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O 
klahoma’s economy continued to perform 

relatively well in State Fiscal Year (SFY) 

2013 due to stability in key sectors such as 

energy and manufacturing and due to the state 

having one of the lowest unemployment rates in 

the nation. As a result, the Legislature had a 

moderate increase in revenues to consider while 

crafting the SFY 2014 budget. An additional $285 

million, a 4.2 percent increase over last year, was 

appropriated in the budget; most of which was 

directed at education, health and mental health, 

human services and maintenance and repair of 

state buildings. 

Legislators addressed a number of policy issues including a significant reform of the 

workers’ compensation system, enhancing school safety initiatives, continuing to shore 

up the state’s retirement systems, providing income-tax relief and taking steps to more 

efficiently maintain state-owned property. █ 

T he Legislature passed measures to allow for the 

slaughter of horses for human consumption 

outside the state and for the hunting of feral 

hogs by air.  

To help end the inhumane practice of abandoning or 

of shipping frail or sick horses to Mexico for 

slaughter, HB 1999 repeals the section of law that 

prohibits the slaughter of horses for human 

consumption. However, the measure prohibits the 

slaughter of horses for human consumption in 

Oklahoma. The measure authorizes the state 

commissioner of health to have access to any 

transport vehicle, factory, warehouse or establishment in which horsemeat or feed 

suspected of containing horsemeat is transported, manufactured, processed, packed, 

sold or prepared. The commissioner also may examine all sale and shipping records 

and embargo any article of food or horsemeat suspected of being in violation of the law. 

The measure also defines properly labeled as displaying the name and address of the 

original packer or processor and the word horsemeat.  

To provide additional means of controlling the feral hog population, HB 1920 and SB 

919 authorize hunting of feral hogs from the air in fixed-wing aircraft or helicopters 

anytime except between October 1 - January 15. HB 1920 authorizes the Oklahoma 

Department of Agriculture, Food, and Forestry to issue a permit to any landowner or 

any person who has contracted with a landowner to engage in the management of 

depredating animals by use of aircraft. SB 919 allows for the hunting of hogs outside 

commercial hunting areas using manned, nonexperimental, fixed-wing aircraft and non

-fixed wing aircraft registered with the Federal Aviation Administration. 

Water 
While the state awaits a U.S. Supreme Court decision regarding Texas’ access to water 

that feeds the Red River basin, the Legislature addressed the persistent drought that 

has plagued the state in recent years and addressed the composition of the state’s water 

agency board. 

HB 1923 creates the Emergency Drought Relief Fund and appropriates $3 million to 

the fund. The measure also creates an Emergency Drought Commission, which will 

recommend fund expenditures to the Governor in the event of an emergency drought 

declaration. 

SB 965 modifies the composition of the Oklahoma Water Resources Board of Directors 

to represent nine regions, based on county boundaries, rather than congressional 

Agriculture & 
Environment 
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districts. The measure also adds “oil and 

gas production” to the list of required 

industries represented on the board. A 

map of the regions can be viewed below. 

█ 

D uring the 2013 

Session, members 

tweaked reforms from 

past sessions, focused 

on school security and 

addressed salaries for 

newly certified National 

Board teachers. 

SB 426 instructs 

districts to phase in the 

full implementation of 

the Teacher and Leader Effectiveness 

Evaluation System (TLE) by the 2015-16 

school year. The quantitative portion of 

the evaluation system will be delayed, 

with phase-in occurring until the 2015-16 

school year. For evaluations in the 2015-

16 school year and subsequent years, 

districts must fully implement the TLE, 

including the qualitative and quantitative 

components. 

Probationary teachers will be evaluated 

once during the fall semester and once 

during the spring semester. For teachers 

in grades and of subjects for which there 

is no state-mandated testing to form the 

quantitative measure of the TLE, the 

State Board of Education may adopt 

alternative percentages. First-year 

teachers will be evaluated only on the 

qualitative measures in the evaluation 

system. 

HB 1658 modifies the A 

- F school ranking 

system. Fifty percent of 

school grades will be 

based upon whole 

school performance. 

Twenty-five percent will 

be based upon whole 

school growth by 

allocating one point for 

each student who 

improves proficiency 

levels or improves 

substantially within a proficiency level on 

tests, divided by the number of students 

taking tests. The remaining 25 percent 

will be based upon growth in the bottom 

quartile of students. The measure also 

sets number ranges for grades, with 97 

percent to 100 being an A+ and so on. A 

listing of the number of schools by grade 

received is shown on the following page. 

Members also addressed the issue of 

bonus payments for teachers certified 

through the National Board for 

Professional Teaching Standards with HB 

1660. National Board certification 

bonuses will no longer be subject to the 

availability of funds and teachers with 

certification or who started the process 

Common Education 

SB 965 
Oklahoma Water Resources Board 

Regional Representation 
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prior to June 30, 2013, will be eligible for 

a bonus of $5,000 annually for 10 years. 

Teachers who start the process after that 

date will be eligible for an additional 

salary increment created between the 

steps for bachelor’s degrees and master’s 

degrees. In addition, the Oklahoma 

Commission for Teacher Preparation will 

select up to 100 applicants each fiscal 

year and pay up to $1,300 for fees 

associated with certification and provide 

a $500 scholarship. Applicants who do 

not complete the process within three 

years must repay the fee. 

