worker’s compensation system, 
continuing efforts at tort reform by addressing non-
economic damages, building in greater academic and 
financial accountability in the state’s education system, 
shoring up the state’s pension systems, addressing high 

incarceration rates through criminal justice reform, 
maximizing efficiencies in government through 
consolidation and modernization of processes, and 
establishing a closing fund that will help attract new 
business to the state.  The Legislature also was faced 
with the task of redistricting which occurs after every 

 regulations, and other 

Cervidae Act or a big game 
ommercial h

decennial census. 
 

 Agriculture 
 Legislators made changes in several areas including 
those related to trespassing, farmed cervidae businesses, 
hunting regulations, swine farm
agriculture-related businesses. 
 
 SB 828 requires that people notify landowners and 
hunting lease holders when entering land and increases 
the fine for hunting; pursuing game; discharging a 
firearm within 440 yards of any church, schoolhouse, or 
public place; or shooting from across a public road, 
highway, highway right-of-way, or railroad right-of-
way.  A violation can result in a fine of at least $500 but 
not more than $1,500 for the first offense and of $1,500 
to $2,000 for subsequent offenses.  The measure also 
prohibits shooting from across a public road, highway, 
or railroad right-of-way into a facility licensed pursuant 
to the Oklahoma Farmed 
c unting area. 
 

Two other measures also make changes to farmed 
cervidae regulations.  HB 1474 increases the fine for 
willfully entering a facility licensed pursuant to the 
Oklahoma Farmed Cervidae Act or a commercial 
hunting area licensed pursuant to Oklahoma law without 
permission.  The maximum fine will be $1,500.  
HB 1473 removes the double-fencing requirement for 
cervidae farms.  Double fencing was required to keep 
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wild deer separate from animals raised on cervidae 
farm

8 
years old.  HB 1339 requires that dealers issue hunting 
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ustom and Border Patrol will cooperate to establish 

rting services. 

ature acted upon the recommendations of 
e Adoption Review Task Force by passing SB 510. 

nual 
report.  The Department of Human Services will 
compile the data and report it to the public; 

s.   
 
Another measure dealing with hunting regulations, 

HB 1338 lowers the minimum age for hunters allowed 
to purchase apprentice licenses to age 8.  This allows 
them to hunt with a licensed hunter at least 18 years old.  
It also requires all persons under age 10 to be 
accompanied by a licensed hunter who is at least 1

and fishing licenses electronically by January 1, 2013. 
 

 With regard to swine feeding operations, HB 1957 
requires that new operations established after November 
1, 2011, using liquid swine waste management systems 
and housing swine in roof-covered structures, not be 
located within three miles of the outside boundary of any 
facility with an average annual registered attendance of 
2,000 people or more and owned or operated as a camp 
or recreational site by a nonprofit organization 
established prior to the swine feeding operation.  For 
facilities with an average
le
boundary of the facility. 
 
 SB 228 makes changes to procedures for reporting 
damages to crops by pesticide applicators.  Those 
alleging damage to growing crops or plants must file a 
written complaint with the Department of Agriculture, 
Food, and Forestry and a
a
assess the alleged damage. 
 
 SB 420 specifies that Oklahoma City and Tulsa and 
their respective airports; the Oklahoma Department of 
Agriculture, Food, and Forestry; the United States 
Department of Agriculture; and the United States
C
international and domestic livestock expo
 

Children and Families 
 The Legisl
th
The measure: 
 

• Directs the Administrative Director of the 
Courts to develop a form to collect demographic 
information regarding the adoption of each child 
in Oklahoma and requires each court clerk to 
collect the information and make an an

• Modifies the list of allowable adoption-related 
costs and expenses that a person may pay for in 
connection with an adoption to include 
reasonable and necessary costs associated with 
an international adoption and a one-time gift 
from the adoptive parents to the birth mother 
valued at no more than $100; 
 

• Clarifies what constitutes reasonable and 
necessary living expenses of the birth mother 
and requires certain verification of living 
expenses paid for on behalf of a birth mother; 

• Modifies the list of persons or agencies that are 
authorized to conduct a home study of 
prospective adoptive parents; 

• Increases from 22 to 99 years the length of time 
records of adoptions finalized in the state are 
required to be maintained; and 

• Authorizes the court to disclose to an employee 
of an out-of-state entity licensed to perform 
home studies in that state whether a prospective 
adoptive parent has relinquished or had parental 
rights to a child in Oklahoma terminated.   
  

 Another measure, HB 2136, provides greater 
protection for children in state custody being reunited 
with their parents.  The measure requires the Department 
of Human Services to conduct a criminal background 
check of any adult in the home prior to a trial 
reunification and requires that the department submit 
service provider progress reports and critical incident 
reports to the court and certain parties in a deprived 
action so that a more informed decision about the child’s 
placement can be made.  The bill also requires the 
department, upon receiving a report alleging abuse or 
neglect, to conduct an investigation rather than an 
assessment under certain conditions and allows the 
Oklahoma Commission on Children and Youth to 
disclose any previous child welfare encounters or 
investigations involving a child who has died or nearly 
died and whether the person responsible for the child 
was charged.  
 

Corrections and Public Safety 
 The Legislature focused its efforts on meaningful 
corrections reform this session by examining the types of 
criminals who should be imprisoned and those who can 
be rehabilitated through extensive community 
corrections programs.  Legislators also enacted measures 
to reduce incidents of drunk driving and domestic 
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violence.  The rights of citizens to protect themselves 
were also enhanced with the passage of gun legislation. 
 
 Major efforts at the reform of the corrections system 
in Oklahoma culminated in the passage of HB 2131.  
One of the major provisions contained in the measure 
limits the role of the Governor in the parole process for 
nonviolent offenders.  Under this new system, the 
Governor has 30 calendar days to review parole 
recommendations for nonviolent crimes, and if no action 
is taken within the 30 days, parole is granted.  Parole 
recommendations for crimes of violence are exempted 
from the 30-day requirement, and the Governor must 
grant or deny parole for persons convicted of a violent 
crime.  Another reform item establishes qualifications 
for eligibility to be appointed as a member of the Pardon 
and Parole Board.  The bill requires that future board 
members have a college degree and experience in the 
criminal justice field.   
 
 Another reform contained in the measure expands 
the number of offenders who can participate in 
community corrections programs.  Community 
sentencing allows a court to impose a punishment as a 
condition of a deferred or suspended sentence and allows 
the offender to engage in programs within the 
community rather than be sentenced to prison.  All 
offenders are given a level of services inventory 
assessment to determine if they are amenable to 
community placement.  To increase the number of 
eligible participants, the bill modifies the definition of 
eligible offender to include offenders who have been 
assessed at a range other than the low range and who 
have been convicted of at least one prior felony offense. 
   
