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klahoma’s economy continued to perform

relatively well in State Fiscal Year (SFY)

2013 due to stability in key sectors such as
energy and manufacturing and due to the state
having one of the lowest unemployment rates in
the nation. As a result, the Legislature had a
moderate increase in revenues to consider while
crafting the SFY 2014 budget. An additional $285 .
million, a 4.2 percent increase over last year, was Introduction
appropriated in the budget; most of which was
directed at education, health and mental health,
human services and maintenance and repair of
state buildings.
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Legislators addressed a number of policy issues including a significant reform of the
workers’ compensation system, enhancing school safety initiatives, continuing to shore
up the state’s retirement systems, providing income-tax relief and taking steps to more
efficiently maintain state-owned property. H

slaughter of horses for human consumption
outside the state and for the hunting of feral
hogs by air.

. he Legislature passed measures to allow for the
» ¥ - -

To help end the inhumane practice of abandoning or
of shipping frail or sick horses to Mexico for
~ slaughter, HB 1999 repeals the section of law that
Ag riculture & prohibits the slaughter of horses for human
Environment consumption. However, the measure prohibits the
slaughter of horses for human consumption in
Oklahoma. The measure authorizes the state
commissioner of health to have access to any
transport vehicle, factory, warehouse or establishment in which horsemeat or feed
suspected of containing horsemeat is transported, manufactured, processed, packed,
sold or prepared. The commissioner also may examine all sale and shipping records
and embargo any article of food or horsemeat suspected of being in violation of the law.
The measure also defines properly labeled as displaying the name and address of the
original packer or processor and the word horsemeat.

To provide additional means of controlling the feral hog population, HB 1920 and SB
919 authorize hunting of feral hogs from the air in fixed-wing aircraft or helicopters
anytime except between October 1 - January 15. HB 1920 authorizes the Oklahoma
Department of Agriculture, Food, and Forestry to issue a permit to any landowner or
any person who has contracted with a landowner to engage in the management of
depredating animals by use of aircraft. SB 919 allows for the hunting of hogs outside
commercial hunting areas using manned, nonexperimental, fixed-wing aircraft and non
-fixed wing aircraft registered with the Federal Aviation Administration.

Water

While the state awaits a U.S. Supreme Court decision regarding Texas’ access to water
that feeds the Red River basin, the Legislature addressed the persistent drought that
has plagued the state in recent years and addressed the composition of the state’s water
agency board.

HB 1923 creates the Emergency Drought Relief Fund and appropriates $3 million to
the fund. The measure also creates an Emergency Drought Commission, which will
recommend fund expenditures to the Governor in the event of an emergency drought
declaration.

SB 965 modifies the composition of the Oklahoma Water Resources Board of Directors
to represent nine regions, based on county boundaries, rather than congressional



districts. The measure also adds “oil and
gas production” to the list of required
industries represented on the board. A
map of the regions can be viewed below.
|

During the 2013
Session, members
tweaked reforms from
past sessions, focused
on school security and

addressed salaries for
newly certified National

alternative percentages. First-year

teachers will be evaluated only on the
qualitative measures in the evaluation
system.

HB 1658 modifies the A
- F school ranking
system. Fifty percent of
school grades will be
based upon whole
school performance.
Twenty-five percent will
be based upon whole

Board teachers. school growth by
. Common Education allocating one point for
SB 426 instructs
districts to phase in the each —student = who
e, N BT LAFT 0T .

. P . improves proficiency

full implementation of .
levels or improves

the Teacher and Leader Effectiveness
Evaluation System (TLE) by the 2015-16
school year. The quantitative portion of
the evaluation system will be delayed,
with phase-in occurring until the 2015-16
school year. For evaluations in the 2015-
16 school year and subsequent years,
districts must fully implement the TLE,
including the qualitative and quantitative
components.

Probationary teachers will be evaluated
once during the fall semester and once
during the spring semester. For teachers
in grades and of subjects for which there
is no state-mandated testing to form the
quantitative measure of the TLE, the
State Board of Education may adopt

SB 965

substantially within a proficiency level on
tests, divided by the number of students
taking tests. The remaining 25 percent
will be based upon growth in the bottom
quartile of students. The measure also
sets number ranges for grades, with 97
percent to 100 being an A+ and so on. A
listing of the number of schools by grade
received is shown on the following page.

Members also addressed the issue of
bonus payments for teachers certified

through the National Board for
Professional Teaching Standards with HB
1660. National Board -certification

bonuses will no longer be subject to the
availability of funds and teachers with
certification or who started the process
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prior to June 30, 2013, will be eligible for
a bonus of $5,000 annually for 10 years.
Teachers who start the process after that
date will be eligible for an additional
salary increment created between the
steps for bachelor’s degrees and master’s
degrees. In addition, the Oklahoma
Commission for Teacher Preparation will
select up to 100 applicants each fiscal
year and pay up to $1,300 for fees
associated with certification and provide
a $500 scholarship. Applicants who do
not complete the process within three
years must repay the fee.