School Safety 
Several measures were adopted as a result 

of recent national events involving school 

shootings. SB 256 requires that in 

addition to the two lockdown drills 

required in statute, 

school districts must 

conduct a minimum of 

eight safety drills per 

school year, which must 

include two fire drills, 

two intruder drills, two 

tornado drills and two 

drills to be determined 

by administrators. SB 

2 5 7  d i r e c t s  t h e 

Oklahoma Office of 

Homeland Security to 

designate a division as the Oklahoma 

School Security Institute, which will act 

as the central resource for information on 

enhancing school security and assessing 

risks and threats to school campuses. SB 

259 requires school authorities to report 

to law enforcement the discovery of a 

firearm on any student or upon any other 

person not authorized by law to possess a 

firearm on school property. A final 

measure, SB 283 requires local district 

courts to notify the State Board of 

Education when a school employee is 

charged with a felony or violent 

misdemeanor. Additionally, the bill 

requires schools to notify the State Board 

of Education after the dismissal of an 

employee due to criminal sexual activity. 

█ 

S everal measures were adopted this 

session to improve the criminal 

justice system. In an effort to improve 

oversight of the pardon 

and parole process, the 

Legislature enacted HB 

1722  t o  pr ovide 

procedures to be used by 

the Pardon and Parole 

Board and Governor 

w h e n  c o n s i d e r i n g 

p a r d o n s  a n d 

commutations. The 

measure provides that 

any consideration of a 

pardon or commutation 

may only be considered after an 

application is made with the Pardon and 

Parole Board. The board is required to 
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provide copies of these applications to the 

district attorney, the victim or 

representative of the victim and the office 

of the attorney general. An application for 

commutation also must be accompanied 

by the written recommendation of two of 

three trial officials. The trial officials are 

the current judge of the court where the 

conviction occurred, the current district 

attorney where the conviction occurred, 

and the chief or head administrative 

officer of the arresting law enforcement 

agency. Additionally, the measure 

clarifies that inmates who are sentenced 

to consecutive sentences are not eligible 

for parole consideration on any 

consecutive sentence until one-third of 

the consecutive sentence has been served 

or until the minimum term of 

incarceration has been served.  

Another measure, HB 1068, creates the 

Postconviction DNA Act to establish a 

procedure for a person convicted of a 

violent felony crime or who has received a 

sentence of 25 years or more and who 

asserts that he or she did not commit the 

crime to file a motion requesting forensic 

DNA testing of biological material to 

challenge the conviction. A sentencing 

court must have a hearing after receipt of 

a motion for DNA testing and must order 

testing if the court finds: 

 a reasonable probability that the 

person would not have been 

convicted if favorable results had 

been obtained at the time of the 

original prosecution 

 that the request for testing is made to 

demonstrate innocence and not to 

delay the administration of justice 

 that one or more items of evidence to 

be tested exists 

 that the evidence to be tested was 

secured; and 

 that the chain of custody of the 

evidence is not in dispute. 

The court may order DNA testing to be 

performed by the Oklahoma State Bureau 

of Investigation or other accredited 

laboratory. If the DNA results are 

favorable, the court must schedule 

another hearing to vacate the conviction, 

grant a new trial or order the person 

released from custody.  

The Bail Enforcement and Licensing Act 

is created by SB 1013 to provide a 

licensing procedure for those persons 

engaged in bounty hunting. The measure 

requires any person who acts as or offers 

services as a bail enforcer to be licensed 

by the Council on Law Enforcement 

Education and Training (CLEET). Bail 

enforcers are prohibited from breaking 

into a dwelling to recover a defendant 

unless the bail enforcer has first-hand 

knowledge that the person is in the 

dwelling and after reasonable requests 

that the person surrender. A license is 

valid for three years and the fee for an 

unarmed bail enforcer license is $300 

and an armed bail enforcer license is 

$400. A person who acts a bail enforcer 

without a license may be found guilty of a 

felony, punishable by a fine of up to 

$10,000 and imprisonment for up to 

three years, or both fine and 

imprisonment. 

Issues related to human trafficking were 

also addressed by the Legislature. HB 

1067 requires any peace officer who 

comes into contact with a victim of 

human trafficking to inform the victim of 

the emergency hotline number 

maintained by the attorney general’s 

office and provide the victim notice of 

certain rights. Law enforcement also is 

required to notify the Department of 

Human Services when an officer comes 

into contact with a child who may be a 

victim of human trafficking or sexual 

abuse. A related measure, HB 1508, 

grants Oklahoma Bureau of Narcotics and 

Dangerous Drugs Control the ability to 

HB 1068 establishes a procedure 

for a person convicted of a 

violent felony crime or sentenced 

to 25 years or more to request 

forensic DNA testing to 

challenge the conviction. 
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issue investigative subpoenas in human 

trafficking cases.  

HB 1328 allows a district attorney to 

collect $40 per month from offenders not 

under the supervision of the district 

attorney during the first two years of 

probation to compensate the district 

attorney for costs incurred during the 

prosecution of the offender and for the 

additional work of verifying the 

compliance of the offender with the rules 

and conditions of probation. Failure to 

pay may not be considered a violation of 

probation and the district attorney may 

waive this fee in the best interest of 

justice. The court is prohibited from 

waiving the fee. 

Drug Control 
In an effort to deal with the epidemic of 

prescription drug abuse in Oklahoma, the 

Legislature passed several measures to 

address the issue. HB 1419 instructs the 

director of the Oklahoma State Bureau of 

Narcotics and Dangerous Drugs to notify 

a health care practitioner, as defined in 

the Uniformed Controlled Dangerous 

Substances Act, if a patient is possibly 

unlawfully obtaining prescription drugs. 

