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AGRICULTURE and  

ENVIRONMENT 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
During the 2012 Session, Legislators passed measures that   
prohibit castor bean production and changed pet breeder      
regulations. 
 
Legislators passed HB 2188 prohibiting the transportation of 
castor beans in Oklahoma. Ricin, which is found in the beans, 
even in trace amounts, is poisonous with no vaccine existing. 
Due to the plants’ hardiness and usefulness of the oil,            
researchers in other states have attempted to grow castor plants 
that produce seeds lacking the toxin, but have yet to succeed. 
HB 2189, a related measure, prohibits castor bean production in 
the State of Oklahoma.   
 
After establishing the Commercial Pet Breeders Act during the 
2011 Session, members returned to the issue this year with     
HB 2921, which moves licensing and enforcement to the State 
Department of Agriculture, Food, and Forestry. The measure 
disbands the Oklahoma State Board of Commercial Pet     
Breeders, established during the 2011 Session, merging the 
agency with the Agriculture Department. 
 

WILDLIFE 

 
Wildlife measures addressed poaching and other wildlife     
regulations. 
 
HB 2573 increases the minimum fine for a first conviction of 
catching or hunting animals on an individual’s land without  
permission, from $50 to $500 and makes the maximum fine for  

the first conviction $1,500. The measure also makes violations a 
misdemeanor. Any person convicted of a subsequent offense is 
guilty of a misdemeanor, subject to a fine of between $1,500 and 
$2,500, and may be sentenced to six months to a year in jail. The 
measure also provides that the individual’s hunting or fishing 
license be automatically revoked for one to 10 years. 
 
HB 2607 prohibits the Oklahoma Wildlife Conservation       
Commission from approving an energy or agricultural setback or 
conservation easement for a threatened, endangered or candidate 
species when that setback or easement is more restrictive than 
those allowed by federal law, rules or guidelines.  
 

WATER 

 
Following the release of a long-awaited comprehensive water 
plan, a joint legislative interim study and extensive media       
coverage, water policies remained at the forefront of discussions 
during the legislative session. 
 
HB 3055 creates the 15-member Water for 2060 Advisory   
Council to recommend more efficient practices and expand    
education programs for consumer water-use habits. The measure 
also adds rural water districts to those entities eligible to be the 
subject of pilot programs through the Oklahoma Water          
Conservation Grant Program and expands the list of projects that 
can qualify for funding.   
 
HB 2835 prohibits the Department of Environmental Quality 
from requiring a permit for private residential gray water use of 
less than 250 gallons per day for household gardening,           
composting or landscape maintenance if the resident meets 12 
conditions related to location, storage and discharge. Gray water 
means untreated wastewater from activities such as laundry,  
dishwashing and bathing that has not come in contact with toilet 
waste. 
 
HJR 1085 puts to a vote of the people a proposed constitutional 
amendment that would, if approved, authorize the Oklahoma 
Water Resources Board (OWRB) to issue bonds for a reserve 
fund for water resource and sewage treatment financial   

News of a slightly improving state economy allowed the 2012 Legislature to avoid additional cuts to state agencies. In fact, an     
additional $315 million was appropriated in the State Fiscal Year 2013 budget, most of which was directed at core state government 
functions including transportation, social services, health care and common education. 
 
Legislators made major decisions regarding the operations and structure of the Department of Human Services, continued to focus on 
criminal justice reform efforts, enacted measures that monitor and track the sale of pseudoephedrine in an effort to curtail its      
availability for use in making methamphetamine and continued to address state government modernization. 
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assistance programs throughout the state. The OWRB would be 
able to issue general obligation bonds up to $300 million only 
after other monies and sources were used for repayment. The 
Legislature would be required to provide for administration of 
the fund, methods for issuing the bonds and sufficient         
appropriations to pay for the bonds.  

 
The Legislature sought to foster the state’s economic growth 
through policies that strengthen businesses and protect        
consumers.  
 
To address concerns about negative publicity of blue-green 
algae in Oklahoma state lakes, SB 259 requires the Oklahoma 
Tourism and Recreation Department to maintain a website and 
written information on location for the public to check the  
water quality of recreational bodies of water managed by state 
or federal entities. The measure restricts the managing entity’s 
ability to issue advisories for blue-green algae to only when 
both the count and toxicity testing results exceed the World 
Health Organization guidelines for moderate probability of 
adverse health effects. The managing entity must lift the     
advisory if the count and toxicity testing results are below the 
specified guidelines after a specified period of time. 

 

HB 2746 requires all contests and exhibitions of professional 
combative sports, including boxing, wrestling, mixed martial 
arts and kickboxing, to be sanctioned and permitted by the 
Oklahoma State Athletic Commission. Amateur combative 
sports events conducted or sponsored by educational           
institutions or military installations are exempted. Also exempt 
are amateur combative sports events sanctioned by a nationally
-recognized amateur sanctioning body. The measure also    
establishes that a second or subsequent violation of the act is a 
felony. 
 
