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Administrative Rules

Bill Entity New Sunset 
Date

HB 3190 Oklahoma Accountancy Board 2020

HB 3191 State Board of Licensure for Professional 
Engineers and Land Surveyors 2020

HB 3192 Oklahoma Climatological Survey 2020

HB 3193 Oklahoma Strategic Military Planning Commission 2020

HB 3194 Electronic and Information Technology 
Accessibility Advisory Council 2020

HB 3195 Long-Term Care Facility Advisory Board 2020

HB 3198 Oklahoma Educational Television Authority 2020

HB 3199 Oklahoma Funeral Board 2020

HB 3200 State Board of Licensed Social Workers 2020

HB 3201 State Board of Veterinary Medical Examiners 2020

HB 3202 Child Death Review Board 2020

HB 3203 Board of Governors of the Licensed Architects, 
Landscape Architects and Registered Interior 2020

HB 3204 Group Homes for Persons with Developmental or 
Physical Disabilities Advisory Board 2020

HB 3205 Oklahoma Board of Licensed Alcohol and Drug 
Counselors 2020

HB 3243 Oklahoma Advisory Council on Indian Education 2020

The Legislature reviewed numerous governmental entities that were to sunset 
this year unless extended. The table below shows the entities reviewed and 
their new sunset date. ■
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Agriculture, Environment 
& Wildlife

Agriculture

The Legislature made numerous 
operational changes to agricultural 
industry boards by creating 
procedures to allow boards to convert 
to private or nonprofit organizations.
HB 2566 establishes procedures for 
statutory agricultural commodity 
boards to convert to private 
entities. The measure applies the 
new voluntary procedure to the 
Oklahoma Peanut Commission and 
the Oklahoma Wheat Commission. 
Existing employees, at the time of 
conversion to a private entity, will 
retain their retirement plan.
A related measure, SB 1851, 
creates the Commodity Research 
Enhancement Act, which provides 
procedures for federally approved 
commodity boards to petition the 
state Department of Agriculture, 
Food and Forestry for designation as 
a nonprofit commodity organization. 
Upon the designation, members of 
the organization may elect to levy 
an assessment to finance research 
and marketing. Finally, the bill 
specifies that the cost associated with 
consideration of the petition is to be 
borne by the nonprofit organization. 
Similar language was originally 
contained in SB 1673, which was 
vetoed. 
In an effort to ensure state control of 
federal programs, SB 1590 directs the 
Board of Agriculture to create rules 
related to on-farm fruit and vegetable 
production and regulation.
HB 2765 amends the expiration 

dates for animal shelter operator and 
commercial pet breeder licenses to 
January 1 and July 1, respectively.

Environment

SB 1884 amends the Combined 
Pesticide Law to delete threshold 
levels for certain pesticides in soil 
residue, eliminates out-of-date 
chemicals and directs the Board 
of Agriculture to promulgate state 
rules that are consistent with the 
Federal Insecticide, Fungicide and 
Rodenticide Act.
HB 3160 clarifies that it is unlawful 
for a person to represent themselves 
as a scrap metal dealer without 
a scrap metal dealer license. The 
measure establishes administrative 
penalties of not less than $100 and 
no more than $10,000 for violations 
of the Scrap Metal Dealers Act and 
allows for the issuance of temporary 
or permanent injunctions.
HB 2378 amends the Oklahoma 
Hazardous Waste Management Act 
by offering a “Good Samaritan” status 
and liability protection for people who 
voluntarily assist with hazardous 
waste reclamation or water pollution 
abatement projects. Those seeking 
the liability protection must submit a 
plan for approval by the Department 
of Environmental Quality.
SB 1336 authorizes the Department 
of Environmental Quality to create 
administrative rules regarding permit 
requirements for the construction and 
operation of landfills. The measure 
also authorizes the agency to issue 
temporary permits for research and 

development activities related to 
landfill sites. Landfills of a certain 
size currently are required to develop 
and implement a vegetation plan to 
prevent erosion, control dust and 
improve aesthetics; the measure 
allows for alternative plans that 
accomplish similar objectives.
SB 1964 repeals the executive 
environmental subcommittee of the 
Governor’s cabinet.

Water

The Legislature passed SB 1187 
as an effort to provide adequate 
water supply in state reservoirs by 
authorizing wastewater reuse. The 
measure requires the Oklahoma 
Department of Environmental 
Quality to issue permits for point-
source discharges into sensitive 
water bodies, provided the discharges 
do not contain concentrations of 
pollutants greater than the existing 
concentrations in the water body. 
SB 2136 transfers $1,538,521 from 
the 2014 Oklahoma Water Resources 
Board appropriation to the Rural 
Economic Action Plan Water Projects 
Fund to be used for emergency 
drought grants.
SB 1508 modifies the eligibility 
requirements for individuals who 
are appointed or elected to the board 
of directors of a master conservancy 
district. The measure prohibits 
municipal employees from being 
eligible to serve as a member of the 
board. However, a current member 
who is a municipal employee may 
complete their term and run for re-

Agriculture, Environment 
& Wildlife
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election. The measure also increases 
the per diem to board members from 
$50 to $100.
SB 1413 modifies the membership 
of the Water Quality Management 
Advisory Council to include a 
representative of a commercial or 
public laboratory accredited by 
the Department of Environmental 
Quality for both the Drinking Water 
and the General Environmental 
Laboratory classifications. 

Wildlife

The Legislature fine-tuned the state’s 
regulations regarding fish and wildlife 
and the Department of Wildlife’s 
administrative procedures. 
HB 2618 requires an individual to 
possess a nuisance wildlife control 
operator permit in order to engage 
in trapping, possessing, transporting 
or euthanizing nuisance wildlife 
for commercial purposes. The 
Department of Wildlife Conservation 
issues the $75 permit upon the 
successful completion of a certification 
exam. 
The Legislature exempted the 
Department of Wildlife Conservation 
from certain provisions of the Public 
Competitive Bidding Act. HB 3134 
authorizes the department, rather 
than the Office of Management and 
Enterprise Services, to administer 
the bidding process for conservation 
projects that are $25,000 or less.
HB 2518 amends lifetime hunting 
and fishing license eligibility 
requirements by including a provision 
that applicants intend to remain 
residents of Oklahoma.
HB 3135 adds quail to the list of 
excluded game for certain five-day 
nonresident hunting licenses. The 
licenses currently exclude deer, 
antelope, elk, turkey and bear. ■
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Criminal Justice
This session, the Legislature focused 
on protecting victims of human 
trafficking and domestic violence, as 
well as improving the state’s response 
to combating drug abuse.
HB 2353 adds human trafficking 
to the list of crimes for which a 
person must serve 85 percent of the 
sentence imposed. The measure also 
increases the penalty for human 
trafficking to a term of between five 
years and life imprisonment, a fine of 
not more than $100,000 or both fine 
and imprisonment. If the victim was 
under the age of 18, the penalty is 
increased to a term of not less than 
15 years imprisonment, a fine of not 
less than $250,000 or both fine and 
imprisonment. A nearly identical 
measure, SB 1433, in addition to the 
85 percent requirements, the measure 
directs that offenders be in compliance 
with the standards for Class Level 2 
behavior while incarcerated to qualify 
for achievement earned credits. 
Another measure, SB 1538, allows 
a civil action brought in a human 
trafficking case to be instituted in the 
district court in the county in which 
the prospective defendant resides or 
has committed any act which subjects 
him or her to liability. The measure 
establishes that the statute of 
limitations does not commence until 
the plaintiff discovers or reasonably 
should have discovered that he or she 
was a victim of human trafficking 
and that the defendant caused, was 
responsible for or profited from the 
human trafficking.
SB 1431 provides that persons 

convicted of human trafficking 
are subject to the Sex Offender 
Registration Act if the crime involved 
human trafficking for commercial 
sex.
HB 3496 requires every person 
having reason to believe that a person 
or child-placing agency is engaged in 
the crime of trafficking in children 
to report the matter promptly to 
the Oklahoma Bureau of Narcotics 
and Dangerous Drugs Control. The 
bureau is to refer the information 
to the appropriate district attorney 
within 7 days of receiving a report.
A related measure, HB 2349, increases 
the fine for maintaining a house of 
prostitution from not less than $100 
to a fine of not less than $2,000. 
The measure also increases the fine 
involving obscene materials from not 
more than $1,000 to not less than 
$2,000 and the term of imprisonment 
to not less than three years nor more 
than 20 years. The punishment for 
second and subsequent violations 
related to child pornography is 
established as imprisonment for not 
less than 10 years nor more than 30 
years, a fine of not less than $20,000 
or both fine and imprisonment.
The issue of sexting was also 
addressed by the Legislature with 
the enactment of HB 2541. The 
measure provides that persons under 
the age of 18 who engage in the 
transmission of obscene material or 
child pornography, or the parents 
of such person, can be required to 
attend and complete an educational 
program that addresses the possible 

consequences of sharing obscene 
materials or child pornography. The 
bill provides that it is an affirmative 
defense if a juvenile has not solicited 
the visual depiction and does not 
subsequently distribute or exchange 
the visual depiction. Additionally, the 
measure requires each school board 
to establish a procedure for referral 
of a person who commits an act of 
bullying to a delinquency prevention 
and diversion program administered 
by the Office of Juvenile Affairs.
The Legislature also took steps to 
improve the laws relating to child 
abuse and domestic violence. HB 
2334 modifies several definitions 
related to child abuse as used in the 
criminal code:

• child abuse is the willful or 
malicious harm or threatened harm 
or failure to protect from harm to the 
health, safety or welfare of a child 
under 18 years of age by another, 
or the act of willfully or maliciously 
injuring, torturing or maiming 
a child under 18 years of age by 
another;

• enabling child abuse includes the 
harm or threatened harm of a child 
or failure to protect a child from 
harm; 

• child sexual abuse includes rape, 
incest and lewd or indecent acts or 
proposals to a child; 

• enabling child sexual abuse 
includes rape, incest and lewd or 
indecent acts or proposals to a child;

• child sexual exploitation includes 
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allowing, permitting or encouraging 
a child under 18 years of age to 
engage in prostitution or allowing, 
permitting, encouraging or engaging 
in the lewd, obscene or pornographic 
photographing, filming or depicting 
of a child under 18 years of age by 
another; and

• enabling child sexual exploitation 
includes allowing, permitting or 
encouraging a child under 18 years 
of age to engage in prostitution or 
allowing, permitting, encouraging 
or engaging in the lewd, obscene or 
pornographic photographing, filming 
or depicting of a child under 18 years 
of age by another.
The measure also clarifies that the 
changes made to these definitions 
does not prohibit any parent or 
guardian from using reasonable and 
ordinary force against a child.
HB 2526 requires peace officers who 
are investigating a domestic violence 
complaint to conduct a lethality 
assessment when interviewing the 
alleged victim. The officer must 
ask several questions of the victim 

and, based upon the results of 
the assessment, provide referrals 
to shelters, domestic violence 
intervention programs and other 
social services.
SB 2046 provides that any guilty 
or nolo contendere pleas or findings 
of guilt to domestic violence is to be 
considered a conviction of the offense 
for a period of 10 years following the 
completion of any sentence or court 
imposed probationary term.
SB 1364 prohibits a person required 
to register as a habitual or aggravated 
sex offender from entering any park. 
Park is defined to mean any outdoor 
public area specifically designated as 
being used for recreational purposes 
that is operated or supported in 
whole or in part by an association 
of homeowners or a city, town, 
county, state or federal governmental 
authority.
SB 1421 prohibits registered sex 
offenders from petitioning the court 
for a name change.
HB 3016 requires a person subject 
to the Oklahoma Sex Offender 

Registration Act to register with local 
law enforcement in the jurisdiction 
the offender resides or intends to 
reside for seven consecutive days or 
14 days within a 60 day period.

Miscellaneous Criminal Justice

HB 2342 provides a definition of 
property and personal property as 
used relating to searches and seizures. 
Property and personal property is 
defined as items and information 
that can be analyzed, seen, weighed, 
measured, felt or touched or that are 
in any other manner perceptible to the 
senses. The bill clarifies the procedure 
for an oral request to a magistrate 
for a search warrant or affidavit 
and provides that a search warrant 
authorizing a forensic, scientific or 
digital analysis of items already in the 
possession of law enforcement must be 
commenced within a reasonable time 
and the return of the warrant must 
be made within 10 days following the 
completion of the search.
HB 3160 clarifies that it is unlawful 
for a person to represent themselves 
as a scrap metal dealer without 
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a scrap metal dealer license. The 
measure establishes administrative 
penalties of not less than $100 and 
no more than $10,000 for violations 
of the Scrap Metal Dealers Act and 
allows for the issuance of temporary 
or permanent injunctions. 
HB 3254 provides that when an 
applicant asserts a claim of ineffective 
assistance of counsel, the state has 
90 days after the docketing of the 
application to respond by answer or 
by motion.
SB 72 prohibits a person from 
administering a nonpoisonous 
desensitizing substance to a police 
dog or police horse. In addition to the 
existing prohibition on killing a police 
dog or horse, the measure makes it a 
crime to injure or set a trap for the 
purpose of injuring or to pay or agree 
to pay a bounty to injure any police 
dog or horse. The measure increases 
the punishment for this crime from 2 
to 5 years imprisonment. 
SB 639 increases the total number 
of OSBI employees assigned to 
the Child Abuse Response Team 
(CART) from two to eight, transfers 
the previously unclassified position 
of CART investigator and CART 
forensic interviewer to the classified 
service and modifies the required 
qualifications of the agents. 
SB 1183 modifies several operational 
provisions related to the Board of 
Medicolegal Investigations including: 

• requiring the board to elect a 
chair and vice chair annually and 
prohibiting members of the board 
from serving in the same capacity for 
more than two consecutive years;

• deleting the restrictions related 
to the performance of an autopsy on 
an executed inmate;

• requiring the medical examiner 
to document when an autopsy 
reveals that the deceased had drugs 
in their system at the time of death;

• specifying that the medical 
examiner may charge a fee for 
storage of biological specimens for no 
more than five years;

• authorizing the board to charge 
a fee for out-of-state shipment of 
human remains when the medical 
examiner is not required to perform 
an autopsy; 

• requiring the medical examiner 
to report to the Oklahoma Bureau 
of Narcotics and Dangerous Drugs 
Control upon determining that a 
death was caused by an overdose of 
controlled dangerous substances; 
and 

• directing the bureau to maintain 
records containing the classification 
of medical practitioners who 
prescribe dangerous substances.
SB 1842 modifies the definition of 
offender, as used in the Delayed 
Sentencing Program for Young Adults, 
to include a young person who has no 
charges pending for a violent offense 
nor has been convicted of numerous 
listed violent offenses.

Juvenile Justice

The Legislature acted to ensure 
confidential juvenile records continue 
to be available to those working 
to help them. SB 929 authorizes 
the disclosure of Office of Juvenile 
Affairs (OJA) records without a court 
order upon the child’s turning 18 or 
termination of court jurisdiction, 
whichever comes later. The measure 
clarifies the definition of juvenile 
detention facility by specifying that 
it must be secured by locked rooms, 
buildings and fences. Additionally, 
OJA is given standing to seek review, 
including appellate review, of any 
order that directs the office to take 
any action with regard to a youthful 
offender placed in their custody or 
supervision. Finally, if a motion is 
made to retain custody of a delinquent 
child until the age of 19, he or she will 
be considered a child for the purposes 
of secure detention. 
SB 1791 clarifies that confidentiality 
requirements for juveniles’ records do 
not prohibit the Department of Human 
Services from providing those records 
to the Office of Juvenile Affairs for 
processing foster care applications. 
The measure also directs that any 

member of a city-county Health 
Department Fetal Infant Mortality 
Review may have access to juvenile 
court and DHS records without a 
court order, as long as the records are 
directly related to the investigation.
SB 1520 gives access to the Oklahoma 
School for the Blind and the Oklahoma 
School for the Deaf, matching access 
that other schools and school districts 
have. SB 1235 allows employees of 
the Department of Mental Health and 
Substance Abuse Services access to 
records they may need in the course 
of their official duties.
Under SB 1900, the Department of 
Human Services must refer cases 
of alleged abuse or neglect to law 
enforcement for criminal investigation 
when the case involves a child in the 
custody of OJA, if the child was in a 
secure facility operated by OJA.
SB 1914 prevents any arrest or 
detention under the Juvenile Code 
from being considered an arrest, 
detention or conviction for purposes 
of employment, civil rights or any 
other public or private purpose.
SB 1293 removes the requirement 
that OJA give the foster parent a 
copy of its placement policies when a 
child is placed in the home.
SB 1902 authorizes OJA to open and 
operate its own charter school. The 
Board of Juvenile Affairs would act 
as the school’s governing body. 
SB 1781 allows the Office of Juvenile 
Affairs access to any and all jails, adult 
lockups or other detention facilities 
whenever a juvenile is placed there 
and to have access to those facilities 
and their data to assure compliance.

Drug Control

HB 2665 allows the director of the 
Oklahoma Bureau of Narcotics and 
Dangerous Drugs Control to disclose 
information related to the Oklahoma 
Prescription Monitoring Program to 
prescription monitoring programs in 
other states, provided a reciprocal 
data-sharing plan is in place.
HB 2666 adds numerous synthetic 
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controlled substances to the Uniform 
Controlled Dangerous Substances Act 
in an effort to combat the increased 
use of synthetic drugs, known as K2 
or spice. The measure also allows 
subtle changes to existing banned 
substances to be considered illegal if 
the chemical compound falls within a 

certain chemical group.
HB 2589 adds four additional drugs 
to the Trafficking in Illegal Drugs 
Act. Depending upon the quantity in 
their possession, persons convicted 
under this act would receive twice 
the prison term for possession of the 

substance. For a second violation 
of trafficking, the offender would 
receive a sentence of three times the 
sentence for possession. For a third 
or subsequent trafficking offense, the 
offender would receive a sentence of 
life without parole. ■
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Economic Development 
& Financial Services

The Legislature took action to expand 
and extend programs designed to spur 
economic development throughout 
the state, while also ensuring that 
unemployment benefits are provided 
only to those who meet the program 
requirements. 

Incentive Programs 

Legislators had a specific project in 
mind when they passed HB 1416. 
The measure amends the definition 
of basic industry, as it relates to the 
Oklahoma Quality Jobs Program 
Act, to include proxy establishments. 
A proxy establishment is a public 
trust whose purpose is to benefit a 
geographic area where new direct 
jobs are created by an establishment, 
other than the proxy establishment, 
that is a branch of the Armed Forces 
of the United States. The measure 
will assist Tinker Air Force Base 
in the $44 million purchase of the 
BNSF Railway Yard, so that the 175 
acre property can be used to build 
an aircraft maintenance facility for 
the military’s new KC-46A refueling 
tanker. The facility is projected to 
create 1,300 new jobs and another 
2,000 civilian jobs upon completion. 
HB 2956 expands the Small 
Employer Quality Jobs Program to 
allow businesses located in larger 
counties to participate. The measure 
removes the population qualifier 
in the program, which is currently 
restricted to qualified establishments 
located in counties with a population 
under 200,000 or located in an 
opportunity zone. 

HB 2509 extends the sunset date of 
the aerospace engineer tax credit to 
January 1, 2018. The measure also 
modifies the definition of qualified 
employee to include those who worked 
in the aerospace sector, not as full 
time engineers, prior to receiving an 
undergraduate or graduate degree.
HB 2580 extends the sunset date 
of the Compete with Canada Film 
Act to July 1, 2024. The film rebate 
program was set to expire July 1, 
2014. The program offers a 35 to 37 
percent cash rebate on Oklahoma 
expenditures to qualifying companies 
filming in the state. 
HB 2711 extends the sunset date 
of the Oklahoma Quality Events 
Incentive program to June 30, 2018. 
The measure simplifies the method 
for determining the economic impact 
of a quality event by deleting the 
definition of quality event area and 
revenue capture period from the act. 
The economic impact report will be 
determined using the dates during 
which a quality event is hosted, 
instead of the revenue capture 
period.

Unemployment Compensation

HB 2505 makes numerous changes to 
provisions relating to unemployment 
benefits. Most notably, the measure 
requires the Oklahoma Employment 
Security Commission (OESC) 
to randomly review 5 percent of 
unemployment benefits cases 
where misconduct was alleged. The 
measure also modifies the definition 
of misconduct. A misconduct violation 

does not require a prior warning 
from the employer and as long as 
the employee knew, or should have 
reasonably known, that a rule or 
policy of the employer was violated, 
the employee will not be eligible 
for unemployment benefits. There 
is also a rebuttable presumption 
of misconduct if a state or federal 
agency has findings of failure by the 
employee to meet the applicable civil, 
criminal or professional standards of 
the employee’s profession. 
The measure also provides that 
reimbursed pay or back pay received 
by a recipient of unemployment 
benefits will be subtracted from the 
claimant’s weekly benefit check if 
the claimant is placed on furlough 
or experiences a work stoppage 
due to a lapse in appropriation or a 
budget shortfall and is subsequently 
reimbursed full pay when the work 
stoppage period ends. The OESC is 
authorized to reconsider a benefit 
determination to correct for any 
reimbursed or back pay received by a 
claimant. An employer may also file 
an untimely objection to a claim for 
unemployment benefits if good cause 
is shown. 
Lastly, the measure repeals the 
Shared Work Unemployment 
Compensation Program. The 
program was established in 2011 to 
allow certain employees to collect 
partial unemployment benefits if the 
employees share the work remaining 
after a reduction in the total number 
of hours of work and a corresponding 
reduction in wages. 
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HB 2914 provides professional 
employer organizations with the option 
to file reports and pay contributions 
to the OESC under one account of the 
organization for all its clients or file 
separate reports and payments for 
each individual client represented by 
the organization. If the organization 
decides to pay contributions 
separately, they must assist OESC 
in the process of separating and 
identifying the contribution history, 
benefit experience history and payroll 
of each client account separately. All 
professional employer organizations 
must decide by January 1, 2015 which 
reporting option to follow.

Consumer Credit

HB 3346 requires lenders to disclose 
to a consumer loan debtor the 
information required by the Federal 
Consumer Credit Protection Act 
and allows the administrator of the 
Oklahoma Department of Consumer 
Credit (OKDOCC) to enforce the 
disclosure provisions. The measure 
also modifies the Consumer Credit 
Code to bring the language into 
compliance with federal law.
SB 1515 allows the administrator 
of the OKDOCC to impose an 
administrative fine up to $5,000 
against a consumer litigation 
funder for a violation of the Uniform 
Consumer Credit Code. The measure 
also repeals a provision in the code 
that required the amount due in a 
consumer litigation agreement to be 
prepaid and predetermined and not 
based on the amount of recovery from 
the legal claim.
SB 1698 modifies the maximum 
amount of loan finance charges that 
may be charged by a supervised 
lender. A supervised lender may 
charge 25 percent per year on the 
unpaid balance of the principal or use 
the sliding scale above to determine 
finance charges.
The measure also allows the 
administrator to impose a fine 
between $100 and $2,500 against a 
supervised lender licensee for each 
violation of the Consumer Credit 

Code, provided the total fines from a 
single incident cannot exceed $5,000.
SB 1941 clarifies that a deferred 
deposit loan transaction is complete 
when the deferred deposit loan is 
paid in full.
SB 1940 allows the administrator 
of the OKDOCC to reduce annual 
license fees for a specific renewal 
period, provided licensees are notified 
of a fee reduction prior to November 1 
of the license renewal period.

Professions and Occupations 

Under increased scrutiny following 
last year’s deadly tornadoes, roofing 
contractors are now required to 
register with the Construction 
Industries Board under HB 3184. 
The measure exempts charitable 
organizations, handymen and prime 
contractors who subcontract their 
roofing work from the requirement 
to register. Roofing contractors are 
required to display their firm’s name 
and registration prominently at 
the job site and on other business 
materials. Finally, the bill directs 
the board to establish educational 
standards.
SB 417 requires appointments to 
the Oklahoma Uniform Building 
Code Commission to be staggered 
four year terms. Appointed members 
are limited to two consecutive full 
four-year terms, provided members 
may be reappointed after a two year 
absence from the commission. An 
outgoing member may continue to 
serve beyond their term limit until a 
successor is appointed. The measure 
also allows the commission to 
establish a training and certification 
process for residential and commercial 

building code inspectors and directs 
the commission to establish regional 
training academies to train county 
and municipal inspector in the 
Uniform Building Code. The training 
will be paid for from permit fees and 
all inspectors acting on behalf of the 
state must complete the training on 
and after January 1, 2015. Finally, 
the measure removes the ability 
to charge a late fee for past due 
payments for building permits.
SB 1399 modifies appointment 
criteria for the Alarm and Locksmith 
Industry Committee. Currently, 
no more than two members of the 
committee can come from each of 
the identified working fields. The bill 
allows for more than two members 
from a single working field and adds 
fire sprinkler as a working field. The 
fields include:

• burglar alarm
• fire alarm
• fire sprinkler
• electronic access control
• locksmith
• closed circuit television
• nurse call systems

If no one from a specific field is 
qualified to fill a vacancy on the 
committee, a qualified representative 
from another field may be appointed 
instead.
SB 1724 updates and clarifies 
qualification standards for licenses 
issued to architects and interior 
designers and provides an exemption 
from testing if it is determined 
that an applicant is qualified by 
equivalent standards. The measure 

Current SB 1698 (effective August 2014)

Principal Loan 
Amount

Max Loan Finance 
Charge/Year on the 
Unpaid Balance 
(percent)

Principal Loan 
Amount

Max Loan Finance 
Charge/Year on the 
Unpaid Balance 
(percent)

$300 30 percent $2,910 27 percent

$300-$1,000 21 percent $2,910-$6,200 23 percent

$1,000 or over 15 percent $6,000 or over 20 percent
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also prohibits architects from holding 
a financial interest in a company 
bidding for a contract on a building 
for which the architect had prepared 
plans and specifications.
SB 1809 gives the Appraiser 
Qualification Board of the Appraisal 
Foundation authority to define 
the experience and education 
requirements for real estate 
certification. Effective in 2015, 
a criminal records search and 
fingerprint check will be required on 
new applications for certification. The 
measure adds fraud, felony conviction 
and breach of trust as grounds to deny 
certification.
SB 1929 clarifies that most of 
the Oklahoma Cosmetology and 
Barbering Act’s provisions refer to 
both cosmetology and barbering. 
Requirements for members of 
the board are changed so that six 
members would be experienced 
cosmetologists and one would be an 
experienced barber. The amount of 
continuing education required to 
renew an expired license no longer 
varies based on how long the license 
has been expired. Finally, the bill 
clarifies that unsanitary operating 
practices may now lead to denial or 
revocation of a license and allows 
the board to levy fines against those 
practicing without a license.

Miscellaneous

HB 2344 removes the one-time 
license fee for boiler or pressure 

vessel installer technicians.
HB 2380 requires completion of 
90 hours of advanced real estate 
instruction for renewal of a real estate 
broker or broker associate license. 
Previously, only basic instruction 
was required. 
HB 2531 modifies the Oklahoma 
Horse Racing Act by authorizing the 
executive director of the Oklahoma 
Horse Racing Commission to 
purchase motor vehicles, uniforms 
and equipment. The measure 
also authorizes the commission’s 
officials and employees to travel 
and be reimbursed for expenses in 
accordance with the State Travel and 
Reimbursement Act.
HB 2838 modifies provisions within 
the Oklahoma Security for Local 
Public Deposits Act by authorizing 
a public entity’s treasurer to permit 
a designated depository to redeposit 
funds into interest bearing demand 
deposit accounts in one or more 
federally insured banks or savings 
and loan associations. The principal 
and interest must be insured by 
the Federal Deposit Insurance 
Corporation.
HB 3343 repeals the Task Force on 
Electronic Commerce which was 
established in 2001 to study the 
technology of and applications for 
electronic commerce.
SB 1730 allows disbursements made 
by a horsemen’s bookkeeper to be 
cancelled if the amount is less than 

$50 and is not cashed after three 
years. The bookkeeper must receive 
approval from the official horseman’s 
representative organization and the 
Oklahoma Horse Racing Commission 
and use the funds to pay for purses 
for participating horses of the same 
breed.
SB 1826 provides that a distributor, 
wholesaler or retailer who sells 
fireworks to the public may purchase 
merchandise out of the state, as long 
as the retailer buys from an entity 
that has a license to do business in 
the state. 
SB 1904 amends the definition of 
Oklahoma assets, as used in the 
Family Wealth Preservation Trust 
Act, to include any equity or debt 
interest issued by an Oklahoma-
based company but without reference 
to assets owned by the Oklahoma-
based company. The measure also 
removes an exception that would 
allow a compelling revocation of a 
preservation trust to pay off debts of 
the grantor if any property contributed 
to the trust by the grantor has an 
aggregate fair market value over $1 
million.
SB 1979 creates the J.M. Davis Arms 
and Historical Museum Endowment 
Fund and directs that annual 
deposits of earnings from the fund 
be deposited into the J.M. Davis 
Memorial Commission Revolving 
Fund. ■



Session in Review | 11

Education
During the 2014 session, the 
Legislature addressed several 
controversial topics, including the 
Common Core State Standards, the 
third-grade retention law and school 
athletic associations. Additionally, 
the Legislature continued to focus 
on law enforcement officials, the 
military and their families through 
the passage of legislation designed to 
make career tech and higher education 
more affordable and flexible.