Additionally, the bureau is authorized to 

contract with vendors to facilitate the 

electronic transmission of central 

repository data to dispensers. A related 

measure, HB 1783, prohibits health care 

practitioners from refilling a written or 

o r a l  p r e s c r i p t i o n  c o n t a i n i n g 

hydrocodone. 

To facilitate study of this epidemic, HB 

1781 gives the Department of Mental 

Health and Substance Abuse Services and 

the State Department of Health access to 

the central repository for statistical, 

research, substance abuse prevention and 

educational purposes if confidentiality is 

not compromised. █ 

L egislators passed 

several measures 

r e l a t e d  t o 

unemployment benefits 

to combat frivolous 

unemployment claims 

and to give lawmakers 

additional tools to 

assess the effect of 

future proposals to 

expand unemployment 

benefits.  

HB 1911 requires unemployment 

claimants to sign an affidavit, created by 

the Oklahoma Employment Security 

Commission (OESC) describing in plain 

language certain criteria that would 

disqualify a claimant from benefits. In the 

case of misconduct or a positive drug or 

alcohol test, the measure provides the 

claimant with the burden of proof and 

establishes circumstances where the 

employee may be terminated for 

misconduct. An immediate cessation of 

benefits would ensue if an employer 

delivers evidence that an offer of suitable 

work was offered to the claimant, 

provided the commission has the final 

determination regarding benefits. 

SB 5 provides that temporary employees 

of a temporary help firm who leave their 

last job voluntarily without good cause 

may be denied unemployment benefits if 

they do not contact the help firm for 

reassignment, refuse a suitable job 

without good cause, fail to communicate 

their decision to stop seeking assignment 

for any period of time, become 

unavailable to accept a suitable job 

without good cause or accept employment 

with a client of the temporary help firm.  

HB 1023 requires the Employment 

Security Commission to conduct a fiscal 

impact study on any proposed legislation 

that expands unemployment benefits 

e x p e n d e d  b y  t h e  O k l a h o m a 

Unemployment Trust Fund. The 

commission must present the study to the 

Legislature and Governor before final 

passage can take place. Furthermore, the 

measure allows an employer to file an 

untimely appeal or written protest of the 

contribution rates determined by the 

commission and modifies the information 

required on a petition for review. 

Tourism 
Through SB 976, the 

Legislature voted to 

expand the types of 

events that qualify for 

incentive payments 

under the Oklahoma 

Quality Event Incentive 

Act to include certain 

national, international 

or world championship 

events and events 

managed by Oklahoma-

Economic 
Development 
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based national or international 

organizations. The measure also shortens 

several deadlines regarding event 

approval to give host communities more 

flexibility to recruit quality events. 

SB 931 ex em pt s a grit ourism 

professionals from liability for injuries 

incurred by a participant in agritourism 

activities as long as a warning is posted. 

The liability will not be limited if they are 

negligent or disregard safety or have 

knowledge of or should have known about 

a dangerous condition. Signs warning 

people of the risks they assume by 

participating in the activities must be 

posted in conspicuous locations. 

Similarly, HB 1009 provides limited 

liability to landowners who offer their 

land as an aviation site for fly-ins at non-

public use airports. █ 

T wo measures addressed the state’s 

energy infrastructure. HB 1718 

authorizes the Oklahoma Corporation 

Commission to inspect public-access CNG 

stations. The measure also amends 

qualifications for the clean-burning 

motor vehicle fuel tax credit by requiring 

that retrofitted vehicles meet federal 

safety standards and be installed by a 

technician certified in accordance with 

the Alternative Fuels Technician 

Certification Act. The second measure, 

HB 1932 grants to incumbent electricity 

transmission owners the right of first 

refusal to construct, own, and maintain a 

transmission facility approved for 

construction. The incumbent owner must 

respond to the Southwest Power Pool’s 

“direction to construct” within 90 days of 

its receipt and if the owner does not 

respond within 90 days, the owner 

surrenders the right to construct and 

maintain the facility. █ 

T he Legislature passed several 

measures affecting state, county, and 

municipal governments. 

The Legislature took action this session to 

begin addressing the repair needs of the 

State Capitol building. HB 2032 

appropriates $120 million, split between 

fiscal year 2014 and fiscal year 2015, to 

the newly created Oklahoma State Capitol 

Building Repair and Restoration Fund to 

initiate repairs for the State Capitol.  

HB 1924 authorizes the board of county 

commissioners to solicit telephone bids 

for the removal of recyclable materials 

and allows counties to conduct internet 

auctions to dispose of equipment.  

HB 1402  modifies population 

requirements for municipalities subject to 

the Oklahoma Town Meeting Act, which 

outlines the procedures for conducting 

initiatives, meetings, and elections, by 

changing the population from 1,000 

residents, to fewer than 2,000 residents. 

█ 

Government Modernization 
The Legislature took steps to more 

effectively manage buildings and property 

owned by the state. HB 1910 authorizes 

the Office of Management and Enterprise 

Services (OMES) to recommend the sale 

of state properties based on the value of 

the property and the potential for a net 

gain to the state. The measure also: 

 streamlines procedures for state 

entities to dispose of real property 

 requires the appropriate county 

officials to file and record 

instruments vesting the state’s right 

to, or interest in, lands or minerals or 

to adjust irregularities on those 

instruments at the request of OMES 

without filing or recording fees 

Energy & Utility 
Regulation 

General Government 
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 directs the Long-Range Capital 

Planning Commission (LRCPC) to 

include preparing an annual capital 

plan budget for addressing state 

capital facility needs for the ensuing 

eight years 

 requires the LRCPC to decrease the 

amount of property owned by the 

state and to better maintain and use 

the state’s real property assets; and 

 modifies the procedures for state 

entities entering a lease agreement, 

purchasing property or constructing 

a building. 

