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Introduction 
 Although the state’s economy is strong, the 
Legislature was confronted with a $188 million 
shortfall in available funds to appropriate. The 
shortfall was due, in part, to pre-designated funding 
for certain items like roads and bridges and also as a 
result of lower corporate income tax collections. A 
majority of state agencies received budget cuts of 
5.5%, while some received no cuts and others saw 
greater cuts. Most noteworthy, however, the 2015 
budget protects, and in some cases increases, 
funding for core government functions like 
education, human services and public safety.  

 Two of the legislature’s top priorities entering 
the 2014 legislative session included decreasing the 
personal income tax and funding much needed 
repairs for the Oklahoma State Capitol building. 
Additionally, legislators addressed a wide array of 
policy issues such as employee pay raises, tax 
credits, repealing Common Core, and pension 
reform.  
 

 Criminal Justice 
 Human trafficking received much attention this 
session.  HB 2353 adds human trafficking to the list 
of crimes for which a person must serve 85% of the 
sentence imposed.  The measure also increases the 
penalty for human trafficking to a term of between 
5 years and life imprisonment, a fine of not more 
than $100,000 or both fine and imprisonment.  If 
the victim was under the age of 18, the penalty is 
increased to a term of not less than 15 years 
imprisonment, a fine of not less than $250,000 or 
both fine and imprisonment.  SB 1433 requires 
offenders to be in compliance with the standards for 
Class Level 2 behavior while incarcerated to qualify 
for achievement earned credits.  Another measure, 
SB 1538, allows a civil action brought in a human 
trafficking case to be instituted in the district court 
in the county in which the prospective defendant 
resides or has committed any act which subjects 
him or her to liability.  The measure establishes that 
the statute of limitations does not commence until 
the plaintiff discovers or reasonably should have 
discovered that he or she was a victim of human 
trafficking and that the defendant caused, was 
responsible for or profited from the human 
trafficking.  A final measure, HB 3496 requires 
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every person having reason to believe that a person 
or child-placing agency is engaging in the crime of 
trafficking in children to report the matter promptly 
to the Oklahoma Bureau of Narcotics and 
Dangerous Drugs Control.  The Bureau of Narcotics 
and Dangerous Drugs Control is to refer the 
information to the appropriate district attorney 
within 7 days of receiving a report. 
 
 A related measure, HB 2349 increases the fine 
for maintaining a house of prostitution from not less 
than $100 to a fine of not less than $2,000.  The 
measure also increases the fine involving obscene 
materials from not more than $1,000 to not less than 
$2,000 and the term of imprisonment to not less 
than 3 years nor more than 20 years.  The 
punishment for second and subsequent violations 
related to child pornography is established as 
imprisonment for not less than 10 years nor more 
than 30 years, a fine of not less than $20,000 or 
both fine and imprisonment. 
 

Economic Development and 

Financial Services 
 The Legislature aimed to expand and extend 
programs derived to spur economic development 
throughout the state, while also ensuring that 
unemployment benefits are provided only to those 
who meet the program requirements.   
 
 HB 2956 expands the Small Employer Quality 
Jobs Program to allow businesses located in larger 
counties to participate.  The measure removes the 
population qualifier in the program, which is 
currently restricted to qualified establishments 
located in counties with a population under 200,000 
or located in an opportunity zone.   
 
 HB 2509 extends the sunset date of the 
aerospace engineer tax credit to January 1, 2018.  
The measure also modifies the definition of 
qualified employee to include those who worked in 
the aerospace sector, not as full time engineers, 
prior to receiving an undergraduate or graduate 
degree. 
 HB 2580 extends the sunset date of the 
Compete with Canada Film Act to July 1, 2024.  

The film rebate program was set to expire July 1, 
2014. The rebate provides a film maker one dollar 
in return for every three dollars spent on movie 
production within the state. 
 