Common Education

The third-grade reading proficiency 
law came under scrutiny this year 
over concerns that parents were not 
sufficiently involved in the decision 
to promote or retain their children in 
the third grade. Originally vetoed but 
overridden by the Legislature, HB 
2625 keeps the reading proficiency 
exam but puts in place a temporary 
approach to promotion or retention. 
The measure requires school districts 
to immediately begin a student 
reading portfolio for students who, 
at any point during their third-
grade year, are identified as having 
a reading deficiency. The reading 
portfolio provides evidence that a 
student has mastered academic 
standards in reading and can read at 
grade-level.
Students who score at the limited 
knowledge level on the third-grade 
reading exam may qualify for 
automatic promotion to the fourth 
grade and districts are required 
to provide an annual report of the 
number of students promoted in 
this manner. Prior to promotion, a 

parent must be informed of their 
child’s score and decide whether or 
not the child is retained in the third 
grade. If a child is promoted, the 
student reading proficiency team will 
develop an intensive remediation 
plan. A student not subject to a good 
cause exemption will be ineligible for 
automatic promotion at the end of 
the third grade if the student does 
not satisfy proficiency requirements 
through an assessment or student 
portfolio. 
The measure provides that for the 
2013-14 and 2014-15 academic years, 
the student will be evaluated by the 
proficiency team for probationary 
promotion to the fourth grade. 
Each district superintendent must 
approve the team’s recommendation 
for promotion and the team must 
continue to review the student’s 
reading performance until proficiency 
is demonstrated; school districts 
must report the number of students 
promoted to a subsequent grade while 
under probationary status. Beginning 
in the 2015-16 academic year, students 
who do not demonstrate proficiency 
and do not qualify for a good cause 
exemption will be retained in the 
third grade and be provided intensive 
instructional service and supports. 
Lastly, school districts may apply 
the principles of the student reading 
proficiency team to kindergarten 
through the second grade.
Responding to constituent concerns 
over the Common Core State 
Standards and to return control over 
curriculum to the local community, 

the Legislature passed HB 3399. The 
measure requires that by August 1, 
2016, the State Board of Education 
adopt, in consultation with the State 
Regents for Higher Education, the 
State Board of Career and Technology 
Education and the Oklahoma 
Department of Commerce, standards 
for English Language Arts (ELA) 
and mathematics that are considered 
college and career ready. Until new 
standards are adopted, schools will 
use the Priority Academic Student 
Skills (PASS) standards for ELA and 
math that were in place prior to June 
2010. The bill requires the board to 
submit the PASS standards to the 
state regents to determine if the 
standards meet college and career 
readiness, as defined by federal law. 
HB 3399 requires the board to begin 
the process for developing statewide 
student assessments for the ELA and 
math standards beginning with the 
2017-18 academic year. The map on 
the following page shows the status 
of Common Core adoption in other 
states.
In addition, subject-matter standards 
will no longer be promulgated as 
rules or subject to the Administrative 
Procedures Act (APA) and any 
current rule that conflicts with HB 
3399 must be amended or repealed, 
and the measure establishes a new 
approval procedure for academic 
standards. All standards and 
revisions will be subject to legislative 
review and cannot be implemented 
until the review process is completed 
and adopted by joint resolution. Upon 
approval, the board will submit a 
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copy of the standards to the secretary 
of state, who will include them in the 
administrative code and they will 
have the same force and effect of law 
as agency rules promulgated through 
the APA.
The measure requires school districts 
to adopt policies for the inspection of 
instructional materials by parents or 
guardians of children who are enrolled 
in a school. Finally, it allows certain 
good-cause exemptions to be applied 
to students who were previously 
retained in prekindergarten for 
academic reasons and creates a new 
exemption for medical emergencies. 
Good-cause exemptions allow 
students to be promoted to the next 
grade. 
HB 2497 directs the State Board 

of Education to promulgate rules 
to exempt from state-mandated 
testing students facing exceptional 
emergency circumstances. The 
bill allows certain good-cause 
exemptions to be applied to students 
who were previously retained in 
prekindergarten for academic 
reasons. The measure directs the 
Department of Education to conduct 
a study of reading instruction and 
the retention of third-grade students 
based on state-administered reading 
assessments. The department will 
aggregate the data and report the 
findings to the Governor and the 
Legislature by December 31, 2015, and 
each year thereafter. Once the report 
has been issued, the department will 
disseminate a compilation of best 
practices to all public schools.

Responding to concerns regarding a 
lack of transparency within and the 
appearance of arbitrary decision-
making by the Oklahoma Secondary 
Schools Activities Association, HB 
2730 was enacted. The measure 
prohibits any public school or district 
from being a member of a school 
athletic association, unless the 
association has adopted a written 
policy that abides by the Oklahoma 
Open Records Act and the Oklahoma 
Open Meetings Act. The measure 
requires an annual financial and 
compliance audit be conducted in 
accordance with the Oklahoma 
Public School Audit Law and that a 
performance audit be conducted by 
December 31, 2014, and by December 
31 every five years thereafter.
SB 436 permits the State Department 
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of Education to establish Regional 
Education Administrative Districts 
in order to provide administrative 
services to school districts throughout 
the state. The department will 
supply information to school districts 
about what may be provided by the 
regional administrative districts 
and will provide support to any 
regional or interlocal cooperative 
providing services to eligible districts. 
Additionally, regional administrative 
districts may receive financial support 
from school districts and the State 
Board of Education will determine 
applicable fees for services. Finally, 
the bill provides that districts 
that enter into a contract to share 
a superintendent will receive a 
discounted fee for participating in a 
regional administrative district.
In an effort to promote partnerships 
between education and industry, SB 
1181 provides criteria for designation 
as a science, technology, education 
and math (STEM) community or 
STEM region, and outlines the 
process for designation.
A related measure, SB 1653, adds 
a STEM block course to the list of 
eligible courses to meet math and 
science academic competencies. The 
measure also adds the tenth-grade 
level for math and science courses 
taken at a technology center school 
to meet math and science academic 
competencies. Lastly, the Department 
of Career and Technology Education 
must be consulted when a vocational-
technical course is designed to 
be offered at a technology school 
district. 
HB 2414 exempts students from the 
school attendance requirements of 
the Lindsey Nicole Henry Scholarship 
program if the student received 
services through the SoonerStart 
program under an Individual 
Service Plan and was evaluated and 
determined to be eligible for school 
services. Additionally, the measure 
specifies that requests to participate 
in the scholarship program made 
after December 1 will be granted, but 
funding will not be available until the 
next school year. 

SB 1422 directs the State Board of 
Education to approve an advanced 
placement computer science 
course to meet course competency 
requirements if the course is taken 
in a student’s senior year and the 
student is concurrently enrolled in, or 
has successfully completed, Algebra 
II.
HB 2921 recognizes Native American 
languages as a language art and is to 
be granted the same credit as a world 
language. 
HB 3006 limits agricultural education 
programs to students in grades 
eight through twelve and requires 
comprehensive school districts to offer 
these programs. Students enrolled in 
such a program must participate in 
a supervised agricultural experience 
project and districts must provide 
transportation services for all 
agricultural education programs and 
Future Farmers of America programs 
that are funded by the Department of 
Career and Technology Education. 
HB 1623 allows the board of education 
of each school district to provide 
suicide awareness and prevention 
training to staff and students in grades 
seven through twelve. Personnel 
will be immune from discipline and 
civil liability for communicating 
information in good faith concerning 
drug or alcohol abuse, a potential 
safety threat by or to any student 
to the parents or guardians of the 
student, law enforcement or health 
care providers. Employees must notify 
parents or guardians immediately 
if they determine that a student is 
at risk of attempting suicide. The 
measure authorizes school districts 
to enter into agreements with 
designated youth services agencies 
for the delivery of intervention and 
prevention services. 
Beginning with 2015-16 academic 
year, HB 1378 requires public 
schools to provide CPR training and 
automated external defibrillator 
awareness to high school students. 
The training must be provided at 
least once between the ninth and 
twelfth-grade years and be based 

upon an instructional program which 
is nationally recognized. Additionally, 
the measure permits school districts 
to enter into an interlocal or multi-
district cooperative agreement for 
the purpose of fulfilling the measures 
requirements.

Teachers

HB 2548 directs the Oklahoma 
Commission for Teacher Preparation 
to offer non-native-English-speaking 
teachers or teacher candidates a 
subject-area competency exam in 
their native language, provided they 
are employed or have been offered 
employment by a school district to 
teach in a foreign language immersion 
program. The measure directs the 
State Board of Education to issue a 
restricted license or certification to 
teachers that have passed an exam 
that will restrict them to teaching 
only in a foreign language immersion 
program. 
HB 2683 requires a bachelor’s 
degree from an accredited institution 
in order to receive a one-year 
provisional certificate to teach in 
the area of mild-moderate or severe-
profound disabilities and adds an 
additional requirement for the 
issuance of a standard certificate 
to teach in this area. An individual 
that holds a current provisional or 
standard certificate may satisfy the 
highly qualified teacher requirement 
for early childhood education or 
elementary education by passing the 
related exams. The measure provides 
that an individual must complete a 
teacher education program approved 
by the Oklahoma Commission for 
Teacher Preparation to obtain 
a standard certification in early 
childhood education or elementary 
education. 
HB 2885 requires the Commission 
for Teacher Preparation to work with 
the state regents and the various 
institutions of higher education to 
develop guidelines for a paid teacher 
internship program. Beginning with 
the 2014-15 academic year, school 
districts will have the option of 
participating in the State Department 
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of Education’s residency program; 
however, participation will be 
mandatory beginning with the 2015-
16 academic year. Finally, the bill 
directs the State Board of Education 
to conduct an educator supply-and-
demand study every three years. 
SB 1828 exempts data collected 
pursuant to the Teacher and Leader 
Effectiveness Evaluation System 
(TLE) from being subject to the 
Oklahoma Open Meeting Act or 
the Oklahoma Open Records Act. 
Authorized representatives of the 
State Department of Education 
and its contracting designees must 
maintain confidentially of all data 
collected or analyzed. Lastly, in 
addition to first-year teachers, the 
bill applies evaluations using only 
qualitative components of the TLE to 
second-year teachers. 
A related measure, HB 3173, requires 
that all records created pursuant to 
the TLE that identify a current or 
former employee be kept confidential 
and are not subject to disclosure 
under the Open Records Act. 

Career Technology

HB 3350 provides a career tech 
tuition waiver to any child of an 
Oklahoma peace officer, firefighter, 
emergency medical technician or 
member of the law enforcement 
retirement system whose parent 
was killed in the line of duty. The 
tuition waiver also applies to a child 
of a member of the law enforcement 
retirement system whose parent is 
disabled by means of personal or 
traumatic injury that occurred in the 
line of duty. The waiver is limited to 
five years and will be considered a 
service benefit for Oklahoma peace 
officers and firefighters.
SB 1661 transfers the responsibility 
for adult education from the State 
Department of Education to the 
Department of Career and Technology 
Education. The Department of 
Education will retain responsibility 
for issuing General Educational 
Development (GED) certificates. 
SB 1460 adds and modifies several 

definitions relating to private 
vocational schools and exempts 
several education, training and 
vocational programs from licensing 
requirements of the Oklahoma Board 
of Private Vocational Schools. The 
measure outlines the powers and 
duties of the board and provides 
that private schools must designate 
a main school location and their 
designations must mirror those used 
for federal funding or accreditation 
when applying for licensure or 
renewal. The need for licensure 
will be determined by the existing 
or proposed education or training 
program and other school attributes 
as specified by the Legislature or the 
board. The bill modifies initial and 
renewal license fees and provides 
for the assessment of late fees. In 
the event of closure, any school, 
seminar or workshop that ceases to 
offer all programs of instruction must 
provide the board with its plan for 
the permanent retention of student 
records. 

Higher Education

HB 2873 prohibits public colleges and 
universities from enforcing policies 
that would discriminate against or 
deny a religious student association 
any benefits available to any other 
student association because the 
association requires its members to:

• adhere to association’s sincerely 
held religious beliefs; 

• comply with the association’s 
sincere religious observance 
requirements; 

• comply with the association’s 
sincere religious standards of 
conduct; or 

• commit to furthering the 
association’s religious missions. 
The measure also allows the members 
of a religious student organization, 
who claim that their exercise of 
religion has been substantially 
burdened, to use the violation as 
a claim or defense in a judicial or 
administrative proceeding against 
the school. Substantially burdened 

means any action that constrains or 
inhibits conduct or expression that 
reflects a student’s sincerely held 
religious beliefs, denies a student an 
opportunity to engage in religious 
activities or pressures a student 
to engage in conduct or expression 
contrary to a sincerely held religious 
belief.
SB 1829 directs the Oklahoma State 
Regents for Higher Education to 
adopt a policy that allows a student 
who receives a full scholarship from 
the Air Force, Army or Navy/Marines 
Reserve Officers’ Training Corp to be 
eligible for resident tuition.
SB 1830 requires institutions within 
the Oklahoma State System of Higher 
Education to grant a leave of absence 
to military students called to active 
duty. The student will be eligible to 
withdraw and receive a full refund 
for all classes during the period of 
active duty service without penalty 
to their admission status or GPA and 
without loss of institutional financial 
aid. The bill limits the student’s leave 
of absence to a cumulative five years.
SB 1694 exempts the board of regents 
or employees of any university, 
college or other institution of 
higher learning from the notice and 
hearing requirements for individual 
proceedings contained within Article 
II of the Administrative Procedures 
Act.

Miscellaneous

HB 2354 repeals obsolete 
sections of law related to county 
superintendents. 
HB 2355 repeals obsolete teacher 
minimum salary schedules. 
HB 2356 repeals the Oklahoma 
School Deregulation Committee.
HB 2357 repeals obsolete sections of 
law regarding the Virtual Internet 
School in Oklahoma Network. 
HB 2358 repeals the Advancement 
of Hispanic Students in Higher 
Education Task Force.
HB 2359 repeals an obsolete section 
of law regarding an assessment of 
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the two comprehensive public higher 
education institutions in the state. 
HB 2360 repeals the Adult Literacy 
Services Advisory Committee. 
HB 2499 clarifies the procedures a 
school treasurer must follow when 
issuing a warrant by removing 
obsolete language.
HB 2571 stipulates that, upon release 
of a child from a Department of Mental 
Health and Substance Abuse Services 
facility, a child will be considered a 
resident of their originating school 
district for educational purposes. 
HB 2626 repeals a section of law 
concerning an application for transfer 
under the Education Open Transfer 
Act. 
HB 2639 amends provisions relating 
to the Commissioners of the Land 
Office. The measure authorizes the 
cash drawer fund to be used for the 
payment of emergency purchases and 
bills and requires that proper receipts 
be filed upon any withdrawal. The 
measure requires a record of any 
monies received through mail service 
be kept and a duplicate provided to 
the cashier of the land office who is 
responsible for updating financial 
records. 
HB 2682 allows school districts 
to purchase certificates of 

indebtedness through the funding 
of certain investments for the 
purposes of meeting obligations and 
expenditures.
HB 2938 requires the State Board of 
Education to promulgate rules that 
will allow teachers who pass the state 
vocal music certification test to teach 
piano courses. 
HB 3025 repeals the Post-secondary 
Oversight Council established by the 
State Regents for Higher Education 
and the State Board of Career and 
Technology Education.
HB 3243 extends the Oklahoma 
Advisory Council on Indian Education 
to July 1, 2020. 
HB 3333 repeals the Oklahoma 
Education Council. 
SB 1143 requires the Pledge of 
Allegiance to the United States flag 
be recited once every week in all 
public schools. 
SB 1295 allows school districts to 
determine the extent of student 
involvement in intruder drills.
SB 1331 requires the State 
Department of Education to report 
the academic performance of students 
who are in state custody. Additionally, 
the Passport Program for Children 
database must be made available 

to the Office of Juvenile Affairs 
(OJA) with access limited to student 
performance reports. The Passport 
Program contains educational, 
behavioral and health records in an 
accessible, electronic format for each 
child in the Department of Human 
Services custody.
SB 1461 requires charter schools 
to submit to the State Department 
of Education a statement of actual 
income and expenditures no later 
than September 1 of each year, for 
the preceding fiscal year. 
SB 1469 delays several instructional 
material education mandates until 
fiscal years ending June 30, 2015, 
and June 30, 2016. Additionally, the 
measure specifies which students will 
be included in the calculation of the 
four-year adjusted cohort graduation 
rate. 
SB 1655 deletes the requirement 
that school districts publish annual 
reports of the results of the Oklahoma 
School Testing Program.
SB 2059 repeals the Post-Secondary 
Oversight Council. 
SB 2060 repeals the Student Tracking 
and Reporting Pilot Program. 
SB 2061 repeals the State Council on 
Vocational Education. ■
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Energy & Utility 
Regulation

The Legislature addressed traditional 
energy infrastructure and alternative 
energy sources this session. In 
addition, the Legislature joined 
other states and municipalities by 
implementing policies that address 
rate parity among electric utility 
customers and ensure adequate 
water supply.
Following concerns over pipeline 
safety, HB 2533 authorizes the 
Corporation Commission to enforce 
the Oklahoma Underground Facilities 
Damage Prevention Act and directs 
the commission to address complaint 
processes, current enforcement 
powers, private rights-of-action 
and any other issue the commission 
determines necessary as related to 
pipeline safety.
SB 1418 directs the Corporation 
Commission to require oil and gas 
operators disposing of any oil field 
waste materials to report to the 
commission the source, volume and 
disposal site of the waste.
The Oklahoma Department of Labor 
will begin regulating compressed 
natural gas (CNG) fueling stations 
and implementing the Alternative 
Fuels Technician Certification Act 
under the provisions of HB 3297. 
The measure also modifies the clean-
burning motor vehicle tax credit. 
Rather than 50 percent of the cost of 
the vehicle being reimbursed to the 
consumer, 45 percent will go to the 
consumer with 5 percent of the cost 
going to the CNG Conversion Safety 
and Regulation Fund. 

SB 1438 exempts employees and 
contractors working on gas gathering 
pipelines and intrastate gas pipelines 
from the licensing requirements of 
the Mechanical Licensing Act.
SB 1581 reduces the membership of 
the Oklahoma Energy Initiative Board 
by removing the members appointed 
by the President Pro Tempore of 
the Senate and the Speaker of the 
House.
In an effort to reform the state’s net 
metering policies, SB 1456 requires 
that utilities seek approval from the 
Oklahoma Corporation Commission 
to increase the rates for customers 
who install distributed generation. 
The new tariff must be implemented 
by December 31, 2015, but it does not 
apply to customers with distributed 
generation installed before November 
1, 2014. Upon signing the measure, 
the Governor issued an executive 
order directing the Corporation 
Commission to consider alternatives 
to the new tariff, including time-of-
use rates, minimum bills and demand 
charges. 
HB 3102 amends the distribution of 
the fees collected through the Used 
Tire Recycling Act by removing the 
allocation cap for capital investment 
reimbursements to used tire facilities 
or tire-derived fuel facilities. The 
measure states that the Department 
of Environmental Quality may 
disburse allocations for these facilities 
after making other statute-mandated 
allocations to the Tax Commission 
and state auditor, among others. 
The agency may use excess money in 

the Used Tire Recycling Indemnity 
Fund to increase market demand for 
products made from the state’s used 
tires.
SB 78 modifies the 2011 Shale 
Reservoir Development Act 
by authorizing the Oklahoma 
Corporation Commission to allow 
multi-unit horizontal drilling in 
targeted reservoirs, in addition to 
shale. The measure defines targeted 
reservoir as shale reservoirs and the 
Marmaton supply, an oil-bearing 
limestone formation in Texas and 
Beaver counties.

SB 1215 requires the state Department 
of Transportation to be notified prior 
to utility line installation, relocation 
or crossing of highway rights-of-way. 
In addition, the measure authorizes 
counties to issue a one-time request 
for information regarding future 
installation of telephone lines, poles 
or wires.
SB 1510 creates a 
maximum reimbursement to 
telecommunications service providers 
of $.02 per month per Lifeline 
subscriber. The reimbursements 
are disbursed from the Oklahoma 
Lifeline Fund.

Distributed generation is the industry 

term for on-site electricity generation that 

is connected to the grid. The most common 

sources for distributed generation are solar 

panels and micro-turbines.
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HB 2652 modifies appeal practices for 
refinery facilities to reflect the July 
2013 consolidation of two executive 
cabinet positions into the Secretary 
of Energy and Environment.
HB 3349 creates two revolving funds 
within the Office of the Secretary 
of Energy and Environment: 
the Environmental Remediation 
Revolving Fund, supported by Natural 

Resources Damage Assessments, a 
federal process to assess the monetary 
cost of restoring natural resources 
after hazardous waste or oil spills; 
and the Environmental Programs 
Revolving Fund, which consists of 
all monies received by the secretary 
from appropriations, fees, charges, 
penalties and any other sources that 
are not designated for deposit to any 
other fund.

HB 3348 requires towers used for 
measuring wind speed, as part of 
the wind power generation process, 
to be marked, painted and flagged 
for clear visibility if it is at least 50 
feet tall. The Oklahoma Aeronautics 
Commission will be responsible for 
promulgating rules for these towers 
and for enforcement. ■
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General Government
The Legislature passed several 
measures affecting state, county 
and municipal governments. The 
most prominent measures dealt 
with minimum wage, state employee 
raises, state employee retirement 
and repairs to the Oklahoma State 
Capitol. In addition, members 
continued to address the disposition 
of underutilized state properties.

State Employees

Thousands of Oklahoma’s most 
under-compensated employees will 
receive a pay raise of either 6.25 or 
8 percent under the provisions of SB 
2131. The measure includes more 
than 7,000 employees performing 
core government services who, based 
on the findings of the 2013 Total 
Remuneration Study, are paid as 
much as 20 percent less than those 
with similar positions in the private 
sector. The Legislature’s goal is to 
raise all state employees’ salaries 
to 90 percent of the private market 
within four years. A related bill, 
HB 1794, prohibits the Legislature 
from considering a reduction in 
state employee benefits until 
the Legislature has approved an 
additional $60 million for future 
employee raises. 
HB 3293 creates the State Employee 
Compensation Program within the 
executive branch, which is established 
to attract, retain and reward quality 
employees with competitive total 
compensation based on relevant labor 
markets. The Office of Management and 
Enterprise Services (OMES) will coordinate 
the implementation of the program. 

HB 3337 modifies the Oklahoma 
Personnel Act by requiring that, 30 
days prior to a furlough period, an 
agency send a furlough notice to the 
director of OMES and the respective 
employee association. The measure 
does not apply when funding 
disruptions are caused by actions at 
the federal level.
HB 2397 modifies the State Travel 
Reimbursement Act by allowing a 
state employee to file a travel claim 
for costs associated with a direct 
purchase commercial airline ticket. 
The measure removes the current per 
diem cap of $36 and defaults to the 
maximum daily allowance authorized 
by the Internal Revenue Service. The 
measure adds that when a traveler 
has lodging provided at no cost to 
the state, he or she may claim $10 
lodging per diem in addition to meals 
and expenses. Finally, the measure 
applies the current 24-hour time 
limit for out-of-state travel to in-state 
travel.

State Capitol Building

The process of repairing the 
Oklahoma State Capitol was one of 
the Legislature’s top priorities this 
session and was achieved with the 
passage of HJR 1033. The measure 
authorizes the Oklahoma Capitol 
Improvement Authority to issue 
obligations not to exceed $120 million 
for the purposes of renovation and 
repair of the State Capitol. In order 
to reduce costs, the bonds are to be 
repaid over 10 years. Finally, the 
measure creates the State Capitol 
Repair Expenditure Oversight 

Committee to prepare and approve 
a programming plan for the repair of 
the building and requires the plan be 
submitted to the director of OMES by 
December 31, 2014.

State Government

Several measures make changes to 
state purchasing requirements.
HB 3087 modifies the Public 
Competitive Bidding Act by increasing 
the contract amount threshold for 
the Oklahoma Turnpike Authority 
from $500,000 to $750,000 during 
emergency declarations in which 
notice procedures are not required.
SB 1173 increases the exemption 
amount for purchase orders from 
$10,000 to $15,000 for required 
bidding purchases. The measure also 
increases the threshold amount from 
$5,000 to $10,000 for purchase orders 
for repairs. 
HB 3511 authorizes the use of a state 
purchase card for utilities and provides 
that the state purchase of regulated 
utility services is not subject to the 
provisions of the Central Purchasing 
Act, but is subject to each agency’s 
internal purchasing procedures.
HB 3251 modifies the Competitive 
Bidding Act of 1974 by increasing the 
threshold from $35,000 to $75,000 on 
notice and bids for contracts during 
an emergency.
Finally, SB 1719 modifies substitution 
requirements for sole-source purchase 
contracts by requiring that an item 
be substantially equivalent in quality 
and performance and only when the 
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cost is less.
The Legislature also modified how 
regulations relating to lobbyists 
are adopted. SB 1746 replaces 
statutory definitions related to 
lobbying with references to Ethics 
Commission rules and deletes 
certain statutory requirements 
related to lobbyist registration 
and reporting. Additionally, the 
measure repeals obsolete language 
relating to certain attorney general 
opinions and redundant statutory 
requirements regarding the filing of 
certain statements of contributions 
or expenditures that are already 
under the purview of the Ethics 
Commission.
SB 1728 modifies the Cash 
Management and Investment 
Oversight Commission by moving 
the responsibility for administrative 
support and staffing from the 
Legislative Service Bureau to 
OMES.

Municipalities and Counties

SB 1023 prohibits a municipality 
or subdivision from establishing a 
mandatory minimum number of 
vacation or sick days or a minimum 
wage rate which an employer would 
be required to pay or grant employees. 
The provisions of the measure do not 
apply to the minimum number of 
vacation or sick leave days authorized 
by a municipality for its employees as 
a benefit of employment.
HB 2620 creates the Protect Property 
Rights Act. The measure prohibits 
municipalities from registering real 
property; however, it does not prohibit 
a municipality from creating a list 
of the property owners or designees 
of property owners of residential, 
commercial or leased real property to 
ensure public safety. In addition, the 
bill declares an abandoned building 
to constitute a public nuisance and 
establishes procedures by which 
a municipal body can abate the 
nuisance.
Another measure dealing with 
municipal employees, SB 1858, 
addresses an aging and retiring 

municipal workforce by authorizing 
towns and cities to offer one or 
more health care plans to retired 
employees, supplementing or in place 
of traditional Medicare. Alternates or 
supplements could include a Medicare 
supplement plan, Medicare Part D 
drug coverage, a Medicare Advantage 
plan or another plan approved by the 
Centers for Medicare and Medicaid 
Services. In addition, the measure 
clarifies that eligibility for the 
supplement begins at age 65 or to 
those who are otherwise qualified for 
Medicare.
HB 3217 modifies the process 
under which members of a political 
subdivision may petition to conduct 
an audit of its books and records. 
The measure modifies the required 
number of petitioners from 25 percent 
of the total number of persons voting 
in the last subdivision-wide general 
election, to 25 percent of the total 
number of persons voting in the last 
general election.
In response to the findings of a 
2013 interim study, the Legislature 
passed HB 2951, which requires the 
Commission on County Government 
Personnel Education and Training 
to oversee professional development 
programs for training candidates for 
county office.
HB 3090 extends the hours that a 
property resale can take place when 
conducted by the county treasurer. 
The measure also prohibits the 
reassignment of excess proceeds from 
a resale to any person other than the 
record owner on file at the time the 
resale begins.
SB 711 modifies municipal 
annexation procedures. The measure 
requires that when a territory is to 
be annexed by a city or town includes 
land owned by a state beneficiary 
public trust, or that was previously 
owned and conveyed by a state public 
trust, the annexation will require the 
written consent of all members and 
transferees of the trust.
SB 1738 requires that sole-source 
county records be kept for a minimum 
of seven years.

SB 1511 clarifies that organizations 
created for the purpose of securing 
insurance benefits for a political 
subdivision are exempt from the 
current investment guidelines for 
county treasurers.
HB 2495 allows volunteer and full-
time fire departments to establish a 
schedule of fees for the use of their 
emergency services.
SB 1899 authorizes municipal 
governing bodies to permit human 
burial on the grounds of a public 
institution or private facility located 
within municipal boundaries. The 
measure prohibits the burial ground 
from being used for commercial 
cemetery purposes and prohibits 
burial sites on any private residential 
property.

