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Introduction  
 The dominant focus of the 2015 Legislature 
was how to adequately fund state government 
amidst a $611.3 million revenue shortfall that 
was announced shortly after the session 
convened in February.   The shortfall, an 8.5 

percent reduction in the amount available to be 
appropriated over last year, was blamed largely 
on low oil prices and the resulting economic 
impact on the state as well as dedicated funding 
for certain items like roads and bridges. 
 
 The Legislature used monies from the Rainy 
Day Fund, reserve funds and other sources to 
help lessen the impact of the shortfall on state 
agencies and produce a balanced budget. While 
most agencies received cuts ranging from .75 
percent to 7.25 percent, core government 
functions were held harmless and some agencies, 
most notably the Departments of Public Safety, 
Human Services and Corrections, received 
increases. In addition, the Oklahoma Health Care 
Authority and the Department of Mental Health 
and Substance Abuse Services received increases 
to partially offset reductions in Federal funding. 
 

Agriculture and Rural 
Development  
 Lawmakers continued to focus on disaster 
related legislation to ensure that all people, 
property and pets are considered when the state 
is facing a natural disaster. Other notable 
measures include a constitutional amendment 
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that would make it a constitutional right to 
engage in farming if approved by voters and a 
bill that gives agricultural producers some 
flexibility to conduct prescribed burns when a 
burn ban is in effect. 
 
 HJR 1012 would allow Oklahomans to vote 
to amend the state Constitution to protect 
citizens’ rights to engage in farming and 
agriculture in all cases, unless prohibited 
because of a compelling state interest. All 50 
states guarantee the right to farm and protect 
generally accepted agricultural practices, but this 
measure would further protect activities in 
Oklahoma by making them a constitutional right, 
if the state question is approved in November 
2016. 
 
 HB 1403 creates the Care and Disposition of 
Disaster Animals Act, which requires animal 
shelters to hold animals brought to the shelter 
during a state or federally declared disaster for a 
prescribed period of time. 
 
 HB 1462 exempts agricultural producers 
from burn bans, if the producer: 
 

 submits his or her plan to the local fire 
department; 

 notifies the sheriff prior to conducting the 
burn; 

 conducts prescribed burns in accordance 
with rules set forth by the Department of 
Agriculture, Food and Forestry; 

 does not burn debris; and 
 has the local fire department on site when 

conducting the burn. 
 

Banking and Financial 
Services 
 To persuade lienholders and mortgage 
holders to file release documents in a timely 
manner after a debt has been paid, lawmakers 
passed legislation that would increase the 
penalty for failure to do so within the timeframe 
provided by law. 

 HB 1120 allows a title insurance company to 
litigate on behalf of a borrower for recovery of 
penalties that a borrower is entitled to if the 
mortgage holder does not release the mortgage 
within the timeframe allowed by law.  The 
penalty is equal to one percent of the principal 
debt, not to exceed $100 per day each day the 
mortgage has not been released.    
 
 SB 465 establishes a $100 penalty per day 
for each additional day beyond seven business 
days that a lienholder fails to mail a notice of lien 
release to the Oklahoma Tax Commission and 
debtor after receiving written communication 
from the debtor demanding the release of the 
lien. Any penalty accrued would be credited to 
the debtor and capped at $1,500 or the value of 
the vehicle, whichever is less. 
 

Criminal Justice and 
Corrections 
 Several measures were enacted to assist in 
reducing prison overcrowding and improve 
reentry services for those offenders who are 
returning to society. 
 
 In Oklahoma, many criminal penalties 
contain minimum mandatory sentences.  HB 
1518 creates the Justice Safety Valve Act which 
allows the court to depart from a minimum 
mandatory criminal sentence if the court finds 
substantial and compelling reasons that the 
imposition of the minimum mandatory sentence 
is not necessary for the protection of the public 
and would result in substantial injustice to the 
defendant or, based on a risk and needs 
assessment, the offender is eligible for an 
alternative court, a diversion program or 
community sentencing and the offender has been 
accepted into an alternative program.   
 
 The measure prevents the court from 
departing from the minimum mandatory 
sentence if the crime: 
 

 is a violent crime; 
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 is a sex offense;  
 involved the use of a firearm; 
 involved trafficking illegal drugs; 
 involved terrorism; 
 is listed as an 85 percent crime; or 
 the defendant was the leader of others in 

a continuing criminal enterprise. 
 
 The bill also requires that any departure 
from minimum mandatory sentencing be 
reported to the Clerk of the Court of Criminal 
Appeals and be available on the Court of 
Criminal Appeals website. 
 
