Ritze Attends NCSL Conference of Opioid Addiction Fellows

Direct Link to This Story

Capitol Dome

Contact: State Rep. Mike Ritze

Office: (405) 557-7338 


OKLAHOMA CITY – State Rep. Mike Ritze recently attended the inaugural National Conference of State Legislator’s Opioid Policy Fellows in New Orleans on Jan. 26-28.


Ritze, a board certified family practice physician and surgeon, was invited to the conference after being selected as one of 25 state lawmakers from across the country to be an NCSL Opioid Addiction Fellow. Conference attendees had the opportunity to build knowledge about new research and policy, exchange ideas and solutions related to opioid misuse and overdose, meet and learn from other legislative leaders, connect with leading researchers and policy experts, and identify practical information to use in their home state to develop action steps to combat the opioid epidemic.


“This isn’t a partisan crisis or a socioeconomic crisis,” Ritze said. “This is an American crisis. This conference provided lawmakers from both sides of the isle an opportunity to learn more about and understand the current opioid epidemic as well as to network and talk about potential legislative steps that are or aren’t working in their home states. The conference was informative and a great tool heading into the upcoming legislative session.”


Guest speakers at the conference included experts from the National Center for Injury Prevention and Control, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, National Association of State Alcohol and Drug Abuse Directors, Advisor for Behavioral Health Care, Center for Medicaid and CHIP services.


“The NCSL did an outstanding job of not only putting the conference together but also ensuring that the host of speakers brought valuable information that will help us fight back against this deadly pandemic.”




Rep. Mike Ritze represents District 80 in the Oklahoma House of Representatives, which represents part s of Tulsa and Wagoner Counties. He serves as chair of the House Public Health Committee.