SB 1866 transfers from the State Department of Health to the 
Department of Labor all powers and duties related to regulating 
locksmiths, closed circuit televisions, access controls, burglar 
alarms, fire alarms, and sprinkler and nurse calls. In providing 
for the transfer of classified and unclassified personnel, the 
measure prohibits reductions in salary and benefits or a change 
in classification without written consent of the employee.    
Licenses, registrations, certifications and accreditations will 
remain in full force and all board and committee members will 
retain their appointments. The measure transfers future        
appointment power of the eight-member Alarm and Locksmith 
Industry Committee to the Governor and requires the Senate to 
confirm future appointees.  
 
  

ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT 

EDUCATION 

Expanding eligibility for the Oklahoma Quality Jobs program,  
SB 1464 amends the definition of basic industry by adding a 
North American Industry Classification System code related to 
the extraction of crude petroleum and natural gas. The measure 
expands the limits on the definition of new direct jobs with     
establishments related to crude petroleum and natural gas to   
include manufacturing and maintenance services. It also allows 
employment related to drilling services to be considered new 
direct jobs under the program.  
 
 
 

 

COMMON EDUCATION 

 
Much of members’ efforts on education in the 2012 Session   
focused on reforming the state’s common education system by 
combining agencies to create efficiencies and by building upon 
statutes passed in the 2011 Session related to retaining students 
not reading at grade level and measuring schools’ successes. 
Measures related to student graduation requirements, virtual 
schools, and school districts’ financial situations were enacted. 

 

SB 1797 merges the Oklahoma Commission for Teacher     
Preparation and the Office of Accountability. The merged agency 
will be named the Office of Educational Quality and               
Accountability. A newly created Commission for Educational 
Quality and Accountability will replace the Education Oversight 
Board and starting on July 1, 2013, will oversee implementation 
of the Oklahoma Teacher Preparation Act and set student       
performance standards. Starting July 1, 2014, the commission 
will assume the duties of the Oklahoma Commission for Teacher 
Preparation. The measure also moves teacher professional      
development to the Oklahoma State Department of Education. 

 

Members also passed HB 2970 to assist students who do not meet 
Achieving Classroom Excellence requirements for obtaining a 
high school diploma. Students are required to score proficient or 
higher on four out of seven end-of-instruction exams. Students 
graduating in 2012 were the first students required to meet the 
standard. HB 2970 requires the State Board of Education to    
establish an appeals process for students denied a standard     
diploma for failing to earn a score of proficient or higher on four 
end-of-instruction exams. Students will have 30 days after denial 
to file a petition for appeal with the state board and the board 
must take action no later than 45 days after receipt of the petition. 
 
HB 2790 extends the moratorium on National Board certification 
bonuses for newly certified teachers another year. The State 
Board of Education will not provide a $5,000 bonus through June 
30, 2013, to any teacher who obtains National Board certification 
between June 30, 2010, and June 30, 2013, unless the teacher 
started the process before June 30, 2010. No new applicants will 
be accepted into the associated scholarship program or have their 
application fee paid through June 30, 2013. 
 
Legislators passed one measure related to virtual schools.         
SB 1816 allows the State Board of Education to sponsor a     
charter school when the applicant is the Statewide Virtual Charter 
School Board. The measure creates the board to oversee a        
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full-time statewide virtual charter school. The board will     
negotiate contracts with providers of virtual education to     
provide academic content, management and administration of 
the school and the board will have the authority to issue      
diplomas to students who complete the curriculum               
requirements for graduation. The charter school will enroll only 
students who are legal residents of the state and approved for 
transfer into the charter school. 
 
Legislators made adjustments to the law regarding retention of 
third grade students not reading at grade level in HB 2516. The 
measure allows, rather than requires, teachers to recommend 
promotion of students based upon completion of a summer 
academy or other program. 
 
HB 2494 specifies that student scores in Advanced Placement 
courses taught at technology centers will help determine the 
letter grade a school will receive through the state’s A through 
F school ranking system. Advanced Placement courses and 
courses taken at regional sites of the Oklahoma School of   
Science and Mathematics also will help determine a school’s 
grade. 
 
Since many school districts were still struggling financially in 
the 2011-2012 school year, SB 1443 was enacted to give     
administrators more financial flexibility. The measure allows 
districts to spend textbook funds for other purposes and to 
avoid penalties for not meeting accreditation standards and 
other mandates, for two more years until 2014. 
 
HB 2927, which also could benefit schools financially, creates 
the Multiyear Education Distribution Stabilization Revolving 
Fund into which the Commissioners of the Land Office will 
deposit bonus income and delay rental income which then will 
be distributed to school districts on a five-year rolling average 
schedule. This will help school district administrators better 
predict annual payments from the Commissioners of the Land 
Office to improve budget planning. The measure allows for the 
deposit of any appropriated money into the newly created 
Commissioners of the Land Office Revolving Fund and allows 
funds to be used to pay for conservation and commercial   
property upgrades. 
 