 Judges are given more discretion in 
sentencing with the passage of HB 1574.   Under 
the current law, a person with two felony drug 
convictions who is then convicted of a third drug 
felony is automatically sentenced to life without 
parole.  The measure changes the penalty for 
persons convicted of a third felony for a violation 
of the Uniform Controlled Dangerous Substances 
Act from life without parole, to not less than 
twenty years to life imprisonment or life without 
parole. A person who has been convicted of two 
or more trafficking convictions whose third 
conviction is for a drug crime is required to be 
sentenced to life without parole. 
 
 A related measure, HB 1548 allows a court to 
modify the sentence of any inmate who was 
originally sentenced for a drug charge and 
ordered to complete the Drug Offender Work 
Camp at the Bill Johnson Correctional Facility. 
The court is prohibited from granting a deferred 
sentence.   
 
 Two measures were enacted to assist in the 
monitoring of offenders as they transition back 
into society.  HB 2187 authorizes the Pardon 
and Parole Board to use electronic monitoring 
devices for any inmate granted parole as a 
condition for parole.  SB 38 provides that 
medical parole may be revoked due to changes in 
the medical condition of the parolee. 
 

 HB 2179 improves job opportunities for 
offenders leaving prison by authorizing the 
Department of Public Safety to enter into 
agreements to allow persons whose license to 
operate a commercial motor vehicle has been 
suspended or revoked to receive a provisional 
driver license so that the person can operate a 
commercial vehicle during the scope and course 
of their employment. 
 
 HB 1630 requires the Department of 
Corrections (DOC) to notify all county jails of the 
DOC’s need for bed space prior to contracting 
with a private prison operator.  After receiving 
notice, a county may enter into agreements with 
the DOC to house offenders with reimbursement 
for the cost of housing to be negotiated between 
the DOC and the county.  The measure modifies 
how the DOC is to calculate their responsibility 
to pay the cost for inmates awaiting transfer to 
the department.  The bill also requires the court 
clerk to transmit the judgment and sentence to 
the DOC within three business days after the 
court orders the judgment and sentence.  The 
DOC is required to implement a policy for the 
determination of scheduled dates on which 
inmates are to be transferred from county jails.  
The policy must have no less than three 
alternative dates from which the sheriff may 
select.  If an inmate is not transferred on the date 
scheduled, the DOC is not responsible for any 
costs incurred beyond the scheduled date. 
Finally, the measure establishes that if an inmate 
has one or more criminal charges pending in the 
same jurisdiction and the county jail refuses to 
transfer the inmate to the DOC, the department 
is not responsible for housing costs. 
 
 The current legal environment and the 
inability to obtain the necessary drugs to carry 
out death sentences led the legislature to 
examine other methods of execution.  HB 1879 
states that if the current method of execution by 
lethal drug is found unconstitutional or 
otherwise becomes unavailable, the sentence of 
death is to be carried out by nitrogen hypoxia. 
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 SB 637 modifies the definition of rape to 
include when the victim is 19 years of age or 
younger and is in the legal custody of a state 
agency, federal agency or tribal court and 
engages in sexual intercourse with a foster 
parent or foster parent applicant. 
  

Economic Development and 
Tourism 
 Lawmakers demonstrated their dedication to 
the arts by approving several bond measures 
that would allow for the completion of the Native 
American Cultural Center and Museum in 
Oklahoma City and the Oklahoma Museum of 
Popular Culture in Tulsa. Other measures 
enacted would make it easier for business to file 
and remit taxes, fees and documents to state 
agencies.  
 
 HB 2237 authorizes the sale of $25 million in 
bonds to aid in the completion of the American 
Indian Cultural Center and Museum in Oklahoma 
City. The measure also anticipates $10 million in 
private contributions as well as the $9 million 
committed by the City of Oklahoma City. 
Following the opening of the Museum, 50 
percent of total revenues in excess of $7 million 
each year would be returned to the state, up to a 
total of $25 million. Finally, the bill transfers 
ownership and authority of the completed 
Museum and surrounding property to a newly 
created American Indian Cultural Center 
Museum Trust Authority, which is then 
authorized to transfer all Museum property to 
the City of Oklahoma City within five years after 
all outstanding bonds have been retired. 
 
 SB 839 creates the Oklahoma Museum of 
Popular Culture, under the supervision of the 
Oklahoma Historical Society, to be located in 
Tulsa. The measure authorizes the Oklahoma 
Capitol Improvement Authority to issue $25 
million in bonds to finance construction. 
 
