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Citizen
DUI’s are sexy and receive a lot of attention from the Legislature.  There are numerous participants, law enforcement, prosecutors, defense attorneys and the public.  In Oklahoma, second and subsequent DUI’s are supposed to be treated as felonies, however because municipalities see these arrests and convictions as “cash cows”, second and subsequent municipal offenses are not being reported to the district court.  Driving is a privilege, not a right.

Wants every municipality which arrests for DUI to turn them over to the district court for prosecution or become a court of record.

Maj. Rusty Rhoades/ Mike Bailey

Oklahoma Highway Patrol/ Driver Compliance Division

rrhoades@dps.state.ok.us
Over a 20 year career has seen many examples of multiple DUI misdemeanors.  

Data collected by convictions shows that Oklahoma County averages 80 felony DUI’s per month.  Tulsa County averages 49 DUI’s per month.  Many of the jurisdictions appear to give “mulligans” when it comes to DUI’s.  DPS considers 3 test refusals as a habitual offender.

John Hunsucker

Hunsucker Legal Group

John@okdui.com
The issue boils down to the question of when do you want a DUI to be a felony.  The Legislature has already changed the law to allow a deferred prosecution to be used for enhancement purposes.  DUI cases always result in two separate proceedings, one criminal proceeding dealing with the DUI, one administrative proceeding dealing with the license revocation. 

Would like to require every DUI stop to be video taped by law enforcement.

Has complaints about the notice requirements for appeal from DPS.  Notices are sent via USPS and there is only a 15 day window to file an appeal.  From the time DPS put the notice in the pipeline, it may be 10 days before defendant receives notice, leaving only 5 days to prepare notice of appeal.  If defendant does submit timely notice of intent to appeal, there is no future possibility to appeal.  Would like Legislature to create an avenue to appeal in these situations.

Bruce Edge
Edge Law Firm

Bruce@edgelawfirm.com
The law in place is sufficient.  Notification by the courts is important.  Every DUI case is bifurcated and even if the criminal case is dismissed the person can lose their license administratively.  Would like to have breathalyzer tests video taped as well.  
Concerned with the unavailability of information that can be collected from breathalyzer devices being used. The machines are capable of collecting and storing information that could be used to prove or disprove that a person is drunk.  The only real information being collected and maintained is the alcohol level in the breath.

Trent Baggett

District Attorneys’ Council

Trent.baggett@dac.state.ok.us
One of the major problems is requiring municipalities to submit the information to the Department of Public Safety and to the district court so that the information can be seen by all law enforcement districts.  A DUI municipal conviction in Blanchard will not show up if the person is arrested on a DUI complaint in Mustang if the clerk in Blanchard did not submit the conviction.

Current law allows a municipality to retain 50% of the costs charged in a DUI case that is turned over to the district court (Title 28, Section 153.1).
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