 HB 2505 makes numerous changes to 
provisions relating to unemployment benefits.  Most 
notably, the measure requires the Oklahoma 
Employment Security Commission (OESC) to 
randomly review five percent of unemployment 
benefits cases where misconduct was alleged. The 
measure also modifies the definition of misconduct. 
A misconduct violation does not require a prior 
warning from the employer and as long as the 
employee knew, or should have reasonably known, 
that a rule or policy of the employer was violated, 
the employee will not be eligible for unemployment 
benefits.  There is also a rebuttable presumption of 
misconduct if a state or federal agency has findings 
of failure by the employee to meet the applicable 
civil, criminal or professional standards of the 
employee’s profession.  
 
 The measure also provides that reimbursed pay 
or back pay received by a recipient of 
unemployment benefits will be subtracted from the 
claimant’s weekly benefit check if the claimant is 
placed on furlough or experiences a work stoppage 
due to a lapse in appropriation or a budget shortfall 
and is subsequently reimbursed full pay when the 
work stoppage period ends.  The OESC is 
authorized to reconsider a benefit determination to 
correct for any reimbursed or back pay received by 
a claimant.   An employer may also file an untimely 
objection to a claim for unemployment benefits if 
good cause is shown.  
 
 Lastly, the measure repeals the Shared Work 
Unemployment Compensation Program. The 
program was established in 2011 to allow certain 
employees to collect partial unemployment benefits 
if the employees share the work remaining after a 
reduction in the total number of hours of work and a 
corresponding reduction in wages.   
 
 Under increased scrutiny following last year’s 
deadly tornadoes, roofing contractors are now 
required to register with the Construction Industries 
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Board under HB 3184.  The measure exempts 
charitable organizations, handymen, and prime 
contractors who subcontract their roofing work 
from this registration.  Roofing contractors are 
required to display their firm’s name and 
registration prominently at the job site, as well as on 
signs, business cards, letterheads, etc.  The measure 
directs the board to establish educational standards. 
 

Education 
 Due to growing parental concerns about their 
lack of involvement in the decision to retain their 
child who does not successfully complete the 3rd 
grade reading proficiency test, HB 2625 was 
enacted. The measure requires school districts to 
immediately begin a student reading portfolio for 
those students who, at any point during their third 
grade year, are identified as having a reading 
deficiency. Students who score at the limited 
knowledge level on the third grade reading exam 
may qualify for automatic promotion to the fourth 
grade. Prior to promotion, the parent(s) must be 
informed of their child’s score and the parent 
decides whether or not the child is retained in the 
third grade. If a child is promoted, the student 
reading proficiency team will develop an intensive 
remediation plan. If a student does not satisfy 
proficiency requirements by the end of the third 
grade, either through an assessment or student 
portfolio, and are not subject to a good cause 
exemption, the student will be ineligible for 
automatic promotion.  
 
 For the 2013-2014 and 2014-2015 school years, 
the student will be evaluated by the proficiency 
team for probationary promotion to the fourth 
grade. The superintendent must approve the team’s 
recommendation for promotion and the team must 
continue to review the student’s reading 
performance until they demonstrate proficiency. For 
the 2015-2016 school year, students who do not 
demonstrate proficiency and do not qualify for a 
good cause exemption will be retained in the third 
grade and provided intensive instructional service 
and supports. School districts must provide an 
annual report of the number of students promoted to 
the fourth grade. Following the 2013-2014 and 
2014-2015 school years, school districts must report 

the number of students promoted to a subsequent 
grade. Lastly, school districts may apply the 
principles of the student reading proficiency team to 
grades kindergarten through the second grade. 
 
 In an effort to exert state rights over academic 
standards, the Legislature passed HB 3399. The 
measure stipulates that by August 1, 2016, the State 
Board of Education, in consultation with the State 
Regents for Higher Education, the State Board of 
Career and Technology Education, and the 
Oklahoma Department of Commerce, must adopt 
standards for English Language Arts (ELA) and 
math that are considered college and career ready to 
replace current standards. Until new standards are 
adopted, the board will implement the standards for 
ELA and math that were in place prior to the 
revisions adopted in June 2010. The board will seek 
to have the state regents certify the standards as 
college and career ready as defined by federal law.  
For the 2017-2018 school year, the board must 
develop statewide student assessments for the ELA 
and math standards.   
 