 SB 297 creates the Heritage Preservation Act 
to provide financial assistance to cities, counties, 

nonprofit organizations and tribal governments 
to operate and improve the effectiveness of 
museums and historical organizations.  The 
measure establishes the Heritage Preservation 
Grant Program within the Oklahoma Historical 
Society to encourage the collecting, preserving 
and sharing of Oklahoma history at the 
grassroots level in all parts of the state. 
 
 SB 463 allows for aggregate filing and 
remittance of taxes and fees for certain 
businesses. The aggregate filing and remittance 
forms will be developed by the Oklahoma Tax 
Commission and may be submitted in lieu of the 
individual returns, applications and annual 
filings required by the Oklahoma Income Tax 
Act, Oklahoma Franchise Tax Act and the 
Oklahoma General Corporation Act.  
 
 In order to file or remit taxes and fees in the 
aggregate, a business must meet the following 
criteria:  
 

 domiciled in Oklahoma or have a nexus in 
Oklahoma that requires the remittance of 
Oklahoma corporate income tax, 
franchise tax and the Secretary of State’s 
registered agent fee;  

 own or use part of all of its capital in 
Oklahoma;  

 have property in Oklahoma with an 
aggregate value of at least $50,000; 

 have at least $50,000 in payroll in 
Oklahoma during the calendar year;  

 have at least $500 million in sales in 
Oklahoma during the calendar year; or  

 have at least 25 percent of total property, 
payroll or sales in Oklahoma during the 
calendar year.  

 
 SB 499 creates the Facilitating Business 
Rapid Response to State Declared Disasters Act 
of 2015. The measure provides that out-of-state 
businesses that come to Oklahoma to perform 
work or services in response to a declared state 
disaster or emergency in Oklahoma are not 
considered to have established a level of 
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presence that would require the business to 
register, file or remit state or local taxes. 
Furthermore, the employees of the out-of-state 
business would be exempt from any state 
licensing or registration requirements or filing 
and remitting Oklahoma personal income tax for 
work accrued during the disaster response 
period. However, fuel taxes, sales tax, hotel taxes 
and car rental taxes will not be exempt. 
 
Business and Labor 
 HB 1614 creates the Oklahoma 
Transportation Network Company Services Act 
which establishes a regulatory framework to 
license companies that use a digital network or 
software application service to connect 
passengers to transportation network services 
(TNCs).  The bill requires TNCs to be permitted 
by the Oklahoma Corporation Commission for an 
annual fee of $5,000.  Also, TNCs and 
participating drivers must carry certain 
automobile liability insurance and follow 
prescribed safety protocols. 
 
 HB 2168 requires that, for a felony 
conviction to prevent licensure or registration in 
certain industries, the felony substantially relate 
to the practice or pose a reasonable threat to 
public safety. These industries include:  
 

 architecture and interior design;  
 cosmetology and barbering;  
 engineers and land surveyors;  
 athletic training; 
 real estate appraisal; 
 physical or occupational therapy; 
 psychology; 
 pawnshops; 
 speech-language pathologists or 

audiologists; 
 professional counselors; 
 marital and family therapists, and 
 behavioral practitioners. 

 

Education 
 

Common Education 
 Several education topics were on the 
Legislature’s radar for this session including the 
Reading Sufficiency Act, the Oklahoma Charter 
Schools Act, child abuse and sexual abuse 
prevention, and school safety. 
 
 SB 782 overhauls the Oklahoma Charter 
Schools Act by allowing any school district to 
sponsor a charter school. The State Board of 
Education may sponsor a limited number of 
charter schools if an application has first been 
denied by a local school district. Non-school 
district sponsors must give priority to opening 
charter schools that serve at-risk student 
populations or students from low-performing 
traditional public schools.  
 
 The sponsor must issue a performance report 
and application renewal guidance to a school 
prior to beginning its fourth year of operation. In 
the event that a revised application is rejected by 
a sponsor, applicants may proceed to binding 
arbitration. If a sponsor fails to close a low 
performing charter school, then the sponsor 
must appear before the board to provide support 
for its decision and the board will have the 
power to overturn the decision. The measure 
provides a protocol for closure and winding 
down operations of a charter school and 
stipulates that neither the state nor the sponsor 
will be held responsible to repay the debt of a 
charter school. 
 
 A related measure, HB 1034 authorizes the 
sponsorship of a charter school by a federally 
recognized Indian tribe on tribal property held in 
trust by the Bureau of Indian Affairs of the U.S. 
Department of the Interior. 
 