School Safety

Several measures were adopted as a result
of recent national events involving school
shootings. SB 256 requires that in
addition to the two lockdown drills
required in statute,
school districts must
conduct a minimum of
eight safety drills per
school year, which must
include two fire drills, ¢
two intruder drills, two (
tornado drills and two ‘
drills to be determined
by administrators. SB
257 directs the
Oklahoma Office of
Homeland Security to
designate a division as the Oklahoma
School Security Institute, which will act
as the central resource for information on

s
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enhancing school security and assessing
risks and threats to school campuses. SB
259 requires school authorities to report
to law enforcement the discovery of a
firearm on any student or upon any other
person not authorized by law to possess a
firearm on school property. A final
measure, SB 283 requires local district
courts to notify the State Board of
Education when a school employee is
charged with a felony or violent
misdemeanor. Additionally, the bill
requires schools to notify the State Board
of Education after the dismissal of an
employee due to criminal sexual activity.
|

E;everal measures were adopted this
session to improve the criminal
justice system. In an effort to improve

oversight of the pardon

and parole process, the
Y

Legislature enacted HB
1722 to provide
procedures to be used by
the Pardon and Parole
Board and Governor
when considering
pardons and
commutations. The
measure provides that
any consideration of a
pardon or commutation
may only be considered after an
application is made with the Pardon and
Parole Board. The board is required to
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provide copies of these applications to the
district attorney, the victim or
representative of the victim and the office
of the attorney general. An application for
commutation also must be accompanied
by the written recommendation of two of
three trial officials. The trial officials are
the current judge of the court where the
conviction occurred, the current district
attorney where the conviction occurred,
and the chief or head administrative
officer of the arresting law enforcement
agency. Additionally, the measure
clarifies that inmates who are sentenced
to consecutive sentences are not eligible
for parole consideration on any
consecutive sentence until one-third of
the consecutive sentence has been served
or until the minimum term of
incarceration has been served.

Another measure, HB 1068, creates the
Postconviction DNA Act to establish a
procedure for a person convicted of a
violent felony crime or who has received a
sentence of 25 years or more and who
asserts that he or she did not commit the
crime to file a motion requesting forensic
DNA testing of biological material to
challenge the conviction. A sentencing
court must have a hearing after receipt of
a motion for DNA testing and must order
testing if the court finds:

e a reasonable probability that the
person would not have been
convicted if favorable results had
been obtained at the time of the
original prosecution

e that the request for testing is made to
demonstrate innocence and not to
delay the administration of justice

e that one or more items of evidence to
be tested exists

e that the evidence to be tested was
secured; and

e that the chain of custody of the
evidence is not in dispute.

The court may order DNA testing to be
performed by the Oklahoma State Bureau
of Investigation or other accredited
laboratory. If the DNA results are
favorable, the court must schedule
another hearing to vacate the conviction,
grant a new trial or order the person
released from custody.

HB 1068 establishes a procedure
for a person convicted of a
violent felony crime or sentenced
to 25 years or more to request
forensic DNA testing to

challenge the conviction.

The Bail Enforcement and Licensing Act
is created by SB 1013 to provide a
licensing procedure for those persons
engaged in bounty hunting. The measure
requires any person who acts as or offers
services as a bail enforcer to be licensed
by the Council on Law Enforcement
Education and Training (CLEET). Bail
enforcers are prohibited from breaking
into a dwelling to recover a defendant
unless the bail enforcer has first-hand
knowledge that the person is in the
dwelling and after reasonable requests
that the person surrender. A license is
valid for three years and the fee for an
unarmed bail enforcer license is $300
and an armed bail enforcer license is
$400. A person who acts a bail enforcer
without a license may be found guilty of a
felony, punishable by a fine of up to
$10,000 and imprisonment for up to
three years, or both fine and
imprisonment.

Issues related to human trafficking were
also addressed by the Legislature. HB
1067 requires any peace officer who
comes into contact with a victim of
human trafficking to inform the victim of
the emergency hotline number
maintained by the attorney general’s
office and provide the victim notice of
certain rights. Law enforcement also is
required to notify the Department of
Human Services when an officer comes
into contact with a child who may be a
victim of human trafficking or sexual
abuse. A related measure, HB 1508,
grants Oklahoma Bureau of Narcotics and
Dangerous Drugs Control the ability to



issue investigative subpoenas in human
trafficking cases.

HB 1328 allows a district attorney to
collect $40 per month from offenders not
under the supervision of the district
attorney during the first two years of
probation to compensate the district
attorney for costs incurred during the
prosecution of the offender and for the
additional work of verifying the
compliance of the offender with the rules
and conditions of probation. Failure to
pay may not be considered a violation of
probation and the district attorney may
waive this fee in the best interest of
justice. The court is prohibited from
waiving the fee.