Retirement

The Legislature continued its focus 
on reforming the state’s pension 
system and reducing the unfunded 
liability by passing major pension 
reform, including a measure that 
converts the state’s second largest 
pension system from a traditional 
defined benefit plan into a 401(k)-
style defined contribution plan.
Oklahoma Public Employees 
Retirement System (OPERS)

Perhaps the most significant measure 
affecting the state’s retirement system 
enacted in the last several years, 
HB 2630, creates the Retirement 
Freedom Act and requires OPERS 
to establish a defined contribution 
system for employees who are first 
employed on or after November 1, 
2015. Participants in the defined 
contribution plan must contribute 
3 to 7 percent of their salary to the 
system and the state will match the 
employee’s contribution. Participants 
have complete discretion over how 
the contributions are invested within 
the available options provided by 
OPERS. State employees are now 
fully responsible for any gains or 
losses in their retirement plan. 
Participants are vested with respect 
to the employer matching amounts 
according to the following schedule:
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Employer Matching Schedule
Year 1 — 20 percent
Year 2 — 40 percent
Year 3 — 60 percent
Year 4 — 80 percent

Year 5(+) — 100 percent

The measure provides that the 
employer is directed to make the 
required matching contribution 
amount for all employees that 
participate in the defined contribution 
system and to remit the difference 
between the amount paid and the 
amount the employer would have 
paid under a defined benefit plan in 
order to maintain the integrity of the 
existing defined benefit plan. The 
map below represents the locations of 

defined contribution initiatives since 
the economic crisis of 2008.
The measure exempts from the 
provisions of the measure correctional 
officers, probation and parole officers, 
and fugitive apprehensions agents, 
who are employed by the Department 
of Corrections. 
A related bill, SB 2120, exempts 
district attorneys and employees of 
the district attorney’s office, elected 
county officials and employees 
of county and city government, 
employees of conservation districts, 
circuit engineering districts or 
members of certain public or private 
trusts from participation in the 
defined contribution plan.
Oklahoma Teachers’ Retirement 
System (OTRS)

HB 2611 excludes clinical related 
activity performed for Oklahoma 
State University Center for Health 
Sciences from the definition of 
regular annual compensation as used 
by OTRS.
HB 2740 modifies the membership 
of the Board of Trustees under the 
Teachers’ Retirement System to 
include a representative of a statewide 
organization of retired educators, who 
will be a nonvoting member.
Oklahoma Law Enforcement 
Retirement System (OLERS)

Two measures made adjustments to 
OLERS. The first, SB 1710, prohibits 
after January 1, 2014, the age-
adjusted dollar limit applicable to a 
member from decreasing due to an 
increase in age or the performance 
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of additional services. The second, 
HB 2622, modifies the system’s 
amortization period from 40 years to 
15 years in order to better reflect the 
financial health of the system.
Oklahoma Police Pension and 
Retirement System
SB 212 relates to the Oklahoma Police 
Pension and Retirement System. The 
measure:

• requires that any contribution 
overpayment to the system by a 
municipality or member through a 
mistake in fact be refunded by the 
system; 

• prohibits the system from 
paying the municipality earnings 
attributable to the overpayment and 
requires the system to reduce the 
amount returned to the municipality 
by the amount of losses attributable 
to the contribution;

• clarifies the method for 

calculating a retirement annuity for 
a member terminating employment 
prior to normal retirement date by 
inserting the word annualized before 
the words final average salary; and

• clarifies the limitation of benefits 
by providing that the age-adjusted 
dollar limit applicable to a member 
will not decrease on account of an 
increase in age or the performance of 
additional services.
Oklahoma Firefighters Pension and 
Retirement System
SB 2024 modifies the system 
by clarifying the calculation for 
retirement benefits for those who 
have vested in the system but have 
not reached normal retirement date. 
The measure also clarifies which 
members are eligible to retroactively 
participate in the deferred option 
plan. The measure modifies the start 
date for amortization of the unfunded 
liability from 2003 to 2014. Finally, 

the bill modifies the age certain 
firefighters are eligible to retire to 67 
for those who first enter the system 
on or after November 1, 2013.
The following graph shows the funded 
ratio of each of the state’s retirement 
systems.

Government Modernization 

HB 3050 prohibits state entities from 
transferring real property without 
prior approval from the Long-Range 
Capital Planning Commission and 
allows the commission to reverse real 
property transfers that have occurred 
without prior approval. The Oklahoma 
Department of Transportation and 
the Oklahoma Turnpike Authority are 
exempt from this provision. Proceeds 
from any approved transfer resulting 
in the sale of the property must be 
deposited within the Maintenance of 
State Buildings Revolving Fund. 
The measure also authorizes the 

57.2 58.8

77.6

86.9 87
89.3

97.3

0

20

40

60

80

100

120

State Pension Systems

S ta te  P e n s io n  S y s te m s ’ F u n d e d  R a tio s  
(b y  p e rc e n ta g e )

Oklahoma Teachers Retirement
System

Oklahoma Firefighters Pension
and Retirement System

Wildlife Conservation Retirement
Plan

Oklahoma Law Enforcement
Retirement System

Oklahoma Public Employees
Retirement System

Oklahoma Police Pension and
Retirement System

Uniform Retirement System for
Justices and Judges



General Government | 22

director of Office of Management and 
Enterprise Services (OMES) to make 
recommendations to the commission 
for the liquidation of underutilized 
properties that have environmental 
issues, create liability for the state, or 
create expenses that make continued 
ownership undesirable, and the 
property has been previously offered 
through two unsuccessful public 
auctions or sealed bids. The measure 
authorizes the commission to approve 
of liquidation and for OMES to accept 
a bid of less than 90 percent market 
value. 
HB 2669 allows a third party to 
conduct the required state agency 
information security risk assessment 
if an agency does not have an internal 
expert to conduct the assessment. 
The measure directs OMES to 
approve at least two firms that state 
agencies can choose from to conduct 
the assessment and requires agencies 
with an information technology 
system to submit the assessment to 
OMES by December 1 each year.
HB 2912 deletes the requirement 
that state agencies report to 
OMES reallocation decisions for 
classified and unclassified positions 
and adjustments to pay grades 
or salary assignments for job 
classes in the unclassified service. 
Likewise, the measure removes the 
requirement that agencies report the 
establishment of any new classified 
or unclassified positions that have 
not been specifically authorized by 
the Legislature. 
HB 2909 modifies the comprehensive 
professional risk management 
program by removing workers’ 
compensation insurance as an 
exception to requirements of the 
program.
HB 2908 modifies the report 
regarding services cost performance 
assessments published by the director 
of OMES to include the amount of 
each state agency’s cost for providing 
shared services.

Elections

SB 1693 modifies the date by which 

a county election board or the State 
Election Board must be notified of 
the name of an alternative candidate 
following the death of a party’s 
nominee. If notice is not received as 
required, the name of the alternative 
candidate will not appear on the 
ballot for that office. If the death 
occurs after the Friday following the 
primary runoff, the election will take 
place with the candidate’s name on the 
ballot. The measure also establishes 
similar provisions for independent 
candidates. 
SB 1744 modifies definitions 
related to campaign contributions 
and expenditures, removes the 
statutory contribution limits for 
political party committees, political 
action committees and candidate 
committees and instead references 
limits established by the Ethics 
Commission rules. The measure 
also prohibits labor unions, limited 
liability companies and partnerships 
from making contributions to a 
political party committee, political 
action committee or a candidate 
committee except as allowed by law 
or Ethics Commission rules.
SB 1745 creates the Local 
Government Campaign and Financial 
Disclosure Act and other campaign 
and disclosure directives for counties, 
municipalities, technology center 
districts and school districts. The 
measure requires campaigns to 
make disclosure documents available 
locally to be more accessible to the 
electorate.
The bill also directs the Ethics 
Commission to establish the Political 
Subdivisions Enforcement Division 
and authorizes the Executive Director 
of the Ethics Commission to employ 
staff, or contract for services to be 
performed by the division, or both.
Further, the bill creates the 
Political Subdivisions Enforcement 
Revolving Fund to consist of all funds 
appropriated by the Legislature 
and all late filing fees, fines from 
settlement agreements and fines 
assessed by the District Court for 
violations of the County Campaign 

Finance and Disclosure Act. The 
measure directs the State Treasurer 
to annually transfer to the General 
Revenue Fund any funds in excess of 
$150,000. At any time that the fund 
drops below $100,000 the executive 
is authorized to halt enforcement 
activities until the amount surpasses 
$100,000.
HB 2576 provides that the statutory 
restrictions on the notarizing of 
absentee ballots only apply to elections 
conducted by a county election board 
or the State Election Board. 
HB 2199 repeals the statutory 
restriction on anonymous campaign 
literature.

Miscellaneous

HB 2375 recodifies language relating 
to the former Union Soldiers’ Home.
HB 2376 repeals statutes which 
placed all property of the Oklahoma 
Confederate Home and the Southern 
Oklahoma Hospital under the control 
of the War Veterans Commission.
HB 2379 authorizes the use of 
Internet auctions to sell property that 
has been forfeited to the state. 
HB 2903 defines local laws and 
special laws as the terms are used in 
the state Constitution and provides 
that all case law contrary to the 
meaning of these terms, as defined, is 
null and void.
HB 3276 authorizes the secretary of 
state to display a replica of the state 
Constitution and other historically 
significant documents in the Capitol 
and to find an alternate secure location 
on state property for the preservation 
or exhibition of the original state 
Constitution if displaying it in the 
Capitol would place the document at 
risk for damage due to environmental 
factors.
HB 3334 repeals the Southern 
Growth Policies Agreement.
HB 3542 transfers responsibility for 
purchasing and distributing copies of 
the statutes and session laws from 
the chief clerk of the House to the 
secretary of state.
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SB 1206 authorizes any person who 
is licensed to operate a snack bar or 
vending facility in the Capitol complex 
to contract for additional catering 
services during the legislative 
session. 
SB 1254 establishes a set of criteria 
to be used to determine whether 
certain state properties should be 
sold, leased or redeveloped.
SB 1773 extends the effective date 

of the Oklahoma Tourism and 
Recreation Department Capital 
Expenditure Revolving Fund to July 
1, 2016. The fund consists of monies 
from gross production tax revenues 
to be expended for one-time capital 
expenditures for capital assets 
owed, managed or controlled by the 
Oklahoma Tourism and Recreation 
Department.
SB 2122 merges duplicate sections 

of law enacted during the 2013 
legislative session.
SJR 33 puts to a vote of the people a 
proposed amendment to the Oklahoma 
Constitution clarifying that, while 
those holding office in another state 
or in the federal government may not 
hold public office in Oklahoma, this 
does not apply to officers or enlisted 
members of the armed forces. ■
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Health & Human 
Services

This session the Legislature took 
action on several health-related topics 
including prohibiting the furnishing of 
vapor products to minors, authorizing 
direct access to physical therapists 
and allowing prior authorization 
for hepatitis C drugs in the state’s 
Medicaid program. Additionally, the 
Legislature provided funding for the 
implementation of year three of the 
Pinnacle Plan, took additional steps 
to protect children from abuse and 
neglect, provided an alternative to 
traditional foster care for families 
in crisis and took steps to help move 
children in state custody more quickly 
into permanency.
SB 1602 defines vapor products 
and stipulates that FDA-approved 
products are not considered vapor 
products. Stores that violate the 
law and fail to pay the associated 
fine will have their sales tax permit 
suspended. Vapor products are 
prohibited within 300 feet of any 
playground, school or other facility 
that is primarily used by minors. 
Political subdivisions are prohibited 
from enacting any ordinance or 
order that regulates vapor products. 
However, a subdivision retains its 
authority over zoning or enforcement 
of a fire code.

Health Professions

After several previous attempts to 
pass legislation that would allow 
patients to self-refer to physical 
therapy, the Legislature enacted HB 
1020. The measure permits physical 
therapists to evaluate and treat a 
patient for up to 30 days without a 

referral from a physician. With its 
passage, Oklahoma became the 49th 
state to allow consumers some form 
of direct access.
SB 1789 permits optometrists to 
issue a prescription for hydrocodone 
for a period not to exceed five days 
and requires a physical examination 
of the patient prior to the prescription 
being refilled.
HB 2603 directs the medical board 
to prepare an annual brochure 
and online presentation for health 
care providers regarding their 
responsibilities and rights under 
the Hydration and Nutrition for 
Incompetent Patients Act, the 
Nondiscrimination in Treatment Act, 
the Oklahoma Advance Directive Act, 
the Oklahoma Do-Not-Resuscitate 
Act and the Assisted Suicide 
Prevention Act. The measure directs 
the board to make the brochure and 
presentation available on the board’s 
website and to provide the brochure 
to practitioners. Finally, the bill 
directs the medical board to prepare 
a disclosure statement to inform 
patients of their rights.
SB 1699 recreates the state Board of 
Licensed Social Workers to continue 
until July 1, 2018. The measure 
modifies licensure requirements for 
social workers including that in the 
event the applicant is not able to pass 
their licensure exam during their first 
provisional year, or two subsequent 
approval years, the applicant cannot 
reapply for licensure until they 
have completed an additional 4,000 
hours of supervised practice. Upon 

completion of supervision, the board 
is authorized to approve up to two 
additional years of examination 
testing. If an applicant fails to pass 
the exam after five approval years, 
they will permanently lose their 
ability to apply for licensure. 
SB 1262 removes the requirement 
that a licensed practical nurse 
applicant have a high school diploma 
or equivalent. 
HB 2554 directs the Board of Nursing 
to develop program guidelines to 
facilitate the transition of veterans 
with prior military medical training 
and experience into nursing 
programs. 
HB 2674 establishes a state resident 
training license for osteopathic 
medical school graduates during their 
internship or first postgraduate year. 
The license expires after one year and 
is nonrenewable, unless specifically 
approved by the Board of Osteopathic 
Examiners. A resident may apply 
for prescribing privileges from state 
or federal authorities if approved by 
their resident training program. 
 SB 1664 increases the maximum 
award amount under the dental loan 
repayment program from $25,000 
to $50,000. The measure requires 
nonfaculty general practice dentists 
participating in the program to 
provide care and services in an 
underserved area. The measure 
exempts licensed pediatric dentistry 
specialists, or dentists who practice in 
a federally qualified health center or 
county health department. The map 
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below shows the areas of the state 
most underserved by dental health 
professionals.
SB 1398 authorizes the state Board of 
Licensed Alcohol and Drug Counselors 
and the Board of Behavioral Health 
Licensure to recognize a foreign 
applicant for licensure as an alcohol 
and drug counselor, licensed 
professional counselor or a behavioral 
practitioner, if the applicant can 
provide acceptable documentation 
relating to their degree and any 
other requirement the boards deem 
necessary. 
HB 2100 requires a pharmacy benefits 
manager (PBM) to obtain a license 
from the insurance department. A 
PBM is responsible for facilitating 
prescription drug benefits to covered 
individuals within the state, including 
negotiating pricing and other terms 
with drug manufacturers and 
providers. The measure authorizes 

the department to establish a fee for 
licensure and to levy administrative 
fines and penalties for noncompliance. 
Finally, the measure stipulates the 
terms of the contract between a PBM 
and a provider of prescription drugs.

Abortion

The Legislature passed three abortion-
related measures this session. The 
first, SB 1848 requires an abortion 
facility to have a physician on the 
premises who has admitting privileges 
at a nearby general medical surgical 
hospital that offers obstetrical or 
gynecological care. The measure also 
requires the state Board of Health 
to establish standards for abortion 
facilities. An abortion facility must 
notify the board if a patient or child 
born-alive is injured in a facility. In 
the event of a patient’s death, the 
facility must notify the board no later 
than the next business day. 

HB 2685 requires that a physician 
inform a patient seeking an abortion 
because the unborn child has a life-
threatening condition that perinatal 
hospice is an available alternative 
to abortion. The bill requires the 
state Board of Medical Licensure 
and Supervision to publish materials 
regarding the availability of perinatal 
hospice and palliative care and to 
develop a website containing the 
information. Finally, the measure 
directs the board to develop a new 
reporting form for physicians to fill 
out that will specify the number 
of patients who were provided 
with perinatal hospice information 
and the number of abortions 
performed without being provided 
the information due to emergency 
circumstances.
Lastly, HB 2684, defines Mifeprex 
regimen and requires that patients 
receiving Mifeprex be provided the 
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Food and Drug Administration-
approved (FDA) medication guide 
and final printed labeling. 

Miscellaneous Health

HB 2384 deletes the restriction on 
the Oklahoma HealthCare Authority 
applying prior authorization protocols 
on hepatitis C drugs. This change is 
due in part to the increasing cost of 
hepatitis C treatment. 
HB 2444 authorizes a city-county 
health department to develop a 
Wellness Council and to establish a 
Wellness Council Program Fund. 
HB 2791 authorizes the secretary 
of the Board of Medical Licensure 
and Supervision to issue subpoenas 
during the course of an investigation 
and provides that complying with 
a subpoena will not be considered 
a violation of any state or federal 
confidentiality laws.
HB 2831 authorizes the Board of 
Mental Health and Substance Abuse 
Services to sell a specific tract of 
land located in Cleveland County 
to help fund tangible infrastructure 
improvements that benefit those 
served by the department. The bill 
prohibits the department from selling 
real property to fund prevention, 
mental health or addiction treatment 
services. 
HB 2906 directs the Oklahoma Health 
Care Authority to study ER diversion 
models for Medicaid enrollees and 
explore additional options for cost 
containment and delivery. The 
authority must present its findings 
to the chair and vice chair of the 
Senate Health and Human Services 
Committee and the House Public 
Health Committee by December 31, 
2014.
HB 2974 makes not-for-profit 
mental health and substance abuse 
facilities eligible to receive a free 
telecommunications line, in the 
same manner as those provided to 
not-for-profit hospitals and health 
departments, to support telemedicine, 
clinical and health consultation 
services.

HB 2977 clarifies the definitions of 
hospital and not-for-profit hospital, as 
used to determine eligibility to receive 
free telecommunications lines.
SB 1218 renames health care facility 
to health care entity to maintain 
consistency with the Federal 
Affordable Access to Health Care Act. 
A health care entity will be considered 
any entity directly involved in the 
delivery of health care services that 
engages in a credentialing or peer 
review process.
SB 1377 requires an acute psychiatric 
care facility to notify the local school 
district within 11 days of admission 
that a student is its care so the district 
can provide educational services to 
the child.
SB 1448 stipulates that death 
certificates will be considered public 
information 75 years after the 
death, and birth certificates will be 
considered public information 125 
years after the birth.
SB 1788 establishes civil penalties 
of $100 to $2,500 for individuals who 
practice optometry without a license. 

SB 1792 adds a licensed 
ophthalmologist to the Infant and 
Children’s Health Advisory Council. 
SB 1853 changes the term ambulatory 
service center to ambulatory surgical 
center, as it is used in reference to 
the tumor registry established by the 
state commissioner of health. 

Children and Families

Of the total amount appropriated to 
DHS for FY 2015, HB 3523 directs 
that $92.9 million be used to fund 
phase one, two and three of the 
Pinnacle Plan, which is the result 
of the 2012 settlement of the class 
action lawsuit brought against the 
agency and to fund pay increases for 
child welfare workers. The graph on 
the following page shows funding for 
the Pinnacle Plan since its inception. 
In response to the high profile death 
of Quinten Douglas Wood, a severely 
developmentally disabled teen, whose 
neglect had been reported to DHS, HB 
3469 was enacted. The bill requires 
the department to give special 
consideration to the risks of any 
child who is unable to communicate 

Goals of Pinnacle Plan Year 3

• Continuation of the foster care recruitment public/private partnership

• Develop online application process for foster parents

• Increase post-adoption services delivery

• Medical passport distribution

• Create statewide matching process for children needing placement

• Provide trauma-based training for foster parents

• Create additional foster parent support groups

• Improve communication and technology in county offices

• Develop structured interview and assessment tool

• Eliminate secondary workers statewide

• Field training for new child welfare staff

• Job-level competency assessment for child welfare field staff

• Center on Child and Neglect Interdisciplinary program

• Intensive case management services for older youth with permanency challenges

• Evaluate family engagement and collaboration

• Expand systems of care

Source: Department of Human Services
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effectively about any abuse or neglect 
that they may be suffering or who is 
vulnerable because of the inability to 
communicate. 
HB 2585 allows any party to file an 
application for an emergency hearing 
that demonstrates harm to the health, 
safety or welfare of a child who is the 
subject of a deprived child proceeding. 
If the court does not conduct a hearing 
within 72 hours, the party who filed 
that application can present it to the 
presiding judge who must conduct a 
hearing within 24 hours of receiving 
the application.
HB 2536 allows a parent or guardian 
to execute a power of attorney to 
delegate the care and custody of 
their child to another person for a 
period of up to one year. The measure 
exempts such an arrangement from 
the statutory requirements related to 
child care facilities licensing, foster 
care services and the requirements 
for persons or agencies that receive 
custody of a child pursuant to the 
Oklahoma Children’s Code.
HB 2130 modifies the conditions 
under which parental rights can 
be terminated to include a finding 
by the court that there has been a 
substantial erosion of the parent-child 
relationship due to serious neglect, 
abuse or exploitation, or a prolonged 

absence of the parent or unreasonable 
failure by the parent to maintain 
contact with the child; a finding that 
a child who is 4 years of age or older 
has been in DHS custody for 15 of the 
most recent 22 months and the child 
cannot be safely returned home; or a 
finding that a child who is younger 
than 4 years of age has been in DHS 
custody for six of the preceding 12 
months and cannot be safely returned 
home. A similar measure, HB 2667, 
modifies the list of crimes under 
which a district attorney is required 
to file a motion to terminate the rights 
of a parent that has been convicted of 
certain crimes regarding the neglect, 
abuse, endangerment, exploitation, 
voluntary manslaughter or murder of 
a child or of felony assault, voluntary 
manslaughter or murder of the 
child’s other parent. The measure 
also requires the district attorney 
to file a petition for termination no 
later than 90 days if a parent has not 
made measurable progress on the 
individualized service plan ordered 
by the court.
HB 3472 prohibits a court, in private 
custody proceedings, from awarding 
custody or guardianship of a child 
to a person who has been convicted 
of certain crimes regarding the 
abuse, endangerment, exploitation of 
children or of first-degree rape.

HB 3473 specifies that Oklahoma 
Commission on Children and Youth 
(OCCY) include in its report of a child 
death or near death confirmation as to 
whether previous reports of suspected 
child abuse or neglect have been 
made concerning the alleged victim 
of death or near death or against 
the person responsible for the child 
and provides that any statements or 
gestures by DHS expressing apology 
or sympathy relating to the injury or 
death of a child are inadmissible as 
evidence of liability.
SB 1182 authorizes DHS to utilize 
active or retired social work, medical 
and law enforcement professionals 
to assist child welfare workers 
responding to a report of child abuse 
or neglect.
Two measures deal with the rights of 
foster parents:
SB 1793 modifies the procedures for 
handling a grievance filed by a foster 
parent against an employee of DHS 
by directing that the Office of Juvenile 
System Oversight (OJSO) within 
OCCY receive the complaint and 
then work with the Office of Client 
Advocacy (OCA) within DHS to ensure 
that the complaint is investigated and 
resolved. The measure requires that 
the OCA resolve grievances within 60 
days of receiving the complaint and 
to notify all foster parents about the 
grievance procedures and how to file 
a complaint. Finally, the measure 
directs OJSO and OCA to compile 
an annual report for the Legislature 
detailing the number and nature of 
complaints received and resolved. 
HB 3475 provides that foster parents 
have the right to receive a copy of the 
liability insurance policy that DHS 
maintains for every department-
contracted foster home placement.
HB 1384 creates the Parents’ Bill 
of Rights which outlines the rights 
of parents to direct the upbringing 
of their children, including making 
health care decisions and consenting 
prior to various tests or procedures 
being administered or recordings 
made. The measure delineates 
responsibilities of boards of education 
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to develop policies to promote the 
involvement of parents in various 
facets of their children’s education. 
The bill makes a violation of certain 
provisions a misdemeanor.
SB 1937 requires DHS to provide an 
annual credit report to youth in its 
custody.
SB 1779 requires the court to appoint 
a guardian ad litem to represent a 
child who is 2 years of age or older in 
a proceeding to disprove the father-
child relationship prior to ruling on a 
motion for genetic testing. 
SB 1993 provides that the mother 
of a child born out of wedlock is 
equally responsible for the expenses 
of providing for the child as the 
father and specifies that previous 
unpaid child support is not affected 
by adoption of the child. The measure 
also decreases the limit on liability 
for back child support that can be 
imposed on the father from five years 
to two years preceding the action to 
establish child support.
HB 2604 provides that an adoption 
proceeding can be brought in the 
county where a termination of 
parental rights proceeding took 
place.
Two measures deal with fraud and 
misuse of public assistance. SB 1706 
establishes penalties for persons who 
violate the prohibition against using 
a Temporary Assistance for Needy 
Families (TANF) benefit card in a 
liquor store, gaming establishment or 
adult-oriented business as follows: the 
first violation results in a 25 percent 
reduction in the TANF payment for 
three months; a second violation 
results in a 35 percent reduction for 
six months; a third violation results 
in 50 percent reduction for 12 months 
and subsequent violations result in 
the individual being permanently 
ineligible for TANF benefits. The 
second measure, HB 2587, creates 
a more comprehensive definition of 
trafficking in food stamps.

Elderly and Long-Term Care

SB 1536 requires hospitals to 

give each patient or patient’s legal 
guardian an opportunity to designate 
a lay caregiver who will provide 
after-care assistance to the patient 
following discharge from the hospital 
and directs that a hospital consult 
with the caregiver to prepare him or 
her to meet the aftercare needs of the 
patient and to issue a discharge plan 
that describes those needs. 
SB 1874 requires that any long-
term care policy issued under the 
Oklahoma Long-Term Care Insurance 
Partnership Program provide annual 
inflation protection for policy holders 
younger than 61 years of age of at 
least 3 percent per year compounded 
annually or a rate based upon changes 
in the Consumer Price Index (CPI). 
The measure also requires policies 
to provide inflation protection for 
policy holders 61-76 years of age of 
at least 3 percent simple or a rate 
based on the annual CPI. 
SB 1455 requires life care 
communities to include open 
admission on 50 percent of their 
nursing care beds.
SB 1450 requires the nursing home 
survey team from the state health 
department to discuss the team’s 
observations and preliminary 
findings with the nursing facility’s 
personnel. The measure also requires 
that the facility be provided a written 
list of potential noncompliance with 
state requirements that indicate actual 
harm or substandard quality of care 
and that additional noncompliance 
found during the review of inspection 
notes, or in the course of preparing 
the final report, be communicated to 
the facility’s personnel before issuing 
the report.

Miscellaneous Children and 
Families

HB 2241 provides that a county 
juvenile bureau is responsible for 
providing juvenile justice services 
to children and families within its 
county and authorizes the Supreme 
Court to employ up to 10 full-time 
juvenile case managers in Fiscal 
Year 2014 and an additional five case 

managers in Fiscal Year 2015. 
HB 2586 requires a one-year trial 
period for any Department of Human 
Services employee who transfers to 
become a Child Welfare Specialist.
SB 1216 authorizes the DHS Citizen 
Advisory Panels to meet, no more than 
six times per year, at their discretion 
to solicit input from department 
employees, persons receiving services 
from the department and community 
stakeholders and requires that the 
meetings comply with the provisions 
of the Open Meetings Act. The 
measure also modifies the duties of 
the panels to include identifying areas 
of program or service improvement 
and reporting them to the director. 