HIGHER EDUCATION 

 
Legislators made changes to a higher education entity and   
provided support for dependents of military members. 
 
HB 2443 requires the University Center at Ponca City to report 
directly to the Oklahoma State Regents for Higher Education 
rather than the Northern Oklahoma College Board of Regents. 
The measure creates a board to serve as the administrative 
agency for the university center which will select a chief     
executive officer, submit a budget to the State Regents and 
administer monies budgeted. 
 
HB 2689 makes students eligible for in-state tuition at an    
institution in the Oklahoma State System of Higher Education 
regardless of residency if the students are dependents of     
military or reserve service members on active duty and whose  

homes of record are in Oklahoma. A home of record is the state 
where the person was living when he or she was commissioned or 
reenlisted in the military. 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
The Legislature passed measures this year focusing on energy 
efficiency, exploration and seismic exploration regulation reform.  
 
Regarding efficiency, SB 1096 creates the behavior-based    
Oklahoma State Facilities Energy Conservation Program, which 
sets an energy cost reduction target of 20 percent by the year 
2020 for state-operated facilities. 
 
SB 1627 establishes the Oklahoma Energy Initiative Act, which 
is a strategic program designed to create, advance and promote 
new and existing energy research and development related to 
Oklahoma’s core energy strengths. An eight-member board will 
administer the initiative. To help fund the initiative, SB 1628, 
redirects a portion of revenue in the Interstate Oil Compact Fund 
from the now defunct Bartlesville Energy Research Center. 
 
Two bills addressed seismic exploration. SB 243 requires seismic 
exploration operators to follow particular notification procedures 
to surface estate owners prior to performing seismic exploration 
on the property. HB 2654 establishes a “reasonably prudent   
operator” standard, which states that a well operator should    
operate with due regard to the interests of all affected parties. The 
measure also establishes a remedy for persons who do not receive 
legally entitled oil or gas proceeds within the required time    
periods.  

 
The Legislature adopted several measures relating to state     
agencies and state governance.  
 
HB 2258 requires the Oklahoma Tax Commission, Department 
of Labor, Workers’ Compensation Court, CompSource, and the 
Oklahoma and Employment Security Commission to share     
information and coordinate investigative and enforcement efforts 
to detect employers who intentionally misclassify individuals as 
independent contractors. The agencies are authorized to create a 
secure database of information and to enter into contracts and 
interagency agreements. The measure requires contractors      
submitting a written bid on a public construction project to     
provide proof of employment documentation. Any contractor that  
  

ENERGY AND UTILITY  

REGULATION 

GENERAL GOVERNMENT 
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fails to provide proof of documentation, properly register, or 
intentionally misclassifies individuals as independent          
contractors, will be fined 10 percent of the contractor’s total 
bid.  
 
HB 2204 exempts employers from having to pay                 
unemployment compensation for workers who test positive for 
drugs or alcohol by authorizing the release of records of the 
tests as admissible evidence and places the burden on the 
worker to request a confirmation test. The measure provides 
that the worker also will have the burden of proving a breach in 
the chain of custody.  
 
An unemployed individual must register for work within seven 
days of filing the initial claim in order to maintain eligibility 
for unemployment benefits. In the event of an overpayment due 
to fraud, the measure imposes a penalty of 25 percent of the 
amount of the original overpayment. 
 
After the Unemployment Security Commission provides the 
employer with notice of a contribution rate, the bill allows the 
employer to appeal the rate notice; otherwise the rate will be 
conclusive and binding. The authority to issue or modify an 
order for the collection of delinquent contributions is         
transferred from the court to the Assessment Board of the 
Oklahoma Employment Security Commission. The            
commission is authorized to award funds to local offices,    
divisions or units of the commission to encourage the          
improvement of employment, training and placement services 
for veterans. Finally, the measure allows the Office of Juvenile 
Affairs to obtain employment information for use in assessing 
results and outcomes of clients and effectiveness of juvenile 
and justice programs. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 

SB 1913 makes the utilization of portions of the Oklahoma 
State Park Trust Fund by the Oklahoma Tourism and          
Recreation Commission permissive instead of mandatory.   
Additionally, the measure authorizes the commission to use up 
to $15 million to construct and maintain a lodge and any     
associated facilities the commission decides are necessary at 
the Lake Murray State Park. 
 
HB 2563 replaces a blood quantum requirement for the     
Oklahoma Native American Liaison with the requirement that 
the appointee be a member or citizen of a federally recognized 
Indian tribe that has its primary tribal headquarters located in 
Oklahoma and have valid proof of membership. 
 

Finally, two measures affected county and municipal              
governments. While county purchasing agents are required to 
follow bidding procedures when making purchases and executing 
rental or lease-purchase agreements, SB 1000 extends an        
exception to the bidding requirement when counties participate in 
local cooperative procurement agreements entered into by the 
counties and other local jurisdictions.  
 