 SB 630 amends the Reading Sufficiency Act 
(RSA) by clarifying that students enrolled in 
kindergarten through the third grade will be 
given a reading assessment at the beginning and 
end of each school year. The measure extends 
the Student Reading Proficiency Team to the first 
and second grade, and changes the composition 
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of the team to include the parent or guardian; the 
teacher assigned to the student who had the 
responsibility for reading instruction in the 
current academic year; the teacher who will be 
responsible for teaching the student in the next 
grade level; and a certified reading specialist, if 
one is available. A recommendation for 
probationary promotion to the fourth grade 
must be approved by the district superintendent 
and the school principal.  In addition, the bill 
extends probationary promotion for three years 
and raises the threshold for proficiency 
requirements beginning with the 2016-2017 
school year. Finally, the measure specifies that 
the determination for promotion and retention 
of third-grade students will be made, and 
clarifies that if a student in the first, second or 
third-grade demonstrates proficiency at the 
third-grade level, the student will no longer be 
subject to the retention guidelines under the 
RSA. 
 
 SB 711 requires a school district 
superintendent who has decided to dismiss or 
not reemploy a teacher due to sexual abuse or 
exploitation to send a copy of the 
recommendation to the State Board of Education 
and the teacher after the completion of due 
process procedures or after the teacher resigns. 
The teacher may provide supplementary 
information to the board. 
 
 The bill stipulates that only school districts 
may request a copy of the recommendation if a 
teacher is being considered for employment or if 
a teacher is currently employed by the 
requesting school district. The board must notify 
the teacher if a request is made for a copy of the 
recommendation and records provided to a 
requesting school district will be kept 
confidential and are not accessible through an 
open records request. If the State Board or a 
school district is served with a subpoena 
requesting disclosure of such documents, the 
teacher must be immediately notified and be 
provided the opportunity to object to the 
subpoena. 

 Current law directs local school boards to 
establish professional development programs for 
certified teachers and administrators in a district 
to be adopted based upon the recommendations 
of a professional development committee 
appointed by the board. HB 1684 modifies the 
membership of these committees to include 
school counselors or licensed mental health 
providers and requires annual training on:  

 
• recognition of child abuse and neglect; 
• recognition of child sexual abuse; 
• proper reporting of suspected abuse; and 
• available resources.  

  
 Additionally, the measure: 
 

 adds suicide prevention to the purview of 
the Safe School Committee and permits 
the committee to study and make 
recommendations to a school board 
regarding the development of a rape or 
sexual assault response program; and 

 permits public schools to establish an 
optional abuse-prevention instructional 
program for students and gives discretion 
to the local school board regarding the 
content of the instruction.  

 
 HB 1685, also known as the 24/7 tobacco-
free schools legislation, prohibits the use of 
tobacco products on school grounds and in 
school vehicles.  
 
 HB 2014 permits the carrying of a handgun 
on school property by designated school 
personnel if a school district adopts a policy. 
Personnel will be designated by the board of 
education of the district and the personnel must 
have been issued a handgun license and either 
possess a valid armed security guard license or 
hold a valid reserve peace officer certification.  
The measure requires the designated personnel 
to carry the firearm on his or her person at all 
times or store the firearm in a locked and secure 
location. Designated school personnel who act in 
good faith will be immune from liability. The 
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board of education of a school district or 
participating local law enforcement agency will 
be immune from liability for any injury resulting 
from any act committed by designated school 
personnel. Lastly, the measure authorizes local 
school boards to enter into a memorandum of 
understanding with local law enforcement 
entities to carry out the provisions of the 
measure.  
 
 In an effort to recruit more teachers to 
Oklahoma, HB 1521 excludes one-time incentive 
or retention pay from the definition of total 
compensation for teachers returning a second 
year. Likewise, pay is excluded from teacher 
contract negotiations for teachers returning a 
second year. 
 
 SB 20 exempts a teacher from taking a 
competency exam in their subject area if the 
individual holds a valid out-of-state teaching 
certificate and has five years of prior experience. 
 
 By December 1, 2015, HB 1330 directs the 
State Board of Education to adopt rules requiring 
school district boards of education to waive the 
Oklahoma history high school graduation 
requirements for children of military families 
who move from another state and who have 
satisfactorily completed a similar state history 
class in another state. 
 
 SB 162 directs the State Department of 
Education to promulgate rules providing 
exemptions from mandated testing for students 
with the most significant cognitive disabilities 
who are on an individualized education program. 
The rules would provide for these students to be 
assessed with the alternate achievement 
standards through the Oklahoma Alternate 
Assessment Program. 
 
 SB 239 creates the Chase Morris Sudden 
Cardiac Arrest Prevention Act, directing the State 
Department of Health and State Department of 
Education to develop and post on their websites 
information for students, parents and coaches 

about the nature and warning signs of sudden 
cardiac arrest. Prior to participating, a student 
and their guardian must sign and return an 
acknowledgement of receipt and review of this 
information. A student who collapses or faints 
without a concurrent head injury while 
participating in an athletic activity must be 
removed by the coach and cannot return until 
they have been evaluated and cleared in writing 
by a health care provider. Lastly, it requires that 
coaches must complete a sudden cardiac arrest 
training course once a year offered by a provider 
approved by the State Department of Health.  
 