SB 1449 authorizes DHS to contract 
with designated youth services 
agencies or child-placing agencies 
for the management and operation 
of the children’s shelters in Tulsa 
and Oklahoma City and for the 
management and operation of group 
homes for foster children.
SB 1965 exempts contracts 
between DHS and designated Youth 
Services Agencies for the provision 
of community-based services for 
children alleged or adjudicated 
deprived from the provisions of the 
Oklahoma Central Purchasing Act.
SB 2057 repeals the Advantage 
Waiver and Developmental Disability 
Services Rate Review Committee.
SB 2088 gives group homes the same 
rights as foster parents throughout 
the various stages of a deprived-child 
proceeding. ■

In 2012, the Legislature authorized the 
Governor to select the director of DHS and 
established four citizen advisory panels 
to provide input and feedback regarding 
agency programs and administration to the 
director. That same year, voters approved 
a constitutional amendment repealing the 
Commission for Human Services that had 
been the governing body of the agency and 
responsible for hiring the director.
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New rules affecting HMOs and the 
Affordable Care Act in Oklahoma 
highlight this session’s insurance 
legislation.
HB 3286 requires navigators 
operating under the Patient 
Protection and Affordable Care 
Act to register with the insurance 
commissioner. The measure requires 

navigators to comply with any rules 
the commissioner deems necessary. 
Registration as a navigator does 
not constitute licensing under the 
Oklahoma Producer Licensing Act. 
The map below shows the type of 
marketplace serving each state, 
and which states with federal 
marketplaces have similar restrictions 

on navigators. The measure bars 
navigators from:

• providing advice about which 
health plan is better or worse for a 
particular individual;

• recommending a plan; receiving 
commission or anything of value 
from insurers, plans, businesses or 

Insurance
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consumers for navigator activities;
• soliciting door-to-door;
• soliciting any person known to 

already be insured;
• engaging in voter registration 

while performing navigator duties;
• providing false or misleading 

information; and
• violating applicable insurance 

laws.
Several states allow nonprofit health 
maintenance organizations (HMOs). 
HB 3280 authorizes nonprofit HMOs 
to operate in Oklahoma. The measure 
provides that nonprofit HMOs may 
be publicly or privately owned and 
existing HMOs may apply to the 
insurance commissioner for nonprofit 
certification and status. 
HB 3282 repeals the Health Insurance 
High Risk Pool, established for 
individuals who were denied health 
insurance coverage due to preexisting 
conditions. Federal health care 
reform has rendered the program 
unnecessary. Policies in Oklahoma’s 
high risk pool ceased to be available 
on June 1, 2014, and all remaining 
policies terminate on December 31, 
2014. The pool’s board of directors 
must submit a plan for dissolving the 
pool to the insurance commissioner 
by October 1, 2014.
HB 2190 requires health benefit 
plans, on or after January 1, 2015, to 
utilize prior authorization forms for 
obtaining any prior authorization for 
prescription drug benefits. The bill 
specifies that a form cannot exceed 
three pages in length; however, a 
health benefit plan may customize 
the content of the form specific to 
the prescription drug for which prior 
authorization is required.
HB 2929 sets up tighter restrictions 
on distribution and use of funds from 
the estate of an insolvent insurer. 
Claimants may not receive any 
distribution in cases of intentional 
wrongdoing, fraud, negligence, or being 
found to have caused or contributed to 
the insurer’s insolvency. In addition, 
a claimant may not receive funds that 

were collected from the claimant in a 
separate claim made or brought by 
the receiver of the company. Punitive 
damages recovered by the insurance 
company’s receiver may be ineligible 
for distribution to claimants as well. 
Lastly, the bill provides that any funds 
left in the estate after all valid claims 
have been honored may be used by 
the insurer’s receiver to rehabilitate 
or liquidate other insurers.
HB 2994 clarifies that the State 
Insurance Commissioner Revolving 
Fund will not receive any monies 
collected for or received from the 
Workers’ Compensation Commission. 
The measure also allows a carrier 
to renew its insurance and workers’ 
compensation certifications at the 
insurance department at the same 
time.
SB 1319 is the annual Oklahoma 
Insurance Department omnibus 
bill. Some provisions of the measure 
include:

• the deadline for insurers’ annual 
market conduct statements has been 
moved from the last day of June. The 
National Association of Insurance 
Commissioners deadline will be used 
instead;

• document filing fees are clarified 
and simplified;

• the insurance commissioner may 
now require any filing or fee to be 
submitted electronically;

• funds will now be deposited 
directly with the insurance 
department rather than the state 
treasurer; and 

• an annuity sold to someone 
over the age of 70 may not have a 
surrender charge that exceeds 10 
years.
Every year, the insurance 
commissioner calculates all contracts 
and obligations of every insurance 
company doing business in Oklahoma. 
SB 2045 changes this valuation 
process. The model valuation system 
from the National Association 
of Insurance Commissioners is 
adopted, to move from a formula-

based system to a principle-based 
calculation of reserves. The change 
will be implemented when at least 42 
states with 75 percent of the United 
States insurance premiums adopt the 
revisions.
HB 2928 reforms certain rules 
pertaining to bail bondsmen by 
increasing from $200 to $1,000 
the annual license renewal fee for 
multicounty agent bondsmen and 
requires them to provide annual 
financial statements to the Insurance 
Department. The affidavit required 
of all new bondsmen must now certify 
that they do not owe any fees to the 
department, who may now impose 
stricter penalties for false statements 
on these affidavits. Finally, the 
measure requires law enforcement to 
provide a list of all licensed bondsmen 
to any incarcerated person.
SB 1843 changes the amount of time 
a temporary license plate issued for 
failure to comply with the Compulsory 
Insurance Law is valid from 10 
working days to 10 calendar days.
SB 1873 authorizes the insurance 
commissioner to promulgate rules 
to establish further disclosure 
requirements for surplus lines 
insurance contracts and clarifies 
when a surplus line insurer can be 
used.
SB 2026 provides that an interlocal 
entity created pursuant to the terms 
of the Governmental Tort Claims Act 
is not considered an insurer even 
if it receives aggregate premiums 
totaling $1 million in a 12 month 
period. However, if the entity receives 
premiums from an Oklahoma 
educational institution it must have 
an independent annual audit and file 
the report within 180 days following 
the close of the entity’s fiscal year.
Road hazard coverage and certain 
related services are now included in 
the definition of a service warranty 
following passage of SB 1923. 
Maintenance service contracts and 
motor service club contracts are 
excluded from the definition. The 
measure also amends the Vehicle 
Protection Product Act to clarify that 
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it does not apply to service contract 
providers licensed under the Service 
Warranty Act.
HB 2406 changes the selection 
process for the Board of Directors of 
the Oklahoma Property and Casualty 
Insurance Guaranty Association. 
Currently, the American Insurance 
Association, the Alliance of American 
Insurers and the National Association 
of Independent Insurers each 
select two of the twelve members. 
Beginning in 2014, the Alliance of 
American Insurers and the National 
Association of Independent Insurers 
will be replaced by the Property and 
Casualty Insurers Association of 
America and the National Association 
of Mutual Insurance Companies.

Miscellaneous

SB 991 provides that insurance 
policies issued or renewed after 
November 1, 2014, are not subject 
to stacking or aggregation of limits 
unless expressly provided for by an 
insurance carrier.
SB 1948 modifies appointment 
procedures for the five-member 
Self Insurance Guaranty Fund 
Board by giving the Speaker of the 
House, the President Pro Tempore 
of the Senate, and the chair of the 
Workers’ Compensation Commission 
one appointment each. Previously 
all appointments were made by the 
Governor. The measure also allows 
the OK Tax Commission to enforce 
payment of assessment by allowing 

the filing of liens with the court clerk’s 
office. Finally, the bill authorizes the 
board to take over any actions or 
pending proceedings from the soon-to-
be obsolete Workers’ Compensation 
Self Insurance Guaranty Fund 
Board.
SB 2018 modifies the definition 
of travel insurance to allow travel 
retailers to offer insurance as a 
limited lines producer.
SB 2025 requires domestic title 
insurers to maintain a premium 
reserve in the event of insolvency 
or dissolution of the insurer. The 
measure defines the minimum 
amounts required to be placed in 
reserve. ■
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In response to the devastating tornados 
that have frequented Oklahoma over 
the years, the Legislature expanded 
the limited liability provided to good 
Samaritans that assist in the needs 
of the affected community. Additional 
measures were enacted which provide 
direction to the courts on the handling 
of various topics including product 
liability, child support and violations 
of the Open Meetings Act. 

Administration 

The Legislature took action to reject a 
12 percent pay raise for the judiciary, 
which was recommended by the Board 
on Judicial Compensation at their 
biannual meeting in July 2013. In 
lieu of the 12 percent raise, legislators 
approved, through the passage of 
HJR 1096, a 6 percent pay raise for 
district judges and district attorneys, 
but required the salary increases to 
be paid from existing funds. 
SB 2135 authorizes the 
Administrative Director of the 
Courts, with the approval of the 
Chief Justice, to transfer up to $10 
million from the Oklahoma Court 
Information System Revolving Fund 
to the Supreme Court Administrative 
Revolving Fund for appellate and 
district court expenditures.
HB 2998 requires that all court 
records, defined as such by statute, 
be subject to the provisions of the 
Oklahoma Open Records Act. Records 
identified as confidential will not be 
subject to the provisions and records 
that are considered to have a privacy 
interest that outweighs the public’s 

interest in the record can be sealed 
by the court. Finally, the measure 
requires the court to promulgate 
rules that will regulate the display of 
court records online.
SB 1648 adds the word investigation, 
as used by agencies within the 
Administrative Procedures Act, 
when issuing subpoenas in certain 
investigations.

Torts 

HB 2338 provides civil immunity to 
any person, business, church or school 
that offers emergency care, aid, shelter 
or other assistance during a natural 
disaster or catastrophic event. The 
immunity does not apply if damages 
were caused by gross negligence or 
willful or wanton misconduct.
A related measure, HB 2325 provides 
civil immunity to any person who 
voluntarily provides shelter at the 
request of the federal government 
during a declared state of emergency. 
The bill also adds tornadoes to the 
list of catastrophic acts of nature that 
may prompt a state of emergency. 
HB 3365 creates a rebuttable 
presumption that a manufacturer 
or seller is not liable for any injury 
to a claimant caused by some aspect 
of the formulation, labeling or design 
of a product if the manufacturer 
or seller complied with mandatory 
safety standards in place at time 
of manufacturing or if the product 
received premarket licensing or 
approval by the federal government 
and was subsequently deemed 
appropriate for sale by the federal 

government. No product liability 
action may be asserted against a 
product seller unless:

• the seller exercised extensive 
control over the aspect of the design, 
testing, manufacture, packing or 
labeling process;

• the seller altered or modified 
the product and the modification 
contributed extensively in causing 
harm or damage;

• the seller made an express 
warranty independent of any 
warranty provided by the 
manufacturer;

• the claimant is unable to identify 
the manufacturer of the product;

• the manufacturer is not subject 
to service of process under the laws 
of the state; or

• the court determines that 
the claimant would be unable to 
enforce a judgment against the 
manufacturer.
HB 2405 modifies the Government 
Tort Claims Act by modifying the 
definition of tort to include statute 
and the Constitution of the State of 
Oklahoma. Also, the measure states 
that if a court of competent jurisdiction 
finds tort liability on the part of the 
state or political subdivision based 
on a provision of the Oklahoma 
Constitution or state law other than 
the Governmental Tort Claims Act, 
the limits of liability provided for in 
the act will apply.
HB 3375 requires any party in a 

Judiciary
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lawsuit claiming physical or mental 
injury to give the opposing party 
access to medical records, including 
bills and employment and school 
records.
SB 1905 establishes that a health 
care provider’s noncompliance with 
a provision of the federal Patient 
Protection and Affordable Care Act 
or any other regulation, program, 
guideline other provision associated 
with the act may not be admissible, 
used to determine the standard of care 
or the legal basis for a presumption 
of negligence in any medical liability 
lawsuit.

Civil Procedure 

SB 1497 entitles any party that brings 
a civil suit against a public body for 
a violation of the Open Meeting Act 
to be awarded reasonable attorney 
fees. However, if the public body 
successfully defends the civil suit 
and the court finds that the suit was 
frivolous in nature, the public body 
will be awarded reasonable attorney 
fees.
HB 2366 strengthens Oklahoma’s 
anti-SLAPP (strategic lawsuit against 
public participation) laws by creating 
the Oklahoma Citizens Participating 
Act. The measure allows anyone to 
file a motion to dismiss a suit related 
to free speech within 60 days of the 
suit being filed, have that motion 
heard within 60 days of filing and 
ruled on within 30 days by the court. 
The court must dismiss a legal action 
against the moving party if the moving 
party shows by a preponderance of 
the evidence that the legal action is 
based on, relates to or is in response 
to the party’s exercise of the right of 
free speech, right to petition or right 
of association. If the court dismisses 
the case, the court is also required to 
award court costs and attorney fees 
to the prevailing party and apply 
sanctions sufficient to deter the 
nonprevailing party from filing future 
similar lawsuits. 
HB 2372 prohibits an employer from 
requiring an employee or prospective 
employee to provide access to the 

employee’s personal social media 
account. Any retaliatory personnel 
action taken against a current or 
prospective employee by the employer 
for the employee’s refusal is also 
prohibited and will allow the employee 
to sue for damages, at a maximum of 
$500 per incident. An employer may, 
however, require an employee to 
disclose the user name and password 
for accessing any computer system, 
technology network or electronic 

communications device provided and 
subsidized by the employer.
SB 1799 allows a court to award the 
plaintiff in a shareholder’s derivative 
action suit reasonable attorney fees 
and court expenses, provided any 
remaining proceeds received by the 
plaintiff as a result of a compromise or 
settlement, must be remitted back to 
the corporation. Upon final judgment 
in a derivative action suit, the court 
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must require the nonprevailing party 
to pay the prevailing party reasonable 
expenses and attorney fees incurred 
as result of the lawsuit.
HB 2837 prohibits the sending of 
written or electronic communication 
that would threaten the intended 
recipient with litigation if 
compensation or a resolution is not 
provided to the complaining party 
of a patent infringement claim. The 
measure allows the attorney general 
to investigate and bring civil actions 
against any person who violates the 
act and allows the court to award 
damages, reasonable attorney 
fees and punitive damages to the 
plaintiff.
HB 2790 clarifies the process for how a 
petition for summary administration 
will be handled by the courts. The 
measure directs the court to issue 
letters of special administration 
without a hearing and directs the 
court to set a final hearing no less 
than forty-five days following the 
granting of the order admitting the 
petition and combined notice.
HB 2343 adds to the list of hearsay 
exceptions, statements offered 
against a party that wrongfully 
causes or assists in wrongfully and 
intentionally causing the declarant’s 
unavailability as a witness.
HB 3164 repeals the Y2K Protection 
Act, which was enacted in 1999 to 
establish civil guidelines for the 
handling of lawsuits filed to recover 
damages resulting directly from a 
computer data failure between the 
years of 1999 and 2000. 

Criminal Procedure 

SB 1371 modifies the legal procedure 
and punishments for crimes that 
involve proceeds acquired from a 
specified unlawful activity. Specified 
unlawful activity is defined as an act 
or omission, including any initiatory, 
preparatory or completed offense 
or omission that is punishable as 
a misdemeanor or felony under 
the laws of Oklahoma or under the 
laws of the state in which the crime 
occurred. Prosecutions for these 

crimes will be special proceedings 
and require the petitioner to prove 
by a preponderance of the evidence 
that property was used to commit a 
crime involving unlawful proceeds. 
The measure also establishes a tiered 
penalty system based on the amount 
of money involved, which is outlined 
as follows: 

• $2,500 and under: guilty of 
misdemeanor 

• $2,500-$10,000: guilty of felony, 
up to 2 years of imprisonment 

• $10,000-$50,000: guilty of felony, 
between 2-10 years of imprisonment 

• $50,000 and over: guilty of 
felony, between 5-20 years of 
imprisonment.
HB 2568 reclassifies the criminal act 
of attempting to influence the verdict 
of a juror from a misdemeanor to a 
felony. The crime is punishable by a 
fine up to $5,000 or up to 10 years 
of imprisonment or by both fine and 
imprisonment.
HB 2774 provides that municipal 
jailers and law enforcement officers 
are only eligible to serve as jurors on 
noncriminal actions.
HB 2591 allows a child witness 
or incapacitated witness to 
be accompanied by a certified 
therapeutic dog and its handler, if 
one is provided, or a support person 
while giving testimony in a criminal 
court proceeding.
SB 989 amends the definition of false 
or bogus check or checks to include 
those given as payment made to 
a landlord under a lease or rental 
agreement.

Family Law

HB 2249 requires parties in a divorce 
to attend an education program 
concerning the impact of divorce 
on children if divorce is granted by 
the court because of incompatibility 
and a child under the age of 18 is 
involved. The court may also waive 
attendance of the program for good 
cause shown. The education program 
must be completed within 45 days of 

receiving a temporary order from the 
court and will include the following 
components: 

• short-term and long-term effect 
of divorce on child well-being; 

• reconciliation as an optimal 
outcome; 

• effects of family violence; 
• potential child behaviors and 

emotional states during and after 
divorce and how to respond to the 
child’s needs; 

• communication strategies 
to reduce conflict and facilitate 
cooperative parenting; and 

• area resources, such as nonprofit 
or religious organizations, available 
to address issues of substance abuse 
or other addictions, family violence, 
behavioral health, individual and 
couples counseling and financial 
planning. 
Each program attendee will be 
responsible for the program fee, 
which will cost between $15 and $60, 
to be paid directly to the program 
provider. The program provider must 
carry general liability insurance and 
maintain an accurate accounting 
of all business transactions and 
funds received in relation to the 
program. The Administrative Office 
of the Courts may enter into a 
memorandum of understanding with 
a state entity or other organization to 
compile data related to the program 
and the report must be published on 
the court website and distributed to 
the Governor and Legislature.
SB 1784 removes the requirement 
that a court must suspend or 
revoke any state licenses held by an 
individual who is in noncompliance 
with an order for child support. The 
measure places the decision to revoke 
or suspend licensure at the discretion 
of the court. 
SB 1612 modifies the procedure for 
enforcing visitation orders of the 
court. The measure requires any order 
of the court providing for visitation 
to contain a provision stating that 
the custodial parent has a duty to 
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facilitate visitation of a minor child 
with the noncustodial parent. In 
addition, the measure directs a court 
to award reasonable attorney fees and 
court costs to the prevailing party on 
a motion for enforcement of visitation 
rights; removes the requirement that 
a court order mediation following 
upon filing of a motion for enforcement 
of visitation rights; and provides a 
template for the form that will be 
used to request a motion to enforce 
visitation rights. 

Alcohol and Tobacco

To deter the sale of cigarettes over 
the Internet and through mail-order, 
HB 2361 prohibits the distribution, 
selling or transport of cigarettes by 
a person who is not a manufacturer, 
wholesaler or distributor licensed 
by the Oklahoma Tax Commission 
or an authorized export warehouse 
proprietor. The measure also makes 
it illegal for any common or contract 
carrier to knowingly transport 
cigarettes to any person other than 
those authorized to receive them. An 
exception is available for quantities 
less than 1,000 cigarettes per incident 
delivered to a home or residence. 
Those found guilty of transporting 
cigarettes are subject to a civil 
penalty equal to $2,500 for each 
violation or $25 for each pack shipped, 
whichever is greater. The offender 
may also be required to reimburse 
the state for the cost of investigating 
the violation and any attorney fees 
or costs associated with prosecuting 
the violation. Lastly, the bill brings 
Oklahoma law into compliance with 
federal law by prohibiting the sale 
of tobacco products on tribal land to 
minors under the age of eighteen. 
A related measure, HB 2363, 
requires tobacco wholesalers to 
report information on tobacco sales 
to the attorney general’s office every 
month. To ensure compliance with 
statutes related to contraband tobacco 
sales, the attorney general (AG) 
may also inspect all premises and 
records related to the manufacture, 
production, storage, transportation, 
sale or exchange of tobacco products 

located in the state of Oklahoma, 
located out of state and licensed by the 
Tax Commission or those who are on 
the AG’s directory of tobacco product 
manufacturers. The measure also 
modifies the bonding and reporting 
requirement for nonparticipating 
manufacturers (NPMs) under the 
Master Settlement Agreement 
Complementary Act (MSACA). 
An NPM must post a bond for the 
exclusive benefit of the state if:

• the NPM was not listed in 
the Oklahoma Tobacco Directory 
during the 4 consecutive calendar 
quarters prior to the manufacturer’s 
application to be on the directory; 

• the NPM was involuntarily 
removed or denied recertification for 
noncompliance with the MSACA or 
the Prevention of Youth Access to 
Tobacco Act; or 

• the AG determines that the 
NPM poses an elevated risk for 
noncompliance. 
The bond amount is the greater of 
$50,000 or 50 percent of the required 
escrow when the NPM was previously 
listed. The manufacturer or importer 
must post a bond for three consecutive 
years or longer if the AG determines 
that the manufacturer or importer 
poses an elevated risk at the end of 
the three-year period. Elevated risk 
of noncompliance by an NPM or an 
affiliate may be determined under 
the following circumstances: 

• the NPM or its affiliates has 
been removed from the tobacco 
directory of another state or placed 
on a list of noncompliant companies; 

• any state or the federal 
government has filed litigation 
against or has an unsatisfied 
judgment against the manufacturer 
for unsatisfied payments of a tobacco 
trust or escrow account; or 

• the manufacturer or its affiliate 
has been charged, entered a plea or 
has been convicted of violating the 
Contraband Cigarette Trafficking 
Act, the Jenkins Act or the PACT 
Act.

SB 1715 defines public event as 
used in the Oklahoma Alcoholic 
Beverage Control Act and establishes 
a $55 Charitable Alcoholic Beverage 
License, a $1,005 Annual Public 
Event License, and a $255 One 
Time Public Event License. A $25 
surcharge is also established for 
the Annual Public Event License. 
The new license will allow licensees 
to hold annual or one time public 
events to sell and distribute mixed 
beverages for consumption on the 
premises for a limited number 
of events. A charitable alcoholic 
beverage license will allow the event 
attendees access to tastings, samples, 
dinners and alcoholic beverages as 
parts of their entrance fee or ticket 
price. Finally, the measure provides 
that licensees allowing any person 
to be drunk on the premises may be 
charged with a misdemeanor, with 
punishment established as a $100 
fine or imprisonment in the county 
jail for up to 30 days.

Workers’ Compensation 

HB 3538 authorizes the Workers’ 
Compensation Commission to 
expend $4 million from the Workers’ 
Compensation Commission Fund 
in fiscal year 2015. The revenue 
available in the fund is generated 
from the fees and fines imposed by 
the commission.
HB 3539 creates a revolving fund for 
the Workers’ Compensation Court of 
Existing Claims in order to fund the 
operations of the preexisting court. 
Revenue deposited in the revolving 
fund will be generated from the fees 
and fines imposed by the court.
SB 2029 repeals workers’ 
compensation statutes relating to 
deposits and transfers in the now 
defunct CompSource Oklahoma 
fund.

Liens

SB 582 modifies the procedure for 
providing notice of service liens. 
Currently, it is the responsibility of 
the requestor to mail a notice to all 
interested parties within 60 days after 
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the first services are rendered. The 
measure requires the notice to also 
include a written proof of authority to 
perform the work, labor or service and 
a list of itemized charges equaling the 
total compensation claimed. Failure 
to comply with lien requirements 
will result in denial of any title 
application and cause the special lien 
to be subordinate to any perfected 
lien. Upon denial, the applicant may 
resubmit a corrected title application 
within 15 business days of receipt of 
the denial. Furthermore, if the person 

claiming a special lien fails to comply 
with the notice requirements, any 
interested party may sue for damages 
arising from the property being sold. 
If the court finds that information in 
the notice is false or fraudulent, the 
interested party will be entitled to 
treble damages, including all court 
cost and reasonable attorney fees. 
Any person who knowingly makes 
a false statement to foreclose an 
owner or lienholder’s interest would 
be guilty of a felony. Upon receipt of 

notice of legal proceedings, the Tax 
Commission must put the sale on 
hold until notice of resolution of court 
proceeding is received from the court. 
Finally, the bill provides that upon 
the release of the personal property 
to an insurer or representative of 
an insurer, wrecker operators are 
exempt from all liability and claims 
of loss.
SB 1077 establishes procedures for 
claiming and enforcing an attorney’s 
lien on real property. ■
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Public Safety
The Legislature adopted several 
measures to secure the rights of 
individuals to carry firearms. HB 
2614 allows valid handgun permit 
holders to possess handguns on 
elementary and secondary school 
parking lots, provided the handgun 
is stored and hidden from view in 
a locked motor vehicle when the 
vehicle is unattended. The penalty for 
illegally carrying a handgun on school 
property is reduced from a felony to a 
misdemeanor with a maximum fine of 
$250. The measure also removes the 
$250 administrative fine associated 
with violations relating to a handgun 
licensee who carries a weapon into 
a prohibited location, other than a 
school parking lot. 
In an effort to improve the background 
checks made on persons seeking a 
handgun carry license, SB 1845, 
requires a court which adjudicates 
a person mentally incompetent or 
orders the involuntary commitment 
of a person due to a mental illness to 
send a certified copy of the order or 
adjudication to the FBI for purposes 
of the National Instant Criminal 
Background Check system database 
and to the Oklahoma State Bureau 
of Investigation (OSBI). The measure 
also creates a mechanism to allow a 
person who has been involuntarily 
committed or adjudicated to petition 
the court to remove the disability 
which prevents the ability of the 
person to obtain a firearm. 
Vetoed by the Governor, then 
overridden by the Legislature, HB 
2461 requires a sheriff or chief of 

police to execute any request for 
documents relating to the purchase 
of firearms defined by the National 
Firearms Act within 15 days if the 
purchaser is not prohibited from 
possessing a firearm.
Other firearm-related legislation:
HB 2496 would allow the possession 
of a gun, knife, bayonet or other 
weapon by a member of a veterans 
group, the National Guard, active 
military, ROTC on school grounds 
during approved ceremonies. 
HB 2594 would allow an applicant for 
a handgun license to use electronic 
fund transfer to pay the application 
fee.
HB 2692 extends from 30 to 90 days 
the grace period for the renewal of a 
handgun carry license. 
HB 2840 prohibits any person serving 
a term of probation or who is under 
the jurisdiction of any alternative 
court program from having a firearm 
in their possession.
HB 2888 allows the spouse of a 
member of the military who has 
permanent military orders within 
Oklahoma to apply for a handgun 
carry permit.
HB 2874 establishes that a certificate 
of completion of training for a handgun 
carry license is valid for three years 
and requires firearms instructors to 
keep on file for not less than three 
years a roster of each training class, 
safety test scores and types of weapon 
used to qualify.

SB 934 allows a legal guardian or a 
person acting with the permission 
of a parent to give a child a firearm 
for participation in education and 
training in the safe use and handling 
of firearms.
SB 1442 allows former district 
attorneys to carry firearms for 
personal protection upon completion 
of an approved course in firearms 
training. The measure allows CLEET 
to issue an identification card to a 
district attorney, assistant district 
attorneys, former district attorney, 
U.S. Attorneys, attorneys general or 
judges and charge a fee of $100 for 
the ID card. 
SB 1471 allows the OSBI to release 
the fingerprint card of a Self-Defense 
Act permit applicant who is deceased 
to an intermediate family member for 
a $15 fee.
HB 3510 modifies the definition 
of justifiable homicide to allow for 
the defense of another person. This 
language was originally contained 
in HB 2536, which was vetoed by the 
Governor. 

Driver License

HB 2387 provides that a valid and 
unexpired Oklahoma driver license 
will serve as both primary and 
secondary proofs of identity when 
applying for a state ID card.
HB 2592 authorizes the use of a 
United States Uniformed Services DD 
Form 2 Identification Card as proof 
of military service when obtaining 
a veteran emblem on an Oklahoma 
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driver license.
SB 1332 allows a driver education 
course, certified by a state other 
than Oklahoma, to satisfy the course 
requirements for a person 15 ½ years 
old to obtain a driver license. The 
measure authorizes DPS to create a 
knowledge test that may be taken on 
the Internet by an applicant applying 
for a Class D license. The bill provides 
that failure to submit the federally 
required medical certification for 
a commercial driver license will 
result in an automatic downgrade 
to a Class D license. However, once 
medical certification is received by 
DPS, the license will be reinstated 
to commercial status without the 
need to reapply. The bill also allows 
the certification fee assessed to a 
designated examiner employed by an 
Oklahoma public school to be waived 
by DPS. 

Permits and Registration

HB 1516 creates the Oklahoma 
Crusher Act and requires any person 
engaged in the business as a motor 
vehicle crusher to obtain a license 
from the Oklahoma Used Motor 
Vehicle and Parts Commission. 
The measure provides eligibility 
criteria for licensure and requires the 
commission to investigate applicants. 
A licensed crusher is required to 
obtain proof of ownership from a 
person selling a used motor vehicle, 
trailer or non-motorized recreational 
vehicle to the crusher. Finally, the 
bill establishes criminal penalties for 
failing to obtain a license and for false 
declaration of ownership.
HB 2328 directs the Department of 
Public Safety to issue annual vehicle 
permits to a transportation company 
or manufacturer of portable buildings 
for the movement of oversize portable 
buildings. The measure establishes:

• a 12-foot width, 14-foot height 
and 45,000-pound limit; 

• a fee of $500 for the permit; and
• a fee of $25 to replace a lost or 

destroyed permit.
Finally, the bill requires the Oklahoma 

Load Limit Map to be made available 
on the Internet and updated every six 
months.
SB 387 makes numerous changes 
relating to automobile dealerships. 
The measure grants the Used Motor 
Vehicle and Parts Commission 
the authority to suspend or revoke 
the license of a new motor vehicle 
dealer or salesperson who sells an 
extended service contract or extended 
maintenance plan using contract forms 
that do not conspicuously disclose 
the identity of the service contract 
provider. Motor vehicle dealers are 
given greater discretion on their 
dealings with automotive factories 
by allowing the dealer to determine 
adequate compensation for warranty 
parts obtained from the factory. 
Finally, the measure also makes 
modifications to automobile dealer 
franchise agreements by establishing 
procedures to be followed when a 
dealership is required to construct a 
new facility or substantially renovate 
an existing facility.
SB 1369 includes overweight vehicles 
hauling fertilizer, cottonseed, cotton, 
livestock, peanuts, canola, sunflowers, 
soybeans, feed in bulk, any other raw 
agricultural products and any other 
unprocessed agriculture products 
as vehicles which are required to 
purchase an annual special overload 
permit under certain conditions.
SB 1397 modifies the definition of 
all-terrain vehicle to clarify that the 
vehicle is 50 inches or less in width. 
The measure modifies the definition 
of recreational off-highway vehicle to 
clarify that the vehicle is 65 inches or 
less in width.
SB 1551 provides that the $100 
special overload permit is to be issued 
solely by the Oklahoma Corporation 
Commission and allows $3.50 of 
the fee is to be retained by the 
commission.
HB 3156 creates the Oklahoma First 
Informer Broadcasters Act to allow 
a broadcaster to become certified as 
a first informer broadcaster, which 
will give them increased access to 
disaster areas to perform technical 

and mechanical repairs that would 
enable transmission of disaster-
related information. In cooperation 
with the Department of Emergency 
Management, broadcasters may 
develop training and plans for 
preparing and responding to a 
disaster.
SB 1624 provides that the reduced 
registration fee for vehicles owned 
by members of the Armed Forces of 
the United States, the Reserve Corps 
of the Armed Forces of the United 
States and the Oklahoma National 
Guard or their spouses assigned to 
duty in this state do not apply to 
vehicles owned by retired members of 
the armed forces, inactive members 
of the Reserve Corps of the Armed 
Forces, inactive members of the 
guard and other members and former 
members of the armed forces who are 
not on active duty.