 Subject matter standards will no longer be 
promulgated as rules or subject to the 
Administrative Procedures Act (APA), and any 
current rule that conflicts with this measure must be 
amended or repealed. Subsequently, the measure 
establishes a new approval procedure for academic 
standards. All standards and revisions will be 
subject to legislative review and cannot be 
implemented until the review process is completed. 
Standards will now be adopted through a joint 
resolution. Upon approval, the board will submit a 
copy of the standards to the Secretary of State, who 
will include them in the administrative code, and 
they will have the same force and effect of law as 
agency rules promulgated through the APA. 
 
 Lastly, the measure requires school districts to 
develop and adopt policies for the inspection of 
instructional materials by parents or guardians 
enrolled in a school, and it amends the Reading 
Sufficiency Act by adding prekindergarten and 
students who have been granted by the State 
Department of Education an exemption for medical 
emergencies to the list of good-cause exemptions. 
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 HB 2730 prohibits a public school and district 
from being a member of a school athletic 
association unless the association has adopted a 
written policy that abides by the Oklahoma Open 
Records Act and the Oklahoma Open Meetings Act. 
The measure requires an annual financial and 
compliance audit to be conducted in accordance 
with the Oklahoma Public School Audit Law and 
that a performance audit be conducted by December 
31, 2014, and by December 31 every five years 
thereafter. 
 
 HB 1623 allows the board of education of each 
school district to provide suicide awareness and 
prevention training to staff and students in grades 
seven through twelve and the training curriculum 
will be made available online through the school 
district website. Additionally, personnel will be 
immune from discipline and civil liability for 
communicating information in good faith 
concerning drug or alcohol abuse, a potential safety 
threat by or to any student to the parents or 
guardians of the student, law enforcement, or health 
care providers. Employees must notify parents or 
guardians immediately if they determine that a 
student is at risk of attempting suicide.  School 
districts may enter into agreements with designated 
Youth Services Agencies for the delivery of 
intervention and prevention services.  
 
 SB 1902 authorizes the Office of Juvenile 
Affairs (OJA) to open and operate its own charter 
school.  The Board of Juvenile Affairs will act as 
the school’s governing body, and would be subject 
to any appropriate State Board of Education rules.   
 

Energy and Utility Regulation 
 Pipeline safety is given greater priority by HB 

2533.  It puts the Corporation Commission in 
charge of enforcing the Oklahoma Underground 
Facilities Damage Prevention Act, and directs the 
Commission to look into several pipeline safety 
issues, including complaint processes and rights 
during legal proceedings. 
 
 SB 1418 strengthens rules for the disposal of 
field waste by requiring the Corporation 

Commission to maintain public records of the 
materials in the waste including its source and 
where it was disposed.   
 

General Government 
 

Government Employee Compensation 
 HB 3293 creates the “State Employee 
Compensation Program” within the Executive 
Branch. The program is established to attract, retain 
and reward quality employees with competitive 
total compensation based on relevant labor markets. 
The Office of Management and Enterprise Services 
is responsible for coordinating the implementation 
of the program. 
 
 Thousands of Oklahoma’s most under 
compensated employees will receive a pay raise of 
either 6.25 or eight percent under the provisions of 
SB 2131. The measure includes more than 7,000 
employees performing core government services 
who are paid much less than those with similar 
positions in the private sector. Similarly, the 
legislature passed HB 1794 which would prohibit 
the legislature from considering a reduction in state 
employee benefits until the legislature has approved 
an additional $60 million for future employee 
raises. 
 