Legislators continued to focus on 

streamlining state government and 

identifying ways to improve management 

of agencies. HB 1002 requires the 

director of OMES to identify the 10 state 

agencies with the lowest rankings in the 

financial services cost performance 

assessment published by the office and 

requires those agencies to contract with 

OMES to provide shared financial 

services if it will result in cost savings or 

efficiencies to the state. The measure 

allows a contracted agency to discontinue 

the shared services if it can document 

that it can provide the services at a lower 

cost and the documentation is approved 

by the director of OMES. Finally, the bill 

authorizes OMES to enter into contracts 

to carry out the 

functions of the State 

Employee Assistance 

Program. 

Another measure, SB 

596, requires each state 

agency to submit 

annually a program 

m a n a g e m e n t  a n d 

performance report to 

the Legislature and to 

the director of OMES. 

The report is to include 

detailed data for each agency program, 

cost avoidance and cost containment 

measure implemented, the methodology 

for determining the agency’s fee structure 

and gauging customer satisfaction and a 

list of programs or operations not 

required as part of the core function of 

the agency. The director will make the 

reports available on the state’s public 

access website. 

Government Oversight 
The Legislature expanded its oversight 

role over state agencies with the adoption 

of HB 2055. The measure modifies the 

Administrative Procedures Act to allow 

the Legislature to affirmatively approve 

all rules promulgated by state agencies 

with the adoption of an omnibus joint 

resolution. Any rule to be disapproved by 

the Legislature will be specified in the bill 

to provide greater transparency and 

efficiency in the administrative rule-

making process. █ 

T he Legislature also focused 

consolidation efforts on health 

r e l a t e d  e n t i t i e s , 

exempted home bakeries 

from licensure and 

e m p o w e r e d  l o c a l 

governments to restrict 

smoking on government 

properties.  

HB 1467 creates the 

Oklahoma Public Health 

A d v i s o r y  C o u n c i l 

Modernizat ion Act 

consolidating numerous 

boards and committees. Some provisions 

include: 

 combines the Child Abuse Training 

and Coordination Council, the 

Ch i ldh ood Lea d  P oi s oning 

Prevention Advisory Council, the 

Interagency Child Abuse Prevention 

Task Force, the Genetic Counseling 

Advisory Committee into the Infant 

and Children’s Health Advisory 

Council 

Health & Human 
Services 

The Legislature expanded its 

oversight role over state agencies 

wit the adoption of HB 2055. 
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 consolidates the State Barber 

Advisory Board into the State Board 

of Cosmetology and Barbering; and 

 c o n s o l i d a t e s  t h e  L ice n s e d 

Professional Counselors Advisory 

Board, the Licensed Marital and 

Family Therapist Advisory Board and 

the Licensed Behavioral Practitioners 

Advisory Board into a State Board of 

Behavioral Health Licensure. 

Additionally, the measure creates the 

Home Care and Hospice Advisory 

Council, which will have jurisdiction over 

all issues that arise in the areas of home 

care or hospice services and other areas 

as designated by the State Board of 

Health. 

Health Care 
In an effort to increase transparency of 

changes in prescription drug coverage, 

HB 1672 requires health benefit plans 

that provide prescription drug coverage 

or contracts for those services, to notify 

enrollees of any deletions in drug 

formulary. The measure provides an 

exception for generic substitutions and 

does not apply to a drug that a 

therapeutics committee of the health 

benefit plan determines to be subject to 

new safety warnings or safety recalls by 

the Federal Drug Administration.  

Another bill, SB 765, increases access to 

oral cancer treatment by requiring any 

health benefit plan that offers coverage 

and benefits for cancer treatment to cover 

oral ly  administered anticancer 

medications. Coverage will not be subject 

to prior authorization, dollar limit, 

copayment, deductible or an out-of-

pocket expense that does not apply to 

intravenously administered or injected 

cancer medications. The bill prohibits 

changes that will reclassify or increase 

cost-sharing for anticancer medications. 

A measure to assist the state in recovering 

debts owed for health care or medical 

services provided, SB 945 allows state 

agencies file a claim to intercept income 

tax refunds to collect debt owed to the 

agency. 

SB 684 requires dentists to supervise 

hygienists and oral maxillofacial surgery 

assistants. The measure directs the Board 

of Dentistry to establish educational 

guidelines for oral maxillofacial surgery 

assistants. Additionally, the board is 

empowered to initiate administrative 

proceedings and impose penalties against 

oral maxillofacial surgery assistants. The 

measure requires dental assistants and 

oral maxillofacial surgery assistants to 

have a permit, which costs $50.  

HB 1347 requires each licensed birthing 

facility to perform a pulse oximetry 

screening on every newborn prior to the 

newborn leaving the facility. A pulse 

oximetry screening is used to measure the 

percentage of hemoglobin in the blood 

that is saturated with oxygen, which may 

indicate a critical congenital heart defect. 