 Lastly, steps also were taken to alleviate the 
overcrowded conditions at Oklahoma’s prison facilities 
by expanding the use of electronic monitoring.  The bill 
lowers from 180 days to 90 days the time which an 
offender must be incarcerated before the offender can be 
considered for electronic monitoring.  Inmates serving a 
sentence of more than five years who have 11 or more 
months left on a sentence or any inmate serving a 
sentence of five years or less whose initial custody 
assessment requires placement above the minimum 
security level are not eligible for community placement. 
 
 The Erin Elizabeth Swezey Act was created by 
SB 529 as an attempt to reduce the number of drunk 
drivers operating on Oklahoma roadways.  The measure 
requires persons subject to a court order for the 
installation of an ignition interlock device to submit their 

driver license or identification card for a replacement 
license that bears the words “Interlock Required.”   The 
bill requires an ignition interlock be placed on an 
offender’s motor vehicle during any modification of a 
revocation for Class D motor vehicles.  An ignition 
interlock device is required on a first revocation for a 
period of one and one-half years following the 
mandatory period of revocation if the person had a blood 
alcohol content of .15 or more.  The mandatory period 
for an ignition interlock device increases to a period of 
four years on a second offense.  For third and subsequent 
offenses, the person must have an ignition interlock 
device for five years.  The bill limits the cost for the 
ignition interlock device to not more than $25 per 
month.  The bill also requires that upon a third 
conviction, a person is subject to the cancellation or 
denial of driving privileges, an assessment of the 
person’s degree of alcohol abuse, and the continued 
installation of an ignition interlock device after the 
mandatory period of cancellation, denial, or revocation. 
 
 Another measure aimed at protecting the public is 
SB 324 which applies the same standards placed upon 
the motoring public to boat operators.  The bill lowers 
the blood alcohol concentration from .10 to .08 for the 
determination of being under the influence while boating 
and provides that any person who operates a vessel on 
the waters of the state has given consent to blood or 
breath tests to determine alcohol concentration.  Persons 
who refuse the blood or breath test can be fined up to 
$1,000.   
 
 Impacting gang activity was also addressed by the 
Legislature this session. SB 923 increases the 
punishment from not more than one year to not more 
than five years in prison for any person convicted of 
encouraging, soliciting, or recruiting a minor to 
participate in a gang.  The fine also is increased from 
$1,000 to not more than $5,000.  A second offense is 
increased from not more than five years to not more than 
10 years in prison.  The measure also creates a new 
felony offense for committing a gang-related offense as 
a condition of membership in a gang.  Punishment is five 
years in prison in addition to any other penalty imposed 
for the original offense.  School employees are required 
to report any suspected gang members to a designated 
school official who is to report the information to local 
law enforcement.   
 
 Sex offenders also received attention this session.  
Reacting to a situation whereby numerous sex offenders 
were residing in a trailer park, SB 852 clarifies the 
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definition of multi-unit structure as used to determine 
the dwellings in which registered sex offender are 
allowed to reside.  The measure defines multi-unit 
structure to mean a structure with multiple residential 
units that provide independent living facilities for living, 
sleeping, cooking, eating, and sanitation within each 
individual unit.  Manufactured homes, mobile homes, 
trailers, and recreational vehicles that do not meet the 
descriptions are not to be considered multi-unit 
structures.  The measure further prohibits any person or 
entity from knowingly establishing, leasing, operating, 
or owning any structure or portion of a structure where 
persons required to register pursuant to the Sex 
Offenders Registration Act are allowed to reside 
together.  The penalty for violation is a misdemeanor, 
subject to a fine of not more than $500, imprisonment in 
the county jail for not more than one year, or both fine 
and imprisonment.  A second violation is a 
misdemeanor, punishable by a fine of not more than 
$2,500, imprisonment in the county jail for not more 
than one year, or both fine and imprisonment.  A third or 
subsequent violation is a felony, punishable by a fine of 
not less than $2,500 nor more than $5,000, 
imprisonment for not more than five years, or both fine 
and imprisonment.  The measure becomes effective July 
1, 2012. 
 
 Protecting persons from domestic violence was the 
aim of SB 952 which creates two new felony crimes 
relating to domestic violence.  A new felony offense of 
domestic assault or domestic assault and battery with a 
dangerous weapon is established with a punishment of 
imprisonment in Department of Corrections custody for 
not more than ten years or by imprisonment in a county 
jail for not more than one year.  The new felony crime of 
domestic assault and battery with a deadly weapon is 
created with punishment of imprisonment in the custody 
of the Department of Corrections not exceeding life 
imprisonment. Additionally, the measure adds 
aggravated assault and battery upon any person 
defending another person as an 85 percent crime, which 
is a crime that requires the person to serve a minimum of 
85 percent of the sentence imposed before the person is 
eligible for good time or other earned credits.  The 
measure also requires the court to order any offender to 
counseling as a condition of a suspended sentence or 
probation for a conviction for domestic assault and 
battery with a dangerous weapon or domestic assault and 
battery with a deadly weapon.  The bill also prohibits a 
police officer or sheriff from releasing a person arrested 
for an act constituting domestic assault and battery or 
domestic assault and battery with a deadly weapon 

without the person appearing before a judge or court and 
prevents a person arrested for an act constituting 
domestic assault and battery or domestic assault and 
battery with a deadly weapon from being considered for 
pretrial release programs. 
 
 Another provision of the measure allows state 
charges to be brought if a law enforcement officer who 
is assaulted is employed by the federal government and 
increases the punishment for aggravated assault and 
battery upon a law enforcement officer to a term of 
incarceration not to exceed life in prison, a fine not 
exceeding $1,000, or both fine and imprisonment.  If the 
assault results in maiming, a conviction results in 
punishment of not less than five years nor more than life 
imprisonment, a fine of not more than $5,000, or both 
fine and imprisonment.  The bill modifies the crime of 
maiming by increasing the punishment upon conviction 
to a term of incarceration not exceeding life 
imprisonment, a fine of not more than $1,000, or both 
fine and imprisonment.  The current punishment is a 
term of incarceration not exceeding seven years in 
Department of Corrections custody or up to one year in 
the county jail. 
 
 Two measures enhance gun rights of Oklahoma 
citizens.  HB 1439 extends the provisions of the Make 
My Day Law to the person’s place of business when the 
person is in fear of imminent peril of death or great 
bodily harm.  A person or owner, manager, or employee 
of a business is presumed to have held a reasonable fear 
of imminent peril of death or great bodily harm to 
themselves or others when using defensive force that is 
likely to cause death.  A second measure, HB 1652, 
allows a person who is a carry concealed permit holder 
to store his or her weapon in a locked vehicle while on a 
career technology center campus. 
 

Economic Development and 
Financial Services 
 A major focus of the 2011 legislative session was 
economic development. The Legislature enacted 
measures related to the Quality Jobs Act and the Local 
Development Act intended to grow business in 
Oklahoma. 
 