SB 1875 creates the Safari McDoulett Community Service Act 
and authorizes a board of county commissioners to impose a 
community service program assessment where district, juvenile 
and municipal courts in those counties will levy a community 
service program assessment of $25 to $250 when the person is 
ordered to complete community service. The measure creates 
community service program assessment revolving funds in each 
county and provides that assessments will be forwarded monthly 
by the applicable court clerk to the revolving fund. 
 
Two measures modified state and education employee health 
insurance policies. 
 
HB 3056 requires the State Board of Education to fully fund from 
its appropriated funds a flexible benefit allowance for school  
district employees unless the Legislature appropriates adequate 
funding specifically for that purpose. It modifies the calculation 
of the amount appropriated and dispersed to school districts for 
school district employees’ flexible benefit allowance. The    
measure also requires the State Board of Education and the State 
Board of Career and Technology Education to disburse the total 
amount appropriated for the flexible benefit allowance to school 
districts during the fiscal year and from that amount, to disburse 
to each school district amounts based on the number of eligible 
school employees.  
 
HB 2288 allows state employees who will be covered by a    
separate group health insurance plan at or before the beginning of 
the next plan year to opt out of the state’s basic health insurance 
plan. 

Legislators addressed performance metrics and additional agency 
consolidation this year. 
 
Following last year’s information technology (IT) consolidation 
efforts, HB 2939 prohibits any agency from purchasing IT  
equipment or machines with state funds without authorization 
from the state Chief Information Officer (CIO).  Under the   
measure, each agency must provide the chief information officer 
with a list of integral IT assets. 
 
Several state agencies are consolidated under HB 3053, which 
changes the name of the Office of State Finance to the Office of 
Management and Enterprise Services (OMES). The director of 
the Office of Management and Enterprise Services will be the 
chief administrative officer. The following agencies will be 
merged into this office:     

GOVERNMENT  

MODERNIZATION 
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∞ Department of Central Services; 

∞ Office of Personnel Management; 

∞ Oklahoma State Employees Benefits Council; and 

∞ State and Education Employees Group Insurance 

 Board. 
 
HB 3053 also mandates that the OMES director will develop 
the processes and procedures to guide state agencies in the 
preparation of performance metrics, which are measurements 
to be used to improve efficiencies within state agencies. 
 
HB 2197 creates the Cost Reduction and Savings Act, which 
allows the state purchasing director to form an advisory     
committee to develop shared state purchasing contracts,      
explore joint purchases of general use items and integrate   
purchasing platforms. The bill also states that prior to          
approving software acquisition requests, the state CIO must 
require the purchasing entity to consider whether proprietary or 
open source software is the most cost-effective solution for the 
agency.  
 

The Legislature focused on health-related issues by passing 
measures that attempted to control insurance coverage costs, 
increased access to health care services and continued to     
address abortion. Legislators also enacted laws to reform the 
Department of Human Services, provide additional protection 
for children in the child welfare system and require drug testing 
of certain applicants for the Temporary Assistance for Needy 
Families (TANF) program. 
 

HEALTHCARE 

 
Two measures focused on expanding access to health care. 
 
HB 3058 creates the Oklahoma Hospital Residency Training 
Program to establish new residency programs affiliated with 
the Oklahoma State University College of Osteopathic      
Medicine and the University of Oklahoma College of       
Medicine. The program to be administered by the Oklahoma 
Health Care Authority will focus on meeting the healthcare 
needs of medically underserved areas. A related measure,      
SB 1280 redirects $3 million from the Oklahoma Health Care 
Authority to the Oklahoma State University Medical Authority 
Disbursing Fund to help pay for the program. 
 
HB 2266 authorizes registered nurses at a county or              
city-county health department to use physician-approved    
protocols to provide public health services without the        
establishment of a physician-patient relationship. Nurses may 
dispense and recommend nonprescription medications         
according to the specified protocols and call in to the patient’s 
pharmacy medications prescribed by an advanced practice 
nurse.   
   

ABORTION 

 
Two measures strengthened Oklahoma’s informed consent     
requirements related to abortions and another increased         
regulations on the administration of abortion-inducing drugs.   
HB 2561 permits a woman, in cases of violation of voluntary and 
informed consent provisions of state law, to file civil suits against 
abortion providers, prescribers of abortion inducing drugs and 
persons or entities which referred the woman and knew or should 
have known that the provider or prescriber acted in violation of 
state law. The woman, or her parents or guardian, can bring an 
action for actual and punitive damages equal to those for the 
wrongful death of a child and can include damages for mental 
anguish and emotional distress.  

 

SB 1274 requires an abortion provider to tell a patient who is at 
least eight weeks pregnant before she gives informed consent to 
an abortion that it may be possible to make the heartbeat of the 
unborn child audible and to ask the patient if she would like to 
hear it. If the woman consents, the provider must use a Doppler 
fetal heart rate monitor to attempt to make the heartbeat audible. 
The provisions do not apply in the case of an abortion necessary 
to avert the mother’s death or in the event of a medical         
emergency. The measure makes violation a misdemeanor and 
allows civil actions against the provider.   
 