Abortion 
Three abortion related measures passed 

through the Legislature this session. HB 

1361 requires that a parent who is 

entitled to notice and consent provide 

documentation to the court verifying the 

relationship to the minor who is seeking 

an abortion. Additionally, the measure 

authorizes the court to require an 

unemancipated minor to receive a mental 

health evaluation and access to 

counseling services through the State 

Department of Health. The court also 

may consider factors that gauge the 

maturity level of the unemancipated 

minor.  

A related measure, HB 1588, creates the 

Parental Notification for Abortion Act. 

The measure extends the time of delivery 

for a request of written informed consent 

from the next day of regular mail delivery 

SB 945 assists the state in 

recovering debts for health care 

or medical services. The measure 

allows state agencies to file a 

claim to intercept income tax 

refunds to collect debt owed to 

the agency.  
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to the third day for an unemancipated 

minor seeking an abortion. Additionally, 

the measure stipulates that 48 hours 

must pass after written notice has been 

delivered to a parent or guardian before 

an abortion can be performed. If a 

medical emergency exists and an abortion 

must be performed, the parent or 

guardian must be verbally informed and 

sent written notification within 24 hours 

after the procedure. The bill also provides 

that notice is not required if the parent 

has stated in notarized writing that he or 

she has been informed or if the minor 

declares she is a victim of sexual or 

physical abuse by the parent or parents. 

Finally, HB 2015 adds questions to the 

Individual Abortion Form completed by 

the physician and adds reporting 

measures to the Annual Abortion Report 

issued by the State Department of Health. 

The bill also allows registered voters in 

Oklahoma to initiate legal proceedings 

against an abortion provider failing to 

submit any required report. 

Mental Health 
The issue of mental health and substance 

abuse treatment has become a top 

priority in many legislatures including 

Oklahoma’s. HB 1069 permits the 

successful completion of a Department of 

Corrections-approved substance abuse 

treatment program to satisfy the 

recommendations made by an assessment 

agency for a 10- or 24-hour alcohol and 

drug abuse course or treatment program. 

Additionally, the measure allows an 

alcohol and drug abuse evaluation and 

assessment to be paid for by a third party 

on behalf of a defendant, provided no 

state-appropriated funds are used. 

In response to recent events at a private, 

recovery and recovery support facility, SB 

295 requires such facilities be certified by 

the Department of Mental Health and 

Substance Abuse Services. The measure 

also modifies the definition of community

-based structured crisis center to include 

comprehensive community addiction 

recovery centers under the Unified 

Community Mental Health Services Act. 

The measure specifies that such centers 

must comply with standards adopted by 

the Board of Mental Health and 

Substance Abuse Services. These 

standards must be in compliance with 

certain national accrediting organizations 

or approved medical and professional 

standards as determined by the board. 

The measure exempts faith-based 

nonresidential recovery programs, 

residential recovery-based programs with 

less than 12 residents, and residential 

recovery and recovery support programs 

that are not located with certified 

treatment programs from the provisions 

of this act. 

HB 1532 increases the distribution of 

unclaimed lottery prize money to the 

Department of Mental Health and 

Substance Abuse from $500,000 to 

$750,000.  

Children & Families 
Elected officials continued to take steps to 

protect vulnerable children from abuse 

and neglect. SB 460 requires DHS to 

electronically record all referrals received 

by the child abuse hotline and retain the 

recordings for 90 days. The records are 

confidential and subject to disclosure as 

provided for elsewhere in statute. The 

measure also makes it a felony for any 

person with prolonged knowledge of 

ongoing child abuse or neglect to 

knowingly and willfully fail to report the 

abuse or neglect. Prolonged knowledge is 

defined as knowledge of abuse or neglect 

for at least six months. 

Two measures address public assistance. 

HB 1909 directs DHS to not renew a 

request for a waiver from the federal 

requirement that limits able-bodied 

adults without dependents to 3 months of 

food stamp benefits during a 3 three year 

period unless the recipients are employed 

for at least 20 hours per week. Another 

bill, SB 667, prohibits the use of an 

electronic benefit transfer cards in liquor 

s t o r e s ,  c a s i n o s  a n d  g a m i n g 

e s t a b l i s h m e n t s ,  a d u l t - o r i e n t e d 

entertainment establishments and smoke 

shops. 

HB 2166 authorizes a court to require 

individuals who owe child support and 

are willingly unemployed to work two 

eight-hour days per week in a community 

service program administered by the 

county commissioners. 

To encourage more Oklahomans to 

become foster parents, the Legislature 

created an income tax deduction for 



12  

 

foster parents in HB 1919. The deduction 

is capped at $2,500 for single persons 

and $5,000 for married individuals filing 

a joint return. 

A final measure, HB 2301, appropriates 

an additional $32 million to the 

Department of Human Services for 

implementing year two of the Pinnacle 

Plan, which is the result of the 2012 

settlement of the class action lawsuit 

brought against the agency. 

Elderly & Long-term Care 
Two measures address the safety of 

residents in nursing facilities. SB 587 

allows for the voluntary authorized 

electronic monitoring of a resident’s room 

and prohibits a facility from refusing to 

admit an individual or remove a resident 

because of the electronic monitoring of a 

resident’s room. The bill also prohibits 

the obstruction of, or tampering with, an 

electronic monitoring device installed in a 

facility. SB 629 makes nursing facilities 

operated by the Oklahoma Department of 

Veterans Affairs (ODVA) once again 

subject to the requirements of the 

Nursing Home Care Act. The measure 

requires the Oklahoma State Department 

of Health (OSDH) to conduct at least one 

annual unannounced inspection of the 

facilities operated by ODVA and gives 

OSDH the authority to approve employer-

based nurse aide 

t ra ining  pr ogr am s 

provided by ODVA. The 

measure also prohibits 

those facilities from 

employing a nurse aide 

who is not certified and 

who is not eligible for 

placement on the OSDH 

nurse aide registry. 