Higher Education 
 SB 138 allows individuals in the uniformed 
services of the United States and their families to 
be eligible for in-state status and tuition. The 
measure also amends eligibility requirements for 
maintaining in-state status and repeals a section 
of law regarding the policy for resident tuition 
eligibility under The Oklahoma State Regents for 
Higher Education low-cost textbook rental 
system. 
 

Energy 
 Rapid changes in energy production 
technology led lawmakers to create a regulatory 
framework for wind power, as well as protect oil 
and gas operators from local overreach. 
 
 SB 808 requires the owner of a wind energy 
facility to give the Corporation Commission an 
estimate of the total cost of decommissioning the 
facility, as well as evidence of financial security 
totaling 125 percent of that estimate. For any 
facility reaching its commercial generation date 
before December 31, 2016, this must be 
submitted once it has been in operation for 15 
years; otherwise, it must be submitted by the 
fifth year of operation. The measure also 
includes setback requirements for new wind 
energy facilities by specifying that the base of 
any tower must be no closer than one and one-
half miles from an airport, a public school or a 
hospital. 
 



 

 

 

8        

 Finally, the bill includes notice requirements 
for new wind energy facility construction. 
Notification of intent to build must be submitted 
to the Corporation Commission, published in a 
general circulation newspaper in the county or 
counties and a public meeting must be held. No 
construction may begin until all of these 
notification requirements are met. 
 
 SB 809 allows cities and counties to enact 
ordinances related to oil and gas operations as 
long as they are consistent with Corporation 
Commission rules and current state law. These 
include road use provisions, noise requirements, 
floodplain management and setback and fencing 
requirements. Cities and counties may not 
prohibit or ban any oil and gas operations and 
the Corporation Commission is given jurisdiction 
over all other oil and gas regulations. 
 

General Government 
 The Legislature passed several measures 
affecting state, county and municipal 
governments. The most prominent measure 
provided relief to a longstanding stagnation of 
judges’ salaries by untying them, statutorily, 
from state elected officers’ salaries.  Another 
significant measure bans state agencies from 
paying, on behalf of its employees, membership 
dues to associations involved in collective 
bargaining. 
 
State Government 
 The Legislature overrode the Governor’s veto 
of SB 549, which separates state officers’ 
salaries from judges’ salaries and codifies the 
salaries of state elected officials in statute. 
 
 HB 1749 prohibits state agencies from 
making payroll deductions on behalf of state 
employees for membership in any public 
employee association or organization that 
collectively bargains on behalf of its 
membership. 
 

 SB 70 modifies the Oklahoma Reward 
System by striking the requirement that 
information provided by an individual result in 
the arrest and conviction of a person accused of 
the commission of a crime and replaces it with 
valuable information materially assisting in the 
investigation of the commission of a crime. 
 
County and Municipal Government 
 SB 477 modifies the county officer training 
program by requiring that appropriate training 
programs include those provided by the 
Cooperative Extension Service at Oklahoma State 
University. 
 
 HB 1322 prohibits a municipality from 
adopting an ordinance that would restrict or 
expand the powers and duties, supervisory and 
management authority or the regulation of day-
to-day activities of a duly elected law 
enforcement officer unless the authority is 
granted by the municipality’s charter. 
 
Elections 
 HB 2181 changes the number of signatures 
required on a petition to form a recognized 
political party from 5 percent of the total votes 
cast in the last General Election either for 
Governor or for presidential electors to 3 
percent of the total votes cast in the last General 
Election for Governor. 
 

Health and Human Services 
 

Children and Families 
 The Legislature continued to demonstrate its 
long-standing commitment to ensuring the 
safety and well-being of children and improving 
the child welfare system. 
 