Law Enforcement

HB 3531 requires all license fees 
for security guard and private 
investigator to be deposited into 
the Council on Law Enforcement 
Education and Training (CLEET) 
Private Security Revolving Fund.
SB 232 removes the current salary 
schedules for the Highway Patrol, 
Capitol Patrol, Communications, and 
Driver License Examining divisions 
of the Department of Public Safety 
(DPS). The measure requires that 
the salaries of all personnel within 
those divisions conform to the 
findings of the State of Oklahoma 
Total Remuneration Study of 2013, 
which stated Highway Patrol Trooper 
salaries were 14 percent below the 
average salary of troopers in other 
states.
SB 1372 lowers the age limit from 23 
to 21 years of age for commissioned 
officers within DPS. The measure 
allows military service to be counted 
towards the number of hours of 
accredited college or university 
experience required to be considered 
an officer.
SB 1407 allows CLEET to suspend 
the license of a security guard or 
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private investigator if the person’s 
actions present a danger to a family 
household member or is involved in a 
crime against a minor. The measure 
also requires a refund request for any 
reason other than disqualification 
or denial to be made in writing and 
submitted within six months of the 
date payment was received.
SB 1474 makes numerous 
administrative changes related to 
CLEET. The measure allows the 
executive director of the council to 
commission CLEET staff as peace 
officers within the agency and 
requires all police departments and 
sheriff’s offices in the state to have 
a chief of police or sheriff who is a 
full-time certified police or peace 
officer. The measure requires law 

enforcement agencies to report the 
hiring, resignation or termination 
of a peace officer to CLEET within 
10 days of the action. The measure 
allows notice served by CLEET made 
to the address on file with the council 
in any proceeding to be deemed by the 
court as having been legally served 
for all purposes.
SB 1444 requires the local law 
enforcement authority to photograph 
a person subject to sex offender 
registration when the person registers 
if the photograph in the Department 
of Corrections sex offender registry is 
more than one year old or if it cannot 
be determined when the photograph 
in the registry was taken.
SB 1600 expands the locations where 
a peace officer may arrest a person 

without a warrant when the person 
was involved in an accident and the 
officer has probable cause to believe 
the person was under the influence 
of alcohol or drugs. The expanded 
locations include a public place, 
private road, street, alley or lane 
which provides access to one or more 
single or multi-family dwellings.
SB 2078 allows the Oklahoma 
Employment Security Commission to 
release information to any Oklahoma 
state, county or municipal law 
enforcement agency to aid in criminal 
investigations and the locating of 
missing persons or fugitives.

Bail Bonds

Several measures were enacted 
dealing with bail bond regulation. 
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HB 2407 creates a definition for a 
multicounty agent bondsman and 
establishes a $750 application fee to 
be paid to the Insurance Department. 
The renewal fee for a multicounty 
agent bondsman is set at a cost of 
$1,000.
Another measure, HB 2928 requires 
multicounty agent bondsmen to 
provide annual financial statements. 
The bill changes the date by which 
bondsmen must file the required 
annual financial statement and 
defines what information is to be 
presented on the receipt provided 
by bondsmen. Affidavits submitted 
by new bondsmen are required to 
certify that they owe no fees to the 
Insurance Department and permits 
the department to impose stricter 
penalties for a false statement on 
the affidavit. Law enforcement is 
required to provide a list of all licensed 
bondsmen to any incarcerated person, 
but any bondsman without a current 
surety will be removed from the 
list. The measure requires that, on 
forfeiture of the bond, an order and 
judgment of forfeiture be filed with 
the clerk of the trial court within 15 
days of the date of forfeiture. It adds 
a requirement that the bondsman 
must request a hold on the defendant 
and guarantee travel expenses for a 
defendant to be considered returned 
to custody.
SB 2003 provides that it is unlawful 
for any person not licensed as a bail 
enforcer to mark any vehicle, wear 
any apparel, or display any badge or 
identification card bearing the words 
bail enforcer, bail enforcement, bail 
enforcement agency or any other 
words that imply the person is 
licensed.

Miscellaneous Public Safety

HB 1112 allows a district attorney 
to file a motion requesting forfeiture 
of a motor vehicle owned by a person 
convicted of driving under the 
influence three or more times.
HB 2676 makes audio and video 
recordings of the Department of 
Public Safety public records. 

HB 2688 repeals a section of law 
relating to the licensure, registration 
and taxation of intercity motorbuses.
SB 1599 provides fuel reimbursement 
to any non-elected law enforcement 
official or citizen who offers their 
aircraft for searches or criminal 
pursuits during official business. The 
measure requires each public entity 
that authorizes such use to establish 
a policy to verify information related 
to the reimbursement for the cost of 
fuel. The reimbursement must be 
made available to the public in the 
same manner as other expenditures.
SB 1824 amends the Oklahoma 
Victim’s Rights Act by modifying the 
definition of family member to include 
the parents of adopted children, step-
parents, grandchildren and step-
siblings, so that these persons can 
avail themselves of the rights afforded 
under the act.
SB 2098 requires towing companies 
to release all personal property 
within a vehicle that was towed 
pursuant to a nonconsensual tow, to 
any person upon proof of ownership 
of the vehicle. 

Corrections

Several measures were adopted this 
session to reduce the number of 
offenders entering the prison system 
and assist in reintegrating offenders 
back into society. 
As part of the effort to find successful 
programs which provide an 
alternative to incarceration, SB 1278 
creates the Criminal Justice Pay for 
Success Initiative and authorizes the 
Office of Management and Enterprise 
Services to contract with social 
service providers that offer diversion 
and reentry programs to persons not 
under the custody or control of the 
DOC.
Another important measure, HB 2859, 
requires mental health court judges 
to recognize relapses and restarts in 
the mental health court program as 
part of the rehabilitation and recovery 
process. The court is to increase 
offender accountability by ordering 

progressively increasing sanctions 
rather than removing someone from 
the program. Additionally, the bill 
requires a hearing to be conducted 
prior to any revocation from the 
program. 
SB 2140 reduces from two to one 
year the amount of time which 
must elapse before a person charged 
with a misdemeanor can file for an 
expungement. The measure provides 
that a person convicted of a nonviolent 
felony can seek expungement if the 
person has not been convicted of 
a misdemeanor in the previous 15 
years. The measure also increases the 
time for notice of hearing by the court 
from 30 days to 45 days and requires 
objections to the petition to be filed 
15 days prior to the hearing. These 
changes were originally contained 
in HB 2609 which was vetoed by the 
Governor.
Another measure related to the 
expungement of records, SB 1875, 
provides that records expunged 
pursuant to a deferred sentence 
and records relating to violations of 
the Uniform Controlled Dangerous 
Substances Act are to be sealed to 
the public but not to law enforcement 
agencies. The records are to be 
admissible in any subsequent criminal 
prosecution to prove the existence of 
a prior conviction or prior deferred 
judgment without the necessity of a 
court order requesting the unsealing 
of the records.
HB 3159 allows the court to order 
probation services to be provided by a 
private supervision provider or other 
person designated by the court.

Miscellaneous Corrections

HB 2486 provides that inmates 
serving a sentence of life without the 
possibility of parole are exempt from 
inmate wage requirements relating 
to mandatory inmate savings.
HB 2779 authorizes the director 
of the Department of Corrections 
(DOC), subject to the requirements 
established by the Information 
Services Division of the Office 
of Management and Enterprise 
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Services, to establish an emergency 
alert notification system at each DOC 
facility to notify the public of facility 
emergencies or prisoner escapes.
HB 2877 requires the DOC to include 
all direct and indirect costs incurred 
by the department when calculating 
the budgeted average daily cost per 
inmate.
HB 3012 allows a correctional 
officer to receive their badge upon 
retirement.
HB 3215 lowers the minimum expense 
amount from $8,000 to $6,000 per 

medical event that qualifies a county 
jail to access the Medical Expense 
Liability Revolving Fund. The fund is 
available to assist county jails in the 
event an inmate in the custody of the 
jail has extensive medical costs due 
to injury or ailment.
HB 3290 repeals the remaining 
sections of the Support Training 
Results in Valuable Employment 
(STRIVE) Act.
SB 1720 requires entities that 
supervise offenders on probation to 
conduct an intake and orientation, 

substance abuse assessment, 
criminal risk needs assessment, 
develop a treatment plan, conduct 
substance abuse testing and monitor 
the compliance of the offender as 
ordered by the court. The supervising 
entity must also provide sanctions in 
the event the offender violates the 
conditions of probation.
SB 1737 removes the living space 
requirements for inmates from statute 
and requires instead the use of the 
American Correctional Association 
Standards. ■



Session in Review | 42

Revenue & Taxation
After the Oklahoma Supreme Court 
ruled against legislation from the 
previous session which would have 
reduced the state income tax rate, the 
Legislature returned determined to 
reduce the personal income tax rate 
this session. Legislators also took 
action to extend several incentives 
for the oil and gas industry, military 

personnel and tornado victims. 

Income Tax, Credits, 
Deductions, Exemptions

Contingent on certain revenue 
growth, SB 1246 establishes a 
trigger mechanism to reduce the top 
marginal personal income tax rate to 

5 percent. The map below illustrates 
each state’s income tax rate. 
If the total General Revenue Fund 
estimate for FY2016 is greater than 
the total General Revenue Fund 
estimate for FY2014, the rate would be 
reduced to 5 percent for tax year 2016. 
If the tax cut is not implemented, then 
the State Board of Equalization will 
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repeat the comparison in subsequent 
tax years until the trigger is met. 
Following the implementation of the 
5 percent tax rate, there is a second 
revenue based trigger to reduce the 
top marginal personal income tax 
rate to 4.85 percent. 
SB 1723 makes permanent an income 
tax deduction that allows military 
personnel to deduct 100 percent of 
income derived from active military 
pay. 
SB 1621 modifies the income tax 
deduction for individuals who incur 
expenses to provide care for a foster 
child. The measure increases the 
deduction from $2,500 to $5,000 for 
all taxpayers, except those filing as 
married filing separately; married 
persons filing separately in a year 
in which they could have filed a joint 
return may each claim one half of the 
deduction. 
HB 2643 makes numerous changes 
to the Oklahoma Equal Opportunity 
Education Scholarship Act. The 
measure adds subchapter S 
corporations to the list of entities 
eligible for the credit and authorizes 
the allocation of the credit to the 
partners, shareholders, members or 
other equity owners of a pass-through 
entity. Beginning tax year 2015, the 
credits will be distributed by the Tax 
Commission on a first-come, first-
serve basis subject to a $3.5 million 
annual cap for donations to an eligible 
scholarship-granting organization 
and $1.5 million annual cap for 
donations to an eligible educational 
improvement grant organization. 
The measure also increases the 
credit amount to 75 percent of total 
contributions if the individual makes 
a written commitment to contribute 
the same amount for two additional 
consecutive years.
Furthermore, the bill removes 
the requirement that scholarship-
granting organizations or 
educational improvement grant 
organizations report information on 
each contribution received to the Tax 
Commission. However, the measure 
requires scholarship-granting 

organizations and educational 
improvement granting organizations 
to submit a report that includes 
an audited financial statement 
along with information detailing 
the benefits, successes or failures 
of the program to the Governor and 
Legislature before December 31, 2017 
and every four years thereafter.
SB 2128 creates the Oklahoma 
Affordable Housing Act for the 
purpose of enacting a state tax credit 
that will match the federal low income 
housing tax credit for qualified 
projects placed in service after July 
1, 2015. The nonrefundable credit is 
capped at $4 million annually and 
may be claimed beginning tax year 
2016. Any amount of credit not used 
can be carried forward for up to five 
years. Additionally, the credit will 
be administered by the Oklahoma 
Housing Finance Agency and will be 
subject to review every five years by a 
committee of nine persons appointed 
by the Governor and Legislature.
HB 2711 extends the sunset date 
of the Oklahoma Quality Events 
Incentive program to June 30, 2018. 
The measure simplifies the method 
for determining the economic impact 
of a quality event by deleting the 
definition of quality event area and 
revenue capture period from the act. 
The economic impact report will be 
determined using the dates during 
which a quality event is hosted, 
instead of the revenue capture 
period.
Several measures modify sunset 
provisions related to existing tax 
credits. 
HB 2580 extends the sunset date 
of the Compete with Canada Film 
Act to July 1, 2024. The film rebate 
program was set to expire July 1, 
2014. The program offers a 35 to 37 
percent cash rebate on Oklahoma 
expenditures to qualifying companies 
filming in the state. 
HB 2509 extends the sunset date of 
the aerospace engineer tax credit to 
January 1, 2018. The measure also 
modifies the definition of qualified 
employee to include those who worked 

in the aerospace sector, not as full-
time engineers, prior to receiving an 
undergraduate or graduate degree.
SB 1150 sunsets the tax credit 
allowed for any bank or credit 
union operating in Oklahoma for 
the amount of guaranty fees paid to 
the United States Small Business 
Administration on January 1, 2017.
SB 1151 sunsets the Film or Music 
Profit Reinvestment Credit on 
January 1, 2017. The credit is equal 
to 25 percent of the profits from the 
investment in an existing Oklahoma 
film or music project, provided the 
taxpayer reinvests the profits from 
the first film to pay for the production 
cost for a new film or music project.
SB 1152 sunsets the tax credit for 
eligible wages paid by an employer to 
an injured employee. The credit is 10 
percent of the amount of gross wages 
paid to the employee and capped at 
$5,000 per employee and capped at 
$25,000 per employer. 
SB 1153 sunsets the tax credit 
for eligible expenses incurred by a 
child care provider on January 1, 
2017. The credit is 20 percent of the 
amount of eligible expenses paid by 
the provider in order to comply with 
national standards recognized by the 
Department of the Human Services.
SB 1170 sunsets the tax credit for all 
electronic fund transfer fees paid by 
an individual or entity on January 1, 
2017. The fee, which is set by statute, 
is $5 for each transaction up to $500. 
A transfer over $500 is assessed an 
additional fee equal to 1 percent of 
the amount in excess of $500.
Finally, SB 1226 sunsets the tax credit 
for financial institutions making 
loans under the Rural Economic 
Development Loan Act on January 
1, 2017. The credit is 5 percent of the 
amount of annual payroll certified 
by the Oklahoma Rural Economic 
Development Loan Program Review 
Board.

Ad Valorem Tax

HB 2621 sends to a vote of the people 
two constitutional amendments. 
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The first amendment would allow a 
disabled veteran or their surviving 
spouse, who qualifies for 100 
percent disabled veteran homestead 
exemption, to sell their home and 
receive the exemption on a newly 
acquired home. 
The second amendment would 
create a homestead exemption for 
the surviving spouse of military 
personnel who die in the line of duty. 
The exemption is 100 percent of the 
fair cash value of the homestead. The 
Department of Defense would make 
the determination regarding whether 
the person was eligible.
HB 3119 extends the amount of time 
that a taxpayer has to file a written 
complaint with the county assessor 
from 20 to 30 days after receiving a 
written notice that the taxpayer’s 
property value has increased. If the 
taxpayer is unable to personally 
appear at a scheduled informal 
hearing to discuss the disputed 
valuation, the assessor must give the 
taxpayer at least two opportunities 
to reschedule. In counties with a 
population of 300,000 or less, the 
county board of equalization must 
provide at least three dates where 
the taxpayer may personally appear 
to make a presentation of evidence.
HB 2534 requires that, prior to a 
meeting to hear a property tax appeal, 
each member of the county board of 
equalization sign an affidavit stating 
that he or she has not communicated 
with the county assessor about any 
pending appeals. The measure also 
requires all parties involved in the 
appeal to sign an affidavit stating 
that the evidence being presented is 
true.

Tornado and Disaster Tax 
Relief 

HB 3216 provides several sales, ad 
valorem, income, vehicle registration 
and vehicle excise relief measures 
to victims of tornadoes occurring in 
calendar year 2012 or calendar year 
2013 for which a Presidential Major 
Disaster Declaration was not issued. 
The following benefits would be 

extended to qualifying individuals:
• credit for registration fees 

associated with a vehicle which 
is a replacement for a currently 
registered vehicle which was 
destroyed;

• sales tax exemption on the sales 
value of tangible personal property 
donated for the assistance of persons 
affected by a tornado;

• late admittance of a sale tax 
report by sale tax vendors;

• credit for excise tax previously 
paid for a destroyed vehicle, which is 
to be applied to the excise tax due on 
a replacement vehicle; and

• refundable income tax credit 
for any increased ad valorem tax 
that is a result of rebuilding or 
repairing residential real property 
damaged or destroyed as a result of 
a natural disaster. The credit is the 
difference between the ad valorem 
taxes paid on the property in the 
year prior to the damage and the ad 
valorem taxes paid on the first year 
the property is completely or fully 
repaired or rebuilt. 
A similar measure, SB 1199, allows 
these relief measures to be applicable 
for tornados that could occur in future 
years. 
HB 2810 modifies the process for 
reassessing the value of properties 
damaged by natural causes such as 
fire, storms and floods. An assessor 
must make the appropriate value 
adjustment to a property prior to 
publishing the assessor’s report to 
the excise board. Any adjustment 
after the submission of the report 
must be made by the county of tax roll 
corrections and after the assessor has 
certified the tax roll for the current 
year. The board of tax roll correction 
is only authorized to approve or reject 
the value adjustment submitted by 
the county assessor.
Another relief measure, HB 3188, 
amends the definition of improvement 
as it relates to determining the 
maximum fair cash value on a 
homestead subject to ad valorem 

tax to exclude any expenditure for 
the purpose of repairing damage to 
a residential or business structure 
caused by a natural disaster. Any 
improvements made to a structure 
because of these reasons will be 
disregarded when determining the 
maximum amount of fair cash value 
subject to ad valorem taxation. If 
additional square footage is added to 
the property from such improvements, 
the county assessor must determine 
the fair cash value of the additional 
square footage separately. 

Gross Production Tax

HB 2562 establishes a reduced 2 
percent gross production tax rate 
on production from a new well 
spudded on or after July 1, 2015 for 
36 months of production. Thereafter, 
the standard 7 percent rate takes 
effect. The apportionment of gross 
production taxes collected at the 2 
percent rate will be distributed as 
follows: 

• 50 percent will be credited to the 
General Revenue Fund; 

• 25 percent will be credited to the 
County Highway Fund; and 

• 25 percent will be credit to 
each county, to be distributed to 
the school districts on an average daily 
attendance per capita distribution basis. 

The measure also extends the sunset 
date of several drilling incentives until 
July 1, 2020. These include incentives 
for secondary recovery projects, 
tertiary recovery projects, inactive 
wells, production enhancement 
projects and economically at risk 
leases.

Sales Tax

HB 1875 lowers the percentage that 
the Oklahoma Tax Commission (OTC) 
is authorized to retain from city and 
county sale and use tax revenue 
for collection services rendered. 
Beginning July 1, 2015, the OTC may 
only retain .05 percent of the total 
sales and use revenue from a city 
or county that contracts with OTC 
for collections services. Currently, 
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OTC can retain up to 1.75 percent 
from municipalities and 1 percent 
from counties. To make up the loss in 
revenue for OTC, an amount equal to 
.05 percent of gross city and county 
sales tax collections will be credited 
to the commission from the Oklahoma 
Tax Commission and Office of 
Management Enterprise Services 
Joint Computer Enhancement Fund. 
The measure is projected to save local 
taxing jurisdiction over $10 million in 
annual collection fees. 
HB 2480 defines regional district 
and allows a regional district in 
conjunction with a transportation 
authority or regional economic 
development authority to levy a sales 
tax, subject to voter approval, up to 
2 percent from all sales and services 
in the district. The tax may not be 
approved when another sales tax is 
being levied by another authority 
in the same regional district during 
the same time period. The measure 
also provides for the makeup of the 
governing board of an authority.
SB 331 makes permanent a sales 
tax exemption provided to non-profit 
parent-teacher associations or 501(c) 
(3) nonprofit local public or private 
school foundations. The measure 
also restores language inadvertently 
removed last session for sales tax 
exemptions related to the sales of 
aircraft and aircraft parts occurring 
at a qualified aircraft maintenance 

facility.
HB 3143 provides that sales, use 
and occupancy tax ordinances of a 
municipality will be applicable if 
the goods or services are sold by the 
private sector on a military installation 
located on federal property that was 
annexed on or after July 1, 1998.
SB 862 removes the requirement that 
gold, silver, platinum, palladium or 
other precious metal items be stored 
within a recognized depository facility 
in order to be exempt from state sales 
tax. The measure also prohibits any 
person to compel another person to 
accept gold or silver coins as a form 
of payment except as agreed upon by 
contract.

Tax Administration

SB 1228 allows the Oklahoma Tax 
Commission (OTC) to hold any 
individual personally liable for unpaid 
sales tax, withholding tax or motor 
fuel tax if that individual had direct 
control, supervision or responsibility 
for filing returns and payment of the 
taxes for a business or legal entity. 
Currently, the OTC may only hold 
the principal officers or managers of 
the entity liable for unpaid taxes.
SB 1244 changes several processes 
related to the administration of 
delinquent and overpaid taxes to the 
state. The measure extends the grace 
period from 30 to 60 days for payment 

of delinquent taxes and interest due. 
The measure also extends the time 
period to request a hearing with 
the OTC. The extension applies to 
cases where a taxpayer files a claim 
asserting that he or she overpaid 
taxes. 
SB 341 extends the final date, from 
September 1 to September 15, that 
franchise tax payments are accepted 
before penalties apply. 
HB 3509 directs the Oklahoma Tax 
Commission to issue a separate 
exemption card to a spouse or 
household member at the request 
of a person claiming the 100 
percent disabled veteran sales tax 
exemption.
SB 503 allows the Oklahoma Tax 
Commission to prohibit the issuance 
of a replacement license plate or 
decal if the license plate was seized 
by law enforcement for failure to 
maintain insurance coverage on a 
motor vehicle. 
SB 1980 requires the Office of 
Management and Enterprise Services 
to develop on its website an interactive 
Oklahoma Taxpayer Receipt function 
that will allow a taxpayer to estimate 
how much of the individual’s income 
and sales tax is allocated for various 
state expenditures.
SB 2058 and HB 3024 repeal the 
Cigarette and Tobacco Tax Advisory 
Committee. ■
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Transportation
The Legislature continued its focus 
to preserve the integrity of the state’s 
roads, bridges and waterways.
HB 3177 allows a county, upon a 
majority vote of its board of county 
commissioners, to open and maintain 
any federal highways or roads that 
are temporarily closed due to loss 
of federal funds during a federal 
government shutdown.
HB 3515 directs the Department of 
Transportation to expend up to $2.5 
million for construction of roads to 
existing industrial sites and roads for 
economic development and up to $2.5 
million for the construction of roads 
to historical sites and lake access 
roads.
HB 3055 increases the threshold 
from $250,000 to $500,000 for road 
and bridge special maintenance 
projects that can be performed by 
special maintenance crews.
SB 1198 modifies the criteria for 
membership to the Oklahoma 
Waterways Advisory Board. The 
measure provides that a member 
appointed from the public at large 
must have professional experience 
and expertise in shipping, freight 
logistics or construction, operation, 
maintenance and rehabilitation of 
transportation systems. The measure 
would strike the current criterion 
that requires this board member to 
be an economist with not less than 
five continuous years of experience 
in inland navigation feasibility 
studies, operation, maintenance and 
rehabilitation issues and possess 

demonstrated knowledge of maritime 
towing industry.
A related measure, HB 2910, modifies 
the membership qualifications of 
the Oklahoma Waterways Advisory 
Board. The measure strikes the 
requirement that one member be 
an economist with not less than 
five continuous years of expertise 
in inland navigation studies and 
adds to the list of requirements 
that one member have professional 
experience and expertise in shipping, 
freight logistics or construction of 
transportation systems.

Highway and Bridge Memorial 
Designations 

Two measures, HB 3018 and SB 
1524, served as omnibus highway 
and bridge dedication bills. The 
measures provided for the dedication 
of the following bridges and portions 
of Oklahoma highways: 

• President Ronald Reagan 
Memorial Highway;

• Charles “Chub” Shaw Memorial 
Highway; 

• 2nd Lt. Joe Lee Cunningham 
Memorial Highway; 

• Fire Chief Nolan Schmidt 
Highway; 

• Warrior Highway; 
• Veterans Memorial Highway; 
• LCpl Lamont N. Wilson 

Memorial Highway;
• Lance Corporal Jonathan Stroud 

Memorial Highway;
• Captain Kyle King Memorial 

Highway;
• Ethel Hedgement Lyle Memorial 

Highway;
• Captain Frederick F. Henry 

Medal of Honor Memorial Highway;
• Army Ranger Staff Sgt. Vinson 

Bryon “Trinity” Adkinson, III 
Memorial Highway; 

• Sheriff Frank Phillips Memorial 
Bridge; 

• Airman Kamenski D. Watson 
Memorial Bridge; 

• Wayne Chandler, Sr., Memorial 
Bridge; 

• J.C. Malcolm Memorial Bridge;
• PFC Philip F. Gaines Memorial 

Bridge; 
• First Lieutenant S.W. “Dub” 

George Memorial Bridge; and
• Specialist Joshua M. “Bubba” 

Seals Memorial Bridge.

Special License Plates

HB 2985 and SB 1866 create the 
following special license plates:

• 1-179th Infantry; 
• 2-179th Infantry;
• Combat Action Ribbon Recipient;
• Oklahoma Submarine Veterans;
• Frederick Bombers; 
• Oklahoma Nurses;
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• United States Navy Seabees; 
• Civil Engineer Corps;
• Jenks Trojans Supporters; and
• Hilldale Education Foundation. 

The Seabees and Engineer plate 
include a fee of $8 in addition to all 
other registration fees, an amount 
used by the Tax Commission to 
offset administrative costs. The 
Jenks supporter plate includes a $15 
added fee, while the Hilldale plate 
includes a $35 added fee, of which 
$20 is apportioned to the education 
foundation. The measure also 
provides for the personalization of 
the Deer Creek supporter plate.
SB 1257 adds a surviving spouse 
who receives Dependency and 
Indemnity Compensation from the 
U.S. Department of Veteran Affairs 
to the list of those who are eligible to 
receive a Disabled Veteran specialty 
license plate.
HB 2488 exempts Purple Heart 
Recipient License Plates from the $8 
special license plate fee.

Miscellaneous

HB 2319 repeals the sections of law 
that relate to cabooses.
HB 2320 repeals the section of law 
that requires a train station or depot 
to be named after the town or city in 
which it is located.
HB 3157 modifies the section of law 
concerning highway advertisements 
by adding relocation permit to the 
list of definitions. The measure 
authorizes the Oklahoma Department 
of Transportation to revoke a permit 
issued to construct a sign if it is 
deemed by ODOT to be a discontinued 
sign. ■
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The Legislature continued to show its 
commitment to Oklahoma’s men and 
women in uniform with legislation 
addressing the Veterans Commission 
and benefits.
Traumatic brain injury has become 
known as the signature injury of the 
conflicts in Iraq and Afghanistan. 
SB 1604, the Oklahoma Veterans 
Traumatic Brain Injury Treatment 
and Recovery Act, is an attempt 
to help those dealing with serious 
brain injuries. The Oklahoma State 
University Center for Aerospace and 
Hyperbaric Medicine is directed to 
prepare a standard treatment plan 
and any Oklahoma veteran diagnosed 
with a traumatic brain injury will be 
eligible for hyperbaric treatment at 
no cost, subject to the availability of 
funds.
Reflecting the desire to treat all 
veterans equally, SB 1585 and SB 
1970 rename the War Veterans 
Commission of Oklahoma to the 
Oklahoma Veterans Commission. SB 
1970 also requires that at least one 
member of the commission must have 
served in the Persian Gulf Wars. 
SB 1239 extends the commission’s 
authority to give emergency aid to all 
discharged veterans, not only those 
who have served in a war. Benefits for 
Oklahoma’s veterans are sometimes 
directed only to war veterans and 
other times to simply veterans or 
those who have been honorably 
discharged. Finally, SB 1610 directs 
that the term war veteran be treated 
the same as the terms veteran or ex-
service person for benefit purposes 

and removes the requirement that a 
veteran be someone who has served 
during a period of war or a military 
campaign. 
SB 1636 strengthens the audit 
requirements for veterans 
organizations that nominate 
commissioners to the Oklahoma 
Veterans Commission by requiring 
both performance and financial audits 
to be done with the results forwarded 
to the Governor and the Legislature, 
in addition to the secretary of state.
HB 2374 changes the definitions of 
hospital and of pharmacy as used 
in the Oklahoma Pharmacy Act to 
include facilities operated by the 
Oklahoma Department of Veterans 
Affairs.
Honorably discharged veterans are 
allowed free admission to all state 
parks and museums. HB 2934 
clarifies that state-issued driver 
licenses and ID cards with the special 
veteran insignia are sufficient proof 
of that veteran status.
HB 2554 directs the Board of Nursing 
to develop program guidelines for 
board-approved nursing education 
programs to facilitate the transition of 
veterans with prior military medical 
training and experience into nursing 
programs. 
HB 3509 directs the Oklahoma Tax 
Commission to issue a separate 
exemption card to a spouse or 
household member at the request 
of a person claiming the 100 
percent disabled veteran sales tax 
exemption. 