HB 1403 requires 

health care providers to 

deliver life-preserving 

health care services as directed by the 

patient, or their legally authorized person, 

regardless if they are elderly, disabled or 

terminally ill. Under the law health care 

providers have the right to defend their 

actions by pleading a legitimate, 

nondiscriminatory reason or reasons for 

the basis of denying treatment. 

HB 1094 exempts a home food 

establishment from the licensing 

requirements of the State Department of 

Health and permits the department to 

request written documentation to verify 

the gross annual sales of the 

establishment. The measure requires 

establishments to affix a label that states 

the name and address, the name of the 

prepared food and that the food was 

made in an unlicensed establishment. 

SB 501 authorizes counties and 

municipalities to enact laws restricting 

smoking on their property. █ 

F ollowing the trend of other states, 

leg is la t or s  cr ea t ed  a  m or e 

competitive environment for private 

workers’ compensation 

b y  l i m i t i n g  t h e 

competitive advantage 

of state workers’ 

c o m p e n s a t i o n 

p r o g r a m s .  T h e 

L e g i s l a t u r e  a l s o 

addressed a variety of 

other insurance topics 

and updated the 

provisions of the Captive 

Insurance Act.  

HB 2201 converts CompSource 

Oklahoma into a domestic mutual insurer 

beginning January 1, 2015. The measure 

renames CompSource Oklahoma to 

CompSource Mutual Insurance Company 

which will be organized under state law, 

but independent of the State of 

Oklahoma. The company will be subject 

to current law governing private insurers 

and be required to pay state premium 

taxes; however, the measure exempts the 

company from the Oklahoma Insurance 

Insurance 

Following the trend in other 

states, legislators created a more 

competitive environment for 

private workers’ compensation.  
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Rating Act and the Property Casualty 

Competitive Loss Cost Rating Act until 

three years after the company begins 

operations. The company also will be 

considered a continuation of CompSource 

Oklahoma and absorb all its remaining 

properties, debts, claim and other assets 

or liabilities. 

HB 1512, the Insurance Department 

omnibus bill, amends the regulatory laws 

of several industries overseen by the 

Insurance Commission. Some provisions 

of the measure include: 

 requiring confidential treatment of 

information obtained by the 

insurance commissioner through an 

examination or investigation, unless 

authorized by the insurer. However, 

the commissioner is authorized to 

share and receive confidential 

information with a regulatory agency 

and the National Association of 

Insurance Commission (NAIC), 

provided these entities agree to 

maintain the privileged status of the 

documents 

 removing the bond 

requirement for an 

individual applying 

for an insurance 

broker’s license  

 requiring contracts, 

prices list and 

statements for 

prepaid funeral 

benefits to be 

retained for at least 

six years 

 increasing the minimum hours of 

continuing education required for an 

insurance adjuster from 20 to 24; 

and  

 providing that a small employer 

carrier may include wellness 

programs, such as tobacco cessation, 

in the premium rate developments 

and allows employers to offer 

incentives to employees for 

participating the programs. 

HB 1108 helps bring Oklahoma’s captive 

insurance laws more in compliance with 

the National Association of Insurance 

Commission’s model act for regulating 

captive companies. Captives are 

insurance companies formed by their 

parent company to insure the risk of the 

parent company. Some provisions of the 

measure include: 

 requiring captive insurance 

companies to obtain approval from 

the insurance commissioner before 

taking certain actions related to the 

financial status of the company. 

 establishing criteria for businesses 

written by a sponsored captive 

insurance company and allowing a 

sponsored captive insurance 

company to invest and combine the 

assets of two or more protected cells; 

and 

 lifting certain exclusions that 

prohibited a captive insurance 

company from providing workers’ 

compensation insurance and 

allowing the commissioner to issue 

provisional licenses to applicants. █ 

L egislators amended Oklahoma’s legal 

code to reduce litigation, modernize 

the court process and provide more 

transparency in civil 

p r oce edi ng s  wh i le 

addressing various other 

topics related to the 

courts.  

SB 404 creates the 

Personal Injury Trust 

Transparency Act. The 

m e a s u r e  r e q u i r e s 

plaintiffs to disclose 

information about all 

current and anticipated 

personal injury claims filed against a 

personal injury trust and attest to its 

completeness and accuracy. The measure 

also allows a defendant to identify other 

personal injury trusts that the defendant 

in good faith believes the plaintiff can file 

a successful claim against within 90 days 

before trial. For each additional or 

alternative personal injury trust 

identified, the plaintiff is required to 

either file a claim with the identified 

trust, or file a written response with the 

court stating reasons why there is 

insufficient evidence to permit the 

plaintiff to file a claim.  

To protect officers, directors and 

shareholders of corporations and 

members and managers of limited 

Judiciary 
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liability companies (LLC) from claims 

brought against the LLC or corporation of 

which they are a part of, SB 1083 

requires a judgment to be rendered 

against the corporation or LLC before any 

claims or suits may be brought against 

the individuals.  