 HB 1953 creates the Oklahoma Quick Action 
Closing Fund.  The fund is to be used to further the 
state’s economic development efforts, specifically in 
situations where spending these dollars would likely be a 
determining factor in locating or retaining a high-impact 
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business project or facility in Oklahoma.  The Director 
of the Oklahoma Department of Commerce (ODOC) 
may recommend expenditures from the fund after 
analyzing certain economic benefit factors.  After 
approval by the Governor, ODOC may enter into an 
agreement establishing conditions for payment from the 
fund.  
 
 Two other measures are intended to enhance 
Oklahoma’s business climate. 
 
 SB 13 amends the Local Development Act to allow 
cities, towns, and counties that are not contiguous to 
form incentive districts or increment districts. 
 
 SB 154 amends the 21st Century Quality Jobs 
Incentive Act so that incentive payments for an 
establishment are stopped if its gross payroll falls below 
the required threshold for four consecutive quarters 
during a 28-quarter period. 
 

Education 
 Legislators concentrated much of their attention on 
reforming the education system to help students develop 
better reading and math skills in the early grades, offer 
parents more choices, and give administrators more 
flexibility.  In addition, legislators made efforts to 
address the financial situation of school districts. 
 
 As a result of SB 346, students not having necessary 
reading skills by third grade will not be promoted to the 
fourth grade, ending the practice of social promotion 
starting in the 2011-12 school year.  Districts must 
provide intensive reading instruction to students with 
lower reading scores in grades kindergarten through 
third grade.  Third grade students who do not pass to the 
fourth grade also must receive additional reading 
instruction and remediation through an altered 
instruction day.  Students will not be retained more than 
two years.  HB 1269 requires teachers to teach the five 
elements of reading to help students receive improved 
reading instruction.  HB 1918 turns the focus to math by 
requiring that the Oklahoma Commission for Teacher 
Preparation establish a math professional development 
program in the elementary schools contingent upon 
funding. 
 
 To insure quality in the schools, HB 1456 requires 
that the State Board of Education give schools letter 
grades according to school performance and provide that 
information to parents, and SB 2 requires the adoption of 
graduation rate targets with the goal being 100 percent.  

Districts will calculate graduation rates using four-year 
cohorts to get more accurate numbers.  Schools not 
meeting targets at the end of the initial two years or in 
subsequent years must make graduation improvement 
plans and participate in training provided by the State 
Board of Education. 
 
 One measure makes changes to the process of 
teacher termination.  HB 1380 repeals the section of law 
that gives teachers the right to trial de novo. Trial de 
novo allows teachers a new trial in district court after 
local boards vote to terminate them.  It also makes 
districts follow the same termination procedure for 
career and probationary teachers. 
 
 Two measures made changes to the State 
Department of Education and the State Board of 
Education.  HB 2139 gives the State Superintendent of 
Public Instruction more flexibility in overseeing the 
State Department of Education.  The Superintendent will 
have the right to oversee daily operation of the State 
Department of Education and hire staff without approval 
from the State Board of Education.  The board will 
maintain supervision of the public school system of 
Oklahoma.  The second measure, SB 435, alters the 
State Board of Education membership.  It directs the 
Governor to appoint one member from each 
congressional district and one member from the state at-
large.  The Superintendent of Public Instruction will be 
the chairperson of the seven-member board.  Terms will 
be for four years, and members will serve at the pleasure 
of the Governor. 
 
 Another area of concern for legislators was the 
financial situation of schools.  A number of bills 
addressed directing more funds toward classroom 
expenses.  HB 1372 requires that staff for certain 
administrators count as administrative expenditures and 
thus would be subject to the cap on the amount of money 
districts can spend on administration.  SB 664 lowers 
that cap on school district administrative expenditures.  
The cap varies from 5 percent of total expenditures to 8 
percent of total expenditures depending upon the average 
daily attendance of the district, with smaller districts 
having a higher percentage.  SB 536 creates the Task 
Force on Creating Administrative Efficiencies to study 
ways to reduce spending on administration in school 
districts.  HB 2115 expands the school consolidation 
assistance fund to allow districts to receive funds for 
sharing superintendents, and SB 260 delays the 
requirement for full-day kindergarten to allow districts 
to continue to use Title I money for kindergarten. 
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 Two measures are designed to provide scholarships 
and grants to students and school districts.  SB 969 
creates the Oklahoma Equal Opportunity Education 
Scholarship Act which allows tax credits for those 
contributing to organizations granting scholarships or 
eligible educational improvement grant organizations.  
HB 1852 allows contributions to the Public School 
Classroom Support Revolving Fund which will be used 
for grants to teachers. 
 

Elections 
 Three measures intended to keep the state in 
compliance with federal election requirements were 
passed. 
 
 SB 115 creates the Uniform Military and Overseas 
Voters Act, which directs the Secretary of the State 
Election Board to make available to covered voters 
information regarding voter registration procedures and 
procedures for casting military-overseas ballots and 
directs the Secretary to develop standardized absentee-
voting materials, including a declaration for use by a 
covered voter to affirm the voter’s identity and eligibility 
to vote.  The bill establishes procedures for registering to 
vote and for the processing of ballot applications and 
transmittal of ballots.  
 

HB 1615 creates the Let the Troops Vote Act and 
modifies: 

 
• The dates for primary elections; 
• The time frame for forming a recognized 

political party; 
• The time frame for changing political affiliation; 
• The dates for holding special elections and the 

filing period dates; 
• The required time frame for the transmission of 

absentee ballots upon application; and 
• The date of the Presidential Preferential Primary. 

  
SB 328 modifies the state’s Election Management 

System to be consistent with the requirements of the 
federal Help America Vote Act, including specifying 
procedures for counting votes in a declared election 
emergency.  The measure suspends local elections in 
December of 2011 and January of 2012 to allow for an 
orderly transition to the new system.   

 
  HB 1664 removes the requirement that ballot titles 
be written on the eighth grade reading comprehension 
level.  The measure authorizes the Attorney General to 

respond in writing to certain comments on ballot titles 
made by the Speaker of the House or President Pro 
Tempore of the Senate.  The measure also authorizes the 
President Pro Tempore or Speaker to appeal to the 
Supreme Court and offer a substitute ballot title and 
provide procedures for such appeals. 
 
 SB 54 modifies qualifications for the office of 
District Attorney and requires a candidate to be a 
registered voter in the district and reside within the 
district for six months preceding filing.  Similarly, 
SB 117 requires candidates for county commissioner to 
have been registered voters in the district and reside in 
the district for six months preceding filing.  
 