SB 1777 requires state-operated 
veterans centers to be designated 
nonsmoking, effective January 1, 
2015. Centers may designate outdoor 
smoking areas for residents only. All 
state-operated veterans centers must 
be entirely nonsmoking by January 
1, 2018. ■

Veterans & Military 
Affairs
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HB 1473 would have authorized 
the use of a state purchase card for 
unregulated utilities and provided 
that the state purchase of regulated 
utility services is not subject to the 
provisions of the Central Purchasing 
Act.
Governor’s Veto Message:

“[t]he amendments are unnecessary 
and will have no impact on the 
application of current law.”
HB 2527 would have created the 
Domestic Violence Legal Assistance 
Revolving Fund to allow Oklahoma 
taxpayers to make donations to the 
fund through their individual or 
corporate income tax return. The 
fund would have been administered 
by the Attorney General and provide 
financial assistance to indigent 
domestic violence victims for legal 
services. 
Governor’s Veto Message:

“Current law already provides for this 
benefit for domestic violence victims 
… the creation of a fund with a more 
narrow purpose puts at risk both 
funds, which would result in fewer 
resources for victims of domestic 
violence and sexual assault.”
HB 2539 would have modified the 
definition of justifiable homicide 
to allow for the defense of another 
person.
Governor’s Veto Message:

“[t]his Bill makes no substantive 
change to current law … ”
HB 2609 would have reduced the 
amount of time which must elapse 
before a person charged with a 
misdemeanor or felony can file for 
expungement.
Governor’s Veto Message:

“[t]his Bill makes minor substantive 
changes to current law and the 

passage of this Bill serves no 
significant interest of the citizens of 
the State of Oklahoma.”
However this language was later 
adopted through the passage of SB 
2140

HB 2627 would have reduced the 
time by which an employee of the 
ABLE Commission is prohibited 
from representing a licensee before 
the ABLE Commission after leaving 
employment.
Governor’s Veto Message:

“[c]urrent law insures (sic) there are 
strong safeguards in place to avoid 
and discourage conflicts of interest, 
whether intentional or inadvertent. 
The weakening of this safeguard does 
not serve a significant interest of the 
citizens of the State of Oklahoma.”
HB 2706 would have prohibited the 
sale of a compressed gas duster to a 
person under the age of 18.
Governor’s Veto Message:

“[t]his Bill restricts the sale of a legal 
product in an attempt to prevent 
the misuse of the product, and 
criminalizes lawful behavior of retail 
employees in this attempt.”
HB 2832 would have required the 
Tax Commission to issue a separate 
exemption card to a spouse or 
household member of a person eligible 
for the 100 percent disabled veteran 
sales tax exemption if requested by 
the eligible person so that purchases 
can be made on their behalf.
Governor’s Veto Message:
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“While I strongly support the sales 
tax exemption for disabled veterans 
and their spouses, this requirement 
is overly broad and does not contain 
adequate safeguards against the 
misuse of the sales tax advantage by 
those who do not qualify.”
However this language was later 
adopted through the passage of HB 
1033.
HB 2976 would have required 
hospitals to provide parents of 
newborns with information regarding 
the availability of a vaccine to protect 
the child against pertussis disease.
Governor’s Veto Message:

“[w]hile I strongly support the 
prevention of pertussis in newborns, 
this Bill will not advance that effort.”
HB 3000 would have required a 
mediation program, if ordered by the 
court, to disclose whether or not a 
party participated in mediation.
Governor’s Veto Message:

“This amendment is unnecessary … 
current law requires the mediation 
program to inform the court of a 
party’s failure to attend … ”
HB 3001 would have given the court 
the option to waive child support 
obligations for a noncustodial parent 
if the custodial parent prevents 
visitation or hides the child from the 
noncustodial parent for more than six 
months. 
Governor’s Veto Message:

“This bill effectively punishes a child 
and takes away financial support for 
that child for his or her parent’s action 
by removing a noncustodial parent’s 
financial obligation to support the 
child … In addition, this bill does not 
account for extreme situations where 
a custodial parent may be required to 
protect a child from harm or abuse, in 
spite of a valid court order.”
HB 3026 would have deleted obsolete 
language related to the State Council 
on Vocational Education.
Governor’s Veto Message:

“[this measure] is an exact duplicate 

of Senate Bill 2061, which I signed 
into law … ”
HB 3027 would have repealed the 
Student Tracking and Reporting Pilot 
Program.
Governor’s Veto Message:

“[this measure] is an exact duplicate 
of Senate Bill 2060, which I signed 
into law … ”
HB 3052 would have modified the 
duties of the Division of Central 
Accounting and Reporting by 
requiring that, unless specifically 
exempt, it prescribe all forms, systems, 
and procedures for administering 
accounting for all state agencies.
Governor’s Veto Message:

“[t]he amendments contained within 
[this measure] are non-substantive 
in nature. [This measure] serves no 
significant interest of the citizens of 
the State of Oklahoma.”
HB 3158 would have allowed an 
emancipated person under the age 
of 18 in the custody of the Office of 
Juvenile Affairs to show proof of 
financial responsibility in respect 
to the operation of a motor vehicle 
without need of parental signature.
Governor’s Veto Message:

“[p]otentially removing parents and 
guardians from playing an active 
role in this critical time in their 
child’s life does not serve a significant 
interest of the citizens of the State of 
Oklahoma.”
HB 3170 would have exempted 
students that have attained at 
least a proficient score on their 
End of Instruction tests for Algebra 
I, English II and two of the other 
required tests, from having to take 
any of the remaining tests.
Governor’s Veto Message:

“[t]his would result in an inability 
for administrators and teachers to 
accurately assess effectiveness of 
instruction methods and materials, 
and to accurately assess growth 
and improvement of all students 
individually and by grade level.” 

HB 3176 would have reduced the 
amount of leave a state employee is 
entitled to take with pay to attend 
meetings of job-related professional 
organizations which the employee is 
a member.
Governor’s Veto Message:

“[t]his change would allow state 
employees to have increased 
participation in professional and 
trade organizations at the tax payers’ 
expense.”
HB 3358 would have repealed several 
statutes related to the advertisement 
and sale of secondhand watches.
Governor’s Veto Message:

“Repealing this statute leaves 
innocent consumers vulnerable and 
weakens law enforcement options 
against those engaged in dishonest 
business practices.”
HB 3359 would have created the 
Oklahoma Construction Registry Act. 
The measure directed the Secretary 
of State and a newly created nine-
member advisory council to design, 
develop and implement the operation 
of an online construction registry.
Governor’s Veto Message:

“While I support the modernization 
of the construction lien registration 
process, I do not support the expansion 
of government. This bill expands 
government through the creation of 
the advisory council.”
HB 3367 would have prohibited 
municipalities or other political 
subdivisions from adopting any 
ordinance or regulation concerning 
the sale, purchase, ownership, use, 
possession, carrying, transporting, 
permitting or registration of knives.
Governor’s Veto Message:

“[this measure] serves no significant 
interest of the citizens of the State of 
Oklahoma.”
HB 3417 would have prohibited 
a law enforcement agency or law 
enforcement task force from allowing 
a private non-law-enforcement or 
non-department entity or person to 
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conduct or participate in a roadside 
traffic stop or arrest for a violation of 
traffic law or municipal ordinance.
Governor’s Veto Message:

“[t]his Bill is intended to prevent 
the outsourcing of law enforcement 
responsibilities, but is overly broad 
in its scope.”
HB 3457 would have modified the 
powers of county commissioners 
by requiring that a cooperative 
agreement must contain a provision 
that details the assets to be utilized. 
The measure provided that either 
party can terminate the agreement if 
a party is unwilling or unable to meet 
the obligations of the agreement 
unless the terms are changed and 
consented to by both parties.
Governor’s Veto Message:

“ … this Bill attempts, through 
minimum requirement mandates, 
to manage issues at the state level 
which are best left for local control.”
SB 814 would have allowed law 

enforcement to transport a person for 
medical care prior to arresting and 
taking the person into custody.
Governor’s Veto Message:

“[t]his Bill is inconsistent with current 
law, and provides no protection for 
local law enforcement agencies from 
unlimited liability arising from the 
medical costs of offenders.”
SB 1195 would have established 
requirements for the regulation and 
construction of anemometer towers.
Governor’s Veto Message:

“ … the concerns attempted to be 
addressed by this Bill are better 
addressed through administrative 
rule making and civil remedies, rather 
than through criminal penalties.”
However this language was later 
adopted through the passage of HB 
3348.
SB 1315 would have required the 
Secretary of State to set the date 
on which circulation of an initiative 

petition may begin no less than three 
days, or more than 10 days, from the 
date when all appeals, protests and 
rehearing have been resolved or have 
expired. 
Governor’s Veto Message:

“[t]he Bill … removes the procedures 
relating to the filing of referendum 
petitions with the Secretary of State 
and the time allowed to obtain the 
appropriate amount of signatures. 
Removal of that language creates 
ambiguity and uncertainty around the 
referendum  petition procedure…”
SB 1393 would have removed the 
requirement that an employer of an 
active full-time certified peace officer 
who failed to meet annual training 
requirements be given written notice 
of noncompliance.
Governor’s Veto Message:

“[t]his Bill could result in those 
officers’ immediate suspension and 
termination in spite of their military 
service or medical condition.”
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SB 1505 would have authorized 
agencies to offer employees to elect 
to be paid, one time annually, for a 
maximum of 200 hours of unused 
accrued annual leave.
Governor’s Veto Message:

“[t]his Bill transforms leave time 
into a commodity and incentivizes 
employees to not utilize annual leave 
time.”
SB 1577 would have modified the 
Open Records Act by adding the 
Oklahoma State System of Higher 
Education to the list of entities 
authorized to keep certain records 
confidential.
Governor’s Veto Message:

“[t]he expansion of exceptions to the 
Open Records Act serves only to limit 
public access to information.”
SB 1645 would have repealed statutes 
relating to disabled certificates, 
the Oklahoma Soldiers Memorial 
Hospital and the Oklahoma Union 
Soldiers Home.
Governor’s Veto Message:

“[this measure] would create 
ambiguity in the ownership and 
control of this property.”
SB 1673 would have created the 
Commodity Research Enhancement 
Act, which would have allowed any 
nonprofit commodity organization to 
petition the Oklahoma Commissioner 
of Agriculture for approval to conduct 
a state assessment referendum. 
Governor’s Veto Message:

“ … the Bill is not clear that the 
designated nonprofit commodity 
organization would be responsible 
for the expenses incurred by the 
commissioner in conducting the 
public hearing or certifying the 
referendum election results. Second, 
the bill criminalizes any violation of 
the … act by way of a misdemeanor 
… regardless of one’s intent or lack 
thereof to violate the act. These 
two issues result in this bill being 
contrary to the best interests of the 
State of Oklahoma.”
SB 2080 would have created the 
Memorandum of Understanding 
Act, which would have required that 

when a state agency enters into a 
Memorandum of Understanding of 
Agreement, while the legislature is in 
session, the agency must provide the 
chair of the appropriate legislative 
committee with a copy of the 
agreement and that the agreement 
be published on documents.ok.gov.
Governor’s Veto Message:

“[t]his measure’s requirements for 
the annual report do not increase 
transparency but simply impose 
another burdensome and needless 
administrative mandate.”
SB 2115 would have authorized the 
Pardon and Parole Board to receive 
additional compensation for work 
hours associated with the increased 
workload for non-violent parole 
processing.
Governor’s Veto Message:

“ … an over 100 percent increase in 
members’ salary is not responsible 
in a year where most State agencies 
are receiving significant budget 
reductions.” ■
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Appendix II 
Legislative Production

2014 Regular Session 
Statistics of Measures

House 
Bills

House Joint 
Resolutions

Senate 
Bills

Senate Joint 
Resolutions

Requested 1,679 42 1,302 28

Introduced 1,232 29 1,001 36*

Sent to Opposite 
Chamber 354 12 345 2

Conference Granted 44 4 57 0

Sent to Governor 258 2 212 0

Approved by 
Governor 225 2 202 0

Filed with Secretary 
of State 3 0 0 1

Vetoed 23 0 10 0

*The increased number of Senate Joint Resolutions filed reflects the ability of the Senate 
to change the type of measure requested after the request deadline.
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Bill Subject Index
ABUSE
Child: 
Child Abuse Response Team; full-
time positions within the Oklahoma 
State Bureau of Investigation. 
SB 639
Child abuse investigations; 
permitting Department of Human 
Services to contract with retired 
peace officers. SB 1182
Domestic: 
Domestic abuse; making certain 
second or subsequent convictions of 
certain violations subject to certain 
other provisions of law. SB 2046
Domestic violence; directing peace 
officers to make certain assessment. 
HB 2526

ADMINISTRATIVE 
PROCEDURES ACT
Administrative Procedures Act; 
modifying agency powers to require 
subpoenas relating to certain 
investigations. SB 1648

AGRICULTURE
Agriculture; ensuring state control 
of federal programs regulating and 
inspecting farm fruit and vegetable 
production. SB 1590
Dept. of Agriculture, Food and 
Forestry: 
Agriculture; authorizing the 
Department of Agriculture to inspect 
and license farmer’s markets in 
Oklahoma and Tulsa Counties. 
SB 1851
Agriculture; modifying various 
sections. HB 2566

Pesticide: 
Agriculture; modifying the 
Oklahoma Combined Pesticide Law. 
SB 1884

ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGES
Licenses: 
Intoxicating liquor; alcoholic 
beverages; adding definitions; adding 
licenses; charitable events; public 
events. SB 1715

AMUSEMENTS AND SPORTS
Horsemen’s bookkeeper-records; 
allowing the cancellation of 
uncashed disbursements. Effective 
date. SB 1730

ANIMALS
Dogs/Cats: 
Crimes against animals; modifying 
certain prohibited acts, penalties and 
exceptions relating to acts against 
police dogs and horses. SB 72
Horses: 
Crimes against animals; modifying 
certain prohibited acts, penalties and 
exceptions relating to acts against 
police dogs and horses. SB 72
Pet Breeders: 
Animals; modifying validity date of 
certain licenses. HB 2765

APPROPRIATIONS
Appropriations and budget; 
Department of Transportation; 
expenditures; transfer; budgetary 
limitations; authorizations; fiscal 
procedures. HB 3515
Appropriations; relating to the 
Supreme Court; directing certain 
transfer. SB 2135

Council on Law Enforcement 
Education and Training; relating 
to private security and investigator 
license applications; modifying 
deposit of certain fee. HB 3531
Department of Human Services; 
requiring certain appropriated funds 
to be used for certain purposes; 
transfer; procedure. HB 3523
Oklahoma Water Resources Board; 
requiring transfers of funds. 
SB 2136
State employee compensation; 
providing for salary increases for 
certain state employees. Effective 
date. SB 2131
Workers’ Compensation Commission; 
authorizing expenditure from the 
Workers’ Compensation Fund. 
HB 3538
Workers’ Compensation Court 
of Existing Claims; providing for 
creation of Revolving Fund; directing 
deposit of certain fees. HB 3539

ATTORNEYS
Attorneys’ lien; creating certain 
notice procedures; requiring certain 
action to be commenced within 
specified time period. SB 1077

BOARDS AND COMMISSIONS
Horse Racing Commission; purchase 
of motor vehicles. HB 2531
Oklahoma Commission on Children 
and Youth; providing continuing 
professional education and training. 
SB 1793
Public finance; modifying entity 
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responsible for support of Cash 
Management and Investment 
Oversight Commission. SB 1728
Public finance; providing for deposits 
from certain fund; creating J.M. 
Davis Arms and Historical Museum 
Endowment Fund. SB 1979
Public health; requiring Board of 
Medicolegal Investigations hold 
annual election of members; Chief 
Medical Examiner to appoint Deputy 
Chief Medical Examiner. SB 1183
Soldiers and Sailors; War Veterans 
Commission; updating language; 
changing membership requirements. 
SB 1970
Uniform Building Code Commission 
Act; requiring training certification; 
rules. SB 417

BUSINESS AND LABOR
Fireworks; relating to definitions 
and necessity for certain licenses 
and unlawful sales. SB 1826
Labor; Boiler and Pressure Vessel 
Safety Act; removing certain fee. 
HB 2344
Employees: 
Agency Consolidation Act of 2014; 
deleting language relating to State 
council on Vocational Education. 
SB 2061
Authorized disclosure of confidential 
information; modifying entities to 
whom certain information may be 
disclosed. SB 2078
Employment; declaring preemption 
authority. SB 1023
Labor; Making Professional 
Employer Organization a third-party 
administrator for failure to register; 
requiring certain information to 
be filed; modifying unemployment 
compensation contributions. 
HB 2914
Labor; modifying various provisions 
of the Employment Security Act of 
1980. HB 2505
Labor; prohibiting employer from 
requesting or requiring access to 
social media account of employees. 
HB 2372

Employers: 
Labor; Making Professional 
Employer Organization a third-party 
administrator for failure to register; 
requiring certain information to 
be filed; modifying unemployment 
compensation contributions. 
HB 2914
Labor; prohibiting employer from 
requesting or requiring access to 
social media account of employees. 
HB 2372
Employment Security 
Commission: 
Labor; modifying various provisions 
of the Employment Security Act of 
1980. HB 2505
Unemployment: 
Labor; modifying various provisions 
of the Employment Security Act of 
1980. HB 2505
Wages: 
Employment; declaring preemption 
authority. SB 1023

CEMETERIES
Cemeteries; authorizing 
municipalities to permit burial 
places in certain locations. SB 1899

CHILDREN
Children; relating to termination of 
parental rights; modifying listed acts 
requiring termination. HB 2667
Department of Human Services; 
authorizing contracts with certain 
facilities for certain services. 
Effective date. SB 1449
Foster children; requiring 
Department of Human Services 
to furnish credit report for certain 
children. SB 1937
Parental rights; conforming 
language; modifying certain 
procedure. SB 1779
Parental rights; creating the 
Parents’ Bill of Rights. HB 1384
Adoption: 
Adoption; permitting venue where 
termination proceedings took place. 
HB 2604
Child Custody: 
Child custody; prohibiting court from 

awarding custody or guardianship to 
persons convicted of certain crimes. 
HB 3472
Children; permitting parent or 
guardian to execute power of 
attorney to delegate care and 
custody powers to another person. 
HB 2536
Enforcement of visitation rights; 
modifying procedures relating to 
enforcement of visitation rights. 
SB 1612
Child Support: 
Child support; modifying certain 
enforcement authority of court. 
SB 1784
Child support; modifying procedures 
for establishing support; modifying 
requirements for certain notice. 
SB 1993
Child Welfare: 
Children; child death or near death 
reports; providing statements 
expressing sympathy by DHS are 
inadmissible. HB 3473
Delinquents and Juveniles: 
Arrest of juveniles; prohibiting 
consideration of certain juvenile 
matters for certain purposes. 
Emergency. SB 1914
Children; requiring juvenile bureaus 
to provide certain services to certain 
persons; standards; juvenile court 
case managers. HB 2241
Juvenile Code; authorizing 
disclosure of certain records to 
certain persons. SB 929
Deprived: 
Children; permitting application for 
emergency hearing in deprived child 
cases. HB 2585
Children; relating to termination 
of parental rights; providing for 
termination if substantial erosion of 
relationship exists. HB 2130
Foster: 
Children; permitting parent or 
guardian to execute power of 
attorney to delegate care and 
custody powers to another person. 
HB 2536
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Children; relating to recognition 
of interests and child placement 
proceedings; preparation of reports. 
SB 2088
Children; relating to termination 
of parental rights; providing for 
termination if substantial erosion of 
relationship exists. HB 2130
Juvenile Affairs Office (OJA): 
Children; requiring juvenile bureaus 
to provide certain services to certain 
persons; standards; juvenile court 
case managers. HB 2241
Juvenile Code; authorizing 
disclosure of certain records to 
certain persons. SB 929
Office of Juvenile Affairs; 
authorizing Office to access certain 
data and facilities; directing 
promulgation of rules. SB 1781
Office of Juvenile Affairs; board 
to administer, operate and staff 
charter school; certain staff to be 
in unclassified service and eligible 
for Teachers’ Retirement System. 
SB 1902
Office of Juvenile Affairs; prohibiting 
certain fees; permitting Office to 
access certain records. SB 1791
Office of Juvenile Affairs; requiring 
referrals to law enforcement 
agencies for abuse of certain 
children. SB 1900
Office of Juvenile Affairs; 
transferring certain licensing 
standards; removing certain 
required information. SB 1293
Neglect: 
Children; creating the Quinten 
Douglas Wood Act of 2014. HB 3469

CITIES AND TOWNS
Cities and towns; creating the 
Protect Property Rights Act. 
HB 2620
Annexation: 
Cities and towns; relating taxation 
of annexed territory; modifying 
provisions related to applicability of 
municipal taxation and regulatory 
ordinances. HB 3143
Municipal annexation; requiring 

consent exceptions for certain 
developments. SB 711

CIVIL PROCEDURE
Human trafficking; adding 
definition; providing for certain 
costs; providing for certain civil 
actions and statute of limitation. 
SB 1538
Damages: 
Patent infringement; prohibiting 
bad-faith patent infringement 
claims. HB 2837
Discovery Code: 
Discovery; modifying requirements 
related to discovery methods. 
HB 3375
Evidence Code: 
Civil procedure; providing for the 
inclusion of certain statements. 
HB 2343
Court proceedings; permitting child 
witnesses to testify accompanied by 
therapeutic dog. HB 2591
Lawsuit: 
Attorney fees; authorizing certain 
suits under the Open Meeting Act. 
Effective date. SB 1497
Civil procedures; creating the 
Oklahoma Citizens Participation 
Act. HB 2366
Patent infringement; prohibiting 
bad-faith patent infringement 
claims. HB 2837
Liability: 
Product liability; providing 
rebuttable presumptions and scope 
of liability. HB 3365

COMMITTEES, COUNCILS 
AND TASK FORCES
Agency Consolidation Act of 2014; 
Cigarette and Tobacco Tax Advisory 
Committee. SB 2058
Agency Consolidation Act of 2014; 
deleting language relating to Post-
secondary Oversight Council. 
SB 2059
Alarm and Locksmith Industry 
Committee; requiring active 
employment status. SB 1399
Cigarette and tobacco taxes; 

repealing section of the Cigarette 
and Tobacco Tax Advisory 
Committee. HB 3024
Education; repealing the Post-
secondary Oversight Council. 
HB 3025
Oklahoma Public Health Code; 
clarifying language. SB 1792

CONSTITUTION OKLAHOMA
Vote of the People: 
Constitutional amendment; 
providing that certain provision 
not be construed to prohibit certain 
military service. SJR 33

CONSUMER CREDIT
Consumer credit; authorizing 
administrative fine; setting 
maximum fine amount. SB 1515
Consumer credit; modifying 
provisions related to disclosures and 
the Consumer Credit Protection Act; 
repealer. HB 3346
Department of Consumer Credit; 
fees; authorizing reduction of 
licensing fees. SB 1940
Supervised lenders; deleting 
supervised lenders from automatic 
change under certain Reference Base 
Index; maximum loan amounts and 
charges. SB 1698

CONTRACTS
Contracts; repealing the Y2K 
Protection Act. HB 3164
Oklahoma Central Purchasing 
Act; updating statutory reference. 
SB 1719

CORPORATION COMMISSION
Telecommunications: 
Corporation Commission; making 
not-for-profit mental health and 
substance abuse facilities eligible 
to receive certain special universal 
services. HB 2974

CORPORATIONS
Charitable Corporations and 
Associations: 
Corporations; authorizing certain 
fire departments to establish fee 
schedule for services in response to 
an emergency. HB 2495
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COUNTIES AND COUNTY 
OFFICERS
Permitting city-county health 
department to develop Wellness 
Council. HB 2444
Officials: 
Counties and county officers; 
authorizing training for certain 
persons. HB 2951
Purchasing: 
County purchasing; modifying 
certain exemptions for bidding; 
modifying amount of certain 
purchase orders. SB 1173
Sheriff: 
Counties and county officers; 
authorizing training for certain 
persons. HB 2951
County records; modifying 
requirement for keeping certain 
records; deleting certain requirement 
for disposal of such records. SB 1738

COURTS
Corporations; relating to 
shareholder’s derivative action; 
expenses. SB 1799
Court Records: 
Expungement of records; modifying 
requirements for sealing of certain 
records. SB 1875
Open records; requiring certain 
records to be considered as public 
records; permitting court to seal a 
record in certain instance. HB 2998
Judges: 
Salaries and compensation; 
amending certain salaries; providing 
certain salaries not increase. 
HJR 1096
Juries and Jurors: 
Jurors; modifying exemption from 
jury duty. HB 2774

CRIMES AND PUNISHMENTS
Arrest without warrant; modifying 
where an officer may make certain 
arrests. SB 1600
Bogus checks; modifying definition. 
SB 989
Oklahoma Victims’ Rights Act; 
modifying definitions. SB 1824

Child Abuse: 
Crimes and punishments; child 
abuse; deleting statutory reference; 
defining terms. HB 2334
Crimes and punishments; requiring 
reporting of trafficking in children. 
HB 3496
Felony: 
Crimes and punishments; clarifying 
justifiable homicide provisions. 
HB 3510
Crimes and punishments; modifying 
penalty. HB 2568
Firearms and Weapons: 
Crimes and punishments; clarifying 
scope of certain prohibited act. 
HB 2840
Crimes and punishments; extending 
grace period for license renewals. 
HB 2692
Crimes and punishments; providing 
alternate form of payment for 
handgun license applications and 
renewals. HB 2594
Crimes and punishments; requiring 
law enforcement officials to execute 
certain certification requests; 
requiring written notification of 
denial. HB 2461
Homicide: 
Crimes and punishments; clarifying 
justifiable homicide provisions. 
HB 3510
Pornography: 
Crimes and punishments; increasing 
fine for certain prohibited act; 
adding penalty provision for 
second and subsequent convictions. 
HB 2349
Sexting; modifying penalties. 
HB 2541
Seizure and Forfeiture: 
Asset forfeiture; authorizing sale of 
property through online auctions. 
HB 2379
Unlawful proceeds; modifying what 
certain unlawful acts are derived 
from; definition, penalties, certain 
actions and proceedings. SB 1371
Sex Crimes: 
Crimes and punishment; increasing 

penalties. HB 2353
Human trafficking; modifying 
required service of minimum 
percentage of sentence; definitions; 
penalties. SB 1433
Sex Offenders Registration Act; 
adding certain persons and crime to 
which the act applies. SB 1431
Sexting; modifying penalties. 
HB 2541
Sex Offenders: 
Change of name; prohibiting certain 
persons from petitioning for a 
change of name. SB 1421
Sex Offenders Registration Act; 
adding certain persons and crime to 
which the act applies. SB 1431
Sex Offenders Registration Act; 
requiring certain photograph. 
SB 1444
Zone of safety; modifying what a 
park is; prohibiting certain persons 
convicted of certain crimes from 
entering or loitering within 500 feet 
of a park. SB 1364

CRIMINAL PROCEDURE
Criminal procedure; expungement of 
criminal records; modifying certain 
qualifications. SB 2140
Criminal procedure; stating 
procedures for revocations. HB 2859
Probation and Parole: 
Probation-parole officers; requiring 
probation supervision to meet 
certain minimum standards; setting 
certain requirements for supervision 
agencies. SB 1720
Search and Seizure: 
Criminal procedure; providing 
procedures for obtaining search 
warrants by telephone or electronic 
mail. HB 2342
Sentencing: 
Criminal procedure; clarifying 
certain probation requirement. 
HB 3159
Criminal procedure; providing 
separate time limitation for 
answering certain post-conviction 
relief claims. HB 3254



Subject Index | 59

Delayed Sentencing Program for 
Young Adults; modifying certain 
definition. SB 1842

DEFINITIONS AND GENERAL 
PROVISIONS
Definitions: 
Deleting certain recordings from 
exclusion of certain definition. 
HB 2676

DRUGS
Central Repository: 
Public health and safety; relating 
to the Anti-Drug Diversion Act; 
authorizing the disclosure of 
prescription monitoring program 
information. HB 2665
Controlled Dangerous 
Substances: 
Public health and safety; adding 
substances to Schedules I, II and IV. 
HB 2666
Public health and safety; relating 
to the Anti-Drug Diversion Act; 
authorizing the disclosure of 
prescription monitoring program 
information. HB 2665
Illegal Drugs: 
Public health and safety; making 
certain substances applicable to the 
Trafficking in Illegal Drugs Act. 
HB 2589
Narcotics and Dangerous Drugs 
Control Bureau: 
Public health and safety; relating 
to the Anti-Drug Diversion Act; 
authorizing the disclosure of 
prescription monitoring program 
information. HB 2665
Pharmacies: 
Pharmacies; requiring license for 
pharmacy benefits management. 
HB 2100

ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT
Revenue and taxation; regional 
economic development and 
transportation authorities. HB 2480
Small Employer Quality Jobs 
Act: 
Revenue and taxation; Small 
Employer Quality Jobs Incentive 
Act; population restrictions. 
HB 2956