Drug Control

In an effort to deal with the epidemic of
prescription drug abuse in Oklahoma, the
Legislature passed several measures to
address the issue. HB 1419 instructs the
director of the Oklahoma State Bureau of
Narcotics and Dangerous Drugs to notify
a health care practitioner, as defined in
the Uniformed Controlled Dangerous
Substances Act, if a patient is possibly
unlawfully obtaining prescription drugs.
Additionally, the bureau is authorized to
contract with vendors to facilitate the
electronic transmission of central
repository data to dispensers. A related
measure, HB 1783, prohibits health care
practitioners from refilling a written or
oral prescription containing
hydrocodone.

To facilitate study of this epidemic, HB
1781 gives the Department of Mental
Health and Substance Abuse Services and
the State Department of Health access to
the central repository for statistical,
research, substance abuse prevention and
educational purposes if confidentiality is
not compromised. W

Legislators passed
several measures
related to
unemployment benefits

HB 1911 requires unemployment
claimants to sign an affidavit, created by
the Oklahoma Employment Security
Commission (OESC) describing in plain
language certain criteria that would
disqualify a claimant from benefits. In the
case of misconduct or a positive drug or
alcohol test, the measure provides the
claimant with the burden of proof and
establishes circumstances where the
employee may be terminated for
misconduct. An immediate cessation of
benefits would ensue if an employer
delivers evidence that an offer of suitable
work was offered to the claimant,
provided the commission has the final
determination regarding benefits.

SB 5 provides that temporary employees
of a temporary help firm who leave their
last job voluntarily without good cause
may be denied unemployment benefits if
they do not contact the help firm for
reassignment, refuse a suitable job
without good cause, fail to communicate
their decision to stop seeking assignment
for any period of time, become
unavailable to accept a suitable job
without good cause or accept employment
with a client of the temporary help firm.

HB 1023 requires the Employment
Security Commission to conduct a fiscal
impact study on any proposed legislation
that expands unemployment benefits
expended by the Oklahoma
Unemployment Trust Fund. The
commission must present the study to the
Legislature and Governor before final
passage can take place. Furthermore, the
measure allows an employer to file an
untimely appeal or written protest of the
contribution rates determined by the
commission and modifies the information
required on a petition for review.

Tourism
Through SB 976, the
Legislature voted to

expand the types of
events that qualify for

) bat  frivol incentive payments
o comba rivolous
) ; lai under the Oklahoma
unemployment claims . .
proy Quality Event Incentive
and to give lawmakers . .
. Act to include certain
additional  tools  to E i national, international
assess the effect of conomic ’ . )
Development or world championship
future proposals to
events and events

expand unemployment
benefits.

managed by Oklahoma-



based national or international
organizations. The measure also shortens
several deadlines regarding event
approval to give host communities more
flexibility to recruit quality events.

SB 931 exempts agritourism
professionals from liability for injuries
incurred by a participant in agritourism
activities as long as a warning is posted.
The liability will not be limited if they are
negligent or disregard safety or have
knowledge of or should have known about
a dangerous condition. Signs warning
people of the risks they assume by
participating in the activities must be
posted in conspicuous locations.
Similarly, HB 1009 provides limited
liability to landowners who offer their
land as an aviation site for fly-ins at non-
public use airports. B
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Energy & Utility
Regulation
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wo measures addressed the state’s

energy infrastructure. HB 1718
authorizes the Oklahoma Corporation
Commission to inspect public-access CNG
stations. The measure also amends
qualifications for the clean-burning
motor vehicle fuel tax credit by requiring
that retrofitted vehicles meet federal
safety standards and be installed by a
technician certified in accordance with
the Alternative Fuels
Certification Act. The second measure,
HB 1932 grants to incumbent electricity
transmission owners the right of first
refusal to construct, own, and maintain a
transmission facility approved for
construction. The incumbent owner must
respond to the Southwest Power Pool’s
“direction to construct” within 9o days of
its receipt and if the owner does not
respond within 9o days, the owner
surrenders the right to construct and
maintain the facility. H

Technician

General Government

he Legislature passed several
measures affecting state, county, and
municipal governments.

The Legislature took action this session to
begin addressing the repair needs of the
State Capitol building. HB 2032
appropriates $120 million, split between
fiscal year 2014 and fiscal year 2015, to
the newly created Oklahoma State Capitol
Building Repair and Restoration Fund to
initiate repairs for the State Capitol.

HB 1924 authorizes the board of county
commissioners to solicit telephone bids
for the removal of recyclable materials
and allows counties to conduct internet
auctions to dispose of equipment.

HB 1402 modifies population
requirements for municipalities subject to
the Oklahoma Town Meeting Act, which
outlines the procedures for conducting
initiatives, meetings, and elections, by
changing the population from 1,000
residents, to fewer than 2,000 residents.
|

Government Modernization

The Legislature took steps to more
effectively manage buildings and property
owned by the state. HB 1910 authorizes
the Office of Management and Enterprise
Services (OMES) to recommend the sale
of state properties based on the value of
the property and the potential for a net
gain to the state. The measure also:

e streamlines procedures for state
entities to dispose of real property

e requires the appropriate county
officials to file and record
instruments vesting the state’s right
to, or interest in, lands or minerals or
to adjust irregularities on those
instruments at the request of OMES
without filing or recording fees



e directs the Long-Range Capital
Planning Commission (LRCPC) to
include preparing an annual capital
plan budget for addressing state
capital facility needs for the ensuing
eight years

e requires the LRCPC to decrease the
amount of property owned by the
state and to better maintain and use
the state’s real property assets; and

e modifies the procedures for state
entities entering a lease agreement,
purchasing property or constructing
a building.