HB 1060 prohibits the recognition of 

foreign laws in state courts if the 

constitutional rights of the affected 

parties are violated. The measure makes 

void and unenforceable any court, 

arbitration, or administrative decision 

that does not grant the parties affected by 

the ruling the same fundamental 

liberties, rights and privileges granted 

under the U.S and state constitution. 

SB 820 redistricts the boundaries of the 

electorate divisions within District Court 

Judicial District No. 7 (Oklahoma 

County) and No. 14 (Tulsa and Pawnee 

counties) to align with the current state 

precinct lines. The measure also 

increases the number of judges in District 

No. 21 (Garvin, McClain and Cleveland 

counties) from four to five and decreases 

the number of judges in District No. 22 

(Seminole, Hughes and Pontotoc 

counties) from three to two. 

Workers’ Compensation 
The Legislature voted to change 

Oklahoma’s distinction as one of the 

remaining two states to have a 

court-based system to determine 

workers’ compensation claims. 

SB 1062 changes how claims 

from injured workers are handled 

and computed. The measure 

establishes an administrative 

workers’ compensation system, 

allows employers to opt out of the 

states’ workers’ compensation 

laws by creating their own defined 

benefits plans and authorizes 

agreements to arbitrate claims for 

injuries. 

Effective February 1, 2014, the 

Workers’ Compensation Court 

will be renamed the Workers’ 

Compensation Court of Existing 

Claims and be responsible for 

hearing claims for injuries or 

death filed prior to February 1, 

2014, under existing statutes. 

Provisions of the measure include:  
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 creating a three-person commission, 

appointed by the Governor to serve 

six year terms 

 c r e a t i n g  t h e  p o s i t i o n  o f 

administrative law judges, who are 

appointed by the commission, to 

conduct hearings and determine 

claims for compensation under the 

rules and regulations established by 

the commission 

 allowing an employer to voluntarily 

opt of the Administrative Workers’ 

Compensation Act by becoming a 

qualified employer. To obtain the 

qualified-employer status, an 

employer must complete certain 

notice requirements, establish a 

written benefit plan that is 

comparable to the benefits provided 

under the act, pay an annual $1,500 

filing fee and furnish proof to the 

insurance commissioner of the 

employer’s financial ability to pay for 

compensation. Employers may self-

insure or contract with an insurer to 

supply benefits 

 providing that agreements to 

arbitrate claims for injuries covered 

by the act are valid and enforceable, 

provided the employer gives notice of 

an agreement to both the employee 

and the employer’s workers’ 

“To catch the reader's attention, place an interesting sentence or quote from the 

story here.” 

SB 1062 
 Current Law New Law  

(effective February 1, 2014) 

TTD 70 percent of the employee's average weekly wage 

(EAWW) up to 100 percent of the state average 

weekly wage (SAWW) for 156 weeks.  Benefits 

may be extended for an additional 52 weeks if the 

court makes a finding of a consequential injury.  

70 percent of the EAWW up to 70 

percent of the SAWW for 104 

weeks. Benefits may be extended 

for an additional 52 weeks if al-

lowed by an administrative law 

judge.  

TPD 70 percent of the difference between the EAWW 

before the injury and his or her wage earning ca-

pacity thereafter for 156 weeks.  

70 percent of the difference be-

tween the EAWW before the injury 

and his or her weekly wage for per-

forming the alternative work after 

the injury, but only if that wage is 

less than the TTD rate. Compensa-

tion may not exceed 52 weeks.  

PPD 70 percent of the EAWW or $323, whichever is 

less, for 500 weeks. PPD benefits may not be less 

than $150 per week.  

70 percent of the employee’s aver-

age weekly wage, not to exceed 

$323 for 350 weeks. Vocational re-

habilitation services are allowed for 

up to 52 weeks.  

PTD 70 percent of the EAWW or the SAWW, whichever 

is less, for 15 years or until the employee reaches 

the age of maximum Social Security retirement 

benefits, whichever is longer.  

70 percent of the EAWW or the 

SAWW, whichever is less, for 15 

years or until the employee reaches 

the age of maximum Social Security 

retirement benefits, whichever is 

longer.  

Disfigurement Up to $50,000 for any part of the body.  Up to $50,000 for any part of the 

body. No award will be entered un-

til 12 months after the injury.  
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compensation insurance provider, an 

alternate dispute resolution program 

is filed with the commission and the 

agreement contained a provision that 

allows any party to arbitration the 

opportunity to appeal any decision to 

the commission; and  

 establishing new compensation rates 

for temporary total disability (TTD), 

temporary partial disability (TPD), 

permanent partial disability (PPD), 

permanent total disability (PTD) and 

Disfigurement as outlined in the 

chart on the previous page. █ 

T he Legislature continued its support 

of Oklahoma’s veterans.  

SB 228 creates the 

Quality Workforce for 

Oklahoma’s Heroes Act. 

Beginning November 1, 

2013, the Oklahoma 

Department of Veterans 

Affairs is authorized to 

establish education and 

training programs for its 

employees to improve 

the quality of care in 

department institutions. 

An employee who successfully completes 

a program will be eligible for additional 

education and training. The department 

may pay an employee’s educational 

expenses but also may seek repayment if 

the individual leaves employment. 

Finally, the measure authorizes the 

department to cover fees for employees to 

maintain their licenses and certifications 

in order to provide quality care and 

maintain accreditation. The department 

may require repayment. 

SB 752 allows an identification card 

issued by a branch of the armed services 

of the United States to serve as proof of 

identity for voting. █ 

T he Legis lature 

passed several 

reform measures this 

year intended to further 

strengthen the state’s 

public pension systems.  