Energy and Utility Regulation 
 The Legislature passed several bills this year that 
involved modernizing Oklahoma state statutes to reflect 
new, growing industries and technological innovations.  
HB 1821 creates the Exploration Rights Act of 2011 to 
try to mitigate potential conflicts between industries that 
rely upon the reasonable use of the surface estate, 
namely the wind, oil, and gas industries.  The measure 
outlines mineral owner rights with regard to the surface 
estate, and stipulates that certain parties may not 
unreasonably interfere with the mineral owner’s right to 
make reasonable use of the surface estate.  HB 1909, 
known as the 2011 Shale Reservoir Development Act, 
modifies state statutes related to the regulation of 
horizontal drilling in shale reservoirs to harmonize 
Oklahoma laws with innovations in technology that have 
developed in the oil and gas industry.  Among other 
things, the act outlines the jurisdiction of the Oklahoma 
Corporation Commission with regard to multiunit 
horizontal wells and horizontal well unitizations.  
Additionally, HB 1079 establishes the Electric Usage 
Data Protection Act to protect the confidentiality of 
consumer information gathered by smart meters now 
used by electric utility companies in Oklahoma.  The bill 
establishes certain requirements related to access to and 
maintenance of the confidentiality of customer 
information and stipulates provisions under which 
certain types of information may be disclosed without 
customer consent.  
 
 SB 885 clarifies provisions in the tax law relating to 
horizontal and deep depth wells that qualify for a 
reduction in the gross production rate that were 
previously amended under HB 2432 in the 2010 
legislative session.  That legislation inadvertently 
excluded qualifying wells which exist prior to July 1, 
2011. 
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Environment 
  The Legislature addressed issues related to waste, 
water, and conservation practices this session. 
 
 HB 1939 increases used tire recycling fees to $2.50 
for all motor vehicle tires 19.5 inches in rim diameter or 
less.  The measure also requires that 28 percent of the 
annual amount that accrues in the Used Tire Recycling 
Indemnity Fund be allocated to the Department of 
Environmental Quality’s Revolving Fund to implement 
provisions related to air pollution.  
 
  HB 1059 requires individuals serving water to the 
public from a water system that was constructed without 
a permit to apply for a permit by a specified date.  
 
  In addition to prohibiting a person from operating a 
commercial composting facility without a Department of 
Environmental Quality permit, SB 19 requires the 
owner/operator of the facility to assess a $1.25 per ton 
fee on composting material received.  It also requires the 
owner/operator of a solid waste landfill to maintain 
certain exterior and interior slopes. 
 

General Government 
 In an effort to control costs for Oklahoma’s cities 
and save taxpayer dollars, HB 1593 repeals the 
Oklahoma Municipal Employee Collective Bargaining 
Act, a law which required cities with at least 35,000 
residents to have collective bargaining if non-uniformed 
employees unionize.  Oklahoma City, Tulsa, Norman, 
and Muskogee, all of which had collective bargaining 
agreements prior to the 2004 passage of the Oklahoma 
Municipal Employee Collective Bargaining Act, will not 
be affected by the new law. 
 
 Also in response to the budget shortfall, HB 1665 
discontinues the Oklahoma Art in Public Places program 
for three years but allows current projects to be 
completed to avoid any potential breach of contract.  
Under current law, anytime the state has a building 
project or renovation costing $250,000 or more, 1.5 
percent of the cost must be dedicated to public art. 
 
 HB 2172 transfers all powers, duties, and functions 
of the Oklahoma Indian Affairs Commission to the 
Oklahoma Native American Liaison in the office of the 
Governor effective July 1, 2011.  
 

 HB 1075 requires that public construction contracts 
must specify up to 5 percent of all partial payments 
based on work completed be withheld as retainage.  
Currently, 10 percent of the payments must be withheld 
and then reduced to 5 percent after the contractor has 
completed 50 percent of the total contract amount. 
 
 SB 331 modifies the number of resident taxpayers 
required to institute actions for the recovery of money or 
property belonging to the governmental entity.  The 
measure deletes certain penalties and rewards for 
plaintiff taxpayers.  If the claims in the relevant taxpayer 
action are deemed meritorious, the contract will be void 
and property will be returned to the subject 
governmental entity.  Resident taxpayers will be entitled 
to attorney fees and court costs. 
 

SB 708 provides requirements and guidelines for 
municipalities that adopt ordinances, resolutions, or 
regulations to collect development fees.  The 
development fees must be based on actual system 
improvement costs or certain reliable estimates.  
Development fees must be calculated to fund only the 
costs of improvements related to certain listed public 
infrastructure systems.  The measure also: 

 
• Requires that fees not exceed a reasonably 

determined proportionate share of the cost of 
capital improvement and requires an established 
functional nexus between the purpose and the 
amount of the fee. 

• Restricts municipalities from using fees on 
repairs or maintenance to existing public 
infrastructure systems.   

• Requires the relevant ordinance, resolution, or 
regulation to include a schedule of development 
fees and a component capital improvement plan 
which may only be spent on capital 
improvements for that particular public 
infrastructure system to serve the area 
encompassing the development or only within 
that service area. In the alternative, 
municipalities are authorized to establish certain 
service areas to collect development fees.  
 

 HB 1414 makes the Oklahoma Certified Real Estate 
Appraisers Act applicable to appraisal review reports 
which are reports of the process of developing and 
communicating an opinion about the quality of another 
appraiser’s work.  The measure modifies the duties of 
the chairperson of the Real Estate Appraiser Board when 
dealing with grievances and modifies the board’s powers 
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and duties to include establishing standards and criteria 
for approving course providers and instructors.  The 
amount of the Federal Registry Fee the Insurance 
Department must collect is modified from $25 to an 
amount to be assessed by the Appraisal Subcommittee of 
the Federal Financial Institutions Examination Council.  
Several licensing requirements for temporary permits, 
original certifications, and nonresidents are modified.  

 

Government Modernization and 
Agency Oversight  
 The Legislature enacted two measures intended to 
maximize efficiencies in state government through 
consolidation of agencies themselves or of various 
agency functions. 
 

HB 2140 creates the State Government 
Administrative Process Consolidation and 
Reorganization Reform Act of 2011.  The measure 
consolidates the following agencies into the Office of 
State Finance (OSF): 

 
• Department of Central Services 
• Office of Personnel Management  
• Oklahoma State Employees Benefits Council 
• Oklahoma State and Education Employees 

Group Insurance Board 
 

The Director of OSF is required to consolidate all of the 
agencies’ administrative functions by December 31, 
2011, and to demonstrate a 15 percent overall cost 
reduction and further requires the Director to make 
recommendations on the streamlining, reduction, or 
elimination of the governance structures and statutorily-
established positions of each agency.   
 