Legislators continued to focus on
streamlining state government and
identifying ways to improve management
of agencies. HB 1002 requires the
director of OMES to identify the 10 state
agencies with the lowest rankings in the
financial services cost performance
assessment published by the office and
requires those agencies to contract with
OMES to provide shared financial
services if it will result in cost savings or
efficiencies to the state. The measure
allows a contracted agency to discontinue
the shared services if it can document
that it can provide the services at a lower
cost and the documentation is approved
by the director of OMES. Finally, the bill
authorizes OMES to enter into contracts
to carry out the
functions of the State
Employee Assistance
Program.

Another measure, SB
596, requires each state
agency to submit
annually a program
management and
performance report to
the Legislature and to
the director of OMES.
The report is to include
detailed data for each agency program,
cost avoidance and cost containment
measure implemented, the methodology
for determining the agency’s fee structure
and gauging customer satisfaction and a
list of programs or operations not
required as part of the core function of
the agency. The director will make the
reports available on the state’s public
access website.

Health & Human
Services

E s N B T

The Legislature expanded its
oversight role over state agencies

wit the adoption of HB 2055.

Government Oversight

The Legislature expanded its oversight
role over state agencies with the adoption
of HB 2055. The measure modifies the
Administrative Procedures Act to allow
the Legislature to affirmatively approve
all rules promulgated by state agencies
with the adoption of an omnibus joint
resolution. Any rule to be disapproved by
the Legislature will be specified in the bill
to provide greater transparency and
efficiency in the administrative rule-
making process. H

The Legislature also focused
consolidation efforts on health
related entities,
exempted home bakeries
from licensure and
empowered local
governments to restrict
smoking on government
properties.

HB 1467 creates the
Oklahoma Public Health
Advisory Council
Modernization Act
consolidating numerous
boards and committees. Some provisions
include:

e combines the Child Abuse Training
and Coordination Council, the
Childhood Lead Poisoning
Prevention Advisory Council, the
Interagency Child Abuse Prevention
Task Force, the Genetic Counseling
Advisory Committee into the Infant
and Children’s Health Advisory
Council
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e consolidates the State Barber
Advisory Board into the State Board
of Cosmetology and Barbering; and

e consolidates the Licensed
Professional Counselors Advisory
Board, the Licensed Marital and
Family Therapist Advisory Board and
the Licensed Behavioral Practitioners
Advisory Board into a State Board of
Behavioral Health Licensure.

Additionally, the measure creates the
Home Care and Hospice Advisory
Council, which will have jurisdiction over
all issues that arise in the areas of home
care or hospice services and other areas
as designated by the State Board of
Health.

SB 945 assists the state in
recovering debts for health care
or medical services. The measure
allows state agencies to file a
claim to intercept income tax
refunds to collect debt owed to

the agency.

Health Care

In an effort to increase transparency of
changes in prescription drug coverage,
HB 1672 requires health benefit plans
that provide prescription drug coverage
or contracts for those services, to notify
enrollees of any deletions in drug
formulary. The measure provides an
exception for generic substitutions and
does not apply to a drug that a
therapeutics committee of the health
benefit plan determines to be subject to
new safety warnings or safety recalls by
the Federal Drug Administration.

Another bill, SB 765, increases access to
oral cancer treatment by requiring any
health benefit plan that offers coverage
and benefits for cancer treatment to cover
orally administered anticancer

medications. Coverage will not be subject
to prior authorization, dollar limit,
copayment, deductible or an out-of-
pocket expense that does not apply to
intravenously administered or injected
cancer medications. The bill prohibits
changes that will reclassify or increase
cost-sharing for anticancer medications.

A measure to assist the state in recovering
debts owed for health care or medical
services provided, SB 945 allows state
agencies file a claim to intercept income
tax refunds to collect debt owed to the
agency.

SB 684 requires dentists to supervise
hygienists and oral maxillofacial surgery
assistants. The measure directs the Board
of Dentistry to establish educational
guidelines for oral maxillofacial surgery
assistants. Additionally, the board is
empowered to initiate administrative
proceedings and impose penalties against
oral maxillofacial surgery assistants. The
measure requires dental assistants and
oral maxillofacial surgery assistants to
have a permit, which costs $50.

HB 1347 requires each licensed birthing
facility to perform a pulse oximetry
screening on every newborn prior to the
newborn leaving the facility. A pulse
oximetry screening is used to measure the
percentage of hemoglobin in the blood
that is saturated with oxygen, which may
indicate a critical congenital heart defect.

