Representative Kevin West

Hi, I'm Kevin West and I represent the people of Oklahoma's 54th District.



Assistant Majority Floor Leader

59th Legislature

News & Announcements

May 6, 2024
Recent Posts

Governor Signs Update to Electrical Contractor License

OKLAHOMA CITY – Gov. Kevin Stitt on Friday signed into law a bill that modifies continuing education requirements for electrical contractors, journeymen and apprentices. House Bill 3215, authored by Rep. Kevin West, R-Moore, seeks to address the worker shortage facing the electrical industry. "This bill was the work of many groups and individuals in the industry coming together to address the problem of finding licensed, competent electrical workers to meet Oklahomans' needs," West said. "In addition, it will help individuals take the next step in their career as an electrician." West said the measure returns the pass rate of the journeyman test to 70%, which was the passing score on the test up until 2008. It also increases the continuing education requirements to help ensure the work performed is by a trained and knowledgeable electrician. "Finally, this act levels the playing field for state electricians by matching requirements with surrounding states that have reciprocal license agreements with Oklahoma," West said. Sen. Julie Daniels, R-Bartlesville, is the Senate author of the measure. "The electrical industry is in dire need of workers entering the trade and obtaining their journeyman’s license," Daniels said. "Every day the need for new workers grows as the electrician workforce ages and more retire." Daniels said the average age of electricians in the United States is 41 years old, and every year over 75,000 electricians are needed throughout the country to meet the growing demand. "We believe these changes are one step to help address this need in the electrical industry while ensuring that the workforce continues to be safe and well educated in the trade," she said. Effective Jan. 1, 2026, contractors and journeymen must complete 12 hours of continuing education every three years for license renewal. The courses must be approved by the Committee of Electrical Examiners and cover specified topics. Apprentices must complete three hours of continuing education annually for registration renewal. Continuing education is not required for apprentices who are students or enrolled in an approved course. 

Mar 15, 2024
Recent Posts

Rep. Kevin West's Medical Right-of-Conscience Bill Passes House

OKLAHOMA CITY – Rep. Kevin West, R-Moore, on Thursday passed a bill in the House that would ensure nurses, doctors, and other health care professionals and organizations in the state are not forced to participate in specific procedures or pay for services that violate their deeply held beliefs. House Bill 3214 would protect Oklahoma’s health care providers from civil or criminal liability or discriminatory actions. The measure does not, however, override the requirement to provide emergency medical treatment to all patients, and health care professionals would still be expected to provide a patient with any other services that do not conflict with the professional’s conscience. "There are instances when doctors or other medical professionals are pressured to perform procedures or provide services that violate their personal conscience and that may even be harmful to the patient," West said. "This measure would protect them from facing retaliatory actions because of their sincerely held beliefs." West said similar legislation is already in place in seven states and has been in place since 1977 in Illinois and 2004 in Mississippi. He said it builds upon laws already in place that protect against religious discrimination in the workplace. HB3214 also provides protections for the First Amendment rights of health care professionals, ensuring that they can’t lose their license when they speak out on matters of public importance. It further protects health care professionals who report unlawful or unethical conduct to the appropriate authorities. 

Mar 11, 2024
Recent Posts

Rep. Kevin West Legislation Would Address Time Change

OKLAHOMA CITY – Feeling sleep-deprived after Sunday's bi-annual time change pushed clocks forward an hour? Don't blame Rep. Kevin West, R-Moore. West authored House Bill 2217, which would send to a vote of the people a question on whether to adopt permanent standard time in Oklahoma. The measure was filed last year and assigned to the House Rules Committee but has not been heard. It is similar to legislation he's filed in the past. "I've heard from numerous constituents, parents and business owners over the course of my legislative service that there is a strong desire to stop this twice yearly time change," West said. "The only way to accomplish that is to switch to permanent standard time. I have a measure in place that would put this to a vote of the people, but we have to have the legislative will to ask the question." West held an interim study last fall to raise awareness among legislators about the history of daylight saving time and to detail the benefits of moving the state to permanent standard time. He invited experts to discuss the science of time change and the detriments of changing the clock twice yearly. West said he's been asked why the state doesn't just adopt permanent daylight saving time year-round instead of standard time. Federal regulations, however, specify states can exempt themselves from daylight saving time but not standard time. Some states have sought a waiver to be allowed to adopt daylight saving time year-round but without success. West also pointed to the Sunshine Protection Act in Congress, which would make daylight saving time permanent, but the act has not passed the last two years, and exemptions for some states would still remain. States that choose not to opt out of daylight saving time are required to set their clocks forward an hour at 2 a.m. the second Sunday of March each year and back an hour at 2 a.m. the first Sunday of November. The U.S. Congress first implemented daylight saving time through the Standard Time Act in 1918 during World War I as a way to "add" more daylight hours to conserve energy. The act also established five time zones across the U.S. The Uniform Time Act in 1966 mandated the country use daylight saving time but allowed states to opt out and to stay on standard time year-round. The thought behind daylight saving time is that by setting the clocks back an hour in November, more daylight time is gained in the early mornings. When an hour is added in March, more daylight is gained in the evenings. Permanent daylight saving time was enacted in 1974, but Oklahoma and other states petitioned the federal government to repeal it because of problems caused by it being dark until after 8 a.m. in the winter. There were complaints of children going to school in the dark and employees starting the work day before the sun rose. The permanent act was repealed in 1975. West said there are additional concerns such as health-related risks, increased auto accidents and work-related injuries that rise when daylight comes after people start their day. West said he's received an enormous amount of positive feedback from Oklahomans who support not having to change the clock twice yearly, specifically noting the time it takes to adjust to the change. West said he'll keep pushing for legislation to put the question before state voters.