HB 1304 creates the Information Technology 
Consolidation and Coordination Act for the purpose of 
consolidating certain information technology (IT) 
functions and personnel.  Provisions of the measure 
include: 

 
• Prohibiting state agencies from purchasing or 

leasing any IT equipment without the prior 
approval of the state’s Chief Information Officer 
(CIO); 

• Requiring all state agencies to provide to the 
CIO a list of IT assets of the agency that are 
integral to agency-specific functions and a list of 
IT positions associated with those assets; 

• Requiring the CIO to identify all IT assets and 
associated positions of all state agencies that are 
not integral to the agency’s specific functions 
and directs and the identified IT assets and 
positions of appropriate state agencies be 
transferred to the Information Services Division 
of the OSF; and 
 

• Requiring the CIO to submit quarterly progress 
reports, including the net savings realized 
through the consolidation of resources and 
personnel, to the Director of OSF and to the 
Legislature.  
 

A related measure, HB 1086, creates the 
Transparency, Accountability and Innovation in 
Oklahoma State Government 2.0 Act of 2011 that 
includes a number of provisions aimed at updating 
administrative processes and increasing public access to 
various agency records and expenditures.  The bill: 

 
• Requires, effective July 1, 2012, that all 

payments disbursed from the state treasury be 
made only electronically and that the number of 
exempted payments and a list of causes be 
published in a report on the State Treasurer’s 
website. 

• Requires the state’s CIO to maintain a website to 
allow public access to electronic documents and 
requires each state entity to submit to the CIO 
searchable electronic versions of all publications 
they are required to produce; 

• Requires the CIO to maintain a website to allow 
public access to forms produced by state 
agencies and requires agencies to submit their 
forms to the CIO in a searchable electronic 
format; 

• Requires OSF to include as part of the 
data.ok.gov website all spending data subject to 
publication by the School District Transparency 
Act. 

• Directs the State Geographic Information 
Coordinator to develop a website that will allow 
public access to geodata collected by state 
entities; 

• Directs the CIO to promulgate rules for state 
agencies to enter into a shared-services 
arrangement with OSF for payroll processing 
services; 

• Requires that all state expenditures published on 
the data.ok.gov website include the name and 
address of the recipient of the expenditure, the 
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amount and description of the item or service 
purchased, and the agency making the 
expenditure; 

• Directs the CIO to maintain a website to allow 
the public to monitor the status of every 
information technology project costing more 
than $100,000; 

• Requires the Department of Central Services to 
utilize a wiki venue to provide two-way 
communication between procurement officers 
and potential vendors; and 

• Prohibits state travel reimbursement for 
expenses if the filer of the claim has benefited 
from the personal receipt of frequent travel miles 
unless the miles are used to offset future claims 
against the state.  
 

 SB 772 creates the Business and Professional 
License Facilitation Task Force to study the 
governmental models of states that have a central contact 
point or agency facilitating professional licenses and 
applications.  The 15-member task force is to evaluate 
the feasibility of establishing a similar model in 
Oklahoma. 
 

Health 
 A number of measures related to public health 
passed this session, including those addressing hospital 
fees, abortion, and agency functions. 
 
Health Care 
  Creating the Supplemental Hospital Offset Payment 
Program (SHOPP) Act, HB 1381 authorizes the 
Oklahoma Health Care Authority to assess an annual fee 
on certain hospitals until January 2015 to receive federal 
matching funds.  The fee is 2.5 percent of each hospital’s 
net patient revenue for the first year and cannot exceed 4 
percent in any following year.  The measure prohibits 
the fee being charged to patients. 
 
 Hospitals exempt from the fee include state, federal, 
tribal, children’s, long-term acute care, specialty, and 
critical access hospitals.  The measure requires that the 
assessment funds be used only for certain purposes, 
including supplemental payments to participating 
hospitals for Medicaid and State Children’s Health 
Insurance Program (SCHIP) inpatient and outpatient 
services, supplemental payments to critical access 
hospitals, and administrative program costs not to 
exceed $200,000. 
 

  With the passage of SB 722, Oklahoma joins a 
national health care compact that authorizes member 
states to suspend the operation of federal health care 
regulations which are inconsistent with certain state laws 
while still retaining the right to federal health care 
funding.  The compact requires the consent of Congress. 
 
  HB 1271 amends the existing statutory definition of 
a person requiring treatment for mental illness or drug or 
alcohol dependency by providing that the individual 
must pose a substantial risk of immediate physical harm 
to self or others.  The mental health and substance abuse 
history of the individual may be taken into consideration 
in determining if treatment is required.  The measure 
adds treatment advocates to the list of those who can 
petition the court for treatment services on behalf of the 
individual.  It also modifies the definition of dangerous 
person by deleting the phrase “one who poses a 
substantial risk of harm to self or others” and replacing it 
with “a person requiring treatment.”  
 
Abortion 
  The restrictions in HB 1888 prohibit an abortion at 
or after 20 weeks of pregnancy unless it is necessary to 
save the mother’s life or prevent major injury.  The 
measure makes it a felony to knowingly perform an 
abortion in violation of the provision.  It also requires 
physicians to determine the age of a fetus before an 
abortion and to report the procedural details to the State 
Department of Health which will issue the data in an 
annual report of related statistics.  
 
  SB 547 prohibits health insurance policies offered in 
the state from including elective abortion coverage 
except through optional supplemental coverage with a 
separate premium. 
 
 Expanding the current restrictions on RU-486 
(mifepristone), HB 1970 includes any drugs with 
abortion-inducing properties that are prescribed with the 
intent of causing an abortion.  It requires physicians to 
administer the drugs according to the drug label and 
FDA protocol, to document the gestational age and 
location of the pregnancy, and to schedule the patient for 
a follow-up appointment. 
 
Agency Operations  
  Several agencies requested modifications to their 
operating procedures through the following legislation. 
 
 HB 1397 makes changes to various sections of the 
public health code, including:  
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• Insurance Reimbursement – The measure allows 
the Department of Health or city-county health 
departments to be reimbursed at the regular plan 
rate for services provided to an individual with 
health insurance; 

• Vital Records – The measure deletes the 
requirement that birth and death certificates be 
filed with local registrars and replaces it with the 
requirement that they be filed with the State 
Registrar.  The measure increases the penalty 
from a misdemeanor to a felony for violating 
certain provisions related to birth and death 
certificates.  The measure defines disinterment 
and makes it a misdemeanor to violate 
provisions of the act related to disinterment.  It 
also requires that a copy of a court order for 
exhumation be provided to the Department of 
Health; and 

• Disease Prevention and Control – The measure 
replaces the term venereal disease with sexually 
transmitted infection and expands the definition.  
It removes the requirement that the State Plan 
for the Prevention and Treatment of AIDS be 
reviewed and reported on annually.  It also 
exempts from the Open Records Act 
confidential information related to individuals 
thought to have certain diseases. 
 

  HB 1715 modifies the Social Worker’s Licensing 
Act to include requirements for applicant criminal 
background checks and full-time postgraduate 
supervision and restrictions on independent social work 
practice.  All applicants will be required to pay for a 
national criminal history record check and supply two 
sets of fingerprints.  If the background check reveals a 
felony or certain misdemeanors, the application may be 
rejected.  A social worker with an expired license who 
applies for reinstatement after January 1, 2012, must also 
submit to the background check. 
 