Abortion

Three abortion related measures passed
through the Legislature this session. HB
1361 requires that a parent who is
entitled to notice and consent provide
documentation to the court verifying the
relationship to the minor who is seeking
an abortion. Additionally, the measure
authorizes the court to require an
unemancipated minor to receive a mental
health evaluation and access to
counseling services through the State
Department of Health. The court also
may consider factors that gauge the
maturity level of the unemancipated
minor.

A related measure, HB 1588, creates the
Parental Notification for Abortion Act.
The measure extends the time of delivery
for a request of written informed consent
from the next day of regular mail delivery



to the third day for an unemancipated
minor seeking an abortion. Additionally,
the measure stipulates that 48 hours
must pass after written notice has been
delivered to a parent or guardian before
an abortion can be performed. If a
medical emergency exists and an abortion
must be performed, the parent or
guardian must be verbally informed and
sent written notification within 24 hours
after the procedure. The bill also provides
that notice is not required if the parent
has stated in notarized writing that he or
she has been informed or if the minor
declares she is a victim of sexual or
physical abuse by the parent or parents.

Finally, HB 2015 adds questions to the
Individual Abortion Form completed by
the physician and adds reporting
measures to the Annual Abortion Report
issued by the State Department of Health.
The bill also allows registered voters in
Oklahoma to initiate legal proceedings
against an abortion provider failing to
submit any required report.

Mental Health

The issue of mental health and substance
abuse treatment has become a top
priority in many legislatures including
Oklahoma’s. HB 1069 permits the
successful completion of a Department of
Corrections-approved substance abuse
treatment program to satisfy the
recommendations made by an assessment
agency for a 10- or 24-hour alcohol and
drug abuse course or treatment program.
Additionally, the measure allows an
alcohol and drug abuse evaluation and
assessment to be paid for by a third party
on behalf of a defendant, provided no
state-appropriated funds are used.

In response to recent events at a private,
recovery and recovery support facility, SB
295 requires such facilities be certified by
the Department of Mental Health and
Substance Abuse Services. The measure
also modifies the definition of community
-based structured crisis center to include
comprehensive community addiction
recovery centers under the Unified
Community Mental Health Services Act.
The measure specifies that such centers
must comply with standards adopted by
the Board of Mental Health and
Substance Abuse Services. These
standards must be in compliance with

certain national accrediting organizations
or approved medical and professional
standards as determined by the board.
The measure exempts faith-based
nonresidential recovery programs,
residential recovery-based programs with
less than 12 residents, and residential
recovery and recovery support programs
that are not located with -certified
treatment programs from the provisions
of this act.

HB 1532 increases the distribution of
unclaimed lottery prize money to the
Department of Mental Health and
Substance Abuse from $500,000 to
$750,000.

Children & Families

Elected officials continued to take steps to
protect vulnerable children from abuse
and neglect. SB 460 requires DHS to
electronically record all referrals received
by the child abuse hotline and retain the
recordings for 9o days. The records are
confidential and subject to disclosure as
provided for elsewhere in statute. The
measure also makes it a felony for any
person with prolonged knowledge of
ongoing child abuse or neglect to
knowingly and willfully fail to report the
abuse or neglect. Prolonged knowledge is
defined as knowledge of abuse or neglect
for at least six months.

Two measures address public assistance.
HB 1909 directs DHS to not renew a
request for a waiver from the federal
requirement that limits able-bodied
adults without dependents to 3 months of
food stamp benefits during a 3 three year
period unless the recipients are employed
for at least 20 hours per week. Another
bill, SB 667, prohibits the use of an
electronic benefit transfer cards in liquor
stores, casinos and gaming
establishments, adult-oriented
entertainment establishments and smoke
shops.

HB 2166 authorizes a court to require
individuals who owe child support and
are willingly unemployed to work two
eight-hour days per week in a community
service program administered by the
county commissioners.

To encourage more Oklahomans to
become foster parents, the Legislature
created an income tax deduction for

11
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foster parents in HB 1919. The deduction
is capped at $2,500 for single persons
and $5,000 for married individuals filing
a joint return.

A final measure, HB 2301, appropriates
an additional $32 million to the
Department of Human Services for
implementing year two of the Pinnacle
Plan, which is the result of the 2012
settlement of the class action lawsuit
brought against the agency.

Elderly & Long-term Care

Two measures address the safety of
residents in nursing facilities. SB 587
allows for the voluntary authorized
electronic monitoring of a resident’s room
and prohibits a facility from refusing to
admit an individual or remove a resident
because of the electronic monitoring of a
resident’s room. The bill also prohibits
the obstruction of, or tampering with, an
electronic monitoring device installed in a
facility. SB 629 makes nursing facilities
operated by the Oklahoma Department of
Veterans Affairs (ODVA) once again
subject to the requirements of the
Nursing Home Care Act. The measure
requires the Oklahoma State Department
of Health (OSDH) to conduct at least one
annual unannounced inspection of the
facilities operated by ODVA and gives
OSDH the authority to approve employer-
based nurse aide
training programs
provided by ODVA. The
measure also prohibits
those facilities from
employing a nurse aide
who is not certified and
who is not eligible for
placement on the OSDH

nurse aide registry. Insurance

HB 1403 requires
health care providers to
deliver life-preserving
health care services as directed by the
patient, or their legally authorized person,
regardless if they are elderly, disabled or
terminally ill. Under the law health care
providers have the right to defend their
actions by pleading a legitimate,
nondiscriminatory reason or reasons for
the basis of denying treatment.