State Capitol Building 

 The process of repairing the Oklahoma State 
Capitol building was one of the legislature’s top 
priorities this session and was achieved with the 
passage of HJR 1033. The measure authorizes the 
Oklahoma Capitol Improvement Authority to issue 
obligations not to exceed $120,000,000 for the 
purposes of renovation, repair, and remodeling of 
the State Capitol Building. In order to reduce costs, 
the bonds are to be repaid over ten years. Finally, 
the measure creates the State Capitol Repair 
Expenditure Oversight Committee to prepare and 
approve a programming plan for the repair of the 
State Capitol Building and requires the plan be 
submitted to the Director of the Office of 
Management and Enterprise Services by December 
31, 2014. 
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County Government 

 In response to the findings of a 2013 interim 
study, the legislature passed HB 2951, which 
requires the Commission on County Government to 
oversee professional development programs for 
training county officials and their employees, 
including: commissioners, clerks, treasurers, 
assessors, court clerks, sheriffs, excise board 
members, and candidates for county office through 
the Cooperative Extension Service at Oklahoma 
State University. The measure also requires the 
commission to provide guidance to the extension 
service in designing training materials. Further, the 
measure directs the commission to set research 
priorities which improve county government. The 
measure requires the commission to cooperate with 
advisory boards to determine the education needs of 
county officials and their employees. Finally, the 
measure requires the commission to cooperate with 
the extension service to administer personnel 
education and training for counties and political 
subdivisions. 
 

Health and Human Services 
 

Children and Families 

 SB 2127 appropriates an additional $35.9 
million to DHS to implement year three of the 
Pinnacle Plan, which is the result of the 2012 
settlement of the class action lawsuit brought 
against the agency, and to fund pay increases for 
child welfare workers. 
 
 HB 2130 modifies the conditions under which 
parental rights can be terminated to include a 
finding by the court that there has been a substantial 
erosion of the parent-child relationship due to 
serious neglect, abuse or exploitation, or a 
prolonged absence of the parent or unreasonable 
failure by the parent to maintain contact with the 
child; a finding that a child who is 4 years of age or 
older has been in DHS custody for 15 of the most 
recent 22 months and the child cannot be safely 
returned home; or a finding that a child who is 
younger than 4 years of age has been in DHS 
custody for 6 of the preceding 12 months and 
cannot be safely returned home. 
 

 A similar measure, HB 2667, modifies the list 
of crimes under which a district attorney is required 
to file a motion to terminate the rights of a parent 
that has been convicted of certain crimes regarding 
the neglect, abuse, endangerment, exploitation, 
voluntary manslaughter or murder of a child or of 
felony assault, voluntary manslaughter or murder of 
the child’s other parent. The measure also requires 
the district attorney to file a petition for termination 
no later than 90 days if a parent has not made 
measurable progress on the individualized service 
plan ordered by the court.  
 
 In response to the high profile death of Quinten 
Douglas Wood, a severely developmentally 
disabled teen, whose neglect had been reported to 
DHS, HB 3469 requires the department to give 
special consideration to the risks of any child who is 
unable to communicate effectively about any abuse 
or neglect that they may be suffering or who is 
vulnerable because of the inability to communicate.  
 

 HB 2585 allows any party to file an application 
for an emergency hearing that demonstrates harm to 
the health, safety or welfare of a child who is the 
subject of a deprived child proceeding.  If the court 
does not conduct a hearing within 72 hours, the 
party who filed that application can present it to the 
presiding judge who must conduct a hearing within 
24 hours of receiving the application.  
 
 HB 3472 prohibits a court from awarding 
custody or guardianship of a child to a person who 
has been convicted of certain crimes regarding the 
abuse, endangerment or exploitation of children. 
 
 SB 1793 modifies the procedures for handling a 
grievance filed by a foster parent against an 
employee of DHS by directing that the Office of 
Juvenile System Oversight within the Oklahoma 
Commission on Children and Youth receive the 
complaint and then work with the Office of Client 
Advocacy within DHS to ensure that the complaint 
is investigated and resolved. The measure requires 
that the OCA resolve grievances within 60 days of 
receiving the complaint and to notify all foster 
parents about the grievance procedures and how to 
file a complaint. Finally, the measure directs OJSO 
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and OCA to compile an annual report for the 
legislature detailing the number and nature of 
complaints received and resolved.  
 