HB 2381 requires physicians who prescribe RU-486, also known 
as mifepristone, or any other drug or chemical used for the     
inducement of an abortion to be physically present when the drug 
is first provided to the patient. Knowingly or recklessly violating 
the law is a felony. 
 

CHILDREN AND FAMILIES 

 
After several months of traveling the state to visit with workers in 
county Department of Human Services (DHS) offices, juvenile 
judges, district attorneys and DHS commissioners, a workgroup 
appointed by the Speaker to make recommended changes to the 
operations of the agency put forth a number of bills containing 
those recommendations. The Legislature also set aside funding 
for initial implementation of the settlement plan resulting from 
the class-action lawsuit against the agency. 
 
HJR 1092 sends to a vote of the people a proposed constitutional 
amendment that would, if approved, repeal the Oklahoma Public 
Welfare Commission and the director of public welfare position 
from the State Constitution and authorize the Legislature to create 
and direct by law the administration of DHS. A companion  
measure, HB 3137 will take effect if the constitutional       
amendment is approved by voters. The bill authorizes the      
Governor to appoint the director of DHS and establishes four 
citizens advisory panels appointed by the Governor, Speaker, Pro 
Tempore and the minority leaders of the House and Senate to 
provide input and feedback to the director on policies and       
programs implemented by the agency. 
 
Another recommendation of the workgroup intended to improve 
accountability within the agency is reflected in HB 3134. The bill 
directs DHS to vertically integrate all program divisions and staff 
so that personnel responsible for developing policies and   

HEALTH AND  

HUMAN SERVICES 
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programs also will be responsible for their implementation.   
 
HB 3135 increases transparency in cases where a child has 
died or nearly died by requiring DHS to conduct a child abuse 
or neglect investigation upon receiving a report of the death or 
near death of a child resulting from suspected abuse or neglect 
and produce a report within 45 days. The bill also requires the 
department to release certain information within five business 
days of the death or near death of a child and directs that     
additional information be released upon a determination by the 
department that the death or near death was caused by abuse or 
neglect. 
 
Finally, SB 1979 directs that of the funds appropriated to DHS 
for fiscal year 2013, $25 million be used to implement phase I 
of the Pinnacle Plan. The plan is the result of the settlement of 
the class-action lawsuit brought against the agency.  
 
Two other measures enacted also affect children and families 
as well as operations of DHS. 
 
HB 2300 in part, transfers the authority to certify children’s 
shelters operated by DHS from the Oklahoma Commission on 
Children and Youth to the Office of Juvenile Affairs. The bill 
also modifies the criminal background check requirements for 
a trial reunification of a child with the child’s parents to apply 
only to an adult in the home who is not the parent, legal   
guardian or custodian of the child. Finally, the measure       
prohibits children age 6 or younger from being placed in    
shelter care after June 30, 2013, and prohibits children age 13 
or younger from being placed in a shelter after June 30, 2014, 
provided suitable alternative placements are available. 
 
HB 2388 requires DHS to screen adults who apply for the 
Temporary Assistance for Needy Families (TANF) program for 
the use of controlled substances and authorizes the department 
to request a chemical drug test if it has reasonable cause to  
believe the applicant is illegally using a controlled substance. If 
an applicant refuses to participate or is determined to be      
illegally using a controlled substance, benefits will be denied. 
The measure makes provisions for an applicant to reapply after 
completing substance abuse treatment and for an alternative 
payee to be named in cases where a parent is found ineligible 
for benefits due to the illegal use of drugs. 
 

ELDERLY AND LONG-TERM CARE 

 
HB 2582, strengthens the process for screening applicants for 
employment who will have direct access to patients in places 
such as nursing facilities, assisted living centers, adult day care 
centers and through employment with home health and hospice 
agencies. The bill requires these employers to submit certain 
identifying information to the Oklahoma State Department of 
Health (OSDH) for the purpose of conducting a check of all 
relevant registries established by federal and state law to     
determine if there are any findings that would prohibit an    
applicant’s employment. The measure also directs the         
department to submit fingerprints to the Oklahoma State     
Bureau of Investigation for a criminal history check on       
applicants whose registry check doesn’t reveal any basis to  

deny employment but who do not have a monitored employment 
record. The OSDH is required to establish a database to store 
records of an employer’s prospective and current employees, the 
results of the screening and criminal arrest records search and to 
include a process that will allow the department to be notified if a 
subsequent criminal arrest record matches a set of fingerprints 
previously submitted. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

The Legislature addressed various insurance issues. 
 