HB 1094 exempts a home food
establishment from the licensing
requirements of the State Department of

[ BN o NG, S

Following the trend in other
states, legislators created a more
competitive environment for

private workers’ compensation.

Health and permits the department to
request written documentation to verify
the gross annual sales of the
establishment. The measure requires
establishments to affix a label that states
the name and address, the name of the
prepared food and that the food was
made in an unlicensed establishment.

SB 501 authorizes counties and
municipalities to enact laws restricting
smoking on their property. B

ollowing the trend of other states,

legislators created a more
competitive environment for private
workers’ compensation
by limiting the
competitive advantage
of state workers’
compensation
programs. The
Legislature also
addressed a variety of
other insurance topics
and updated the
provisions of the Captive
Insurance Act.

HB 2201 converts CompSource
Oklahoma into a domestic mutual insurer
beginning January 1, 2015. The measure
renames CompSource Oklahoma to
CompSource Mutual Insurance Company
which will be organized under state law,
but independent of the State of
Oklahoma. The company will be subject
to current law governing private insurers
and be required to pay state premium
taxes; however, the measure exempts the
company from the Oklahoma Insurance



Rating Act and the Property Casualty
Competitive Loss Cost Rating Act until
three years after the company begins
operations. The company also will be
considered a continuation of CompSource
Oklahoma and absorb all its remaining
properties, debts, claim and other assets
or liabilities.

HB 1512, the Insurance Department
omnibus bill, amends the regulatory laws
of several industries overseen by the
Insurance Commission. Some provisions
of the measure include:

e requiring confidential treatment of
information obtained by the
insurance commissioner through an
examination or investigation, unless
authorized by the insurer. However,
the commissioner is authorized to
share and receive confidential
information with a regulatory agency
and the National Association of
Insurance Commission (NAIC),
provided these entities agree to
maintain the privileged status of the
documents

e removing the bond
requirement for an
individual applying
for an insurance
broker’s license

e requiring contracts,
prices list and
statements for

prepaid funeral Judiciary

benefits to be
retained for at least
six years

e increasing the minimum hours of
continuing education required for an
insurance adjuster from 20 to 24;
and

e providing that a small employer
carrier may include wellness
programs, such as tobacco cessation,
in the premium rate developments
and allows employers to offer
incentives to employees for
participating the programs.

HB 1108 helps bring Oklahoma’s captive
insurance laws more in compliance with
the National Association of Insurance
Commission’s model act for regulating
captive companies. Captives are

insurance companies formed by their
parent company to insure the risk of the
parent company. Some provisions of the
measure include:

e requiring captive insurance
companies to obtain approval from
the insurance commissioner before
taking certain actions related to the
financial status of the company.

e establishing criteria for businesses
written by a sponsored captive
insurance company and allowing a
sponsored captive insurance
company to invest and combine the
assets of two or more protected cells;
and

e lifting certain exclusions that
prohibited a captive insurance
company from providing workers’
compensation insurance and
allowing the commissioner to issue
provisional licenses to applicants. H

Legislators amended Oklahoma’s legal
code to reduce litigation, modernize
the court process and provide more
transparency in civil
proceedings while
addressing various other
topics related to the
courts.

SB 404 creates the
Personal Injury Trust
Transparency Act. The
measure requires
plaintiffs to disclose

. =@ ®  information about all

current and anticipated
personal injury claims filed against a
personal injury trust and attest to its
completeness and accuracy. The measure
also allows a defendant to identify other
personal injury trusts that the defendant
in good faith believes the plaintiff can file
a successful claim against within 9o days
before trial. For each additional or
alternative personal injury trust
identified, the plaintiff is required to
either file a claim with the identified
trust, or file a written response with the
court stating reasons why there is
insufficient evidence to permit the
plaintiff to file a claim.

To protect officers, directors and
shareholders of corporations and
members and managers of limited

13



s Ramona

liability companies (LLC) from claims
brought against the LLC or corporation of

which they are a part of, SB 1083 ity
requires a judgment to be rendered yora
against the corporation or LLC before any
claims or suits may be brought against
the individuals.

Avant
.

HB 1060 prohibits the recognition of Sases
foreign laws in state courts if the

constitutional rights of the affected
parties are violated. The measure makes
void and unenforceable any court,
arbitration, or administrative decision
that does not grant the parties affected by
the ruling the same fundamental
liberties, rights and privileges granted
under the U.S and state constitution.

Rogers
County

Catoosa
.