Abortion 

 The Legislature passed several abortion related 
measures this session. HB 2684 stipulates that only 
a physician who has the ability to assess the 
duration of a pregnancy; has the ability to diagnose 
ectopic pregnancies;  is able to provide or has plans 
in place to provide surgical care; and has access to 
medical facilities equipped to provide blood 
transfusions and resuscitation may provide an 
abortion inducing drug, including Mifeprex. 
Patients receiving Mifeprex must be provided the 
FDA-approved medication guide and final printed 
labeling.  
 
 HB 2685 requires abortion providers to inform a 
patient seeking an abortion that perinatal hospice is 
available and that it is an alternative to abortion. 
The bill requires the state board of medical 
licensure and supervision to publish materials 
regarding the availability of perinatal hospice and 
palliative care and to develop a website containing 
the information.  
 
 SB 1848 requires an abortion facility to have a 
physician on the premises who has admitting 
privileges at a general medical surgical hospital, 
which offers obstetrical or gynecological care, 
within 30 miles of the facility. The measure also 
requires the State Board of Health to establish 
abortion facility supplies and equipment standards. 
The board is charged with adopting physician 
assistant training and volunteer standards for 
abortion facilities, as well as evaluation standards 
for patients. The board is also tasked with 
developing abortion procedures and post abortion 
procedures. An abortion facility must notify the 
board if a patient or child born-alive is injured in a 
facility. In the event of a patient’s death, the facility 
must notify the board no later than the next business 
day.  
 
Health 

 HB 1020 is a significant milestone for physical 
therapists in Oklahoma. After several previous 

failed attempts to pass legislation that would allow 
patients to self-refer to physical therapy, HB 1020 
was enacted this session. The measure permits 
physical therapists to evaluate and treat a patient for 
up to thirty days without a referral from a physician.  
 
 The Legislature took action this session to 
prohibit the furnishing of vapor products to minors. 
SB 1602 defines vapor products and stipulates that 
FDA approved products will not be considered 
vapor products. The Prevention of Youth Access to 
Tobacco Act is amended to prohibit vapor products 
from being sold to minors. Stores licensed to sell 
vapor products that violate the youth access to 
tobacco act, and fail to pay the associated fine, will 
have their sales tax permit suspended. Businesses 
that sell or display vapor products must post 
appropriate signage. Vapor products are prohibited 
within 300 feet of any playground, school, or other 
facility that is primarily used by minors. Lastly, the 
measure does not prohibit any agency or political 
subdivision from exercising their lawful authority to 
regulate zoning, land use, or to enforce a fire code 
regulation regulating vapor products.  
 

 HB 2554 directs the Board of Nursing to 
develop program guidelines for board-approved 
nursing education programs to facilitate the 
transition of veterans with prior military medical 
training and experience into such programs.  
 

 HB 2603 directs the medical board to prepare an 
annual brochure and online presentation for health 
care providers regarding their responsibilities and 
rights under the Hydration and Nutrition for 
Incompetent Patients Act, the Nondiscrimination in 
Treatment Act, the Oklahoma Advance Directive 
Act, the Oklahoma Do-Not-Resuscitate Act, and the 
Assisted Suicide Prevention Act. The brochure and 
presentation must be made available on the board’s 
website, and inpatient health care service entities 
must be informed of their availability and how to 
access them online. The brochure must be provided 
to practitioners at least once during the year, when 
beginning employment, beginning service on a 
board of directors, or when beginning to serve 
patients at a health care service entity. Additionally, 
the medical board is required to prepare a disclosure 
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statement to inform patients of their rights under 
these acts. The State Department of Health must 
make the disclosure statement available online, as 
well as be provided to patients by certain entities. 
 
