INTERIM STUDY REPORT
Human Services Committee
Rep. Pam Peterson, Chairman
Oklahoma House of Representatives

Interim Study 11-108, Rep. Mike Shelton
October 25, 2011
Daycare liability insurance
Rep. Shelton
· Noted that the purpose of the study is to reduce the future impact of a tragedy; examine the true cost of obtaining insurance and to reinforce that the security provided not only to parents but also to child care providers will offset any costs associated with it.
Rick Farmer

Assistant Commissioner of Government Affairs

Oklahoma Insurance Department

· 23 states require daycare operators to carry liability insurance, ranging from $75,000 to ½ million dollar policies.  The most common amount is a $300,000 policy.
· 9 states have posting requirement similar to Oklahoma’s for facilities that do not carry insurance.

· An example of the cost would be approximately $250 per year for a small child care center (12 children or less.)

Anita Fowler

Oklahoma City Family Child Care Home Association
· Their members believe that providers should be able to provide insurance to cover any injury to a child in their care and believe that all providers can afford it and write it off on their income tax as a business expense.
Kathy Cronemiller

Oklahoma Child Care Association

· Their association has an insurance company that homes or centers can go through to access insurance.

· Having liability insurance is a good business practice and it’s not that expensive.  

· Her cost is $4.60 per child for accident and liability insurance.

Edna Pittman

· Her son, Damarion, was seriously injured at 3 years of age when he was accidentally left in a hot van owned by a 3 star child care provider who did not have liability insurance.

· He is unable to speak and has seizures.

· Her family has astronomical medical bills as a result.
· Liability insurance protects providers and families.

Rep. Purcy Walker

· Introduced his segment of the interim study by noting that he has a number of constituents who are child care providers who have encountered a number of problems in dealing with DHS licensing.

Janna Ekhart

Family day care operator from Sayre

· DHS has become heavy handed in enforcing the licensing law.

· Her license was revoked by DHS and she appealed the decision to district court and the revocation was overturned.

· DHS told her that is she attempted to reopen her business, her license would not be approved.

· With each change of licensing staff comes a different interpretation of licensing standards.

Molly Priest

Attorney practicing in Sayre

· She had her 3 year old in Ms. Ekhart’s child care home.  

· There is a lack of providers in their area and Ms. Ekhart is one of the best.

· Upon the agency’s recommendation for revocation, there is no interview with the provider, parents or other providers in the community (such as a peer review panel.)

· They are losing good providers because of harassment by DHS.

· There is too much room for interpretation in the policy.

· There should be a differentiation between registered child care homes (for children not getting a state subsidy) versus licensed facilities.

Debbie Simpson

Day care center owner in Elk City

· Has been in business for 28 years.

· DHS gave a license to a former teacher for Ms. Simpson who walked out while she had children in her care.
· Believes she has been written up for items that aren’t in policy.

· She has asked for the list of “serious noncompliance” and was told there was no such list.

Lori Crosby

Child care facilities owner in Stillwater

· Been in business for 16 years.
· Licensing needs to work with day care providers.

· She used to have 3-4 licensing visits per year and worked well with the licensing staff.

· Within the last year, DHS has been visiting on a monthly basis.  Parents and employees are receiving calls from DHS to ask if they have any complaints against the facility.

· DHS is not working with us anymore; they are there to cite us, be punitive.

· Policy should be black and white—no grey areas and there needs to be real due process in appealing decisions of the agency.
· Kathy Cronemiller stated that, in the past, revocations went before a committee made up of child care providers and DHS staff.
Celiste Hacker

Child care facilities owner in Tulsa

· Her concern is that workers in facilities don’t have due process when someone makes a complaint (or allegation) against them.

Leslie Blazer, Director of the Child Care Licensing Division
Kristi Simpson, Statewide Licensing Coordinator

DHS

· Reviewed the mission statement and responsibilities of Oklahoma Child Care Services.  Two primary functions being licensing and professional development.
· Licensing ensures maintenance of minimum requirements and encourages and assists child care facilities to move toward high quality care.

· Reviewed the types of licensed care the agency is responsible for and explained various types of care that is exempt from the licensing requirements.

· The agency works with the Child Care Advisory Committee, comprised of 24 members that represent licensed facilities, agencies and the community.  Subcommittees draft new and revised licensing requirements.

· Reported that, as a result of Demarion’s Law enacted in 2008, 92% of child care centers have liability insurance and 37% of homes do.
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