SB 820 redistricts the boundaries of the
electorate divisions within District Court
Judicial District No. 7 (Oklahoma 7 G
County) and No. 14 (Tulsa and Pawnee Sresk
counties) to align with the current state

precinct lines. The measure also
increases the number of judges in District
No. 21 (Garvin, McClain and Cleveland

Broken
Arrow
.

Sapuppa

counties) from four to five and decreases District Court oot

the number of judges in District No. 22 Judicial District No. 14 | e

(Seminole, Hughes and Pontotoc TulsmConnty 1 o

counties) from three to two. . sB 820 Proposed Districts Mmds! Wagoner
Current Districts ) ! Saliaty

Workers’ Compensation s

The Legislature voted to change e e f;f §

Oklahoma’s distinction as one of the =)

remaining two states to have a oo

court-based system to determine i

workers’ compensation claims. e 1

SB 1062 changes how claims | /
from injured workers are handled : Z
and computed. The measure
establishes an administrative
workers’ compensation system,
allows employers to opt out of the
states’” workers’ compensation
laws by creating their own defined
benefits plans and authorizes
agreements to arbitrate claims for
injuries.

Lincoln
County

Bethany/

IGi/ahoma
Clry

Effective February 1, 2014, the
Workers’ Compensation Court
will be renamed the Workers’
Compensation Court of Existing
Claims and be responsible for

tang

:

3 1 innr District Court §§
hearing c1a1m§ for injuries or || o Cetrict No. 7 i &
death filed prior to February 1, || Oklahoma County : K

.. Cleveland
2014, under eXIStlng statutes. ' SB 820 CS Proposed Districts County
Provisions of the measure include: || Surent District W
e ».,! u
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TTD

TPD

PPD

PTD

Disfigurement

creating a three-person commission, e

SB 1062

Current Law

70 percent of the employee's average weekly wage
(EAWW) up to 100 percent of the state average
weekly wage (SAWW) for 156 weeks. Benefits
may be extended for an additional 52 weeks if the
court makes a finding of a consequential injury.

70 percent of the difference between the EAWW
before the injury and his or her wage earning ca-
pacity thereafter for 156 weeks.

70 percent of the EAWW or $323, whichever is
less, for 500 weeks. PPD benefits may not be less
than $150 per week.

70 percent of the EAWW or the SAWW, whichever
is less, for 15 years or until the employee reaches
the age of maximum Social Security retirement
benefits, whichever is longer.

Up to $50,000 for any part of the body.

allowing an employer to voluntarily

New Law
(effective February 1, 2014)

70 percent of the EAWW up to 70
percent of the SAWW for 104
weeks. Benefits may be extended
for an additional 52 weeks if al-
lowed by an administrative law
judge.

70 percent of the difference be-
tween the EAWW before the injury
and his or her weekly wage for per-
forming the alternative work after
the injury, but only if that wage is
less than the TTD rate. Compensa-
tion may not exceed 52 weeks.

70 percent of the employee’s aver-
age weekly wage, not to exceed
$323 for 350 weeks. Vocational re-
habilitation services are allowed for
up to 52 weeks.

70 percent of the EAWW or the
SAWW, whichever is less, for 15
years or until the employee reaches
the age of maximum Social Security
retirement benefits, whichever is
longer.

Up to $50,000 for any part of the
body. No award will be entered un-
til 12 months after the injury.

insurance commissioner

appointed by the Governor to serve
six year terms

creating the position of
administrative law judges, who are
appointed by the commission, to
conduct hearings and determine
claims for compensation under the
rules and regulations established by
the commission

opt of the Administrative Workers’
Compensation Act by becoming a
qualified employer. To obtain the
qualified-employer status, an
employer must complete certain
notice requirements, establish a
written benefit plan that is
comparable to the benefits provided
under the act, pay an annual $1,500
filing fee and furnish proof to the

employer’s financial ability to pay for
compensation. Employers may self-
insure or contract with an insurer to
supply benefits

providing that agreements to
arbitrate claims for injuries covered
by the act are valid and enforceable,
provided the employer gives notice of
an agreement to both the employee
and the employer’s workers’

15
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compensation insurance provider, an
alternate dispute resolution program
is filed with the commission and the
agreement contained a provision that
allows any party to arbitration the
opportunity to appeal any decision to
the commission; and

e establishing new compensation rates
for temporary total disability (TTD),
temporary partial disability (TPD),
permanent partial disability (PPD),
permanent total disability (PTD) and
Disfigurement as outlined in the
chart on the previous page. B

he Legislature continued its support
of Oklahoma’s veterans.

SB 228 creates the
Quality Workforce for
Oklahoma’s Heroes Act.
Beginning November 1,
2013, the Oklahoma

Department of Veterans | pas
Affairs is authorized to ‘ k

establish education and

training programs for its Military & \_IEt rans
Affairs

employees to improve

modifies the definition for Final Average
Compensation, currently the highest
three of 10 years, to the highest five of the
last 10 years of participating service
immediately preceding retirement or
termination of employment. This
measure affects members whose first
participating service occurs on or after
July 1, 2013.