  Making changes to the State Dental Act, SB 574 
requires a dentist to maintain a professional liability 
insurance policy with exceptions for dentists who are 
covered by a group or hospital malpractice policy, are 
practicing in certain state or federal facilities, or are 
volunteering with a special volunteer license.  It 
authorizes the investigators of the Oklahoma Board of 
Dentistry to perform necessary services, investigate 
certain records, and, after retirement, to continue to 
possess a sidearm and badge.  
 

Insurance 
 The Legislature enacted measures related to entities 
that the Insurance Department regulates.  
 
 HB 1243 modifies reexamination, continuing 
insurance education, and license renewal requirements 
under the Oklahoma Producer Licensing Act.  The 
measure eliminates experience requirements and 
application fees for some insurance producer licenses 
and modifies several classes of business covered by 
insurance adjuster licenses and application, examination, 
and continuing education requirements under the 
Insurance Adjuster Licensing Act.  In addition, the bill 
modifies and adds several application procedures and 
requirements for bail bondsman licenses and makes it a 
felony to engage in certain acts as a bail bondsman 
without a valid license. 
 

Another bill, HB 2072, modifies various operating 
procedures of the Insurance Department. Provisions of 
the measure include: 

 
• Creating the Insurance Commissioner Revolving 

Fund to fund operations of the Insurance 
Commissioner;  

• Creating the Insurance Department Anti-Fraud 
Revolving Fund to fund anti-fraud investigations 
within the agency;   

• Making the imposition of certain taxes or other 
obligations on state insurers optional; 

• Authorizing the commissioner to enter into Non-
admitted Insurance Multi-State Agreements to 
carry out the Non-admitted and Reinsurance 
Reform Act of 2010;   

• Creating the Unauthorized Insurers and Surplus 
Lines Insurance Act and providing that only 
certain surplus lines premiums will be subject to 
surplus premium taxes pursuant to a Non-
admitted Insurance Multi-State Agreement or 
other agreement entered into by the 
commissioner;   

• Requiring every health benefit plan to file 
specified rates and adjustments with the 
commissioner.  The commissioner will 
determine if the rate or rate adjustments are 
reasonable, excessive, or discriminatory; and   

• Creating the Uniform Health Carrier External 
Review Act which requires all health carriers to 
notify the insured parties of external review 
rights.  
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 SB 780 creates the Oklahoma Home Service 
Contract Act and requires that home service contracts 
may not be issued, sold, or offered for sale unless the 
provider has given a receipt and copy of the contract to 
the contract holder.  Providers of home service contracts 
sold in this state must register with the Insurance 
Commissioner, pay certain fees, and may be subject to 
prior review before completing registration.  Providers 
are required to maintain a funded reserved account not 
les than 40 percent of gross consideration received, less 
claims paid, and place a financial security deposit with 
the commissioner with a value of not less than 5 percent 
of gross consideration received, less claims paid, and not 
less than $25,000. Providers also are required to 
maintain a net worth or stockholders’ equity of $25 
million and provide the commissioner, upon request, 
certain Securities and Exchange Commission forms or 
financial statements.  The measure requires providers to 
purchase an insurance policy, and the insurer must meet 
specific standards.  Providers who are registered in this 
manner will not be subject to the Service Warranty 
Insurance Act. 
 
 SB 801 provides for insurance coverage of portable 
electronics and requires a vendor of portable electronics 
to have a limited lines license to sell or offer coverage 
under a policy of portable electronic insurance and 
provide a list to the Insurance Commissioner of all 
locations in which it offers coverage.  Vendors are 
required to make available to customers information 
about portable electronic insurance and will not be 
subject to licensure as insurance producers if they obtain 
limited lines licenses and develop a training program for 
employees.  The measure allows vendors to charge for 
specific coverage and requires that charges be separately 
itemized.  The insurer may terminate or change the terms 
of the policy with a specified amount of notice to the 
policyholder based on certain circumstances.  
 

Judiciary 
The Legislature took action on a number of bills in 

an effort to improve Oklahoma’s business climate, 
including tort and workers’ compensation reform. 

 
Tort Reform 
 To address the issue of excessive litigation and 
damages awarded in personal injury and medical 
malpractice suits, the Legislature passed a series of tort 
reform bills with the hope of improving the state’s 
business climate by obtaining and keeping more jobs in 
Oklahoma.  

 A key part of the reform agenda, HB 2128 caps 
noneconomic damages recoverable in a civil action for 
bodily injury at $350,000.  The measure creates an 
exception so that there is no limit on the amount of 
noneconomic damages in a civil action for bodily injury 
resulting from negligence if the defendant acted 
recklessly, fraudulently, or intentionally or with gross 
negligence.  In a similar effort to curb noneconomic 
damages, SB 272 limits the amount of recoverable 
damages in an action arising out of an accident involving 
the operation of a motor vehicle, or for any claim against 
the motor vehicle liability insurance coverage of another 
party, if the plaintiff is not in compliance with the 
compulsory insurance laws.  Damages are limited to the 
amount of medical costs, property damage, and lost 
income and must not include any award for pain and 
suffering, with provided exceptions.   
 
 In another effort to limit recoverable damages, 
SB 862 makes a defendant only responsible for the 
portion of damages that the defendant actually caused.  
The measure removes a requirement that a defendant, in 
certain civil actions, be jointly and severally liable for all 
damages if the defendant is found to be more than 50 
percent at fault.  The measure also removes the 
requirement that a joint tortfeasor will be jointly and 
severally liable for all damages if the tortfeasor acted 
with willful and wanton conduct or reckless disregard 
for the consequences.  
 
 SB 865 requires the Oklahoma Uniform Jury 
Instructions in a civil case to include an instruction that 
no part of an award for damages for personal injury or 
wrongful death is subject to federal or state income tax, 
and the jury should not consider income taxes when 
determining a proper compensation award. 
 
 For clarification of damages in a civil case involving 
personal injury, HB 2023 requires that the actual amount 
paid for certain medical bills will be admissible at trial, 
instead of the amounts billed for expenses incurred.  The 
measure provides that a lien filed by a medical examiner 
for an amount in excess of the amount paid for certain 
medical bills will be admissible. 
 
 HB 2024 authorizes a court to order that future 
damages incurred after the date of judgment that exceed 
$100,000 be paid in whole or in part in periodic 
payments rather than by a lump-sum payment.  The 
periodic payments cannot exceed seven years from the 
date of entry of judgment.  The measure provides 
requirements for the judgment ordering the payment of 
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future damages and the defendant must provide evidence 
of financial responsibility.  The orders for future 
payments will constitute a release of the health care 
liability claim filed by plaintiffs.  Upon termination of 
the periodic payments, the security will be returned to 
the defendants.  Upon death of the recipient, money 
damages for loss of future earnings must continue to be 
paid to the estate.  
 