HB 2453 makes numerous changes to the insurance code by  
prohibiting insurers from canceling or failing to renew a      
homeowner’s insurance policy or increasing the premiums     
because the insured filed a first claim against the policy. The bill 
requires that when an employee’s health insurance is terminated, 
the employee be offered a continuation of coverage in writing 
within 30 days. Additionally, the measure requires employers that 
are governed by Oklahoma’s health care continuation law to give 
employees the option to continue group coverage when coverage 
terminates for any reason except for termination due to gross  
misconduct or because the group policy was terminated. The bill 
also: 
 
∞ Eliminates continuing education requirements relating to 
 workers’ compensation for claims adjusters; 
 
∞ Requires adjusters to report any administrative action or 

criminal prosecution taken against the adjuster to the 
insurance commissioner; 

 
∞ Requires insurance producer applicants to take an     

examination within two years of filling out an           
application;  

 
∞ Requires that insurance deposits may only be released 

upon request by the insurer and after an acceptable   
financial review of the insurer; and 

 
∞ Specifies what investments are not acceptable for an   
 insurer to invest in and what instruments are classified 
 as negotiable and transferrable. 
 
SB 1475 creates the Service Warranty Act, which requires      
service warranty associations to be licensed by the insurance 
commissioner. An insurer authorized to transact property or   

INSURANCE 
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casualty insurance is authorized to transact a service warranty 
business without additional licensure. Each service warranty  
contract must contain a cancellation provision, contact            
information of the provider and a statement indicating it is not 
an insurance contract. Associations are subject to periodic           
examinations by the commissioner and required to maintain   
financial and claims records. Furthermore, the commissioner is 
authorized to revoke or suspend a license if it is determined 
that the association has violated any rule or order of the      
commissioner or provision of the act and immediately suspend 
the license in other circumstances. Anyone convicted of   
knowingly violating the act is guilty of a misdemeanor and any 
person damaged by  the violator may bring a civil action.    
Additionally, the commissioner may investigate and have   
administrative       hearings for alleged unfair or deceptive acts 
or practices. The commissioner also may seek an injunction in 
district court. 
 
SB 1474 provides that an insurance compliance self-evaluation 
audit is privileged information, is not discoverable, will not be 
admitted as evidence and persons who perform the audit may 
not be examined in legal proceedings. A company is authorized 
to voluntarily submit audit documents to the insurance       
commissioner without waiving the privilege, in which case the 
commissioner must keep the documents confidential. The 
privilege does not apply if expressly waived by the company, 
the company provides the documents to a witness for          
testimonial use when asserting the privilege and where the  
audit documents show evidence of noncompliance with       
applicable state or federal law. A court of record in a civil,  
administrative or criminal proceeding may require disclosure of 
the material in the case of fraud, where the material is not   
subject to the privilege or the material contains criminal      
evidence. If the court does require disclosure, the court is    
authorized to impose sanctions for any other violation of the 
rules of discovery. If an insurer is served with a request for 
disclosure, the company that prepared the audit document is 
authorized to petition the court for an in camera, or private, 
hearing on whether the documents are privileged in which case 
the company has the burden of demonstrating applicability of 
the privilege. The court may subsequently compel disclosure in 
appropriate circumstances. 

Judiciary measures were aimed at reducing tort litigation and 
damages while public safety legislation was enacted to further 
protect the citizens of Oklahoma. 
 
HB 2419 eliminates liability for any entity or individual      
providing access to a safe place in times of severe weather if 
acting in good faith. Similarly, SB 1316 exempts the state or a 
political subdivision from liability if a loss or claim results 
from the use of a public facility opened to the general public 
during an emergency. SB 875 eliminates liability of an owner, 
employee, or customer at a gun range, who is acting in good 
faith, for injuries to any other person engaged in firearm     
activities if the injuries result from the inherent risks of firearm  

activities. SB 1882 exempts the state or a political subdivision 
from liability if a loss or claim results from use of school      
property and facilities made available for public recreation     
outside normal school hours. 
 

CRIMINAL JUSTICE 

 
Criminal justice reform continued to be a top concern for the 
Legislature in 2012.  Leveraging significant gains made the    
previous two years, HB 3052 adopts many of the                    
recommendations of the Justice Reinvestment Initiative and 
makes changes to how the state assesses criminal conduct and 
develops rehabilitation options to reduce recidivism. An        
eight-month assessment of Oklahoma’s criminal justice system 
found that Oklahoma’s violent crime rate was high and has    
remained unchanged since 2000. During the same time period, 
violent crime declined significantly nationally and in most states.  
The assessment determined that 51 percent of felons exiting 
Oklahoma prison were released to no supervision, and did not 
have access to treatment services to keep them drug and alcohol 
free. Lastly, the assessment found that if policies and practices 
remained the same, the prison population would continue to grow 
and the state would need to expand prison capacity in the near 
future. 
 
To address these findings, HB 3052 requires people convicted of 
a felony offense to submit to a risk, mental health and substance 
abuse assessment and evaluation. The assessment and evaluation 
can then be used as a tool to determine sentencing options and 
rehabilitative measures that can be taken to alleviate recidivism.   
 