EDUCATION
Private schools; modifying licensure 
process; modifying initial and 
renewal license fees. SB 1460
Schools; creating the Oklahoma 
Extracurricular Activities 
Accountability Act. HB 2730
Schools; creating the Oklahoma-
A STEM State of Mind Program; 
creating an advisory committee. 
SB 1181
Schools; requiring the pledge of 
allegiance to be recited weekly in 
certain schools. SB 1143
Blind, School for: 
Juvenile records; allowing certain 
schools to access certain records. 
SB 1520
Boards of Education: 
Schools; permitting boards of 
education to adopt a suicide and 
student drug abuse policy and 
curriculum. HB 1623
Bonds: 
Schools; allowing certificates of 
indebtedness to be purchased 
through the funding of certain 
investments. HB 2682
Career and Technology 
Department: 
Adult education; transferring powers 
and duties of adult education to 
the State Board of Career and 
Technology Education. SB 1661
Career technology; tuition waivers; 
children of persons killed in the line 
of duty. HB 3350
Curriculum: 
Schools; Dustin Rhodes and Lindsay 
Steed CPR Training Act. HB 1378
Schools; adding science, technology, 
engineering and math block course 
to certain list of courses; adding 
grade level for certain courses 
taken at a technology center school. 
SB 1653
Schools; authorizing the teaching of 
Native American languages in public 
schools for certain credit. HB 2921
Schools; curricular standards. 
HB 3399

Schools; limiting agricultural 
education programs to certain 
grades; agricultural experience 
projects. HB 3006
Schools; providing for certain 
courses to meet the math set of 
competencies. SB 1422
Deregulation: 
Schools; repealer; Oklahoma School 
Deregulation Committee. HB 2356
Districts: 
Schools; Regional Education 
Administrative Districts; 
administrative services to qualifying 
school districts. SB 436
Schools; allowing schools to 
determine student involvement 
in certain drills. Effective date. 
Emergency. SB 1295
Schools; directing the State 
Department of Education 
promulgate rules establishing 
limited exemptions from certain 
testing; directing to conduct a study 
of reading instruction and retention 
of students. HB 2497
Schools; making certain modification 
to system of accounting for school 
districts. HB 2499
Schools; modifying various 
provisions; teacher licensure. 
HB 2885
Schools; modifying years during 
which school districts are exempt 
from certain requirements. Effective 
date. SB 1469
Schools; providing certain child to be 
considered as resident of originating 
school district for school purposes. 
HB 2571
Schools; removing requirement to 
publish certain district-level data. 
SB 1655
Education Department/Board: 
Adult education; transferring powers 
and duties of adult education to 
the State Board of Career and 
Technology Education. SB 1661
Education; providing academic 
performance reports on certain 
students. SB 1331



Subject Index | 60

Schools; Regional Education 
Administrative Districts; 
administrative services to qualifying 
school districts. SB 436
Schools; directing the State 
Department of Education 
promulgate rules establishing 
limited exemptions from certain 
testing; directing to conduct a study 
of reading instruction and retention 
of students. HB 2497
Schools; modifying years during 
which school districts are exempt 
from certain requirements. Effective 
date. SB 1469
Schools; requiring State Board of 
Education to promulgate certain 
rules. HB 2938
Teacher and leader evaluations; 
directing certain data to be 
available to the State Department of 
Education. SB 1828
Funding: 
Schools; allowing certificates of 
indebtedness to be purchased 
through the funding of certain 
investments. HB 2682
Schools; making certain modification 
to system of accounting for school 
districts. HB 2499
Health and Safety: 
Schools; Dustin Rhodes and Lindsay 
Steed CPR Training Act. HB 1378
Schools; allowing schools to 
determine student involvement 
in certain drills. Effective date. 
Emergency. SB 1295
Schools; permitting boards of 
education to adopt a suicide and 
student drug abuse policy and 
curriculum. HB 1623
Higher Education: 
Administrative Procedures Act; 
modifying actions with respect to 
which higher education institution 
required to comply. SB 1694
Higher education; creating the 
Oklahoma Student Veteran Leave of 
Absence Act of 2014. Effective date. 
SB 1830
Higher education; directing the State 

Regents for Higher Education to 
adopt certain tuition policy. SB 1829
Higher education; repealer; 
Adult Literacy Services Advisory 
Committee. HB 2360
Higher education; repealer; 
Advancement of Hispanic Students 
in Higher Education Task Force. 
HB 2358
Higher education; repealer; study 
to assess services and programs 
of higher education institutions. 
HB 2359
Public education; prohibiting public 
institution of higher education from 
substantially burdening a student’s 
exercise of religion. HB 2873
Online Education: 
Schools; repealer; Virtual Internet 
School in Oklahoma Network 
(VISION) Act. HB 2357
Virtual education; directing 
submission of certain information 
electronically. SB 1461
Reading: 
Schools; Reading Sufficiency Act; 
modifying mandatory third-grade 
retention requirements; allowing 
promotions in certain instances. 
HB 2625
Schools; directing the State 
Department of Education 
promulgate rules establishing 
limited exemptions from certain 
testing; directing to conduct a study 
of reading instruction and retention 
of students. HB 2497
Residency: 
Education; directing educational 
services to be provided to persons in 
certain programs after certain time. 
SB 1377
Schools; providing certain child to be 
considered as resident of originating 
school district for school purposes. 
HB 2571
Scholarships: 
Schools; exempting certain 
students from certain public school 
attendance requirement under the 
Lindsey Nicole Henry Scholarships 
for Students with Disabilities 

Program. HB 2414
Schools: 
Schools; repealer; office of county 
superintendent of schools. HB 2354
School Employees: 
Schools; modifying various 
provisions; teacher licensure. 
HB 2885
Schools; requiring certain records 
under the Oklahoma Teacher and 
Leader Effectiveness Evaluation 
System to be kept confidential. 
HB 3173
Special Education: 
Education; directing educational 
services to be provided to persons in 
certain programs after certain time. 
SB 1377
Schools; exempting certain 
students from certain public school 
attendance requirement under the 
Lindsey Nicole Henry Scholarships 
for Students with Disabilities 
Program. HB 2414
Schools; modifying teacher 
certification requirements for certain 
special education areas. HB 2683
Students: 
Agency Consolidation Act of 2014; 
deleting language relating to 
Student Tracking and Reporting 
Pilot Program. SB 2060
Education; directing educational 
services to be provided to persons in 
certain programs after certain time. 
SB 1377
Education; providing academic 
performance reports on certain 
students. SB 1331
Higher education; repealer; 
Advancement of Hispanic Students 
in Higher Education Task Force. 
HB 2358
Schools; allowing schools to 
determine student involvement 
in certain drills. Effective date. 
Emergency. SB 1295
Schools; permitting boards of 
education to adopt a suicide and 
student drug abuse policy and 
curriculum. HB 1623
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Superintendents: 
Schools; repealer; office of county 
superintendent of schools. HB 2354
Teachers: 
Schools; modifying various 
provisions; teacher licensure. 
HB 2885
Schools; requiring certain records 
under the Oklahoma Teacher and 
Leader Effectiveness Evaluation 
System to be kept confidential. 
HB 3173
Teacher and leader evaluations; 
directing certain data to be 
available to the State Department of 
Education. SB 1828
Teacher Certification/Licensure: 
Schools; modifying teacher 
certification requirements for certain 
special education areas. HB 2683
Schools; modifying various 
provisions; teacher licensure. 
HB 2885
Schools; requiring State Board of 
Education to promulgate certain 
rules. HB 2938
Schools; requiring certain subject 
area competency examinations to be 
offered in the native language of the 
teacher under certain circumstances. 
HB 2548
Teacher Salaries: 
Schools; repealer; teacher minimum 
salary schedules. HB 2355
Testing: 
Schools; Reading Sufficiency Act; 
modifying mandatory third-grade 
retention requirements; allowing 
promotions in certain instances. 
HB 2625
Schools; directing the State 
Department of Education 
promulgate rules establishing 
limited exemptions from certain 
testing; directing to conduct a study 
of reading instruction and retention 
of students. HB 2497
Textbooks: 
Schools; modifying years during 
which school districts are exempt 
from certain requirements. Effective 
date. SB 1469

Transfers: 
Schools; repealing a provision 
relating to an application for school 
transfer. HB 2626

ELECTIONS
Absentee: 
Elections; notary public restrictions; 
providing that procedures apply to 
certain elections. HB 2576
Campaigns: 
Crimes and punishments; repealing 
penalty for certain campaign 
literature. HB 2199
Local Government Campaign 
Finance and Financial Disclosure 
Act; providing for regulation of 
county, city and school district office 
campaigns. SB 1745
Campaign Contributions and 
Expenditures: 
Campaign finance; modifying 
various provisions relating to 
criminal penalties. SB 1744
Local Government Campaign 
Finance and Financial Disclosure 
Act; providing for regulation of 
county, city and school district office 
campaigns. SB 1745
Candidates: 
Elections; modifying procedures in 
event of candidate’s death. SB 1693
Crimes: 
Crimes and punishments; repealing 
penalty for certain campaign 
literature. HB 2199
Election Board: 
Elections; notary public restrictions; 
providing that procedures apply to 
certain elections. HB 2576
Special: 
Elections; modifying procedures in 
event of candidate’s death. SB 1693

ENERGY
Oklahoma Energy Initiative; 
modifying membership of board. 
SB 1581
Wind: 
Wind energy; requiring Aeronautics 
Commission to promulgate rules 
regulating the appearance of 
anemometer towers; establish and 

maintain database. HB 3348

ENVIRONMENT AND 
NATURAL RESOURCES
Conservation: 
Master conservancy districts; 
prohibiting certain employees from 
serving on certain boards; board 
members travel reimbursement. 
SB 1508
Environmental Quality 
Department/Board: 
Environment and natural resources; 
eliminating liability for persons 
conducting certain approved 
projects. HB 2378
Environment and natural resources; 
modifying qualifications of member 
of the Water Quality Management 
Advisory Council. SB 1413
Environment and natural resources; 
relating to the Oklahoma Refinery 
Revitalization Act; replacing certain 
review board with Secretary of 
Energy and Environment. HB 2652
Environment and natural resources; 
requiring Environmental Quality 
Board to promulgate rules governing 
water reuse projects; DEQ to issue 
permit. SB 1187
Solid waste; modifying permitting 
for solid waste disposal sites and 
vegetation plans. Effective date. 
SB 1336
Hazardous Waste: 
Environment and natural resources; 
eliminating liability for persons 
conducting certain approved 
projects. HB 2378
Recycling: 
Environment and natural resources; 
relating to the Oklahoma Used Tire 
Recycling Act; deleting limit for 
certain allocations. HB 3102
Secretary of Environment: 
Environment and natural resources; 
relating to the Oklahoma Refinery 
Revitalization Act; replacing certain 
review board with Secretary of 
Energy and Environment. HB 2652
Solid Waste: 
Solid waste; modifying permitting 
for solid waste disposal sites and 
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vegetation plans. Effective date. 
SB 1336
Water: 
Environment and natural resources; 
modifying qualifications of member 
of the Water Quality Management 
Advisory Council. SB 1413
Environment and natural resources; 
requiring Environmental Quality 
Board to promulgate rules governing 
water reuse projects; DEQ to issue 
permit. SB 1187
Master conservancy districts; 
prohibiting certain employees from 
serving on certain boards; board 
members travel reimbursement. 
SB 1508

FEDERAL GOVERNMENT 
(UNITED STATES)
Gold and silver coins; establishing 
gold and silver coins as legal tender; 
modifying qualifications relating to 
exemption. SB 862

FINANCIAL INSTITUTIONS
Loans: 
Deferred deposit lending; clarifying 
when transaction is complete. 
SB 1941

FIREARMS AND WEAPONS
Firearm disabilities; modifying 
procedures for certain proceedings. 
SB 1845
Firearms; carrying of firearms 
by certain attorneys, judges and 
Attorney General; clarifying training 
requirement; identification cards. 
SB 1442
Minors possessing firearms; 
modifying who may give a firearms 
to a child for certain purposes; 
modifying weapons a minor may 
possess for certain purposes. SB 934
License: 
Crimes and punishments; making 
completion certificates valid for 
certain period of time. HB 2874
Crimes and punishments; modifying 
certain eligibility requirement. 
HB 2888
Schools and Government 
Property: 

Crimes and punishments; adding 
exception to certain prohibited act. 
HB 2496
Crimes and punishments; firearms 
stored in motor vehicle on school 
property; deleting certain penalties. 
HB 2614

FUNDS
Criminal Justice; creating the 
Criminal Justice Pay for Success 
Revolving Fund; providing for 
expenditures from fund. SB 1278
Environment and natural resources; 
creating the Federal Clean Water 
Act Grant Revolving Fund; creating 
the Environmental Programs 
Revolving Fund. HB 3349
War Veterans Commission Revolving 
Fund; updating language. SB 1239
Workers’ compensation; relating to 
the Self-insurance Guaranty Fund 
Board; appointment procedures. 
SB 1948

GAME AND FISH
Fishing: 
Game and fish; adding residency 
requirement for a lifetime hunting or 
fishing license. HB 2518
Hunting: 
Game and fish; adding quail to game 
excluded from five-day nonresident 
hunting license. HB 3135
Game and fish; adding residency 
requirement for a lifetime hunting or 
fishing license. HB 2518
Licenses: 
Game and fish; adding quail to game 
excluded from five-day nonresident 
hunting license. HB 3135
Game and fish; adding residency 
requirement for a lifetime hunting or 
fishing license. HB 2518
Game and fish; providing for a 
nuisance wildlife control operator 
permit. HB 2618

GOVERNOR
Cabinet: 
Governor’s cabinet; repealing 
the Executive Environmental 
Subcommittee of the Governor’s 

Cabinet. SB 1964

HEALTH
Abortion: 
Modifying definitions regarding 
abortion-inducing drugs. HB 2684
Public health and safety; prohibiting 
abortion to be performed without 
voluntary and informed consent of 
female. HB 2685
Public health; directing Board 
of Health to establish certain 
standards; requiring medical 
screenings prior to abortion; 
penalties. SB 1848
Disabled Persons: 
Agency Consolidation Act of 
2014; Advantage Waiver and 
Developmental Disability Services 
Rate Review Committee. SB 2057
Health Department: 
Public health and safety; permitting 
assisted living center to participate 
in informal dispute resolution panel. 
HB 2190
Medical Records: 
Vital statistics; designating certain 
records as public information for 
certain time periods. Effective date. 
SB 1448
Mental Health: 
Mental health; relating to a 
real property trust; allowing 
certain tracts to be sold if certain 
determination is made; proceeds 
requirements. HB 2831
Physical Therapy: 
Professions and occupations; 
permitting individuals to access 
physical therapy without certain 
referral. HB 1020
Tobacco: 
Public health; requiring veterans 
centers to be designated nonsmoking 
by certain date. Effective date. 
SB 1777
Tobacco products; furnishing to 
minors; adding alternative nicotine 
products and vapor products. 
SB 1602

HEALTH CARE
Public health and safety; requiring 
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certain individual to make certain 
designations. HB 2906
End of Life: 
Public health and safety; creating 
the Medical Treatment Laws 
Information Act. HB 2603
Facilities: 
Ambulatory surgical centers; 
clarifying language. SB 1853
Public health; relating to peer review 
information. SB 1218
Hospitals: 
Designated caregivers; permitting 
hospital patients to designate 
caregivers; requiring patient 
consent; requiring certain notices. 
SB 1536
Long-term Care: 
Certificates of need; modifying 
certain requirements for life care 
communities; removing certain 
limitations. SB 1455
Insurance; Long-Term Care 
Partnership Program; directing 
Oklahoma Health Care Authority 
to make available policy riders. 
SB 1874
Medicaid: 
Public health and safety; relating to 
a drug prior authorization program 
approved by the Medicaid Drug 
Utilization Review Board; removing 
certain drug. HB 2384
Nursing Homes: 
Nursing homes; requiring facilities 
to conduct exit conferences for 
certain violations. Effective date. 
SB 1450
Providers: 
Medical liability actions; prohibiting 
admissibility of certain action. 
SB 1905

HUMAN SERVICES 
DEPARTMENT
Department of Human Services; 
Oklahoma Personnel Act; extending 
trial period for certain Department 
employees. HB 2586
Department of Human Services; 
modifying certain term. SB 1216
Children: 

Foster parents; providing additional 
right to be given copy of certain 
liability insurance policy. HB 3475

INSURANCE
Insurance; distribution of claims; 
requiring funds distributed to the 
receiver to be utilized for certain 
purposes. HB 2929
Insurance; interlocal entities. 
SB 2026
Insurance; limited lines producers; 
modifying coverage requirements. 
Effective date SB 2018
Accident: 
Insurance; standard valuation law; 
standard nonforfeiture law; principle 
based valuation. Effective date 
SB 2045
Brokers: 
Insurance; modifying requirements 
permitting procurement of insurance 
through surplus lines brokers. 
SB 1873
Health: 
Insurance; authorizing the creation 
of nonprofit health maintenance 
organization corporations. HB 3280
Insurance; repealing the Health 
Insurance High Risk Pool Acts. 
HB 3282
Insurance; standard valuation law; 
standard nonforfeiture law; principle 
based valuation. Effective date 
SB 2045
Municipal employees; offering health 
insurance to retired employees. 
SB 1858
Health Exchanges: 
Insurance; requiring navigators to 
be registered. HB 3286
Insurance Commissioner: 
Insurance; modifying various 
sections. SB 1319
Insurance; relating to the State 
Insurance Commissioner Revolving 
Fund; providing that certain monies 
shall not be included in the fund. 
HB 2994
Insurance; requiring navigators to 
be registered. HB 3286

Insurance; standard valuation law; 
standard nonforfeiture law; principle 
based valuation. Effective date 
SB 2045
Insurer: 
Insurance; modifying requirements 
permitting procurement of insurance 
through surplus lines brokers. 
SB 1873
Licenses: 
Insurance; requiring navigators to 
be registered. HB 3286
Life: 
Insurance; standard valuation law; 
standard nonforfeiture law; principle 
based valuation. Effective date 
SB 2045
Motor Vehicle: 
Insurance; prohibiting stacking of 
certain insurance policies. SB 991
Motor vehicles; changing the amount 
of time a temporary license plate 
issued is valid. SB 1843
Premium: 
Insurance; premium reserve for 
domestic title insurers; rates. 
SB 2025
Property and Casualty: 
Insurance; changing entities directed 
to appoint certain board members. 
HB 2406
Uninsured: 
Insurance; prohibiting stacking of 
certain insurance policies. SB 991

LICENSES
Constructions Industries Board; 
removing prohibition of violations 
or fines; Mechanical Licensing Act; 
exception for certain gas pipelines. 
SB 1438

LIENS
Service liens on personal property; 
modifying certain notice and 
procedural requirements. SB 582

MARRIAGE AND FAMILIES
Divorce: 
Marriage and family; modifying 
requirements for divorces based on 
incompatibility; program. HB 2249
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MILITARY AND VETERANS
Soldiers and sailors; providing for 
recodification. HB 2375
Veterans: 
Soldiers and Sailors; relating to 
War Veterans definition; amending 
definition. SB 1610
Soldiers and Sailors; updating 
reference to War Veterans 
Commission. SB 1585
Soldiers and sailors; Oklahoma 
veterans’ home; repealer. HB 2376
Soldiers and sailors; providing 
that certain identification will 
be sufficient evidence for free 
admission. HB 2934
War Veterans Commission; 
requiring audits and distribution of 
audits. Effective date. SB 1636

MOTOR VEHICLES
Service Warranty Act; adding 
definitions; references; applicability 
under the Vehicle Protection Product 
Act. SB 1923
Buses: 
Motor Vehicles; intercity 
motorbuses; repealer. HB 2688
Dealers: 
Motor vehicles; relating to license 
violations; establishing procedures 
for fair compensation. SB 387
Driver License: 
Driver licenses; authorizing a 
test to be taken on the Internet; 
providing for a certain downgrade 
and reinstatement of CDL licenses; 
providing a certain fee waiver. 
SB 1332
Motor vehicles; modifying 
documentation requirements. 
HB 2592
Motor vehicles; providing exception 
to certain issuance requirement. 
HB 2387
DUI: 
Motor vehicles; forfeiture of motor 
vehicles. HB 1112
License Plates: 
Motor vehicles; authorizing 
Oklahoma Tax Commission to 

prohibit issuance of replacement 
plates for license plate seized. 
Emergency. SB 503
Motor vehicles; creating special 
license plates for 1-179th Infantry 
and 2-179th Infantry; Frederick 
Bombers; providing qualifications 
for, and design of, special plate. 
SB 1866
Motor vehicles; creating special 
license plates; the Jenks Trojans 
License Plate; the Ronald McDonald 
House Charities License Plate. 
HB 2985
Motor vehicles; exempting certain 
license plate from certain fee. 
HB 2488
Motor vehicles; expanding 
authorized use of disabled veterans 
special license plates. Effective date. 
SB 1257
Permits: 
Motor vehicles; providing for annual 
permit option; requiring map. 
HB 2328
Registration: 
Motor vehicles; amending various 
sections relating to the registration 
and weight restrictions of 
commercial vehicles. SB 1551
Motor vehicles; clarifying 
qualifications for reduced 
registration fee for certain military 
personnel. SB 1624
Motor vehicles; modifying definition 
of certain vehicles. Emergency. 
SB 1397
Size, Weight and Load: 
Motor vehicles; amending various 
sections relating to the registration 
and weight restrictions of 
commercial vehicles. SB 1551
Motor vehicles; modifying gross 
vehicle weight limits. SB 1369
Motor vehicles; providing for annual 
permit option; requiring map. 
HB 2328
Used Vehicles: 
Used Motor Vehicle and Parts 
Commission; creating the Crusher 
Act; scrap metal dealers. HB 1516

Wreckers: 
Motor vehicles; towing vehicles and 
wrecker liability; making certain 
persons exempt from liability; 
release of certain personal property; 
removal of interlock devices. 
SB 2098

NATIVE AMERICANS
Schools; extending termination date 
of the Oklahoma Advisory Council 
on Indian Education. HB 3243

OIL AND GAS
Oil and gas; Corporation 
Commission to promulgate rules 
governing reporting requirements 
for landfill disposal of drilling waste 
materials. SB 1418
Natural Gas: 
Compressed natural gas; 
transferring regulation and 
implementation; creating the 
Compressed Natural Gas Conversion 
Safety and Regulation Fund. 
HB 3297
Pipelines: 
Pipelines; directing the Corporation 
Commission to open a Notice of 
Inquiry relating to pipeline safety 
and prevention of excavation 
damage. HB 2533
Wells: 
Oil and gas; authorizing the 
Corporation Commission to allow 
multiunit horizontal wells in certain 
targeted areas; requirements. SB 78

POOR PERSONS
Temporary Assistance for Needy 
Families; providing penalties for 
certain violations. Effective date. 
SB 1706
Food Stamps: 
Food stamps; food stamp fraud; 
modifying definition. HB 2587

POPULAR NAME LAWS
Adjustments to value; board of tax 
roll corrections: 
HB 2810
Aerospace engineering tax credits: 
HB 2509
Affordable Housing Act: 
SB 2128
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Amortization of unfunded liability: 
HB 2622
Anna McBride Act: 
HB 2859
Citizens Participation Act: 
HB 2366
Commodity Research Enhancement 
Act: 
SB 1851
Common Core: 
HB 3399
County board of equalization; 
affidavits: 
HB 2534
Crusher Act: 
HB 1516
Definition; Scope of liability: 
HB 2405
Education Council: 
HB 3333
Extracurricular Activities 
Accountability Act: 
HB 2730
First Informer Broadcasters Act: 
HB 3156
Gold and silver legal tender: 
SB 862
Judicial Compensation: 
HJR 1096
Local Government Campaign 
Finance and Financial Disclosure 
Act: 
SB 1745
Medical Treatment Laws 
Information Act: 
HB 2603
Oklahoma-A STEM State of Mind 
Program: 
SB 1181
Parents’ Bill of Rights: 
HB 1384
Peer Review: 
SB 1218
Protect Property Rights Act: 
HB 2620
Quinten Douglas Wood Act: 
HB 3469

Retirement Freedom Act: 
HB 2630
Risk management: 
HB 2909
Roofing Contractor Registration Act: 
HB 3184
Secretary of State: 
HB 3542
Sidearms; badges; correctional 
officers: 
HB 3012
Social Media: 
HB 2372
Southern Growth Policies 
Agreement: 
HB 3334
State Employee Compensation 
Program: 
HB 3293
STRIVE: 
HB 3290
Task Force on Electronic Commerce: 
HB 3343
Tuition waiver; children; persons 
killed in line of duty: 
HB 3350
Union Soldiers’ Home: 
HB 2375
Veterans Traumatic Brain Injury 
Treatment and Recovery Act: 
SB 1604

PRISONS AND 
REFORMATORIES
Corrections Department: 
Prisons and reformatories; modifying 
duties to include establishment of an 
emergency alert notification system. 
HB 2779
Prisons and reformatories; providing 
exemption to certain inmate wage 
requirement. HB 2486
Corrections Officers: 
State government; possession 
of badges; correctional officers. 
HB 3012
County Jails: 
City and county jails; modifying 
certain standard. SB 1737

County jails; creating the Oklahoma 
County Jail Improvement Act of 
2014. HB 3215
Private Prisons: 
Prisons and reformatories; clarifying 
requirements for determining daily 
costs of inmates. HB 2877
Sex Offenders Registration Act: 
Prisons and reformatories; sex 
offenders; modifying certain 
registration requirement. HB 3016

PROFESSIONS AND 
OCCUPATIONS
Professions and occupations; 
providing for the assessment of 
administrative penalties and 
temporary or permanent injunctions. 
HB 3160
Architects, Landscape Architects 
and Interior Designers: 
State Architectural and Registered 
Interior Designers Act; various 
modifications; competitive bid; 
temporary license. SB 1724
Bail Bondsmen: 
Bail Enforcement and Licensing Act; 
impersonating an officer. SB 2003
Bail bondsmen; modifying bail 
bondsmen license requirements. 
HB 2928
Bail bondsmen; multicounty agent 
bondsman stating procedure 
for licensure and qualifications. 
HB 2407
Construction Industries: 
Professions and occupations; 
modifying various provisions of the 
Roofing Contractor Registration Act. 
HB 3184
Cosmetologists: 
Oklahoma Cosmetology and 
Barbering Act; hybrid-learning 
programs; reciprocity; fees. SB 1929
Counselors: 
Professional counselor qualifications; 
recognizing foreign qualifications for 
licensure. SB 1398
Dentists and Dentistry: 
Department of Health; increasing 
certain limit for Oklahoma Dental 
Loan Repayment Program. SB 1664
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Nurses: 
Professions and occupations; 
removing certain requirements 
for licensure of practical nurses. 
SB 1262
Professions and occupations; 
requiring Oklahoma Board of 
Nursing to develop guidelines for 
certain nursing education programs. 
HB 2554
Osteopaths: 
Professions and occupations; relating 
to the Oklahoma Osteopathic 
Medicine Act; modifying license 
requirements. HB 2674
Pharmacists: 
Professions and occupations; 
Oklahoma Pharmacy Act; modifying 
definition. HB 2374
Physicians: 
Optometry; permitting optometrists 
to issue prescriptions for 
hydrocodone for certain purposes. 
SB 1789
Optometry; providing penalties for 
unlicensed practice of optometry; 
authorizing Board of Optometry to 
enforce certain orders. SB 1788
Professions and occupations; relating 
to the sanctions for unprofessional 
conduct by physicians. HB 2791
Real Estate: 
Oklahoma Certified Real Estate 
Appraisers Act; requiring criminal 
history records check; providing 
enforcement of certain criteria. 
SB 1809
Professions and occupations; 
Oklahoma Real Estate License Code; 
modifying education requirement. 
HB 2380
Roofing Contractors: 
Professions and occupations; 
modifying various provisions of the 
Roofing Contractor Registration Act. 
HB 3184
Social Workers: 
Social workers; modifying 
definitions; requiring certain 
additional hours of supervision. 
SB 1699

PUBLIC BUILDINGS AND 
PUBLIC WORKS
Public buildings and public works; 
Oklahoma Turnpike Authority; 
increase emergency declaration 
contract authority. HB 3087
Public buildings and public works; 
Public Competitive Bidding Act of 
1974; modifying notice and bids for 
contract in an emergency. HB 3251
State Capitol: 
State Capitol Building; authorizing 
licensed vendors to contract for 
supplementary catering services 
during certain time period. 
Emergency. SB 1206
State Capitol Building; authorizing 
the Capitol Improvement Authority 
to issue obligations for repair of the 
State Capitol Building. HJR 1033

PUBLIC FINANCE
Public finance; Oklahoma Security 
for Local Public Deposits Act; 
redeposits. HB 2838
Public finance; modifying 
authorization for political 
subdivisions to make certain 
investments. SB 1511
Public finance; shared services; 
procedures. HB 2908

PUBLIC LANDS
Commissioner of Land Office: 
Commissioners of the Land Office; 
modifying certain operating 
requirements. HB 2639

PUBLIC SAFETY
CLEET: 
Oklahoma Security Guard and 
Private Investigator Act; suspension 
of license; fee remittance. SB 1407
The Council on Law Enforcement 
Education and Training; modifying 
title of Director; powers and duties; 
background investigations; reports; 
fine; disciplinary action; notice. 
SB 1474
Department (DPS): 
Department of Public Safety; 
revising salaries of certain Highway 
Patrolmen. SB 232