 HB 1209 provides limited malpractice protection for 
certain physicians providing emergency medical services 
to an injured participant at an athletic event except when 
the physician commits gross negligence or willful or 
wanton negligence. 
 
Workers’ Compensation 
 The Legislature also sought to improve Oklahoma’s 
business climate by reforming the state’s workers’ 
compensation system by reducing legal and medical 
costs, allowing claims to be processed more quickly, and 
getting injured workers retrained and back to work.  
SB 878 rewrites and re-codifies essentially all of the 
state’s workers’ compensation law and creates a new 
Workers’ Compensation Code.  Some of the differences 
between the current law and provisions of the bill 
include:   
 

• Establishing several new guidelines for treating 
injured workers by requiring a physician’s 
opinion of the nature and extent of certain 
injuries be based on the “American Medical 
Association’s Guides to Evaluation of 
Permanent Impairment” or other certain 
subsequent editions;  

• Establishing reimbursement rates for medical 
providers who treat injured workers;  

• Reducing the cost of medical care by 5 percent, 
the administrator is directed to develop a new 
Workers’ Compensation Medical Fee Schedule 
by January 2012 that will establish the 
maximum rates that medical providers are 
permitted to be reimbursed for medical care 
provided to injured workers;  

• Decreasing the involvement of private attorneys 
by requiring voluntary mediation be available to 
any party to a claim; 

• Allowing the court to order mediation in any 
case; 

• Modifying eligibility for workers’ compensation 
treatment by expanding and clarifying which 
employers are exempted under the code;  

• Requiring independent medical examiners be 
specialists in the injuries they are diagnosing; 
and 

• Preventing doctor-shopping by limiting when 
injured workers can change doctors.  
 

 HB 2038 authorizes the Workers’ Compensation 
Court administrator to compile annual reports relating to 
characteristics of cases including amount of surgeries, 
length of temporary total disability, permanent partial 
disability, and other medical treatments and therapies. 
 
Miscellaneous 
 HB 1226 requires a portion of real property taken by 
eminent domain to be offered for resale to the original 
owner or heirs, at the appraised value or original price, 
when the property is not used for the purpose for which 
it was condemned or for another public use.  The agency 
or entity which acquired the real property is required to 
notify the former landowner of the right of first refusal.  
The property may be sold at public sale if the offer to 
repurchase is not accepted.  Another measure, SB 124, 
was passed to protect rural landowners from wind 
turbine companies by prohibiting the companies from 
using eminent domain for the sitting or erection of wind 
turbines on private property. 
 
 Continuing a 2010 legislative effort, SB 406 
strengthens the state’s funeral picketing laws.  Currently, 
protesters are banned from funerals for up to an hour 
before and after a service.  They also must stay at least 
500 feet from the service.  SB 406 extends the time 
period to two hours before and after and increases the 
distance to 1,000 feet.  
 

In a significant rewrite of Oklahoma employment 
discrimination laws, SB 837 provides for exclusive 
remedies for individuals alleging discrimination in 
employment on the basis of race, color, national origin, 
sex, religion, creed, age, disability, or genetic 
information.  The bill repeals common law actions in 
employment discrimination lawsuits, creating the same 
remedies for all employment discriminatory actions.  
The measure modifies the definition of a discriminatory 
practice to include individuals discriminated against 
because of genetic information or a disability as those 
protected under the relevant discrimination provisions, 
unless the employer can demonstrate that 
accommodation for the disability would impose an 
undue hardship on the operation of the business.  The 
measure extends protections to employment applicants.   
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SB 398 modifies state statutes related to telephone 
solicitation by prohibiting unsolicited telemarketer text 
messages.  The bill expands the Attorney General’s 
statewide registry listing consumers who do not wish to 
receive unsolicited telemarketing calls or, per the 
measure, text messages.  
 

Public Employees 
Pension Reform 
 In an effort to address the more than $16 billion 
unfunded liability of the state’s retirement systems, 
legislators sent several major pension reform measures 
to the Governor.  HB 2132 amends the Oklahoma 
Pension Legislation Actuarial Analysis Act by 
stipulating that cost-of-living adjustments (COLAs) are 
to be considered fiscal retirement bills, thus requiring 
that COLAs be fully funded at the time of authorization.  
This measure alone is estimated to decrease the state’s 
unfunded liability by $5 billion. 
 
 The Legislature also enacted pension reform 
measures that increase the normal retirement age for new 
hires.  SB 377 increases the normal retirement age from 
62 to 65 for new members of the Teachers’ Retirement 
System of Oklahoma (OTRS) who join the system on or 
after November 1, 2011.  These new OTRS members 
may also retire pursuant to the Rule of 90, as long as 
they are at least 60 years old.  Under the rule of 90 
members may retire when the sum of their age and years 
of service equals 90.  SB 794 increases the normal 
retirement age from 62 to 65 for new members of the 
Oklahoma Public Employees Retirement System 
(OPERS) who join the system on or after November 1, 
2011.  Like new members of OTRS, these new members 
of OPERS may retire pursuant to the Rule of 90 as long 
as they are at least 60 years old.  SB 794 also increases 
the normal retirement age for elected officials who are 
elected or appointed to office after November 1, 2011, 
from 60 to 65, or age 62 if the elected official has at least 
ten years of service.  HB 1010 raises the normal 
retirement age for new members of the Uniform 
Retirement System for Justices and Judges from 65 to 
67.  Justices or judges with at least ten years of service 
are eligible to retire at age 62. 
 
 HB 1007 establishes the Pension Funding 
Accountability Act of 2011.  This act provides for a 
monthly transfer of revenues from a revolving fund 
administered by the State Department of Education to 
OTRS, which has the effect of increasing the recognized 
state per pupil spending amount.  SB 891 requires school 
districts employing a retired member of OTRS to pay the 

employee’s contribution when he or she returns to work 
for a school system.  HB 1648 removes language from 
state statutes that allows OTRS members who are absent 
from teaching while serving an as officer of a local, 
state, or national education association to continue 
participating in OTRS.  OTRS members elected before 
January 1, 2011, may continue to participate, but service 
credit is limited to 12 years.  SB 347 requires a 
municipal employee convicted of certain criminal 
activities related to the duties of his or her office or 
employment to forfeit his or her retirement benefits. 
 
Health Insurance Benefits 
 A final cost-saving measure deals with state 
employee health insurance benefits.  HB 1062 allows 
active state employees covered by a separate group 
health insurance plan to opt out of the state’s basic plan 
and provides that employees opting out of coverage will 
receive $150 a month in lieu of the flexible benefit 
amount the employee would otherwise be eligible to 
receive.  
 