Elderly and Long-Term Care 

 SB 1536 requires hospitals to give each patient 
or patient’s legal guardian an opportunity to 
designate a lay caregiver who will provide after-
care assistance to the patient following discharge 
from the hospital and directs that a hospital consult 
with the caregiver to prepare him or her to meet the 
aftercare needs of the patient and to issue a 
discharge plan that describes those needs. 
 
 SB 1874 requires that any long-term care policy 
issued under the Oklahoma Long-Term Care 
Insurance Partnership Program provide annual 
inflation protection for policy holders younger than 
61 years of age of at least 3% per year compounded 
annually or a rate based upon changes in the 
Consumer Price Index (CPI) and provide inflation 
protection for policy holders 61-76 years of age of 
at least 3% simple or a rate based on the annual 
CPI. 
 

Higher Education and Career 

Technology 
 HB 3350 provides a career tech tuition waiver 
to any child of an Oklahoma peace officer, 
firefighter, emergency medical technician or 
member of the law enforcement retirement system 
whose parent gave their life in the line of duty. The 
tuition waiver also applies to a child of a member of 
the law enforcement retirement system whose 
parent is disabled by means of personal or traumatic 
injury that occurred in the line of duty. The waiver 
is limited to five years, and it will be considered a 
service benefit for Oklahoma peace officers and 
firefighters. 
 
 SB 1829 directs the Oklahoma State Regents for 
Higher Education to adopt a policy that allows a 
student who receives a full scholarship from the Air 
Force Reserve Officers’ Training Corps, Army 
Reserve Officers’ Training Corps or Navy/Marines 

Reserve Officers’ Training Corp to be eligible for 
resident tuition. 
 SB 1830 requires institutions within the 
Oklahoma State System of Higher Education to 
grant a leave of absence to military students called 
to active duty. The student will be eligible to 
withdraw and receive a full refund for all classes 
during the period of active duty service without 
penalty to their admission status or GPA and 
without loss of institutional financial aid. The 
student’s leave of absence cannot exceed a 
cumulative 5 years. 
 

Judiciary 
  In response to the devastating tornados that have 
frequented Oklahoma over the years, the 
Legislature will be providing limited liability to 
good Samaritans and professionals that assist in the 
needs of the affected community.  Additional 
measures were enacted which provide direction on 
the handling of cases involving product liability, 
child support and violations of the Open Meetings 
Act.   
 
 Additionally, the Legislature took action to 
reject a 12 percent pay raise for the judiciary, which 
was recommended by the Board on Judicial 
Compensation at their biannual meeting on July 17, 
2013.  In lieu of the 12 percent raise, legislators 
approved, through the passage of HJR 1096, a six 
percent pay raise for district judges and district 
attorneys, but required the salary increases to be 
paid from existing funds.   
 

 HB 2338 provides civil immunity to any person, 
business, church or school that offers emergency 
care, aid, shelter or other assistance during a natural 
disaster or catastrophic event.  The immunity does 
not apply if damages were caused by gross 
negligence or willful or wanton misconduct.   
 
 HB 3365 provides that there is a rebuttable 
presumption that a manufacturer or seller is not 
liable for any injury to a claimant caused by some 
aspect of the formulation, labeling or design of a 
product if the manufacturer or seller complied with 
mandatory safety standards in place at time of 
manufacturing or if the product received premarket 
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licensing or approval by the federal government and 
was subsequently deemed appropriate for sale by 
the federal government. No product liability action 
may be asserted against a product seller unless: 

 the seller exercised extensive control over 
the aspect of the design, testing, 
manufacture, packing or labeling process; 

 the seller altered or modified the product 
and the modification contributed extensively 
in causing harm or damage; 

 the seller made an express warranty 
independent of any warranty provided by the 
manufacturer; 

 the claimant is unable to identify the 
manufacturer of the product; 

 the manufacturer is not subject to service of 
process under the laws of the state; or 

 the court determines that the claimant would 
be unable to enforce a judgment against the 
manufacturer. 