Personnel of the Department of 
Public Safety; deleting certain 
ranks of positions; modifying certain 
qualification requirements. SB 1372
Emergency Management: 
Creating the Oklahoma First 
Informer Broadcasters Act; requiring 
state and local agencies to allow 
access to first informer broadcasters. 
HB 3156
Highway Patrol: 
Personnel of the Department of 
Public Safety; deleting certain 
ranks of positions; modifying certain 
qualification requirements. SB 1372
Investigation Bureau (OSBI): 
Release of a copy of fingerprints; 
authorizing the OSBI to release a 
copy of certain fingerprints under 
certain circumstances. SB 1471
Law Enforcement Officers: 
Department of Public Safety; 
revising salaries of certain Highway 
Patrolmen. SB 232

RETIREMENT
Firefighters Pension and 
Retirement System: 
Retirement; Oklahoma Firefighters 
Pension and Retirement System; 
start dates to amortization. SB 2024
Law Enforcement Retirement 
System: 
Oklahoma Law Enforcement 
Retirement System; updating 
references to Internal Revenue Code. 
SB 1710
Public retirement systems; 
Oklahoma Law Enforcement 
Retirement System; amortization of 
unfunded liability. HB 2622
Police Pension and Retirement: 
Police Pension and Retirement 
System; relating to custody and 
disbursement of pension funds; 
requiring the System to refund 
overpayment of contributions. 
Emergency. SB 212
Public Employees Retirement 
System: 
Public Employee Retirement 
System; relating to eligibility for 
persons licensed by Department 
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of Rehabilitation Services to 
participate in retirement system. 
Effective date. SB 2120
Public retirement systems; 
Retirement Security and Freedom 
Act; defined contribution system; 
contributions; procedures. HB 2630
Teachers’ Retirement System: 
Public retirement systems; Teachers’ 
Retirement System; Board of 
Trustees; membership. HB 2740
Public retirement systems; Teachers’ 
Retirement System; regular annual 
compensation. HB 2611

STATE GOVERNMENT
State employee compensation; 
findings related to compensation and 
benefits; inapplicability to certain 
modifications or implementation 
related to retirement. HB 1794
State employee pay; creating the 
State Employee Compensation 
Program; sick leave rates; pay 
bands. HB 3293
State government; display of 
historical documents; authorizing 
Secretary of State to elect alternate 
location for preservation of the 
original State Constitution. HB 3276
State government; repealing the 
Oklahoma Education Council. 
HB 3333
State government; repealing 
the Southern Growth Policies 
Agreement. HB 3334
State government; repealing 
the Support Training Results in 
Valuable Employment (STRIVE) 
Act. HB 3290
State government; repealing the 
Task Force on Electronic Commerce. 
HB 3343
Auditor and Inspector: 
State government; relating to 
the State Auditor and Inspector; 
modifying petition audits. HB 3217
Audits: 
State government; relating to 
the State Auditor and Inspector; 
modifying petition audits. HB 3217

Competitive Bidding: 
Public building and works; 
exempting certain fish and wildlife 
conservation contracts from 
bidding requirements of the Public 
Competitive Bidding Act. HB 3134
Ethics Commission: 
Lobbying; modifying definitions and 
various provisions. SB 1746
Historical Society: 
State property; requiring notification 
to and approval of Oklahoma 
Historical Society prior to selling 
certain state properties. SB 1254
Juvenile Affairs, Office of: 
Office of Juvenile Affairs; permitting 
Department of Mental Health and 
Substance Abuse Services to access 
certain records. Effective date. 
SB 1235
Mental Health and Substance 
Abuse Services Department: 
Office of Juvenile Affairs; permitting 
Department of Mental Health and 
Substance Abuse Services to access 
certain records. Effective date. 
SB 1235
Office of Management and 
Enterprise Services: 
Information technology; relating to 
standard risk assessments of state 
agencies; requiring risk assessment 
to be conducted by a third party. 
HB 2669
State government; Long-Range 
Capital Planning Commission; 
in-kind transfers involving real 
property; procedures for liquidation 
and sale and lease of state-owned 
property. HB 3050
State government; Office of 
Management and Enterprise 
Services; modifying comprehensive 
professional risk management 
program. HB 2909
State government; Oklahoma 
Central Purchasing Act; modifying 
provisions related to use of state 
purchasing card. HB 3511
State government; Oklahoma 
Personnel Act; requiring certain 
information be provided to certain 
entities. HB 3337

State property; requiring notification 
to and approval of Oklahoma 
Historical Society prior to selling 
certain state properties. SB 1254
Personnel Management Office: 
State government; management of 
costs of human resources; removing 
certain reporting requirements. 
HB 2912
Purchasing: 
Central purchasing; providing 
exception for certain DHS contracts 
with Youth Services Agencies. 
SB 1965
State government; Oklahoma 
Central Purchasing Act; modifying 
provisions related to use of state 
purchasing card. HB 3511
State-owned Property: 
State government; Long-Range 
Capital Planning Commission; 
in-kind transfers involving real 
property; procedures for liquidation 
and sale and lease of state-owned 
property. HB 3050
State property; requiring notification 
to and approval of Oklahoma 
Historical Society prior to selling 
certain state properties. SB 1254
Travel and/or Per Diem: 
State government; modifying various 
provisions of the State Travel 
Reimbursement Act. HB 2397
Travel reimbursement; authorizing 
reimbursement for use of personal 
aircraft for law enforcement 
purposes. SB 1599
Wildlife Conservation 
Department: 
Public building and works; 
exempting certain fish and wildlife 
conservation contracts from 
bidding requirements of the Public 
Competitive Bidding Act. HB 3134

STATUTES AND REPORTS
Multiple versions of statutes; 
amending, merging and repealing 
multiple versions of statutes. 
Emergency SB 2122
Statutes and reports; local and 
special laws. HB 2903
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Statutes and reports; transferring 
certain duties to the Secretary of 
State. HB 3542

SUNSET LAW
Sunset; Board of Governors of the 
Licensed Architects, Landscape 
Architects and Registered Interior 
Designers of Oklahoma; re-creating 
Board; modifying termination date. 
HB 3203
Sunset; Child Death Review Board; 
re-creating Board; modifying 
termination date. HB 3202
Sunset; Electronic and Information 
Technology Accessibility Advisory 
Council; re-creating Council; 
modifying termination date. 
HB 3194
Sunset; Group Homes for Persons 
with Developmental or Physical 
Disabilities Advisory Board; 
re-creating Board; modifying 
termination date. HB 3204
Sunset; Long-Term Care Facility 
Advisory Board; re-creating Board; 
modifying termination date. 
HB 3195
Sunset; Oklahoma Accountancy 
Board; re-creating Board; modifying 
termination date. HB 3190
Sunset; Oklahoma Board of Licensed 
Alcohol and Drug Counselors; 
re-creating Board; modifying 
termination date. HB 3205
Sunset; Oklahoma Climatological 
Survey; re-creating Survey; 
modifying termination date. 
HB 3192
Sunset; Oklahoma Educational 
Television Authority; re-creating 
Authority; modifying termination 
date. HB 3198
Sunset; Oklahoma Funeral Board; 
re-creating Board; modifying 
termination date. HB 3199
Sunset; Oklahoma Strategic Military 
Planning Commission; re-creating 
Commission; modifying termination 
date. HB 3193
Sunset; State Board of Licensed 
Social Workers; re-creating Board; 

modifying termination date. 
HB 3200
Sunset; State Board of Licensure 
for Professional Engineers and 
Land Surveyors; re-creating Board; 
modifying termination date. 
HB 3191
Sunset; State Board of Veterinary 
Medical Examiners; re-creating 
Board; modifying termination date. 
HB 3201

TAXATION
Privilege tax; limiting time period 
during which tax credits may be 
claimed by banking associations and 
credit unions. SB 1226
Revenue and taxation; Ad Valorem 
Tax Code; county board of 
equalization; hearing requirements; 
affidavits. HB 2534
Ad Valorem: 
Revenue and taxation; Ad Valorem 
Tax Code; valuation adjustments; 
county assessor; board of tax roll 
corrections. HB 2810
Revenue and taxation; prohibiting 
certain increase in fair cash 
value based upon designated 
improvements; method for fair cash 
value of certain square footage. 
HB 3188
Revenue and taxation; relating 
to protests regarding valuation 
increases; dates for informal 
conference and presentation of 
evidence. HB 3119
Revenue and taxation; tax resale 
procedures. HB 3090
Cigarette and Tobacco Taxes: 
Cigarette tax; modifying bonding 
and reporting requirements under 
the Master Settlement Agreement 
Complementary Act. HB 2363
Cigarette tax; prohibiting the 
mailing, shipping or delivery of 
cigarettes to certain persons in 
this state; prohibiting traders from 
selling to certain persons. HB 2361
Credits: 
Income tax; limiting time period 
during which credits for certain 

employer expenses are allowed. 
SB 1152
Income tax; limiting time period 
during which credits for electronic 
fund transfer fees are allowed. 
Effective date. SB 1170
Income tax; limiting time period 
during which credits for expenses 
relating to child care business are 
allowed. SB 1153
Income tax; limiting time 
period during which credits for 
reinvestment of profit from film or 
music project are allowed. SB 1151
Privilege tax; limiting time period 
during which tax credits are allowed. 
SB 1150
Revenue and taxation; Oklahoma 
Tax System Disaster Relief Act of 
2014. HB 3216
Revenue and taxation; aerospace 
engineers; tax credits. HB 2509
Revenue and taxation; relating to 
the Oklahoma Affordable Housing 
Tax Incentive Act of 2014. SB 2128
Revenue and taxation; relating to 
the Oklahoma Equal Opportunity 
Education Scholarship Act; 
modifying provisions related to 
allocation of tax credits. HB 2643
Franchise Tax: 
Franchise tax; levy of franchise tax. 
SB 341
Gross Production Tax: 
Gross production tax; tax rate; tax 
levies. HB 2562
Homestead Exemption: 
Constitutional amendment; 
exempt treatment for homestead of 
surviving spouse of certain persons 
injured at military facility; ballot 
title. HB 2621
Income Tax: 
Income tax; limiting time period 
during which credits for certain 
employer expenses are allowed. 
SB 1152
Income tax; limiting time period 
during which credits for electronic 
fund transfer fees are allowed. 
Effective date. SB 1170
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Income tax; limiting time period 
during which credits for expenses 
relating to child care business are 
allowed. SB 1153
Income tax; limiting time 
period during which credits for 
reinvestment of profit from film or 
music project are allowed. SB 1151
Income tax; modifying amount of 
deduction for expenses related to 
foster care. SB 1621
Income tax; modifying deduction for 
members of Armed Forces; deleting 
contingency relating to deduction. 
SB 1723
Income tax; modifying tax rate for 
specified time periods; requiring 
Board of Equalization to make 
determination. SB 1246
Public finance; requires specified 
content for website related to 
Taxpayer Transparency Act. 
Effective date. SB 1980
Revenue and taxation; Oklahoma 
Tax System Disaster Relief Act of 
2014. HB 3216
Property Tax: 
Revenue and taxation; relating 
to protests regarding valuation 
increases; dates for informal 
conference and presentation of 
evidence. HB 3119
Taxes and natural disaster; 
clarifying application of tax relief 
under certain conditions. SB 1199
Quality Events Incentive Act: 
Revenue and taxation; relating 
to the Oklahoma Quality Events 
Incentive Act; modifying. HB 2711
Quality Jobs Program Act: 
Revenue and taxation; relating 
to the Quality Jobs Program Act; 
providing for incentive payments 
to certain proxy establishment. 
HB 1416
Rebate: 
Revenue and taxation; Compete with 
Canada Film Act; termination date. 
HB 2580
Sales Tax: 
Public finance; requires specified 

content for website related to 
Taxpayer Transparency Act. 
Effective date. SB 1980
Revenue and taxation; directing 
the Oklahoma Tax Commission to 
issue a separate exemption card to 
certain persons authorized to make 
purchases on behalf of an eligible 
veteran. HB 3509
Revenue and taxation; retainage 
of certain revenues by the Tax 
Commission; apportionment 
of certain revenues; modifying 
percentage. HB 1875
Sales tax; relating to sales tax 
exemptions; replacing amendatory 
provisions relating to certain aircraft 
maintenance facility structures. 
SB 331
Tax Procedure: 
Revenue and taxation; modifying 
circumstances under which, and 
procedures related to, assessment of 
penalties. SB 1244
Uniform tax procedure; modifying 
liability for withholding or collection 
and remittance of taxes. Effective 
date. SB 1228
Use Tax: 
Revenue and taxation; modifying 
circumstances under which, and 
procedures related to, assessment of 
penalties. SB 1244
Revenue and taxation; retainage 
of certain revenues by the Tax 
Commission; apportionment 
of certain revenues; modifying 
percentage. HB 1875
Vehicle Excise Tax: 
Revenue and taxation; Oklahoma 
Tax System Disaster Relief Act of 
2014. HB 3216

TELECOMMUNICATIONS AND 
TECHNOLOGY
Telecommunications; limiting 
amount of reimbursement from 
Oklahoma Lifeline Fund. SB 1510
Telecommunications; relating to 
the Oklahoma Telecommunications 
Act of 1997; adding a definition. 
HB 2977

Telephone companies; requiring 
prior notification; requiring 
telephone line owners provide 
certain information. SB 1215

TORTS
Damages: 
Torts; providing immunity from civil 
liability during natural disasters and 
catastrophic events. HB 2338
Governmental Tort Claims Act: 
The Governmental Tort Claims 
Act; definition; scope of liability. 
HB 2405
Negligence: 
Torts; civil immunity during a time 
of emergency; permitting shelter to 
be provided. HB 2325

TOURISM AND RECREATION
Tourism and Recreation 
Department/Commission: 
Tourism and Recreation Department 
Revolving Fund; amending date. 
SB 1773
United States; directing Oklahoma 
Tourism and Recreation Department 
to control and maintain certain 
areas under certain circumstances. 
HB 3177

TRANSPORTATION
Memorial Bridges: 
Memorial highway designations; 
designating various memorial 
highways and bridges. Effective 
Date. SB 1524
Memorial highway designations; 
designating various memorial 
highways. HB 3018
Memorial Highways: 
Memorial highway designations; 
designating various memorial 
highways and bridges. Effective 
Date. SB 1524
Memorial highway designations; 
designating various memorial 
highways. HB 3018
Railroads: 
Railroads; repealer. HB 2319
Railroads; repealer. HB 2320
Road Signs: 
Roads and bridges; authorizing 
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permit revocation for certain 
highway advertising. HB 3157
State Roads and Bridges: 
Roads and bridges; increasing 
dollar threshold for certain special 
maintenance projects. HB 3055
Transportation Department: 
Roads and bridges; modifying 
membership eligibility for Oklahoma 
Waterways Advisory Board. 
HB 2910
Waterways; modifying membership 
to waterways advisory board. 

SB 1198
TRUSTS AND POOLS, PUBLIC
Family Wealth Preservation Act; 
modifying requirements for certain 
trusts. SB 1904

UTILITIES
Electric: 
Public utilities; modifying 
prohibition relating to recovery of 
fixed costs from electric customers 
utilizing distributed generation. 
SB 1456

WILLS AND SUCCESSION
Probate Procedure: 
Probate procedure; summary 
administration; expanding timing for 
final hearing. HB 2790

WORKERS’ COMPENSATION
CompSource Oklahoma: 
Workers’ compensation; relating to 
deposits and transfers and expenses 
of administration; repealer. 
SB 2029 ■
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Bill Number Index
House Bills

HB 1020: 24, 62
HB 1112: 40, 64
HB 1378: 13, 59, 60
HB 1384: 27, 56, 65
HB 1416: 8, 69
HB 1473: 49, 
HB 1516: 38, 64, 65
HB 1623: 13, 59, 60
HB 1794: 18, 67
HB 1875: 44, 69
HB 2100: 25, 59
HB 2130: 27, 56, 57
HB 2190: 30, 62
HB 2199: 22, 61
HB 2241: 28, 56, 57
HB 2249: 34, 63
HB 2319: 47, 69
HB 2320: 47, 69
HB 2325: 32, 69
HB 2328: 38, 64
HB 2334: 4, 58
HB 2338: 32, 69
HB 2342: 5, 58
HB 2343: 34, 57
HB 2344: 10, 56
HB 2349: 4, 58
HB 2353: 4, 58

HB 2354: 14, 60, 61
HB 2355: 14, 61
HB 2356: 14, 59
HB 2357: 14, 60
HB 2358: 14, 60
HB 2359: 14, 60
HB 2360: 15, 60
HB 2361: 35, 68
HB 2363: 35, 68
HB 2366: 33, 57, 65
HB 2372: 33, 56, 65
HB 2374: 48, 66
HB 2375: 22, 64, 65
HB 2376: 22, 64
HB 2376: 22, 64
HB 2378: 2, 61
HB 2379: 22, 58
HB 2380: 10, 66
HB 2384: 26, 63
HB 2387: 37, 64
HB 2397: 18, 67
HB 2405: 32, 65, 69
HB 2406: 31, 63
HB 2407: 40, 65
HB 2414: 13, 60
HB 2444: 26, 58
HB 2461: 37, 58
HB 2480: 45, 59

HB 2486: 40, 65
HB 2488: 47, 64
HB 2495: 19, 57
HB 2496: 37, 62
HB 2497: 12, 59, 60, 61
HB 2499: 15, 59, 60
HB 2505: 8, 56
HB 2509: 8, 43, 64, 68
HB 2518: 3, 62
HB 2526: 5, 55
HB 2527: 49, 
HB 2531: 10, 55
HB 2533: 16, 64
HB 2534: 44, 65, 68
HB 2536: 27, 37, 56
HB 2539: 49, 
HB 2541: 4, 58
HB 2548: 13, 61
HB 2554: 24, 48, 66
HB 2562: 44, 68
HB 2566: 2, 55
HB 2568: 34, 58
HB 2571: 15, 59, 60
HB 2576: 22, 61
HB 2580: 8, 43, 69
HB 2585: 27, 56
HB 2586: 28, 63
HB 2587: 28, 64

HB 2589: 7, 59
HB 2591: 34, 57
HB 2592: 31, 64
HB 2594: 37, 58
HB 2603: 24, 63, 65
HB 2604: 28, 56
HB 2609: 40, 49
HB 2611: 20, 67
HB 2614: 37, 62
HB 2618: 3, 62
HB 2620: 19, 57, 65
HB 2621: 43, 68
HB 2622: 21, 65, 66
HB 2625: 11, 60, 61
HB 2626: 15, 61
HB 2627: 49, 
HB 2630: 19, 65, 67
HB 2639: 15, 66
HB 2643: 43, 65
HB 2652: 17, 61
HB 2665: 6, 59
HB 2666: 6, 59
HB 2667: 27, 56
HB 2669: 22, 67
HB 2674: 24, 66
HB 2676: 40, 59
HB 2682: 15, 59, 60
HB 2683: 13, 60, 61
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HB 2684: 25, 62
HB 2685: 25, 62
HB 2688: 40, 64
HB 2692: 37, 58
HB 2706: 49
HB 2711: 8, 43, 69
HB 2730: 12, 59, 65
HB 2740: 20, 67
HB 2765: 2, 55
HB 2774: 34, 58
HB 2779: 40, 65
HB 2790: 34, 70
HB 2791: 26, 66
HB 2810: 44, 64, 68
HB 2831: 26, 62
HB 2832: 49, 
HB 2837: 34, 57
HB 2838: 10, 66
HB 2840: 37, 58
HB 2859: 40, 58, 65
HB 2873: 14, 60
HB 2874: 37, 62
HB 2877: 41, 65
HB 2885: 13, 59, 60, 61
HB 2888: 37, 62
HB 2903: 22, 67
HB 2906: 26, 63
HB 2908: 22, 66
HB 2909: 22, 65, 67
HB 2910: 46, 70
HB 2912: 22, 67
HB 2914: 9, 56
HB 2921: 13, 59
HB 2928: 30, 40, 65
HB 2929: 30, 63
HB 2934: 48, 64
HB 2938: 15, 60, 61
HB 2951: 19, 58

HB 2956: 8, 59
HB 2974: 26, 57
HB 2976: 50, 
HB 2977: 26, 69
HB 2985: 46, 64
HB 2994: 30, 63
HB 2998: 32, 58
HB 3000: 50, 
HB 3001: 50, 
HB 3006: 13, 59
HB 3012: 41, 65
HB 3016: 5, 65
HB 3018: 46, 69
HB 3024: 45, 57
HB 3025: 15, 57
HB 3026: 50, 
HB 3027: 50, 
HB 3050: 21, 67
HB 3052: 50, 
HB 3055: 46, 70
HB 3087: 18, 66
HB 3090: 19, 68
HB 3102: 16, 61
HB 3119: 44, 68, 69
HB 3134: 3, 67
HB 3135: 3, 62
HB 3143: 45, 57
HB 3156: 38, 65, 66
HB 3157: 47, 70
HB 3158: 50, 
HB 3159: 40, 58
HB 3160: 2, 5, 65
HB 3164: 34, 57
HB 3170: 50, 
HB 3173: 14, 60, 61
HB 3176: 50, 
HB 3177: 46, 69
HB 3184: 9, 65, 66

HB 3188: 44, 68
HB 3190: 1, 68
HB 3191: 1, 68
HB 3192: 1, 68
HB 3193: 1, 68
HB 3194: 1, 68
HB 3195: 1, 68
HB 3198: 1, 68
HB 3199: 1, 68
HB 3200: 1, 68
HB 3201: 1, 68
HB 3202: 1, 68
HB 3203: 1, 68
HB 3204: 1, 68
HB 3205: 1, 68
HB 3215: 41, 65
HB 3216: 44, 68, 69
HB 3217: 19, 67
HB 3243: 1, 15, 64
HB 3251: 18, 66
HB 3254: 6, 58
HB 3276: 22, 67
HB 3280: 30, 63
HB 3282: 30, 63
HB 3286: 29, 63
HB 3290: 41, 65, 67
HB 3293: 18, 65, 67
HB 3297: 16, 64
HB 3333: 15, 65, 67
HB 3334: 22, 56, 67
HB 3337: 18, 67
HB 3343: 10, 65, 67
HB 3346: 9, 57
HB 3348: 17, 51, 61
HB 3349: 17, 62
HB 3350: 14, 59, 65
HB 3358: 50, 
HB 3359: 50, 

HB 3365: 32, 57
HB 3367: 50, 
HB 3375: 32, 57
HB 3399: 11, 59, 65
HB 3417: 50, 
HB 3457: 50, 
HB 3469: 26, 57, 65
HB 3472: 27, 56
HB 3473: 27, 56
HB 3475: 27, 63
HB 3496: 4, 58
HB 3509: 45, 48, 69
HB 3510: 37, 58
HB 3511: 18, 67
HB 3515: 46, 55
HB 3523: 26, 55
HB 3531: 38, 55
HB 3538: 35, 55
HB 3539: 35, 55
HB 3542: 22, 65, 68
HJR 1033: 18, 66
HJR 1096: 32, 58, 65

Senate Bills

SB 72: 6, 55
SB 78: 16, 64
SB 212: 21, 66
SB 232: 38, 66
SB 331: 45, 69
SB 341: 45, 68
SB 387: 38, 64
SB 417: 9, 56
SB 436: 12, 59, 60
SB 503: 45, 64
SB 582: 35, 63
SB 639: 6, 55
SB 711: 19, 57
SB 814: 51, 
SB 862: 45, 62, 65
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SB 929: 6, 56, 57
SB 934: 37, 62
SB 989: 34, 58
SB 991: 31, 63
SB 1023: 19, 56
SB 1077: 36, 55
SB 1143: 15, 59
SB 1150: 43, 68
SB 1151: 43, 68, 69
SB 1152: 43, 68
SB 1153: 43, 68, 69
SB 1170: 43, 68
SB 1173: 18, 58
SB 1181: 13, 59, 65
SB 1182: 27, 55
SB 1183: 6, 56
SB 1187: 2, 61, 62
SB 1195: 51, 
SB 1198: 46, 70
SB 1199: 44, 69
SB 1206: 23, 66
SB 1215: 16, 69
SB 1216: 28, 63
SB 1218: 26, 63, 65
SB 1226: 43, 68
SB 1228: 45, 69
SB 1235: 6, 67
SB 1239: 48, 62
SB 1244: 45, 69
SB 1246: 42, 69
SB 1254: 23, 67
SB 1257: 47, 64
SB 1262: 24, 66
SB 1278: 40, 62
SB 1293: 6, 57
SB 1295: 15, 59, 60
SB 1315: 51
SB 1319: 30, 63

SB 1331: 15, 59, 60
SB 1332: 38, 64
SB 1336: 2, 61, 62
SB 1364: 5, 58
SB 1369: 38, 64
SB 1371: 34, 58
SB 1372: 38, 66
SB 1377: 26, 60
SB 1393: 51, 
SB 1397: 38, 64
SB 1398: 25, 65
SB 1399: 9, 57
SB 1407: 38, 66
SB 1413: 3, 61, 62
SB 1418: 16, 64
SB 1421: 5, 58
SB 1422: 13, 59
SB 1431: 4, 58
SB 1433: 4, 58
SB1438: 16, 63
SB 1442: 37, 62
SB 1444: 39, 58
SB 1448: 26, 62
SB 1449: 28, 56
SB 1450: 28, 63
SB 1455: 28, 63
SB 1456: 16, 70
SB 1460: 14, 59
SB 1461: 15, 60
SB 1469: 15, 59, 60, 61
SB 1471: 37, 66
SB 1474: 39, 66
SB 1497: 33, 57
SB 1505: 52, 
SB 1508: 2, 61, 62
SB 1510: 16, 69
SB 1511: 19, 66
SB 1515: 9, 57

SB 1520: 6, 59
SB 1524: 46, 69
SB 1536: 28, 63
SB 1538: 4, 57
SB 15551: 38, 64
SB 1577: 52, 
SB 1581: 16, 61
SB 1585: 48, 64
SB 1590: 2, 55
SB 1599: 40, 67
SB 1600: 39, 58
SB 1602: 24, 62
SB 1604: 48, 65
SB 1610: 48, 64
SB 1612: 34, 56
SB 1621: 43, 69
SB 1624: 38, 64
SB 1636: 48, 64
SB 1645: 52, 
SB 1648: 32, 55
SB 1653: 13, 59
SB 1655: 15, 59
SB 1661: 14, 59
SB 1664: 24, 65
SB 1673: 2, 52
SB 1693: 22, 61
SB 1694: 14, 60
SB 1698: 9, 57
SB 1699: 24, 66
SB 1706: 28, 64
SB 1710: 20, 66
SB 1715: 35, 55
SB 1719: 18, 57
SB 1720: 41, 58
SB 1723: 43, 69
SB 1724: 9, 63
SB 1728: 19, 56
SB 1730: 10, 55

SB 1737: 41, 65
SB 1738: 19, 58
SB 1744: 22, 61
SB 1745: 22, 61, 65
SB 1746: 19, 67
SB 1773: 23, 69
SB 1777: 48, 62
SB 1779: 28, 56
SB 1781: 6, 57
SB 1784: 34, 56
SB 1788: 26, 66
SB 1789: 24, 66
SB 1791: 6, 57
SB 1792: 26, 57
SB 1793: 27, 55
SB 1799: 33, 58
SB 1809: 10, 66
SB 1824: 40, 58
SB 1826: 10, 56
SB 1828: 14, 60, 61
SB 1829: 14, 60
SB 1830: 14, 60
SB 1842: 6, 59
SB 1843: 30, 63
SB 1845: 37, 62, 63
SB 1848: 25, 62
SB 1851: 2, 55, 65
SB 1853: 26, 63
SB 1858: 19, 63
SB 1866: 46, 64
SB 1873: 30, 63
SB 1874: 28, 63
SB 1875: 40, 58
SB 1884: 2, 55
SB 1899: 19, 56
SB 1900: 6, 57
SB 1902: 6, 57
SB 1904: 10, 70
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SB 1905: 33, 66
SB 1914: 6, 56
SB 1923: 30, 64
SB 1929: 10, 65
SB 1937: 28, 56
SB 1940: 9, 57
SB 1941: 9, 52
SB 1948: 31, 62
SB 1964: 2, 62
SB 1965: 28, 67

SB 1970: 48, 56
SB 1979: 10, 56
SB 1980: 45, 69
SB 1993: 28, 56
SB 2003: 40, 65
SB 2018: 31, 63
SB 2024: 21, 66
SB 2025: 31, 63
SB 2026: 30, 63
SB 2029: 35, 70

SB 2045: 30, 63
SB 2046: 5, 55
SB 2057: 28, 62
SB 2058: 45, 57
SB 2059: 15, 57
SB 2060: 15, 60
SB 2061: 15, 56
SB 2078: 39, 56
SB 2080: 52, 
SB 2088: 28, 57

SB 2098: 40, 64
SB 2115: 52, 
SB 2120: 20, 67
SB 2122: 23, 67
SB 2128: 43, 64, 68
SB 2131: 18, 55
SB 2135: 32, 55
SB 2136: 2, 55
SB 2140: 40, 49, 58
SJR 33: 23, 57
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