Redistricting 
 Oklahoma’s population kept pace with most of the 
nation, growing by 8.7 percent, which allowed the state 
to retain its five congressional districts.  HB 1527 
creates the Oklahoma Congressional Redistricting Act of 
2011.  According to the 2010 Census, Oklahoma’s total 
population is 3,751,351.  Each congressional district has 
750,270 people, except for Congressional District 5, 
which has 750,271.  The Oklahoma Congressional 
district map was not altered significantly from the 
existing map. 
 
 The State House of Representatives Redistricting 
Act of 2011 is found in HB 2145.  Based upon the total 
state population, each state House district should have an 
ideal population of 37,142 people.  Each new House 
district (HD) deviates from the ideal population by less 
than 1 percent.  
 
 No state representative incumbents that are eligible 
for reelection in 2012 are pitted against another 
incumbent eligible for reelection, but some term-limited 
members are affected.  The most dramatic changes from 
the current (2002-2010) Oklahoma House district map to 
the proposed House district map can be found in HD 60 
and HD 20, currently represented by term-limited 
members.  These changes add representation for the fast-
growing suburban areas in Canadian and Cleveland 
Counties.  House District 60 was moved to Canadian 
County, encompassing the majority of El Reno and part 
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of Caddo County.  This change caused a major shift in 
HD 55, to include Roger Mills and a majority of 
Beckham and Greer Counties. 
 
 The new House districts will take effect with the 
2012 elections. 
 
 SB 821 creates the State Senate Redistricting Act of 
2011.  In the State Senate, only the even-number Senate 
districts will be up for election in 2012, but all of the 
new Senate districts will take effect in November 2012.  
Based upon the total state population, each state Senate 
district should have an ideal population of 78,153 
people.  Each new Senate district deviates from the ideal 
population by less than 1.3 percent. 
 

Revenue and Taxation 
 In addition to focusing on the issue of tax credits this 
session, the Legislature addressed measures related to 
sales tax collections, tax exemptions, and fees for 
vending machines. 
 
 HB 1634 reduces the annual permit fee from $150 to 
$75 for each coin-operated vending machine, music 
device, or amusement device requiring a coin or token of 
25 cents or more effective July 1, 2011. 
 
 Recognizing the significance and importance of the 
oil industry to the economy of the state of Oklahoma, 
HB 1488 extends the sunset dates for two years until 
July 1, 2014, for existing gross production tax 
exemptions for certain horizontally drilled wells and 
deep depth well production. 
 
 HB 1285 creates the Task Force for the Study of Tax 
Credits and Economic Incentives to examine all state tax 
credits and identify those credits which are beneficial to 
the economic and financial wellbeing of the state. 
 
 HB 1475 requires all retail vendor sites selling 
fireworks to collect sales taxes and display the sales tax 
permit in the vicinity of the sales operation to be visible 
for examination by any enforcement officer.  Retail 
fireworks vendors that fail to collect sales tax will be 
subject to the penalties prescribed in current law. 
 
 HB 1954 extends a sales tax exemption, for certain 
manufacturers that are expanding or re-tooling their 
facilities, to their contractors or third parties making 
purchases on their behalf.  The measure applies to 
manufacturing property, machinery, and equipment for 
use in a petroleum refinery. 

Property Tax 
 HJR 1002 directs the Secretary of State to refer a 
proposed constitutional amendment to a vote of the 
people.  Beginning January 1, 2013, the constitutional 
amendment would limit the increase in the fair cash 
value for tax assessment purposes of a homesteaded 
property or a property used for agricultural purposes to 3 
percent. 
 

Transportation 
 Recognizing the need for future expansion and 
innovation of the transportation network in Oklahoma, 
HB 1686 creates the Eastern Flyer Passenger Rail 
Development Task Force to study and develop a 
comprehensive plan for expanding passenger and high 
speed passenger rail service from Tulsa to Oklahoma 
City.  
 
  SB 816 prevents boards of county commissioners 
and the Department of Transportation from opening a 
closed section line road if a business makes a minimum 
capital investment of $10 million in a facility and hires 
25 new employees whose salaries meet or exceed the 
average county wage where the facility is located.  
 
 Several measures were passed during the session 
focusing on highway safety and rules pertaining to users 
of Oklahoma roads.  SB 126 requires that the driver of a 
bus, whether occupied or unoccupied by passengers, 
must not proceed through a railroad crossing unless the 
driver stops the bus within 50 feet of, and not closer than 
15 feet to, the tracks, listens and looks in each direction 
along the tracks for an approaching train, and ascertains 
that no train is approaching.  SB 417 prohibits a solid 
waste disposal vehicle operator from stopping or parking 
on a sidewalk, within an intersection, alongside any 
street excavation or obstruction which would obstruct 
traffic, upon any bridge or elevated structure, or at any 
place where official signs prohibit stopping except when 
instructed by a police officer or traffic control device.   
 
 HB 1815 modifies the existing taxation system for 
compressed natural gas to promote fairness and 
improved administration of motor fuel taxation by the 
Oklahoma Tax Commission.  The bill reduces the levy 
of motor fuel taxation for compressed natural gas from 
16 cents per gallon or gasoline gallon equivalent to 13 
cents per gallon, allows a rate of tax to be imposed at 5 
cents per gasoline gallons equivalent for a period of time 
sufficient to allow the development of compressed 
natural gas distribution systems.  The bill also requires 
each person who engages in the selling of motor fuel or 
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compressed natural gas to obtain a fuel vendor license.  
The bill further exempts compressed natural gas from 
the definition of special fuels for purposes of vehicles 
required to obtain a special fuel tax decal.  
 
 HB 1232 authorizes the Department of 
Transportation to close any highway due to flooding and 
provides that the court may order restitution to 
emergency responders called to rescue motorists who 
circumvent traffic control devices due to closed roads 
and for reimbursement for repair or replacement of any 
lost or damaged equipment.  
 

Veterans and Military Affairs 
 In showing respect and reverence for military 
personnel who die while serving in any branch of the 
United States Armed Forces, the United States Reserve 
Forces or the National Guard, HB 1355 creates the 
Deceased Veterans Act.  The bill clarifies the order of 
persons responsible for the disposition of the remains of 
a deceased veteran and allows the funeral director to 
control final disposition when no person in order of 
succession can be found.  The measure further provides 
that if a military person dies in the line of duty and has 
completed a United States Department of Defense 
Record of Emergency Data, DD Form 93, or its 
successor form, the person authorized in the form by the 
veteran pursuant to that form will have the right to bury 
the decedent or to make other funeral and disposition 
arrangements.  The act further creates a revolving fund 
for the Oklahoma Turnpike Authority to be designated 
as the Honor the Fallen Revolving Fund, to be used to 
reimburse the authority for tolls incurred by the funeral 
procession of any member of the United States Armed 
Forces who is killed in the line of duty. 


