Luttrell Elected to Chair National Energy Board

Oct 02, 2023
Recent Posts

OKLAHOMA CITY – Rep. Ken Luttrell, R-Ponca City, recently was elected to serve as vice chairman of the Center for Legislative Energy and Environmental Research (CLEER).

The election came at the Energy Council's annual Global Energy and Environmental Issues Conference held in Little Rock, AR.

“It’s an exciting time to be a part of CLEER," Luttrell said. "There are a growing number of states and provinces participating in The Energy Council, and the CLEER Board provides critical input to the Council’s legislators. I am especially excited to serve with longtime friend and CLEER Chairman, Rep Francis Thompson, Louisiana’s longest-serving legislator, with 49 years of elected service. I look forward to continue sharing Oklahoma’s energy solutions, concerns, challenges and policies with other states and bringing their ideas and best practices home to Oklahoma.”

The purpose of CLEER is to provide support for the Energy Council, bringing research and publications of energy policy issues to the Council’s attention and sponsoring forums and other opportunities for dialogue on energy and related environmental issues. CLEER’s support addresses energy and environmental questions and helps educate members of the Council with regard to state, national and global energy issues, in order that they may better serve their constituents. It consists of Legislative leaders from 15 energy-producing states and two Canadian provinces.

In fiscal year 2023-24, the Energy Council will meet three times to consider local, national and international concerns.

Luttrell’s energy-producing House district, which includes parts of Kay and Osage counties, has oil and natural gas exploration and development, wind and coal power generation and Oklahoma’s largest refinery, the Phillips 66 refinery in Ponca City.

In the Oklahoma House of Representatives, Luttrell serves as chair of the Appropriations & Budget Subcommittee for Select Agencies and also as a member of the Energy & Natural Resources Committee. 

Oklahoma House of Representatives seal