 HB 2242 appropriates $678.9 million to the 
Department of Human Services (DHS) for State 
Fiscal Year 2016, of which, SB 843 specifies that 
$108.8 million is to fund phases one, two, three 
and four of the Pinnacle Plan which was 
designed to improve outcomes for children and 
families in the child welfare system. 
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 HB 1078 makes several modifications to 
improve the outcomes for children impacted by 
the child welfare system. These changes include: 
 

 requiring DHS to notify additional adult 
relatives upon the removal of a child from 
the home; 

 lowering, from 16 to 14, the age at which 
planning for the transition of a child in the 
custody of the department to successful 
adulthood will begin; 

 requiring the court to determine at each 
review hearing whether the department 
is ensuring that the foster family is giving 
a child in its care the opportunity to take 
part in age-appropriate activities; 

 providing that, when the permanency 
plan for a child who is 16 years of age is 
continued placement in the custody of the 
department, the court inquire what 
permanency outcome the child desires 
and provide compelling reasons why it is 
not in the child’s best interest to return 
home or be placed for adoption; 

 requiring that the permanency plan for 
the child in transition to successful 
adulthood be developed in consultation 
with the child and allows the child to 
choose two members of his or her 
permanency planning team; 

 requiring that custody children who are 
14 be given a written notice describing 
their rights; and 

 directing DHS to establish policies and 
training for identifying children and 
youth in its care who are at risk of sex 
trafficking and to determine the 
appropriate services. 

 
 HB 1079 gives foster parents the right to 
submit a report to the court for presentation at a 
review hearing of the child in their care. 
 
 HB 2239 set appropriations for the Office of 
Juvenile Affairs just short of $99 Million, an 
increase of approximately $2.5 Million over 
2014’s budget. The additional funds will be used 

to continue operations at a treatment facility for 
girls in Norman. 
 
 SB 541 establishes that a substantiated 
finding of abuse or neglect against an adult in a 
child care home, whose presence is incidental to 
the operation of the home, is grounds for placing 
that person on the Child Care Restricted 
Registry. The bill also provides that an operator 
of a child care facility may only be placed on the 
registry if the operator is the subject of a 
substantiated finding of abuse or neglect, has 
been subject to revocation or denial of a child 
care facility license or has a specified criminal 
history. 
 
Health 
 The Legislature continued to strengthen 
abortion requirements and passed legislation 
aimed at addressing mental health care needs 
during a catastrophic event. 
  
 HB 1409 increases the wait time for an 
abortion from 24 hours to 72 hours. 
Additionally, the measure requires abortion 
facilities that operate a website to add a web link 
to the state’s A Woman’s Right to Know website.  
 
 SB 642 broadens the grounds for violations 
related to an abortion performed upon an 
unemancipated minor to include a person who 
intentionally causes, aids, abets or assists the 
minor to obtain an abortion without parental 
consent. A court may grant an injunction upon a 
petition by the Attorney General, district 
attorney or any adversely affected persons who 
can show that such conduct may occur in the 
future or has occurred in the past.  
 
 The measure requires a physician to preserve 
fetal tissue extracted during an abortion 
performed on a minor who is less than fourteen 
years of age and submit the tissue to the 
Oklahoma State Bureau of Investigation. Failure 
to comply will constitute unprofessional conduct 
and be considered a felony.  
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 The measure directs the State Board of 
Health to establish policies for conducting pre-
licensure and re-licensure inspections of 
abortion facilities and permits the State 
Commissioner of Health or any duly designated 
employee to enter into the premises of a licensee 
or licensed facility, during normal business 
hours, if the Commissioner has reasonable cause 
to believe a licensee or licensed facility is not 
adhering to state law. If the inspection or 
investigation finds a violation of state law, then 
the Commissioner may take action to deny, 
suspend, revoke or refuse to renew a license to 
operate an abortion facility. 
 
 HB 1721 prohibits the attempt or 
performance of an abortion by dismemberment, 
unless necessary to prevent a serious health risk 
to the mother.  A physician accused of 
performing such an abortion may seek a hearing 
before the state medical board to review if the 
procedure was necessary to prevent a serious 
health risk and only the physician will be held 
liable for the attempt or performance of the 
abortion. Additionally, the measure provides for 
injunctive relief, civil damages and criminal 
penalty.   
 
 SB 781 overhauls the State Dental Act and 
Dental Mediation Act, by: 
 removing the dental board’s ability to 

appoint an individual to be the principal 
administrative officer of the board; 

 permitting dentists and hygienists currently 
licensed in another state to apply for a license 
by credentials if they meet certain criteria; 

 requiring a dentist, if previously licensed for 
a specialty in another state, to provide a 
letter of good standing to the board before 
issuance of a specialty license; 

 permitting the issuance of a temporary 
license to practice dental hygiene; 

 changing the special volunteer license from 
one fiscal year to one calendar year and 
requiring special volunteers to list all dates 
and locations where they will be completing 
their volunteer work; 

 stipulating that dental assistants may be 
issued a volunteer permit at the request of an 
entity that provides dental services to the 
needy; 

 providing for the issuance of a retired 
volunteer dentist, dental hygienist, or dental 
assistant license if certain conditions are met; 

 providing application, training, educational 
and other requirements for dental assistants 
or oral maxillofacial surgery assistants, as 
well as expanded duty permits.  

 requiring, beginning July 1, 2016, all 
advertisements for dentistry to include the 
name of the dentist or dentists that will be 
providing treatment and listing the type of 
dental or specialty license on the 
advertisement; 

 requiring the death of a dental patient within 
48 hours of receiving anesthesia or that is 
required to be reported to the Board, to be 
investigated by the Adverse Outcomes 
Review and Investigation Panel. 