Every felony offender sentenced to prison is required to also be 
sentenced to a term of post-imprisonment supervision of nine 
months to one year following confinement. Post-imprisonment 
supervision does not apply to persons sentenced to life, life   
without parole or persons sentenced to the maximum sentence 
allowed for a conviction of the offense. The bill directs the    
creation of intermediate sanction facilities to be used to hold  
accountable those offenders who are on probation or have been 
sentenced to drug courts. A person who has minor violations of 
the conditions of probation or drug court can be sanctioned to 
serve six months in an intermediate revocation facility instead of 
revoking the person’s sentence. Probationers may serve a         
one-time referral to a six month term of confinement in an      
intermediate revocation facility. A person may be sanctioned to 
serve additional terms upon the approval of the district attorney. 
The bill also establishes the Justice Reinvestment Grant Program 
within the Office of the Attorney General to be used to provide 
funding to local law enforcement agencies for initiatives and 
strategies to combat violent crime.  
  
 

JUDICIARY AND 
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Another measure was enacted to modernize the pardon and 
parole process. SJR 25 sends to a vote of the people the    
question of  giving the Pardon and Parole Board the power to 
grant parole for nonviolent offenses. Oklahoma is the only state 
which requires the Governor to approve all paroles. The     
Governor would be  required to approve the parole of persons 
sentenced for a violent offense or an offense which requires the 
completion of 85 percent of the sentence.      

 

DRUG CONTROL 

 
Two measures were enacted this session to deal with illicit 
drug manufacturing. HB 2941 is designed to allow pharmacists 
and law enforcement officials to closely track and block the 
illegal sale of pseudoephedrine to methamphetamine cooks. 
The bill requires a pharmacy that dispenses, sells or distributes 
pseudoephedrine or ephedrine to maintain an electronic record 
of the sale. The pharmacy must collect the name, date of birth 
and type of identification used by the purchaser to obtain the 
pseudoephedrine product and the amount of product sold.    
 
The information must be logged into a real-time electronic 
methamphetamine precursor tracking service that can be     
accessed to track the sale of pseudoephedrine. A pharmacy 
must not complete the sale of pseudoephedrine product if the 
tracking service generates a stop-sale alert. Information stored 
by the tracking service is confidential and only accessible by 
law enforcement, health care professionals and licensed     
pharmacists. Pharmacists who do not use the system when 
making sales can be found guilty of a misdemeanor punishable 
by a fine of up to $1,000. Additionally, the violation will be 
reported to the State Board of Pharmacy.   
 
The bill also allows a pharmacy to establish a service charge to 
be collected by the pharmacist at the point of sale on any   
pseudoephedrine product. After verifying that the person    
purchasing the pseudoephedrine product is not on the   
methamphetamine registry, the service charge would be      
applied to the purchase price. If the purchaser is on the registry, 
the service charge is forfeited to the pharmacy.   
 
Another key component of the bill lowers the quantity of   
pseudoephedrine product a person may purchase to 3.6 grams 
per day, 7.2 grams per 30 day period or 60 grams within a 12 
month period. A person who has reached their daily limit may 
not purchase more for 72 hours. Lastly, the bill establishes that 
any person convicted of manufacturing or attempting to   
manufacture methamphetamine and who, within 60 days of 
conviction, purchases or attempts to purchase pseudoephedrine 
is guilty of a felony, punishable by imprisonment of not less 
than 14 years nor more than life.   
  
A related measure, SB 1065 authorizes the Director of the 
Oklahoma State Bureau of Narcotics and Dangerous Drugs 
Control to disclose statistical information gathered from the 
central repository to the general public. The information is to 
be limited to the types and quantities of controlled substances 
dispensed and the county where dispensed.  
 

FIREARMS 

 
The Legislature continued to enhance citizens’ 2nd Amendment 
rights by enacting SB 1733, which allows persons who have a 
handgun permit to carry the firearm openly or concealed. Permit 
holders will no longer be concerned with accidental exposure of 
the weapon. The measure also clearly states that a property owner 
may carry a firearm on their property without a carry permit.   
 
Another measure, SB 1760, bans the Governor or any other    
municipal or state official from prohibiting or suspending the 
sale, ownership, possession or transportation of firearms and  
ammunition during a declared state of emergency.  The bill    
allows any individual whose firearm or ammunition is seized to 
bring an action in district court against the government official. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Legislators addressed several issues related to veterans and their 
spouses. 
 
In a dissolution of marriage proceeding, SB 1887 directs the court 
to submit clear and concise written findings in a decree or final 
order if the court determines military retired or retainer pay to be 
either separate or marital property. If the court determines the 
property to be marital property, the court must award an amount 
consistent with the rank, pay grade, and time of service of the 
member at the date of filing the petition, unless the court finds a 
more equitable date. The measure also requires court orders for 
division of a military member’s retirement or retainer pay to  
include language that awards such property based on an          
enumerated formula. Additionally, the measure makes any   
modification of alimony payments effective on the date of the 
filing of the requested modification. 