 
 SB 1497 entitles any party that brings a civil 
suit against a public body for a violation of the 
Open Meeting Act to be awarded reasonable 
attorney fees. However, if the public body 
successfully defends the civil suit and the court 
finds that the suit was frivolous in nature, the public 
body will be awarded reasonable attorney fees. 
 
 SB 1784 removes the requirement that a court 
must suspend or revoke any state licenses held by 
an individual who is in noncompliance with an 
order for child support. The measure places the 
decision to revoke or suspend licensure at the 
discretion of the court.  
 

Public Safety 
 The Legislature adopted several measures to 
secure the rights of individuals to carry firearms.  
HB 2614 allows valid handgun permit holders 
handguns on elementary and secondary school 
parking lots, provided the handgun is stored and 
hidden from view in a locked motor vehicle when 
the vehicle is unattended.  The penalty for illegally 
carrying a handgun on school property is reduced 
from a felony to a misdemeanor with a maximum 
fine of $250. The measure also removes the $250 

administrative fine associated with violations 
relating to a handgun licensee who carries a weapon 
into a prohibited location, other than a school 
parking lot.     
 
 In an effort to improve the background checks 
made on persons seeking a handgun carry license, 
SB 1845 requires a court which adjudicates a person 
mentally incompetent or orders the involuntary 
commitment of a person due to a mental illness to 
send a certified copy of the order or adjudication to 
the Federal Bureau of Investigation for purposes of 
the National Instant Criminal Background Check 
system database and to the Oklahoma State Bureau 
of Investigation.  The measure also creates a 
mechanism to allow a person who has been 
involuntarily committed or adjudicated to petition 
the court to remove the disability which prevents 
the ability of the person to obtain a firearm.   
 
 Vetoed by the Governor, then overridden by the 
Legislature HB 2461, requires a sheriff or chief of 
police to execute any request for documents relating 
to the purchase of firearms defined by the National 
Firearms Act within 15 days if the purchaser is not 
prohibited of possessing a firearm. 
 
Retirement 
 With the passage of two bills, the legislature 
continued its focus on reforming the state’s pension 
system. The first bill, HB 2630 creates the 
Retirement Freedom Act and requires the Oklahoma 
Public Retirement System to establish a defined 
contribution system for employees first employed 
on or after November 1, 2015. The measure will not 
be applicable to correctional officers, probation and 
parole officers, or fugitive apprehensions agents, 
who are employed by the Department of 
Corrections. 
 
 The measure establishes that an employee must 
contribute between three to seven percent of their 
salary to the defined contribution system. The state 
will match the employee’s contribution. 
 
 The measure establishes that participants have 
complete retirement discretion over the 
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contributions and the gains and losses of their 
accounts. The measure also establishes that 
participants be vested with respect to employer 
matching amounts according to the following 
schedule: 
 
Year 1 – 20%                                  Year 4 – 80% 

Year 2 – 40%                           Year 5(+) – 100% 

Year 3 – 60% 

 
 The measure establishes that members will have 
investment discretion over employer contributions 
and details the process and procedures for the 
administration of the defined contribution system. A 
similar bill, SB 2120, exempts district attorneys, 
assistant district attorneys or other employees of the 
district attorney’s office. The measure also adds to 
the list of exemptions elected county officials and 
employees of county and city government, 
conservation districts, circuit engineering districts 
or members of certain public or private trusts from 
participation in the defined contribution plan. 
 

Revenue and Taxation 
 

Personal Income Tax 

 After the Oklahoma Supreme Court ruled 
against HB 2032 from the previous session, the 
Legislature returned determined to reduce the 
personal income tax rate.  The Legislature also 
debated the extension of several incentives for the 
oil and gas industry, military personnel and tornado 
victims.   
 