 
 HB 1074, also known as “the right to try” 
legislation, permits an eligible patient to try an 
investigational drug, biological product or device 
that has successfully completed phase one of an 
FDA clinical trial and remains under an approved 
investigation. The measure does not require a 
manufacturer to make such products available to 
an eligible patient and an insurer may provide 
coverage for such products. A licensing board 
may not take action against a provider based 
solely on their recommendations to an eligible 
patient regarding access to or treatment with 
such products. Additionally, the bill does not 
create a private cause of action against a 
manufacturer or against any other person or 
entity involved in the care of an eligible patient 
using such products. 
 
 SB 249 directs the State Board of Behavioral 
Licensure to promulgate rules to allow licensed 
out-of-state counselors to provide services as 
specified by law during a declaration of 
emergency issued by the Governor or the 
Legislature, or during a declaration of a 
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catastrophic health emergency issued by the 
Governor. The rules may only authorize services 
that are pro bono or reimbursed by 
nongovernmental entities. 
 
 SB 713 directs the Department of Mental 
Health and Substance Abuse services to facilitate 
the development of seven peer-supported drop-
in centers to serve Oklahoma’s veterans. The 
development of the centers is subject to the 
availability of funds. 
 
Insurance 
 HB 1515 prohibits any health benefit plan 
that provides coverage for cancer therapy from 
holding proton therapy to a higher standard of 
clinical evidence for coverage decisions than that 
required for any other radiation therapy. The 
measure does not require any plan to cover 
proton therapy. 
 

Judiciary 
 In anticipation of the United States Supreme 
Court decision on same sex marriage, the 
Legislature created legal protections for religious 
entities that choose to exercise their freedom of 
religion rights as provided under the First 
Amendment of the U.S. Constitution.  Other 
measures give the Oklahoma Judiciary more 
flexibility and autonomy over how court funds 
are spent.   
 
 HB 1007 provides civil immunity to any 
religious official that refuses to solemnize, 
recognize or provide services for a marriage that 
violates the official's religious beliefs.  Religious-
based services that may be refused include 
counseling programs, courses, retreats or 
workshops directly related to solemnizing, 
celebrating, strengthening or promoting 
marriage. 
 
 Lawmakers successfully overrode a veto on 
SB 549, which modifies the salaries of statewide 
elected officials by untying their salaries from 
judicial salaries.   
 

 A complementary measure, SB 548, 
increases the salaries of the following judicial 
officers, provided the raises are paid from 
existing available funds: 
 

 Chief Justice of the Supreme Court (from 
$117,571 to $155,820) 

 Associate Justices of the Supreme Court 
(from $113,571 to $145,914) 

 Presiding Judge of the Court of Civil 
Appeals (from $109,731 to $140,795) 

 Judges of the Court of Civil Appeals 
($108,336 to $138,235) 

 Presiding Judge of the Court of Criminal 
Appeals ($117,571 to $151,034) 

 Judges of the Court of the Criminal 
Appeals ($113,571 to $145,914) 

 
 HB 2233 allows certain funds to be 
transferred to the Supreme Court Administrative 
Revolving Fund or the Interagency 
Reimbursement Fund for the purpose of funding 
duties imposed upon the Supreme Court, Court 
of Civil Appeals and district courts at the request 
of the Administrative Director of the Courts.  
Monies from the following funds may be utilized: 
 

 Law Library Revolving Fund 
 Supreme Court Revolving Fund 
 State Judicial Revolving Fund 
 Lengthy Trial Fund 

 
 SB 98 authorizes the Council on Judicial 
Complaints to provide funding for state, 
municipal and administrative judges to attend 
and participate in professional and education 
programs, schools or conferences for the 
purpose of improving the quality of the 
Oklahoma Judiciary.  The council expects to 
provide an average of $55,000 per year to fund 
these activities for judges.  
 