A measure similar to the 2012 reform bill
that made changes to the Oklahoma
Police Pension and Retirement system,
HB 2078 modifies the Oklahoma
Firefighters Pension and Retirement
System. The measure:

e modifies contribution rates to the
system by increasing the
employee rate from 8
percent to 9 percent and
the employer rate from
13 percent to 14 percent

e increases the

4 ';_&,; \ ‘ percentage of insurance
. premium tax that is
allocated to the system

from 34 percent to 36

the quality of care in |EETEES. S ERS 0T 0 percent

department institutions.

An employee who successfully completes
a program will be eligible for additional
education and training. The department
may pay an employee’s educational
expenses but also may seek repayment if
the individual leaves employment.
Finally, the measure authorizes the
department to cover fees for employees to
maintain their licenses and certifications
in order to provide quality care and
maintain accreditation. The department
may require repayment.

SB 752 allows an identification card
issued by a branch of the armed services
of the United States to serve as proof of
identity for voting. W

The Legislature
passed several
reform measures this
year intended to further

strengthen the state’s
public pension systems.

HB 1325 will help
improve the fiscal health
of the Oklahoma Public
Employees Retirement

Retirement

e changes the
retirement age for new participants
to at least 50 years of age and
completion of 22 years of service to
qualify for unreduced retirement
benefits and makes participants
eligible to vest after 11 years of
service; and

e provides that for new members,
Deferred Retirement Option Plan
balances will receive the earned
investment return less 1 percent and
must be distributed by age 70 V2.

The measure affects participants who
joined the system on or after November 1,
2013.

Addressing
discrepancies in the
computations of
retirement benefits for
certain positions within
the Oklahoma Law
Enforcement
Retirement System, HB
1383 provides that new
participants will have

System. The measure pETE . 9= 8" % their retirement benefits



based upon their final average earnings
and years of service. This affects:

e Alcoholic Beverage Laws
Enforcement Commission — agent

e Oklahoma State Bureau of Narcotics
and Dangerous Drugs Control —
narcotics agent III

e Oklahoma Tourism and Recreation
Department — park ranger IT

e State Board of Pharmacy — pharmacy
inspector

e University of Oklahoma - police
officer

e Oklahoma State University — police
officer

The measure affects new participants who
joined the system on or after February 12,
2013. W

he Legislature responded to the

devastating tornadoes in the state
near the end of session
and gave individual
taxpayers a tax cut while
tackling an array of
other tax topics related
to property valuations,
debt recovery and tax
administration.

further reduction to 4.85 percent
beginning tax year 2016 contingent upon
certain revenue growth.

SB 864 gives taxpayers an additional
avenue to dispute tax assessments and
refund amounts. The measure will allow
any individual to file for a trial de novo in
district court and provides that any
judgment rendered in district court also
may be appealed directly to the Oklahoma
Supreme Court.

HB 1265 directs county assessors to
reassess the value of properties damaged
by fire, lightning, storms, winds,
floodwater and other natural events and
present the reassessment to each county’s
board of tax roll collections.

HB 20035 extends the tax credit for clean
burning motor vehicles until January 1,
2020.

HB 2308 eliminates several outdated
and underutilized tax credits. Some of
these credits include:

e  The water treatment
and pollution control
facility tax credit

e The contribution to
energy conservation
assistance fund tax
credit

SB 330 will offer tax Revenue & Taxation e The commercial

relief to affected

residents and . S BT LT

businesses by providing

a tax credit for vehicle registration fees
and excise taxes for vehicles destroyed by
a tornado receiving a Presidential Major
Disaster Declaration in 2013.
Additionally, the measure offers an
income tax credit for homeowners
affected by a federally declared disaster.
Affected businesses will still be allowed to
claim the state deduction for filing timely
sales tax reports and payment of taxes
even if they are not able to file in a timely
manner. Businesses also may be eligible
for a sales tax exemption on tangible
personal property donated to assist
individuals affected by a tornado
receiving Presidential Major Disaster
Declaration in 2013.

HB 2032 lowers the top marginal
income tax from 5.25 percent to 5 percent
beginning tax year 2015 and provides for

space industries tax
credit

e The tax credit for employers
incurring child care services
expenses

e The wind or photovoltaic (for
example solar cells or panels) energy
systems tax credit

e The tourism promotion credit

e The qualified ethanol facilities tax
credit

e The eligible biodiesel facility tax
credit; and

e The deduction for political
contributions

Lastly, the measure eliminates the
dividend/interest income exclusion
available to individual and joint tax
payers. H
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Transportation

wo measures intended to increase

the safety of motorists on the state’s
roadways were enacted. HB 2186 diverts
$300,000 of the apportionment of
revenue derived from fines and penalties
collected by the Corporation Commission
to the Department of Public Safety to staff
the port-of-entry weigh stations for safety
inspections.

HB 1792 creates the Oklahoma
Temporary Motorist Liability Plan to
provide minimum vehicle liability
insurance coverage when a citation is
issued and the vehicle license plate has
been seized. The measure adds an
additional $125 fee paid to the sheriff’s
office before the license plate will be
returned. W
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