 Contingent on certain revenue growth, SB 1246 
establishes a trigger mechanism to reduce the top 
marginal personal income tax rate to 5 percent.  If 
the total General Revenue Fund estimate for 
FY2016 is greater than the total General Revenue 
Fund estimate for FY2014, the rate would be 
reduced to 5 percent for tax year 2016. If the tax cut 
is not implemented, then the State Board of 
Equalization will repeat the comparison in 
subsequent tax years until the trigger is met. 
Following the implementation of the 5 percent tax 
rate, there is a second revenue based trigger to 
reduce the top marginal personal income tax rate to 
4.85 percent.  

 SB 1723 makes permanent an income tax 
deduction that allows military personnel to deduct 
100 percent of income derived from active military 
pay. 
   
Sales Tax 

 HB 2562 establishes a reduced two percent 
gross production tax rate on production from a new 
well spudded on or after July 1, 2015 for 36 months 
of production. Thereafter, the standard seven 
percent rate takes effect. The apportionment of 
gross production taxes collected at the two percent 
rate will be distributed as follows:  

 50% will be credited to the General Revenue 
Fund;  

 25% will be credited to the County Highway 
Fund; and  

 25% will be credit to each county, to be 
distributed to the school districts on an 
average daily attendance per capita 
distribution basis.   

 

 HB 3216 provides several sales, ad valorem, 
income, vehicle registration and vehicle excise 
relief measures to victims of tornadoes occurring in 
calendar year 2012 or calendar year 2013 for which 
a Presidential Major Disaster Declaration was not 
issued.  The following benefits would be extended 
to qualifying individuals: 

 credit for registration fees associated with a 
vehicle which is a replacement for a 
currently registered vehicle which was 
destroyed; 

 sales tax exemption on the sales value of 
tangible personal property donated for the 
assistance of persons affected by a tornado; 

 late admittance of a sale tax report by sale 
tax vendors; 

 credit for excise tax previously paid for a 
destroyed vehicle, which is to be applied to 
the excise tax due on a replacement vehicle; 

 refundable income tax credit for any 
increased ad valorem tax that is a result of 
rebuilding or repairing residential real 
property damaged or destroyed as a result of 
a natural disaster.  
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The credit is the difference between the ad valorem 
taxes paid on the property in the year prior to the 
damage and the ad valorem taxes paid on the first 
year the property is completely or fully repaired or 
rebuilt.  A similar measure, SB 1199, would allow 
these relief measures to be applicable for tornados 
that could occur in future years.   
 

Utility and Environmental 

Regulation 
 In an effort to reform the state’s net metering 
policies SB 1456 requires utilities to seek approval 
from the Oklahoma Corporation Commission to 
increase the fixed rates for customers who install 
distributed generation, i.e. on-site electricity 
generation that is connected to the grid. The new 
tariff must be implemented by December 31, 2015, 
but does not apply to customers with distributed 
generation as of November 1, 2014. 
 

Veterans and Military Affairs 
 The War Veterans Commission is renamed to 
the Oklahoma Veterans Commission under SB 

1970.  The membership requirements are changed 
so that at least one of the Veterans appointed to the 
Commission must have served in the Persian Gulf 
Wars.  SB 1239 extends the Commission’s authority 
to give emergency aid to, not only those who have 
served in a war, but to all discharged veterans. 
 
 Benefits for Oklahoma’s veterans are sometimes 
directed only to war veterans and other times to 
simply veterans or those who have been honorably 
discharged.  SB 1610 directs that war veteran be 
treated the same as veteran or ex-service person for 
benefit purposes, and removes the requirement that 
a veteran be someone who has served during a 
period of war or a military campaign. 
 
 Traumatic brain injury has become known as 
the signature injury of the conflicts in Iraq and 
Afghanistan.  SB 1604, the Oklahoma Veterans 
Traumatic Brain Injury Treatment and Recovery 
Act, is an attempt to help those dealing with serious 
brain injuries.  The Oklahoma State University 
Center for Aerospace and Hyperbaric Medicine 
(OSUCAHM) is in charge of the program and 

preparing a standard treatment plan and subject to 
available funds any Oklahoma veteran diagnosed 
with traumatic brain injury is be eligible for 
hyperbaric treatment at no cost. 
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