Public Safety 
 Improving consumer services and increasing 
safety for the motoring public was a major focus 
of the legislature this session.   
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 After years of attempts, Oklahoma joined the 
ranks of 44 other states to ban texting while 
driving. HB 1965 prohibits a person from 
operating a motor vehicle while texting, emailing 
or using instant messaging while the vehicle is in 
motion. The measure establishes a fine of $100 
for those ticketed for texting.  The measure 
provides that the prohibition on the use of a 
device does not apply if the person is 
communicating with an emergency response 
operator, hospital or physician’s office, an 
ambulance service, firefighting service or a law 
enforcement agency.  Municipalities are allowed 
to adopt ordinances and enforce texting bans 
with the same penalties as created in the 
measure.    
 
 Oklahoma improved efficiency by requiring 
greater online access to driver license and Self 
Defense Act applications. SB 34 directs that the 
Department of Public Safety to develop an 
alternate online procedure for a person applying 
for a renewal or replacement Class D license or 
identification card. 
 
 Two measures were designed to make it 
easier to obtain a handgun carry license.  HB 
1396 requires persons paying application fees 
for an SDA permit to the OSBI by means of a 
credit card or by electronic funds transfer to 
complete and submit their application for the 
permit through the online application process.  
HB 1391 modifies the Oklahoma Self Defense 
Act to allow applicants for a handgun carry 
license complete firearms safety and training 
courses online. 
 
 Another handgun measure, SB 164 modifies 
the prohibitions on the ability to apply for a 
handgun carry license.  The bill provides that a 
person who had a misdemeanor conviction 
related to illegal drug use or possession may 
apply for a handgun carry license when ten years 
has passed since the date of completion of the 
sentence for the conviction. 
 

 In an effort to prevent child deaths, HB 1902 
provides immunity from civil liability to a person 
for damages resulting from the forcible entry of a 
motor vehicle for the purpose of removing a 
child from a motor vehicle.  The person must 
contact local law enforcement or the fire 
department prior to removing the child in order 
to be immune from civil liability. 
 

Revenue and Taxation 
 To address a budget shortfall that exceeded 
$600 million, the Legislature authorized a short 
term tax amnesty to encourage delinquent 
taxpayers to pay any overdue tax bills without 
penalty and approved of other measures to 
strengthen tax collections.  Lawmakers also 
continued to focus their efforts on ensuring that 
business tax incentives are accountable to 
taxpayers by enacting measures that would 
mandate the evaluation of all tax incentives to 
determine their effectiveness.  Furthermore, the 
Legislature scaled back the incentives provided 
to the wind power industry which had been the 
subject of much debate in previous sessions.  
 
 HB 2236 allows the Oklahoma Tax 
Commission to offer a tax amnesty to delinquent 
taxpayers for a period beginning September 14, 
2015 to November 13, 2015. Any taxpayer that 
participates during this period is entitled to a 
waiver of penalty, interest and other collection 
fees or costs due on eligible taxes if the taxpayer 
voluntarily files delinquent tax returns and pays 
the taxes due during the compliance initiative 
period.  The voluntary compliance initiative is 
expected to bring in $35 million in revenue and 
would include: gasoline and diesel taxes, gross 
production and petroleum excise taxes, 
corporate income tax, bank “in lieu” taxes, 
individual income tax, withholding taxes, sales 
and use taxes and mixed beverage taxes. 
 
 HB 2235 requires the Oklahoma Tax 
Commission to contract with a service provider 
to authenticate income tax returns and identify 
fraudulent refund claims. The commission is 
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authorized to spend agency funds to acquire the 
necessary technology and services and would be 
exempt from adhering to the competitive bidding 
procedures.  As a result of these efforts, the 
commission anticipates that the identification of 
potentially fraudulent income tax refund claims 
will result in increased income tax collections of 
$9.5 million. 
 
 HB 2182 establishes the Incentive 
Evaluation Act by creating the Incentive 
Evaluation Committee which is tasked with 
developing evaluation criteria for each state 
incentive and a schedule for evaluating the 
incentives. The measure further creates the 
Incentive Approval Committee as a 
subcommittee of the Incentive Evaluation 
Committee.  The committee may contract with a 
private company, nonprofit or academic 
institution to assist with evaluating each 
incentive at the expense of the Office of 
Management and Enterprise Services. Finally, 
the bill establishes several deadlines for the 
committee to conduct their evaluations.  
 
 SB 806 requires all economic incentive 
provisions enacted after January 1, 2016 to 
include a statement of measurable goals. 
 
 SB 498 ends a property tax exemption for 
wind power developers that have assets placed 
in commercial operation after January 1, 2017.   
Currently, the five-year exemption allows wind 
developers to avoid paying property taxes for 
the first five years that a wind farm is in 
operation and accounts for over half of the total 
exemptions claimed by all eligible 
manufacturers. 
 
 SB 502 prohibits companies engaged in wind 
power production from claiming the 
Investment/New Jobs tax credit. 
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