 

SB 1951 creates the Wounded Warrior Protection Act and      
provides that a service member’s portion of Combat Related  
Special Compensation be considered separate property, not    
divisible as a marital asset or as community property provided 
that a specific dollar amount of the Combat Related Special  
Compensation can be proven by the service member as          
compensation for combat-related loss of limb or loss of bodily  

MILITARY AND VETERANS 
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function. The measure also requires that service member     
applied and received the Combat Related Special               
Compensation award prior to the filing for dissolution of    
marriage. 

 

SB 46 extends the sales tax exemption to the surviving spouses 
of disabled veterans who have not remarried and caps the    
exemption at $1,000. 

 

SB 1863 authorizes public and private institutions of higher 
education and career and technology centers in the state to  
apply academic credit to education, training and experience 
received through military duty for honorably discharged   
members of the military who become students at those schools. 
The measure also instructs state officials with authority over 
professional licensure to accept qualifications received during 
military service and apply them toward licensure where      
applicable and requires those officials to develop procedures to 
expedite the licensure of military spouse applicants if the    
military member is on active duty within the state or claims 
permanent residency in the state for six months prior to       
assignment to active duty or during the period of active duty. 
The applicant must be certified in another state to perform 
those professional services and have left employment in      
another state to accompany the spouse on active duty. 

 

The Legislature passed numerous measures this year intended 
to strengthen public pension systems.   
 
HB 2319 increases from 13 percent to 14 percent the employer 
contribution rate to the Oklahoma Police Pension and          
Retirement System and increases employee contribution rate 
from 8 percent to 9 percent. The bill also increases the        
percentage of the insurance premium tax allocated to the   
Oklahoma Police Pension and Retirement System from 14  
percent to 15 percent. 
 
HB 2321 modifies the sick leave accrual provisions for        
non-elected members who join the Oklahoma Public           
Employees Retirement System (OPERS) on or after November 
1, 2012, and states that for elected officials joining the system 
on or after November 1, 2011, the number of years of credited 
service will be based on actual years and months of credited 
services without rounding up or down. 
 
HB 2322 allows newly elected officials to increase their     
contribution rate and receive an increased retirement benefit.  
This program is already available to other OPERS members. 
 
HB 2320 permits the Oklahoma Teachers Retirement System 
Board of Trustees to invest up to 10 percent of the system’s 
assets in real property owned or to be acquired by the state. 
 

Legislators addressed ad valorem and property tax exemptions. 
    

SJR 52 refers to a vote of the people a proposed amendment to 
the Oklahoma Constitution exempting all intangible personal 
property from ad valorem taxation. A related measure, SB 1436 
repeals the Business Activity Tax upon certification of the      
passage of SJR 52. The Business Activity Tax was established to 
alleviate concerns that intangible personal property would be 
subject to ad valorem taxation. 
 
SB 1449 expands eligibility for an existing property tax          
exemption for individuals 62 years of age and older who own and 
reside in a manufactured home located on land they do not own. 
Currently to qualify for the exemption, an individual must have a 
gross household income that does exceed $10,000. The measure 
increases eligibility to include individuals with a gross household 
income that does not exceed the greater of $22,000 or 50 percent 
of the Federal Housing and Urban Development median income 
for the applicable county or metropolitan statistical area. 

Legislators passed two measures in a continuing effort to provide 
adequate transportation infrastructure. 
 
HB 2248 increases the annual apportionment to the Rebuilding 
Oklahoma Access and Driver Safety fund (ROADS) from $41.7 
million to $59.7 million. Currently, apportionment to the ROADS 
fund ends when the total reaches $435 million. The measure also 
increases the maximum amount of annual accrual of revenue or 
cap to the ROADS fund from $435 million to $575 million.    
Fiscal year 2013 revenue to the fund totals $250.7 million. With 
the new annual increment and the increased annual cap, revenue 
to the ROADS fund will reach the cap in a little more than five 
fiscal years. The ROADS fund will increase by $18 million    
reflecting the increase in the annual increment, which will total 
$59.7 million. 
 
HB 2249 will assist counties in improving their infrastructure, by 
modifying the apportionment of motor vehicle collections from 
the Motor Vehicle Licensing and Registration Act. Currently, 
29.84 percent of motor vehicle collections go to the General 
Revenue Fund. The measure gradually reduces over three years 
the amount going to the General Revenue Fund from 29.84    
percent to 24.84 percent. The 5 percent revenue reduction will go 
to the County Improvements for Roads and Bridges Revolving 
Fund. Estimated increases in revenue to the fund will total: 
 
 ∞ Fiscal year 2013: $1.7 million 
 ∞ Fiscal year 2014: $21 million 
 ∞ Fiscal year 2015: $31 million 
 
In an effort to provide a funding mechanism to revitalize weigh 
stations, HB 2391 redirects a portion of the motor fuel            
assessment from the Higher Education Facilities Fund to the 
Weigh Station Improvement Revolving Fund administered the 
Corporation Commission. According to the measure, the Weigh 
Station Fund will receive $500,000 per month until it has        
collected $81 million.  
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