HB 1325 will help 

improve the fiscal health 

of the Oklahoma Public 

Employees Retirement 

System. The measure 

modifies the definition for Final Average 

Compensation, currently the highest 

three of 10 years, to the highest five of the 

last 10 years of participating service 

immediately preceding retirement or 

termination of employment. This 

measure affects members whose first 

participating service occurs on or after 

July 1, 2013. 

A measure similar to the 2012 reform bill 

that made changes to the Oklahoma 

Police Pension and Retirement system, 

HB 2078 modifies the Oklahoma 

Firefighters Pension and Retirement 

System. The measure: 

 modifies contribution rates to the 

system by increasing the 

employee rate from 8 

percent to 9 percent and 

the employer rate from 

13 percent to 14 percent 

 i n c r e a s e s  t h e 

percentage of insurance 

premium tax that is 

allocated to the system 

from 34 percent to 36 

percent 

 c h a n g e s  t h e 

retirement age for new participants 

to at least 50 years of age and 

completion of 22 years of service to 

qualify for unreduced retirement 

benefits and makes participants 

eligible to vest after 11 years of 

service; and 

 provides that for new members, 

Deferred Retirement Option Plan 

balances will receive the earned 

investment return less 1 percent and 

must be distributed by age 70 ½. 

The measure affects participants who 

joined the system on or after November 1, 

2013. 

A d d r e s s i n g 

discrepancies in the 

c o m p u t a t i o n s  o f 

retirement benefits for 

certain positions within 

the Oklahoma Law 

E n f o r c e m e n t 

Retirement System, HB 

1383 provides that new 

participants will have 

their retirement benefits 

Military & Veterans 
Affairs 

Retirement 
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based upon their final average earnings 

and years of service. This affects:  

 A l c o h o l i c  B e v e r a g e  L a w s 

Enforcement Commission – agent 

 Oklahoma State Bureau of Narcotics 

and Dangerous Drugs Control – 

narcotics agent III 

 Oklahoma Tourism and Recreation 

Department – park ranger II 

 State Board of Pharmacy – pharmacy 

inspector 

 University of Oklahoma – police 

officer 

 Oklahoma State University – police 

officer 

The measure affects new participants who 

joined the system on or after February 12, 

2013. █ 

T he Legislature responded to the 

devastating tornadoes in the state 

near the end of session 

and gave individual 

taxpayers a tax cut while 

tackling an array of 

other tax topics related 

to property valuations, 

debt recovery and tax 

administration. 

SB 330 will offer tax 

relief to affected 

r e s i d e n t s  a n d 

businesses by providing 

a tax credit for vehicle registration fees 

and excise taxes for vehicles destroyed by 

a tornado receiving a Presidential Major 

Disaster Declaration in 2013. 

Additionally, the measure offers an 

income tax credit for homeowners 

affected by a federally declared disaster. 

Affected businesses will still be allowed to 

claim the state deduction for filing timely 

sales tax reports and payment of taxes 

even if they are not able to file in a timely 

manner. Businesses also may be eligible 

for a sales tax exemption on tangible 

personal property donated to assist 

individuals affected by a tornado 

receiving Presidential Major Disaster 

Declaration in 2013.  

HB 2032 lowers the top marginal 

income tax from 5.25 percent to 5 percent 

beginning tax year 2015 and provides for 

further reduction to 4.85 percent 

beginning tax year 2016 contingent upon 

certain revenue growth.  

SB 864 gives taxpayers an additional 

avenue to dispute tax assessments and 

refund amounts. The measure will allow 

any individual to file for a trial de novo in 

district court and provides that any 

judgment rendered in district court also 

may be appealed directly to the Oklahoma 

Supreme Court.  

HB 1265 directs county assessors to 

reassess the value of properties damaged 

by fire, lightning, storms, winds, 

floodwater and other natural events and 

present the reassessment to each county’s 

board of tax roll collections. 

HB 2005 extends the tax credit for clean 

burning motor vehicles until January 1, 

2020. 

HB 2308 eliminates several outdated 

and underutilized tax credits. Some of 

these credits include: 

 The water treatment 

and pollution control 

facility tax credit 

 The contribution to 

energy conservation 

assistance fund tax 

credit 

 The commercial 

space industries tax 

credit 

 The tax credit for employers 

incurring child care services 

expenses 

 The wind or photovoltaic (for 

example solar cells or panels) energy 

systems tax credit 

 The tourism promotion credit 

 The qualified ethanol facilities tax 

credit 

 The eligible biodiesel facility tax 

credit; and 

 The deduction for political 

contributions 

Lastly, the measure eliminates the 

dividend/interest income exclusion 

available to individual and joint tax 

payers. █ 

Revenue & Taxation 
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T wo measures intended to increase 

the safety of motorists on the state’s 

roadways were enacted. HB 2186 diverts 

$300,000 of the apportionment of 

revenue derived from fines and penalties 

collected by the Corporation Commission 

to the Department of Public Safety to staff 

the port-of-entry weigh stations for safety 

inspections.  

HB 1792 creates the Oklahoma 

Temporary Motorist Liability Plan to 

provide minimum vehicle liability 

insurance coverage when a citation is 

issued and the vehicle license plate has 

been seized. The measure adds an 

additional $125 fee paid to the sheriff’s 

office before the license plate will be 

returned. █ 

Transportation 
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